Premier TEFL Reviews

4.67 Rating 2,245 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Premier TEFL
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.64 out of 5
Read Premier TEFL  Reviews

About Premier TEFL :

Quality Assured Training Centre

Helping English speakers explore the entire world with internationally recognised, Ofqual regulated (Level 5), fully accredited TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

+44 (0)1273 782869

Email:

info@premiertefl.com

Location:

St Mary's College, Emmet Place, Youghal, Co Cork, Ireland

Write Your review

Tell us how Premier TEFL made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 2nd April 2021
Joy
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 5th March 2021
Eduardo Herrera
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 3rd February 2021
Eunice (Lindsay Languages)
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 17th December 2020
Yelena
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 14th December 2020
Yelena Ulitina
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 13th November 2020
Carol Stanford
Premier TEFL  5 star review on 1st October 2020
Patricia Walker
104
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I’m tired. I have already written multiple times about how if I had not already invested so much TIME and money into this I would just cut my losses. A lot of the links in the program don’t work, I have to use multiple devices to even take the quizzes. I find the guidance a joke. A lot of the guidance is nowhere in the question. If you want a particular answer just do multiple choice. Most programs like this want you to put things into your own words, not here. I have also literally had the advice of to remove references. I would not have wasted dozens of hours trying to give a good response to these if I would have known they are only looking for a very specific answer and only from their “book” or hand fed references. I would only advise this program for anyone who has never had any kind of teaching experience or who doesn’t want to do any critical thought. Oh and to top it off you have to buy your diploma?!? If I ever have to use this credential I’m afraid I might be embarrassed to show who it is from.
While Premier confesses to have an understanding and supportive community, they are simply another corporate enterprise who sole concern is the acquisition of profit regardless of the well-being of others.
I am sad to hear you were unhappy with the solution offered to you for your refund request which was well past your money-back guarantee period. We are always aiming to find an individual solution and were happy to offer to sign the course over to someone else and reset the study time. This offer still stands should you change your mind in the future.
I’ve been very disappointed in the platform. I have to use 3 different devices most of the time to get things to work. It is extremely frustrating to say the least. 1 in 8 of the links lead to nowhere... Then I find out after I have purchased that I have to pay to get my certification. Again, disappointing is the word that sums it up.
Hi Amanda, we're really sad to read that you feel that you haven't had a smooth experience with your TEFL certification. One of our team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make it right.
I have not received any information regarding the course. The only thing I have received is a receipt for payment. Very disappointed.
Hi Whitney, we're sorry to read that you haven't received your course login information. Our advisors tried to call you in the past hour and an email was sent on 22nd July from Sandra too - we'd like to check your email address is correct and a few other items as we can see your course was successfully registered. We look forward to helping you get started!
Terrible to navigate
Would not recommend
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are really sad to read that you feel that way about your TEFL journey with us. I understand how disappointing it is not to achieve a pass grade for this level-5 qualification, but it doesn't mean that TEFL isn't possible for you. We wish you the best of luck 🍀 with all your future plans.
I am in the process of filing a formal complaint against this company with the governing accreditation bodies. One of two things is going on (I don't have enough info to know so the powers that be will sort it out): Either the tests are designed to be so vague that you fail repeatedly and are then forced to pay for further retakes to get your official certification - or the assessor I had is entirely bonkers and demanding things that the actual testing requirements and test verbiage do not specify as necessary (and that no reasonable person would assume are necessary to answer the question correctly such as 2-3-4 examples of things, justifications for each thing, word by word transcripts of what a situation would entail, etc - all of which blows the maximum word count permissible out the door). I think it's ridiculous that in order to move past the halfway point of the program, you are REQUIRED to leave a review for them. Seriously, there is no way a person can evaluate the program and know if they were adequately prepared to teach until AFTER they've completed the course, been hired somewhere and put these teachings to use.
For some reason, I am being asked to submit a review halfway-through the course. The material is okay, but is far less than I expected. This program isn't worth it, I feel.
I don't like that I am required to submit this review when I'm only half-way finished with the course. And there is certainly not 120 hours-worth of material. The material offered is decently useful, but I expected the course to take far longer, especially for the price.
I signed up for an internship and the 168hr Tefl. I completed the course online and each module then unlocked the next one. I finished and did my final submission about a month before going for the internship. I chased and chased to find out if I had passed and was not getting any response. I was then told I had passed. Great. At the end of my internship I was contacted to re-submit a few answers as it had been internally reviewed. Which I did. I was then told a month or so later I had to resubmit different answers as it had been internally reviewed again. I did this. I then got a reference letter and my Tefl certificate. 2 months later I then get more feedback asking me to basically redo half the course?!?! The feedback didn't seem to fit the questions, the feedbacks explanation of the questions is 3/4 of the answers expected word count, there was nobody to call to explain the questions I had clearly misunderstood, asks for information that isn't in the course, huge areas of the course now upon reflection appear to be vague but questions ask for details, staff respond with what appears to be templated answers in emails and responses take ages if at all. I submitted a year ago and have taught my internship with them. This was my first online learning experience but maybe Premier Tefl need to take into consideration what they teach you about teaching as their own course contradicts what they are trying to teach you to do as a teacher.
