Cable and Cotton Reviews

4.81 Rating 2,482 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Cable and Cotton
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Cable and Cotton Reviews

About Cable and Cotton:

Cable & Cotton produce beautiful cotton ball fairy lights in 50 customisable colours. Pick and mix your favourite colours at www.cableandcotton.com

Visit Website

Phone:

01273 321332

Email:

hello@cableandcotton.com

Location:

Suite 1, 80 Fonthill Rd

Write Your review

Tell us how Cable and Cotton made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Delivery was good hence the 2 stars however I ordered the 3 inflatable globes as I had previously ordered many of these in the past and loved them. Unfortunately they have changed the globes, which are now remote controlled and they are of ver poor quality. Two of them didn’t charge at all and the other only lasted 6 hours and the charging port on the globe became flooded, brown colour and now faulty. Don’t waste your money. Pity they changed them as previously they were brilliant.
Posted 1 month ago
A plug was ordered and paid for along with a set of lights but not included in the box when the delivery arrived. This was a fairly standard non-complex order, and it is disappointing that a simple task could not be fulfilled. The company sent one out pretty quickly when I emailed them, but the mistake was still irritating. It shows a lack of attention to detail.
Posted 1 month ago
I love your products but your delivery costs are way too high and also rather slow.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi! I orderd My bulbs about 3 weeks Ago and have not heared a Word. How Long does it take for a package to get to Norway? I wrote an email last week but didn't get an answere.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Elin, Your order left us on the 8th August. The day after you placed the order. I have just tracked it and I can see that it is in Norway with your postal system but I can not understand why it has taken so long. We have not received any email from you so this is the first time I have become aware of the issue. I am very very sorry. Now that I know the situation I will email you and try and find out why your order has taken so long. Best Wishes C&C
Posted 1 year ago
I haven’t received my order yet and have not be told when it’s likely do arrive! (I’m a wholesale customer)
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Claire, Thank you for your review - I have replied privately regarding the status of your wholesale order. Kind regards, Kate
Posted 1 year ago
We have used Cable & Cotton a few times - twice in the same week this month! We love the company but to be told on both occasions that there is a delay after purchasing items is bad! Why not make it plain on the website that there are delays, instead of sending an email after the order is placed!? This gives the purchaser an option to go elsewhere if items are needed quickly :(
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your review - I do understand how frustrating this is when stock is unavailable and apologise for the delay in being able to fulfil your order/s. I very much hope the issue is now resolved for you - if not, please kindly let me know via customer service at hello@cableandcotton.com I will of course also pass your feedback on to our company director. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
I don’t know! Not received my order yet!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Dani, Thank you for your post; just to confirm that your order to the USA was placed on 07.02.19 and dispatched with Royal Mail on 08.02.19 and the tracking information in the Royal Mail website is: Tracking no. RS465166742GB Your item has been received at ISC NEW YORK NY (USPS), United States of America. More information will be available as it travels through the network. We usually allow 10 working days for an order to be processed and delivered to the USA. So your order will hopefully be with you on time later this week. I hope you enjoy your lovely light set when it arrives. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Website unusable- no response to my email requesting an update on delivery- disappointing.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your post and feedback - I am sorry you did not receive the email I sent you in reply to your enquiry. You emailed on 20.12.18 and I replied on 21.12.18 - I am resending this email to you now so please kindly check your junk / spam folder as this is most likely where it went last time. We always aim to reply within 24 hours of any enquiry (Mon - Fri) and it is very rare for us not to. I am sorry this one did not get through to you in time to reassure you that your order was on its way. I very much hope you like your lights and that you have a lovely Christmas. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Comms not great. Feel like my order was forgotten until I sent an email to chase after 5 days. No response to emails, managed to get though after a couple of non returned calls to check. Got lights after 8/9 days which were fine.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post - I am sorry the service was not impeccable for you. Our office hours for taking phone-calls are Monday - Friday 10 -1 pm. I do remember speaking to you on the phone before seeing your email (in a very full in-box!) and therefore did not reply by email as well, and believe I explained that we were running late with delivery of orders after the Black Friday promo weekend and apologised for the delay. I can assure you that your order was not forgotten! Just in the queue for processing and delivery and I apologise again for the inconvenient wait. I very much hope it was worth it and that you are happy with your order, now that you have received it. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Had to return them to you today as two lights wont work.... they are pretty so asked for an exchange and look forward to their return. