Cable and Cotton Reviews

4.81 Rating 2,478 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Cable and Cotton
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Cable and Cotton Reviews

About Cable and Cotton:

Cable & Cotton produce beautiful cotton ball fairy lights in 50 customisable colours. Pick and mix your favourite colours at www.cableandcotton.com

Visit Website

Phone:

01273 321332

Email:

hello@cableandcotton.com

Location:

Suite 1, 80 Fonthill Rd

Write Your review

Tell us how Cable and Cotton made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I wanted to use as wall planters but they are not waterproof, very disappointed.
Posted 2 months ago
The colours were completely different from the website.
Posted 5 months ago
Product wasn’t delivered, despite being promised and tracking having it as en route. Customer service response was to ask for my address via email. Can’t review the actual product as, 2 weeks later this is still unresolved.
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Gemma, I am so sorry you are so unhappy with our service. I have just looked into this and I can see that your original email to us you did not send to us but to DPD. The parcel was returned to us and when we asked DPD about this it was because you had actually entered an incorrect address. The only solution was to ask for your correct address so we could get the parcel re-sent to you. We were sending it back out to you at our expense and ready to do this the same day. You have only sent us your correct address last night. Our customer service emails are encrypted so there are not breaches in GDRP. Again I really am sorry you have been so unsatisfied by our service. We are a small family run business and every review good or back makes a difference to us. Kind Regards Tash (Mrs Cable & Cotton)
Posted 5 months ago
Just ordered 20 replacement bulbs but only received 7! This is the 4th problem I've had with the company . Bulbs keep blowing, balls won't stay on the string and have had to replace the whole string light twice .
Posted 1 year ago
Has this company ceased trading? I have called and emailed a number of times over the past month and never received a response. Would like to place an order, but obviously not if they’re no longer trading.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Anonymous, NO of course we have not! We are here by the phone and reply to all emails within 24 hours so we are not sure if you are contacting us on the correct email? Website is also all up and running for orders.
Posted 1 year ago
Bad customer service
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your review; I can see that you emailed us yesterday at 1.48 pm, and I have replied accordingly. We always aim to respond to emails within 24 hours during the working week which is why you had not yet received an answer to your query. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused and look forward to hearing back from you so that I can help resolve the issue with your order. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered lights. A week later no lights. I contacted c&c and was told they are out of stock and they were waiting on more being delivered. I decided to cancel my order as I was not informed that I would need to wait. I was told no problem your order is cancelled. Not any concern or asking why. I asked for a managers number and recieved an email address. A few days later I received the cancelled lights. The cancelled order and my complaint was ignored. I paid for something that I didn’t want in the end. Customer service is appalling. I’ve purchased 2 sets of lights from c&c and twice I’ve been disappointed with the customer service. It’s sad as the lights are beautiful.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post; we are so sorry you are so unhappy with the service you have received. we also apologise for the delay in fulfilling your order and that you were not notified until you contacted us. Your email requesting the cancellation of your order (and a refund) explained why you wanted one (you were unhappy with the service) so we cancelled your order and refunded you as requested because this is what you asked for. You also asked for an email or phone-number for management so we gave you an email address - as we do not give out staff mobile phone-numbers. The warehouse has obviously fulfilled the order anyway (despite our cancellation request to them) but please be assured that you have received a set of lights that you have not paid for. We very much hope you can now enjoy them. Yours sincerely, Cable & Cotton Team
Posted 2 years ago
I can't comment on the product as I have yet to receive it! I've had no notification as to despatch and no reply to my email. Very poor! As this is the first time I've used this company it's highly likely it'll be the last.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review; I have sent you an email with a more detailed response. Our office hours are 10 a.m - 1 p.m on weekdays and I can see your email was sent at 12.52 so it must have just missed a reply then. I am sorry for the inconvenience and hope you like your lovely light set when it does arrive. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
The Bulbs don‘t fit!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Anon, Thank you for your post - please do kindly contact customer service so that we can be of more help to you on hello@cableandcotton.com It may be that you are having issues because the cotton balls were not attached to the bulbs according to the instruction leaflet that came with your order. To attach the balls you have to press down on the hole at the top of each ball with your finger and thumb to find the split next to the hole. You then push the bulb through this slit and pull it along to the hole where it will sit nice and snugly - and will not fall off. If you force the bulb through the hole only, it widens in the process and the balls then have trouble staying on. (Occasionally the split next to the hole is not wide enough - in which case you can make it slightly wider with a sharp pair of scissors.) The balls are designed to fit the lights so please kindly let me know how you get on. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