We're really sad to read that you feel that you haven't felt looked after regarding your TEFL certification; one of our team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make it right.
The service you offer is awful. Customer service is slow to respond & Nicki is a nightmare. No one was available for help only when they felt like it. I didnt even need my certificate legalized and thanks for being a headache by trying to hold it hostage when I decided not to get it legalized. Nice try attempting to get another $200+ from me. They’re from ireland and the government doesnt oversee tefl certificates, so they try to get and extra $200 from you so it can be legalized. Depending on where you’re from if you work in china or vietnam this will be a headache. Use another company. They arent worth it.
We are happy to see that you have received your TEFL certificate a few weeks ago. Legalisation is necessary for all TEFL certificates when starting work in China or Vietnam and we are always happy to assist our learners with the process.
I started this course in July and fully completed the curse in October. They issued me a online completion letter and a e certificate. (Which I have saved). 3 month later they removed the completion letter and the certificate from my profile and said to me that I need to register do the assessments. This is the first company I know who issue a certificate then tell you to re do the course. I'd stay away from this company. Durine the course there was no help from.the tutors what so ever. The course content was very wordy and not easy to navigate through. From me it's zero stars. If you want to get conned use this company for your tefl. To put the cherry on top, they don't even help you find a job like other TEFL providers. Their aim.of getting a tefl is only limited to going to Asia. If you want to go else where, choose another TEFL provider. Ones who will issue a certificate once and for all!
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Premier TEFL. We're really sad to read you feel this way, and want to assure you we’re here to help. A member of our team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make it right.
I'm very upset as I didn't receive my headsets as yet!
Lack of clear instructions in the course to follow up with all modules
Samata, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We're really sad to read you feel this way about the course. A member of our team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make it right 💙
Feel like having your dreams crushed and being used as an ATM machine? This is the program for you. Not only will you be nickeled and dimed for all manner of expenses, you also get to witness incompetence at levels you have never experienced before. But you want to help students learn English, can’t you do that? Oh, you can do that, but not with these bozos. Read the following to learn the details of my nightmare. I got to Chiang Mai full of hopes and dreams of starting a new life in Thailand and being there for many years and completed the two week training course. However, do not expect to get your qualification after that, because you need to do the whole program, even though I was told you can obtain part of the qualification after training. Furthermore, hope you do not get Shouvik as a trainer because he thinks he is great, but is in fact quite useless. At the end of the training is when you will find out where you are placed and which school and age group you will be teaching. Furthermore, you will get help finding your apartment and help with your visas/ work permit and opening up a bank account. However, what they forgot to say during these emails before I left Thailand is that I will need to spend lots more money on visa extensions and visa runs, even though I came in on a 60-day tourist visa. Turns out Thailand are quite slow on processing documents, but these companies do nothing to assist and shift the blame on others. Why SEE TEFL could not process the documents when we visited after the first day of training is beyond me....They also promised to open up a Thai bank account but the school needs to do that as well apparently. But everything was fine after I got my placement and I had to wait a week before it started, so plenty of time for these companies to assist me in getting a place to live. Right? Wrong! I ended up getting an apartment of my own accord and I only did that through a friend. These companies version of help is to send you links off Google and let you deal with everything that follows. They DO NOT arrange apartments for you to look at, you need to do it all. However, if pushed, they do arrange an agency to help you called Perfect Homes. If you hear of this agency, which are based in Chiang Mai, run the other way because you are wasting your time and then when you complain the director of SEE TEFL suggests that you find another agency, even though he and his wife introduced you to them in the first place!!! In addition, it transpires that you need to purchase your own uniform from the school (more expense), you will work additional hours but will get paid no overtime, you may work 10 hour days and that you will work at least one weekend a month due to parents evening and activity days. But all of that is fine because you will be earning between 28,500- 34,000baht even though people with similar experience and qualifications are earning around 45,000baht and that I have it on good authority that SEE TEFL take a portion of your salary per month. Around this time other trainees were sent to Bangkok and were given dodgy contracts to sign whereby they had to forfeit their passports and half of their salary…… I was advised my Premier TEFL & SEE TEFL to sign the six-month apartment and my internship contract, even though all this uncertainty and all these issues were nowhere near resolved! Who do you think would be liable for the contracts if I chose to leave because of all these issues? And this is their expert advice.... Surprisingly, I chose not to take their expert advice on this occasion and decided to withdraw from the process. Furthermore, I had to leave Thailand as SEE TEFL did not even start processing my visas/ work permit and I had stayed in Thailand for three months, so I decided to leave and go back to the UK. But, if this happens to