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Kay, Thank you very much for your post - I am so sorry that two of your LED lights do not work, and can assure you this is most unusual. If you contacted us via hello@cableandcotton.com we would have of course helped in any way we can with replacement lights. As you have already returned them, we will of course replace them when they are received back into the warehouse. Please can you kindly contact me at customer service on the above email address and let me know which postal address you returned the lights to so I can make sure to keep an eye out for them and ensure you get a replacement set as soon as possible? I look forward to hearing from you. We very much want you to enjoy your new light set. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Purchased some replacement bulbs and the postage was more than the price of the bulbs. Complained and was told the dispatch company put the postage price up so they reduced the cost of the bulbs and apparently that makes it ok?! Started to replace bulbs on our 35 string to find they had all burnt out. There was no fuse bulb in the string at all. I now don’t have enough bulbs and don’t feel inclined to buy more. Very disapointed. Had we known there were LED replacement strings we would have gone down that road in the first place. Now we have a useless set of lights.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post. I am sorry you bought replacement bulbs and that they do not work on your cable. It sounds as if your cable pre-dates 2015, when the filament bulb cable was changed to include the white-tipped fuse bulb (which when changed, usually lights up all the other bulbs as well). If this is the case then you do need a replacement cable. If you would like to email hello@cableandcotton.com I can be of more help with this for you. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
I don't think it's clear enough on your site that you are going to have to thread the lights onto the balls yourself. Barely any of mine had a cut long enough so I spent over an hour carefully cutting and threading. For £35 I'd expect this to be done at your end. One of them was such a struggle I ended up denting the ball so am left one short. I wouldn't recommend as don't think this is good value for money.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Rachel, Thank you for your post and feedback - I am sorry you did not expect to have to place the balls onto the cable yourself. Due to the high volume of orders and the fact that most customers like to customise their cables themselves, we do not thread the cables before sending the light sets out. I do understand that sometimes, due to the handmade nature of the product, a ball can get dented in the process if the split is not wide enough; please email me at hello@cableandcotton.com and I will of course send you out a replacement ball as I do not want you to be one ball short. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Replacement bulbs I ordered came very fast but unfortunately one of the fuse bulbs were damaged x
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Billie, Thank you for your post - I am so sorry that one of the bulbs was damaged in transit and will of course send you out another replacement pack today. I hope you can enjoy your lights again. Yours warmly, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Had to put the lights on the string myself by cutting them. This was fiddly and balls only loosely attached. Only two replacement bulbs given and one of the lights was already out so only have one spare now. These are very hard to find as no longer legal in the UK
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Kate, Thank you for your post. I am sorry you had to cut the cotton balls yourself. There is a split next to the hole on each ball which only appears if you press down on the top of the ball next to the hole. You can then slide the bulb into the split and towards the hole where it should sit snug and secure. Certainly the balls should not fall off the cable if properly attached. The bulbs that we provide are still legal in the UK - if you would like some more please email me at hello@cableandcotton.com and I will help you as you should have received more than 2 spare bulbs when you got the cable. I hope I can be of help. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
The fact that you despatched my order of Fairy Lights without the mains plug that I had also ordered and without any word of explanation. The fact that I had to chase you for the mains plug and the fact that by the time you shipped the mains plug I had no way of forwarding it to the recipient of the gift in time for Xmas. So Xmas fairy lights without any way of turning them on. Not good.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Terry, Thank you for your post and feedback. I am very sorry that you had this experience with our company and do apologise that you were not notified when we ran out of plugs. It is so disappointing to hear that the plugs were then not sent out in time for your recipient - I do apologise, and hope very much that they liked the lights in the end. I will be in touch with you directly via email to resolve the issue more satisfactorily for you. Yours very sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
The main problem is that the customer is required to assemble their own lights via a ridiculous system which inevitably causes damage and disintegration. I had to extend every slit in each ball with a Stanley knife in order to get the LEDs inside. This fiddly and annoying process led to the damage of at least 10 out of the 50 I ordered. The strength of the balls also varied significantly from colour to colour. In my case - the dusty blue choices were much more flimsy and flexible than the other two colours (grey & green). Charging an extra fiver for a mains plug is scandalous - who plugs their Xmas lights in via USB? I was going to write and complain, and to request some replacements, but decided life is too short - I have more important things to do. Alan Wilder
