Cable and Cotton Reviews

4.81 Rating 2,485 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Cable and Cotton
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Cable and Cotton Reviews

About Cable and Cotton:

Cable & Cotton produce beautiful cotton ball fairy lights in 50 customisable colours. Pick and mix your favourite colours at

Visit Website


01273 321332



Suite 1, 80 Fonthill Rd

Write Your review

Tell us how Cable and Cotton made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Nice product, however, fiddly to assembly and (given the price paid) would expect these to be assembled already.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I love my lights and felt I had very prompt and good service...though I feel it wasn’t made clear that the lights would arrive without a plug ! So I couldn’t use my lights until I was able to go out and purchase one. Which of course meant the lights were actually more expensive than I’d initially believed.
Posted 3 months ago
The replacement LED lights sadly emit a really cold, blue hue and are very, very far from the warm traditional light string they replaced. Had hoped the dimmer switch would help. The switch works great but will unfortunately not help with the coldness of the LED lights. My cotton balls are white and light grey, might be ok if you have warmer coloured balls. Also, was sent a extension cable instead of the dimmer switch ordered. Completely understand orders can sometimes be incorrect and my e-mail was promptly answered with assurance of the correct item being sent via express delivery. However, not so much express as it took 4 days to arrive via courier.
Posted 3 months ago
Full marks for fast efficient answers to questions and delivery but I have taken two points off as the delivery charge came as a bit of a shock only to be discovered once you have clicked the final purchase submit button. Yes, the delivery charge is shown in FAQs (not immediately obvious). A link at the bottom of the page is more common "Delivery Charges" but at the very least the charge should be shown on the checkout page before you make the payment. I feel this is a bit underhand and I would probably not have purchased if I had known the charge was £5.95
Posted 5 months ago
Took a long time for it to arrive considering that the postage was £6-00. If I had known that it was coming from a couple of miles away from me I would have collected it the same day.
Posted 7 months ago
Havnt received anything yet
Posted 1 year ago
It's a bit naughty to sell the usb light strings without an electrical plug on the end - when I received my LED lights they were useless and I had to order a plug and wait until the separate plug arrived. Maybe I missed the info that stated they were plug-less!
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Claire, the plugs are an add on item on the website as so many people already have USB plugs or they may not want a plug at all and use with a USB port or USB power bank. It was after a lot of customer feedback that we made the plug and other accessories an add on item. It does explain all of this very clearly on the website and the add on plugs are right there underneath the light sets so I am sorry you missed it. 'All of our cables come with a USB fitting as standard and can be used with any USB port and with any USB plug.'
Posted 1 year ago
I'm still waiting for an answer to my request for a missing cable. Wake up !
Posted 1 year ago
Love the product but was a bit irritated by the passive aggressive response I received when I e mailed to chase up my order. I’d missed a message on the front web page with regards to delayed dispatch dates. Felt a bit unnecessary.
Posted 1 year ago
Paid for quick delivery. Would have liked that to be more prompt. Could the balls already be inserted into the string of lights?!
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Aynsley, I have just looked into your order and I am sorry you were not happy with the speed of the delivery. Your order was placed on the 5th after 2pm so it was shipped on the 6th which unfortunately because of the weekend you did not receive your order until Monday. We do note that our express is 2 working days. We are a small family run business and getting orders our at the speed of large companies like John Lewis or Amazon is just not possible for us. With regards to putting the balls on the cables this is the fun bit so everyone can design their perfect cable to work with were they plan to hang it. We are sorry that you were not happy with the service you received but we do hope you are happy with the end result. Best Wishes C&C
Posted 1 year ago
Postage too high for replacement fuses even taking into consideration the argument that C&C have lowered the price of fuses. Just a bit dissapointing as have many cheaper lights where the fuses have lasted far longer.
Posted 1 year ago
Lovely lights, can't fault that at all. Speedy & great help customer service wise. But for existing customers who purchased these lights a few years ago with fuses and bulbs that needed replacing, cost of re-buying new LED track lights & plug is expensive.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post - I am sorry that you feel this cost for a new LED cable was excessive. If you would like to contact me directly via customer service, please email Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 1 year ago