I haven’t teceived parcel or any information regarding shipment, is this company a scam??
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Maria, Thank you for your post which was most upsetting to read. Your order was placed on 24.09.18, and sent out immediately on 25.09.18. The order confirmation email and shipment confirmation email is automatically generated by our system and emailed to you directly but does sometimes go to people's spam / junk mail. I am sorry you did not see it in your inbox. I am emailing you directly with the relevant tracking number and details, and in the meantime apologise that you have had this experience. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 2 years ago
No solucionan nada, paquetes que tiene que ser entregados a los 5-7 , ya han pasado 20 días y no hay entrega
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Genoveva Thanks for the feedback. You emailed today saying you have not received your order (placed on Fri 24 Nov). I'm very sorry about this. I have responded immediately to your email already. Your order was shipped on Tuesday 28 November by DPD. Having looked into this issue, it transpires that the package was returned by DPD undelivered to our warehouse. It is not clear why it wasn't delivered, but generally in these cases it is because it was not signed for on repeated attempts at delivery. The returned parcel was received by us on Friday 15 Dec and has been re-shipped to your delivery address today. (Tracking info supplied by email.) We have also refunded you the total value of your order. My apologies again for this issue. Hopefully this time the order can be successfully delivered to your address. Best regards - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
Website needs to make clearer that you have to string the balls onto the lights yourself. Took over an hour to do and was tricky, not a pleasurable experience and won't be buying anymore. Would like to share the video we made of how tricky this can be to earn other consumers.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Jo, Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear of your hassle with the cotton fairy light balls. There is an assembly guide here: https://cableandcotton.com/help/assembly But I take your comments on board and we'll try and make it clearer on the website that the cotton balls will need to be popped onto the light string. Each mini lampshade is handmade and sometimes the slits can vary slightly in size and may need to be enlarged a little bit. There's a handy hints and tips Youtube video here: https://youtu.be/_7nkSxE5g2k We're making sure that we're addressing this issue and making the slits a little larger to accommodate the new LED bulbs. As one of our key selling points is that customers can choose their own bespoke colour scheme from 50 colours, I'm afraid we can't pre-mount the cotton balls onto the light string. For most of our customers it is a simple and even fun part of the purchase, but I appreciate, in your case, this wasn't the case and for that I apologise. If you have any other issues or concerns, please don't hesitate to email Kate on hello@cableandcotton.com and she will be happy to help. All the best - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
Your website is slow. Your posting options are expensive. the colours on the website are not representative. Thankfully your product is lovely - but the shopping experience is terrible.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there Thanks for the feedback, even if it is disappointing to read from our point of view. I appreciate the time you've taken to highlight your concerns with our business. Firstly - glad you find our Cable and Cotton lights lovely. We test the website regularly to ensure that it's running swiftly and smoothly and is optimised for mobile and tablet. My apologies if it wasn't operating at full speed or was slower than expected. During busy periods, especially on Black Friday in November when you placed your order, we were having extremely high traffic volume and so it is likely the website was running a little slower than we would have hoped. My apologies. I notice from your order that you received Free Shipping. I am not sure in this instance that we could have reduced the price of shipping to you to any less than that. Express postage is £4.95 and this is a competitive market rate for expedited 48hr shipping. I am sorry if you feel our shipping rates are expensive. We will bear your comments in mind when we next review shipping rates. Colours of our balls are as accurate as we can get them online - they are actual picture of the balls and lights. Due to the differences in screen display, sometimes they may appear a slightly different hue to different viewers of the website - the vagaries of different settings for PC, Mac, assorted mobiles and tablets. If you feel you did not get quite what you were expecting, then please do get in touch with Kate on hello@cableandcotton.com and she will be happy to help rectify your disappointment. We genuinely want (and strive for) all our customers to be happy with our lights. As I said, whilst we aim to provide a shopping experience that is efficient and fun, we obviously fell short in your case and for that I unreservedly apologise. With kind regards - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