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Alan, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am really sorry you had this experience with attaching the cotton balls and that @ 20% of them were damaged in the process. I will of course post you out any replacements for these if you can kindly confirm which colours you would like? You can email me directly at hello@cableandcotton.com with this info and I will send them out immediately. It is rare that every ball needs to be cut to extend the split in this way; the cotton balls are hand-made and do not always accommodate the new LED disc which is slightly larger than the filament bulbs. We will be making the splits wider in future so that this will no longer be an issue. Regarding the quality of the balls, it is true that some dyes are heavier than others and create a sturdier ball, but the Dusty Blue should not have been as flimsy as you describe, so you are welcome to replacements for these too. I will send any new cotton balls you request out from the shop so I can personally ensure that they are of a stronger quality. The new LED cable does have a usb port for which plugs are available to buy online; we do not make them part of the initial sale to give customers the choice as to whether they purchase them or not. This is because any mobile phone or i-pad charger plug can be used with the usb port and a lot of our customers have spares of these already. I apologise again for the experience you have had and would like very much to improve on it. I look forward to hearing from you if you are able to take the time to contact me. Yours very sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kate and Team, Wanted to leave a personal review as putting poor feels very harsh and I intact absolutely love your business! I have two sets of lights both of which have stopped working and after online find that I could get these replacement bulbs. I ordered two but 1. they haven't fixed the problem and were very fiddly and 2. it isn't very clear that there are only 5 actual bulbs in the pack, it is positioned in a way that they are replacement bulbs for the whole 20 pack. So I'm still left with two sets of 20 not working, a few extra bulbs and no solution!
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Amelia, Thank you for your post. I am sorry you have had such an issue with your two sets of lights. Did you email us directly at hello@cableandcotton.com for any advice? If you would like to do so we will do our best to be of help. From your post I am wondering about the age of your cable - it may be that the bulbs were not suited to it? Either way i would very much like to help you resolve the issue. I look forward to hearing from you - and am so glad that you do like the company even if the bulbs don't seem to fit! Yours warmly, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Very disappointing. We have had 3 bulbs blow within a couple of months, which is very annoying. I would have thought they should last longer than this. Not sure if this is normal or we have just been unlucky. Shouldn't have to use replacement bulbs so quickly.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Susan, Thank you for your post; I am sorry that several bulbs on your cable have needed replacing already. You can contact me on hello@cableancotton.com if you would like a replacement cable. I would very much like you to enjoy your lovely light set. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I was a bit disappointed with my purchase. For the price I expected the item to arrive fully assembled and ready to go. I found that the cuts in the balls were too small to fit in the LED and so had to take a Stanley knife and make each one larger after much struggling. I also have arthritis in my hands so I found that inserting the LEDs was both difficult and quite painful. I just thought that considering the price they would be ready to use straight away. On the plus side, the service was good, colour and quality were good and they look really lovely lit up.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Stephanie, Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear of your hassle with the cotton fairy light balls. There is an assembly guide here: https://cableandcotton.com/help/assembly But I take your comments on board and we'll try and make it clearer on the website that the cotton balls will need to be popped onto the light string. Each mini lampshade is handmade and sometimes the slits can vary slightly in size and may need to be enlarged a little bit. There's a handy hints and tips Youtube video here: https://youtu.be/_7nkSxE5g2k We're making sure that we're addressing this issue and making the slits a little larger to accommodate the new LED bulbs. As one of our key selling points is that customers can choose their own bespoke colour scheme from 50 colours, I'm afraid we can't pre-mount the cotton balls onto the light string. For most of our customers it is a simple and even fun part of the purchase, but I appreciate, in your case, this was awkward and painful, and for that I apologise. I'm glad all other aspects of your purchase and the product was positive. I hope you will remain a customer in the future. If you have any other issues or concerns, please don't hesitate to email Kate on hello@cableandcotton.com and she will be happy to help. All the best - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
All the slits were too small for most of the balls I received resulting in hours of assembly.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Helen, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had such a hard time placing the balls onto the cable. The cotton balls are handmade; as such, some of the slits are bigger than others and will require a small cut to widen them, as described in the instruction leaflet. I do hope that it was worthwhile in the end and that you have a lovely light set assembled to warm up these dark wintry nights. Please do not hesitate to contact me on hello@cableandcotton.com if I can be of any help. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
Cable and Cotton is rated 4.81 based on 2,482 reviews