you, you will then get the pleasure of more emails and phone calls from Premier TEFL & SEE TEFL asking what went wrong, even though I told them countless times what the issues were. What happened then is I was sent intimidating emails by SEE TEFL directors stating that they will pursue legal action and block any future entries into Thailand for not signing the teaching contract! This was then followed by a phone call from Premier TEFL going over what I already stated in an email and her pretty much putting all the blame on me! So, I wasted more time and effort dealing with this, not to mention the money I have wasted on this whole process. These companies do not take accountability for their actions and will try their hardest to blame you, even though it is clearly their fault and the lack of information they give you at the start of the process. Now they will not even return my phone calls and emails and have said the incident has been resolved…..! All I wanted was a sincere apology from them and for them to reimburse some of my expenses….I have now got the English and European Trading Standards involved and they are very interested in this situation. So, these are now my top tips for anyone considering teaching in a foreign country. These companies place huge importance on the qualifications that they offer, but in the real world you do not really need them as I applied for jobs in Chiang Mai when I decided to go solo and all of the places did not ask for the qualification. Or do the four week course instead of the internship. So, I do hope this review helps you to make an informed decision about these companies and about the other options available to you. I wish more honest reviews were available when I started this process at the beginning of the year.
Hi Kevin, it’s never our intention to have any of our customers feel let down; our many discussions have explored your points in great detail. We’ve been so disappointed that over our communications we haven’t been able to bring about a positive resolution for you. We truly wish you the best for your future endeavors.
Highly NOT recommended. 1) Most of the content is useless and it's not enough to enable you to teach. I expected the final assignment to be a detailed lesson plan, but it was a 150-word lesson plan. It's a joke, it helps with nothing and prepares you for nothing! Furthermore, they don't even give an example of a detailed lesson plan. 2) It's full of mistakes, errors and typos. 3) Most of the content of videos and audio recordings is duplicated in writing. 4) A lot of questions in the quizzes are not clear enough, so students have to guess what is meant. What is even more confusing is that beginnings are copy-pasted from other units and are unrelated. 5) In the quizzes some answers which are actually wrong are marked as right and vice versa. At least four. 6) There is no tutor at all, only customer support. 7) When I point out the mistakes and send them proper scientific proof, they disregard it and start to push their weight around ("our course writer has 20/40 years of teaching experience") which is just horribly impolite and unprofessional. I have been teaching for 18 years, so bullying doesn't work for me, sorry. Professionals are supposed to provide scientific sources to prove their point, like theoretical grammar books authors and titles, theses etc., but there's nothing professional about PremierTEFL. 8) By the way, the course has no proper credentials or source list. 9) When they give a point of view on a controversial issue, they only give the one they accept, without mentioning that it’s not the only option and that alternatives exist. 10) When I report mistakes via the online feedback form they suggested, I get no response at all. 11) All the videos have the same monotonous background music, which is not a good idea, after 40 years of teaching they should know that. The speaker’s pronunciation is not exactly BBC English or Queen’s English. I don’t mind different accents and they’re really useful for learners, but the speaker they recorded is a very bad choice for lecturing. Her constant slurping is so off-putting and disgusting that it gets on your nerves when you listen and doesn’t let you concentrate on what the content. 12) Now when I finished the course, it’s unclear what is supposed to happen. My certificates have been already paid for, but no one contacts me and I there’s not even a digital certificate in my account. At least I hope they’ll be honest and I will get those certificates to compensate for my wasted time and money. They have definitely not put much effort into the course and aren’t trying to fix their mistakes, which means they chose to spread ignorance. Taking into account they claim it’s Ofqual regulated, I feel I have to take the problem to higher level, since the authorities which control the quality of their service have to know.
We're really sad to read that you weren't satisfied with your TEFL training experience Mariya 🎓 One of our team is going to call you now to see how we can make it right 💙
Terrible customer service
We're really sad to read that you weren't satisfied with our customer service was during your TEFL certification🎓; one of our team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make it right 💙
I dislike that I cannot save where I left off on my course by the page, it’s very hard to navigate. It’s not mobile friendly either. Not only that, the course just expired on me with no email notification or anything, so I lost my course and my progress. I paid that money for nothing.
Thank you for taking the time to review our course. We're really sad to read you feel this way about the course. A member of our team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make it right 💙
The course itself was great, however, I paid for the certificate to be sent to me. It has been a month since I completed the course. All emails with questions about it have been ignored. I cannot call anyone because I don't have access to a phone and all I have is email. I feel like I just threw my hard earned money out the window!
Polina, we're really sad to read that feel you haven't had enough communication. One of the team will be in contact with you shortly to see how we can make this right 💙
Content could be better written. Module 6 in particular - the phonetic chart - is poorly explained. Now,,,, Today the link to get the content for Module 7 (TEFL 120 hour programme) is not working. It is the link just under Module 7: Teaching Receptive Skills. Very poor!!!
Abigail, we're really sad to read that you find the course material unsatisfactory during your TEFL certification. One of the team is going to call you shortly to see how we can make this right 💙
Premier TEFL is rated 4.67 based on 2,245 reviews