A little disappointed that the lights don't come with a plug. And it would be nice if they were already assembled for the price that's being paid.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your post; the LED cable does have a USB port on it and therefore needs an adapted plug to be able to work. You can use an i-phone/mobile charger if you have one spare, or buy them in electrical stores. As for pre-assembling the cotton balls onto the lights, this is not possible for our packers to do as many customers like to customise the cables to their own design. I do hope you were able to assemble the lights and can enjoy them once they are set up. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
No email receipt of purchase and I found it slightly galling that having paid £50 for essentially some fairy lights, I then had to assemble them myself.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post; although an email confirmation is automatically generated at the time of both order placement and shipment, it can sometimes go to junk so perhaps you can check your spam folder as it may have gone there. I do apologise for the inconvenience. I am also sorry that you expected the light set to arrive already assembled. The nature of the product means it does necessitate a high level of packing for the warehouse packers, as each box is made up according to the order (the added cost of then also making the sets up would entail higher costs for the consumer as well). A lot of our customers prefer to make up the sets themselves as they can then choose which order they put the colours in to make their own personalised cable. I very much hope you can enjoy your lovely light set now that it is all ready. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
The product quality is great , the delivery time could be improved. On two occasions I’ve had to enquire about our order. We were informed that demand and supply was a factor and snow! Not a problem, perhaps a more timely email in advance explaining the delay would appease customers. Thank you
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your feedback and lovely photo of your gorgeous lights. I am so sorry that you had to chase us up twice to find out the status of your order but very much hope you like the effect of your new light set now you have received it at last. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Oh dear, had to wait much longer than expected for a replacement string of bulbs. I appreciate that you had a sale on but maybe there should have been additional stock to cope with the demand? However,I've not had this problem with you guys before, so maybe it was a "one off". Sadly they didb't arrive in time for our dinner party as we had already ditched the old non-led string after xmas.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Maureen, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - I am really sorry that you had to wait so long for your replacement set of lights, and also that you were unable to use them for your dinner party as planned. I understand how disappointing that is. It is true that we did not anticipate such a successful sale period but very much hope we will be better prepared in future. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
I bought the battery powered 35 cotton ball string of lights but sadly we only get around 4 hours of light before it depletes the battery pack. I have tried other batteries and the exact same happens.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post; yes, the battery packs power the lights for between 3 - 6 hours depending on how long the cable is. We usually only recommend them for special occasions such as parties and weddings etc, or for camping / clamping trips and picnics. If you use your lights daily it is probably better to plug them into a socket using an adapted mobile phone charger plug. Please kindly email me at if you would like further advise / help. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Ordering and the website were great. However when it came to delivery, the driver chucked the box over the back fence without checking whether anyone was in, which we were. Now some of the bulb putters are squashed and damaged. Very disappointed with delivery method.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Lesley, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and feedback about the delivery method, which of course I will be looking into for you. Please kindly email me at and I will happily replace any of the cotton balls that got damaged in the process. We very much want you to be happy with your lovely new lights. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Nightmare to assemble!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our lights - I am sorry you found them so hard to put together and would like to know more. I have checked our customer service inbox and can see that you did not contact us directly so if you can email me at with more information it would be very helpful. I hope you can in the meantime enjoy your lovely set of lights, now that you have put them together. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Received in good order very quickly, but think it’s a shame not to be able to get the white bulbs separately. Also think it’s a bit expensive
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Tony, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback; the bulbs packs have 2 white-tipped fuse bulbs and 5 clear bulbs in each pack as this seems to meet most customers needs. The price used to be £2.95 but we lowered it by £1 to compensate for an increase in p&p charges for this item, to try and keep the cost down for our customers. I do hope your lights are working again now. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Cable and Cotton is rated 4.81 based on 2,485 reviews