I contacted you to let you know that some of the balks were damaged and I haven’t heard anything back from you
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Clare, Thank you for your post and photos. I am so sorry that you did not yet receive a reply to your original emails to us regarding your two damaged balls. I do apologise. Please can you kindly email us again at hello@cableandcotton.com just in case your original email did not get through to us, and we will resolve the issue for you as quickly as possible. I look forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
I don’t like the design of pushing the bulb through a small hole in the balls as the split, not a very good Idea, I also thought that the lights were on a continuous line not a circular line, so you cannot hang them along the wall, or not very far. When lite up they do look fantastic.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Sorry that you had a little trouble getting the balls on the string of lights. There is a really helpful assembly guide here: https://cableandcotton.com/help/assembly And a Youtube video here: https://youtu.be/_7nkSxE5g2k The slit in the balls is to make it as easy as possible to get the lights into the mini lampshades and then you slide the wire to the hole where it will all sit snuggly and securely. We have now moved to LED lights which do come in a continuous string rather than a loop. If you'd like any help or discuss your issues in more detail, please contact the wonderful Kate on (hello@cableandcotton.com). She will be delighted to help you in anyway possible. Thanks for the feedback and glad the light look fantastic! All the best - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Kate I was really disappointed with my lights. The colours are lovely, but the balls don't stay on the lights, and I've been meaning to contact you to discuss, and explore the possibility of a replacement set. I adore these lights, but they look terrible up as the balls keep dropping off! Please help. Is there anything that can be done please to rectify? Many Thanks, Sophie
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Sophie, Thank you so much for your feedback - I am sorry that the cotton balls are not staying on your cable properly. It may be because the cotton balls were not attached to the bulbs according to the instruction leaflet that came with your order. To attach the balls you have to press down on the hole at the top of each ball with your finger and thumb to find the split next to the hole. You then push the bulb through this slit and pull it along to the hole where it will sit nice and snugly - and will not fall off. If you force the bulb through the hole only, it widens in the process and the balls then have trouble staying on. Please kindly let me know that this is what you did - if the balls are placed on properly they are always secure (you would have to shake the cable very hard to dislodge them). I look forward to hearing back from you so we can resolve the issue. Yours sincerely, Kate
Posted 3 years ago
First set of lights arrived with two bulbs not working, then within a few weeks whole set of lights fused, tried new fuses etc, but bin was where they went..bought a second set of 35 lights to replace binned set..again three bulbs not working, then two weeks later bang who.e set gone again...and binned...will never buy from cable and cotton again...
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Marie, I'm very sorry to hear the trouble you had with the our lights. Despite your experience, this is very unusual...although I understand that doesn't help you in your case. We now exclusively use our own designed LED lights on our strings and this reduces failure to almost zero. Please get in touch with Kate (hello@cableandcotton.com) and she will be able to resolve this issue for you. Once again, I am sorry for the far less than perfect experience you've had so far. I hope we can make amends. Thanks for letting us know. All the best - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
"Lights popped and stopped working on the second time if use! Very poor quality and very disappointed"
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Helen, I am sorry you have had a bad experience with our lights. We value every customer and want to ensure that they are delighted with our products. You're experience is quite unusual, although I appreciate this doesn't help you in your situation. I notice that you've bought from us on a few occasions since the summer. Did all the lights you bought stop working or just one set? Please get in touch with our customer service guru, Kate on hello@cableandcotton.com and she will be able to help resolve this issue asap. Apologies again for your troubles. All the best - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
No matter how many times I press unsubscribe, you continue to send me emails.
Posted 3 years ago
They worked for about 1 month and then grey stopped working. I checked the bulbs and changed the fuse but could see what was wrong so threw them away. Very disappointed child and me as it was a waste.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I'm really sorry (and also disappointed) that you didn't have a great experience with our lights. Kate, our customer service guru is always on hand and willing to help if there are any issue (hello@cableandcotton.com). Please email her and she will be able to help you out and get you a working set. All our lights are now our own designed LEDs with an almost zero failure rate, so this means there is no chance of blown bulbs or fuses. Apologies again, but please give us a chance to make amends and get you up and running again. Best regards - Anthony
Posted 3 years ago
Cable and Cotton is rated 4.81 based on 2,478 reviews