West Lancs Auto Electrics Retail Ltd. Reviews

4.87 Rating 957 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend West Lancs Auto Electrics Retail Ltd.
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 94%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read West Lancs Auto Electrics Retail Ltd. Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

441772369901

Email:

sales@westlancsautoelectrics.co.uk

Location:

Crossley House Ind. Est.Leyland Rd., ,

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My marine alternator Prestolite 35214920 AYI128 series broke down and West Lancs Auto Electrics told they have ”new aftermarket replacements made to spec” - referred as ’WX7000”. The setup in my old alternator was connected to external Mastervolt regulator so I asked for an extra regulator or brush holder. Westlancs didn't see the purpose of buying an extra regulator or brush holder and wanted to make the adaption them selves after charging extra money for it. The setup was explained in details in emails and confirmed on phone and mails. Was no problem - this was promised. The price for the alternator, extra wiring and shipping came bit pricy since VAT was added to everything. Did not realize there was additional VAT because of Brexit and because it was supposed to be effective only after 1.1.2021. Order was made and product was delivered before that date. Still the extra VAT was charged. Shipment was really fast - came in 2 days to Greece! Strangely shipment had no any documentation (specifications, warranty, etc) about the alternator - none so ever - not even the receipt. Receipt was in my email for sure but needed to ask them at least to write on it what alternator was it because it said only ”Alternator”. Also the invoice is in ProForma form which is not real invoice and strangely it did not have bank account information that was sent separately. Because of Brexit was in hurry to get the alternator shipped so wired the money and was expecting to get the real invoice with the shipment. Never came. And then the other problems started. First of all the old alternator was isolated one but this ”aftermarket replacements made to spec” was not! Secondly. External wiring was not done according to our agreement for Mastervolt system but for Sterling - for example only one cable coming out for the regulator instead of two. Asked about the wiring and how it was supposed to work with Mastervolt. No reply so the same email about clearing out the wires and what was done was sent 3 times with phone calls in between because no answer for the mail - and was asked to send it again. Only aswer was the question if the wiring for Mastervolt was not working. When replied no, no further mails came. So lastly asked them to ship the actual carbon brush holder with wires that was ordered (would need to do the wiring myself even paid for it!) or get the full refund. No answer at all.  Alternator modification ”made to spec” done by West Lancs Auto Electrics included also grinding a piece off from the housing. This was bit strange and since the grinding was done uneven it did not fit on engine without some more grinding. This process has now taken more than a month because customer service is not working. True good customer service comes out when there are problems and you get help and solutions. Unfortunately with West Lanc Auto Electrics this is not the case. Would not recommend this company to anybody - unless you get lucky and get what you really ordered!  Still waiting for a solution to a problem. Or even an answer to get my money back.
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered a starter motor from West Lancs after them assuring me the motor would fit my engine. On receiving the motor it did not fit correctly and so i decided to return it. Despite the website stating 30 day money back guarantee, i lost 20% of my payment due to the "handling charge". Normally this would be OK but as i was assured this was the correct fitment for my engine, I went ahead with the purchase. I had to make 3 phone calls to chase the refund and it took 13 business days to receive. I would not use West Lancs again. I have since replaced the starter motor using a different company and they provided excellent service and a correctly fitted part. Quite a different experience.
Posted 6 months ago
Sent me the wrong alternator and then I had to chase up my refund. still waiting a month later. Not a very good experience with this company. beware
West Lancs Auto Electrics Retail Ltd. 1 star review on 4th March 2020
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Deryck Sorry about your experience with our company was unsatisfactory. As an alternator supplier, our only references are application guides when you don't provide us with a part number from the old unit. In this case, sadly it was wrong. We obviously refund any credits ASAP but unfortunately, when items are returned without the necessary paperwork, it is difficult to trace where they have come from. We, therefore, have to wait for the customer to contact us so we can match up the return to that customer. Also, time taken for parcels to arrive, including weekends must also be factored in. Our policy is to refund ASAP, but the credit card companies can take up to 5-10 days to show the refund on your account. This is totally beyond our control. To prove the point, please see attached snaqpshot
Posted 1 year ago
Very helpful indeed
Posted 1 year ago
Hi David Thanks for the kind and positive comment. We can only assume that in view of this the one-star rating you have given us is a mistake on your part.
Posted 1 year ago
Item arrived faulty and refund has not been processed some 21 days later. Avoid at all costs.
West Lancs Auto Electrics Retail Ltd. 1 star review on 19th February 2020
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Howard Firstly, we must correct your comment that the item arrived faulty when it actually arrived damaged. As our packing process is second to none, we can only assume that this damage occurred not in transit but when the item was unpacked. However, we did not press this point of view. Taking into account times in transit and processing by our accounts dept. plus the time taken by the credit card company (5-10 days) to show refunds on your statement, 21 days is not unusual for a refund. We do, however, try to process all returns ASAP.
Posted 1 year ago
Worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with....selling faulty reconditioned goods and customer service is appalling….Alternator kept breaking down and they wouldn't admit to faulty goods...when I sent it back they didn't even acknowledge the unit was faulty ...worse still they didn't tell me if it WAS repaired and could be refitted This refurb unit has cost me more than buying a new one...terrible company... save your money and shop elsewhere
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your totally inaccurate and untruthful review The alternator in question was purchased in Feb 2018 It was repaired under warranty in Feb 2019 at no cost to yourself after giving perfect service for 12 months Then in Dec 2019, you informed us that the alternator was faulty after being i service for 22 months You were politely informed that the alternator was therefore no longer under warranty which is 18 months, but could be a chargeable repair if found to be faulty on return At this stage, you became abusive in your emails, using swear words and disgusting language and wishing all manner of bad things upon us in the New Year At this point, we ceased all communication with you Your distorted and one-sided review is not a factual account of the situation and does not take into account the disgraceful way you acted towards our company. We feel it is wrong that you are able to make threats and leave defamatory comments, so we wish to state the true facts in order to redress the balance.
Posted 1 year ago
Very quick response and reply, sorted out the correct item for me and now the car is running well.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Gerald Thank you for your positive feedback which we always welcome. We are a bit confused that despite being happy with the goods and service we provided, you have only given us 1 star so we can only assume that this rating was an error on your part.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sorry to pester you but have just received your review! Even though your review is positive you have only given us 1 star. As we take all our reviews very seriously is the rating correct? Regards Sorry about that it should be 5 star. What can i do?
Posted 1 year ago
They sent an incorrect item, even after I asked for their replacement part specifications, which they would not send, and giving them my full vehicle details, they did not check the replacement item compatibility prior to them sending. After sending Pictures showing their incorrect item sent and why it is not compatible, they do not respond, they only responded after I wrote a negative review. On phoning they were aggressive and dictating, not interested in sorting out the item, more interested in making me change my negative comments. They received the item back on the 15 Oct, and to date, now 19 Oct, I have not received any reimbursements. They are Unprofessional, inconsiderate and unable to correspond in an appropriate manner and are trading against the current laws, which I have now served 14 days notice of pending court action, should I not receive a refund in full and my return postage cost as they promised. I have also found a replacement item much cheaper and better quality, I wish I never contacted them.
Posted 2 years ago
Roger We appreciate all feedback and would like to address your issues in an honest, straightforward way. We supplied the alternator as per the part number you gave us. This number was cross referenced from two of the leading alternator manufacturers within the UK. (We use two in order to confirm the correct part) However, once you received it you informed us that the mounting bracket was different to your original. You sent us pictures to confirm your findings on Wed 10th Oct @ 15-20 We explained to you on the phone at the time, that as we were working from a part number and as the part number corresponded to the alternator we supplied, there was something wrong. Either the two leading manufacturers have incorrect cross referencing systems or, more likely, you gave us the wrong part number. We also explained that because of the time needed to look into it and investigate further and because it was late afternoon we would report back to ASAP the following day when we had some information for you. However, for whatever reason, less than 24hrs later, before we were able to get back to you, you left your negative comments stating we were unprofessional, inconsiderate and unable to comprehend a vehicle being off the road. All these comments are TOTALLY UNTRUE as many hundreds of our satisfied customers confirm. You then go on to say you will report our actions to the necessary authorities including the credit companies. We have thought long and hard but are unable to understand exactly what it is you wish to report us for. When we did contact you, due to your totally obtuse, arrogant and quite frankly rude manner, we decided that the best option was for you to return the alternator and when received, we would offer a full refund.
Posted 2 years ago
I placed an order for a starter motor for next day delivery. The next day I waited in all day and just before 5pm I phoned and asked why it has not arrived. The answer was 'well its been dispatched, if its not with you now it likely to be tomorrow'. I said I was really disappointed, but the representative acted as if the delivery timing had nothing to do with them! I decided to buy from West Lancs because they appeared to have a great write up. If I wanted a two day delivery I could have got it £15 cheaper. Perhaps I should have been concerned when I did not get a tracking number for the courier. I've had to change my plans for tomorrow as I do not have a car. I am hoping the starter motor will be okay, if and when it arrives!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Derek We are sorry you did not receive your starter motor the day after you ordered it as we all expected. Unfortunately, although we say that deliveries are next working day, we cannot guarantee it and this was explained to you at the time. Once the goods have left our premises they are in the hands of the couriers (DPD) and sometimes, due to unforeseen circumstances, they incur hold ups which are totally beyond anyone’s control. With that in mind we never promise next day delivery, but if you read our numerous positive reviews you will see that this is what usually happens almost every time. You say you could have got the starter motor £15 cheaper if you hadn’t wanted next day delivery. This makes it sound as if we charged you £15 extra to provide this service, which we did not. We can only assume you mean you could have bought it cheaper elsewhere but went with us thinking a next day delivery was guaranteed, even though you were not told that would definitely happen. We think it is unfair and unjust that you have written such a negative review and only given us 1 star when the delay was clearly the courier’s fault. The starter motor left our premises on time and you were not promised next day delivery. We always say it is a 1-2 day delivery service with next day being the most likely outcome, all being well. You must appreciate we have no control over what happens to the goods once they are handed over to the courier, but once again we apologise for your inconvenience.
Posted 2 years ago
Got a quote for a new alternator for £177. you were selling the same alternator on ebay which stated Condition was ''New: A brand-new, unused''. for £140. with shipping to Ireland it was still cheaper than price you quoted me. So i call up and ask is it better i purchase it through eBay and you said no we will do it for the same price. Just received alternator in the post today its a Reconditioned alternator with paint chipped and scratch marks all over not much good when it will be in a marine environment.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Stephen Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our customers. The item on ebay is exactly the same alternator as the one you received. It is a 100% BRAND NEW genuine Prestolite alternator as fitted as original equipment. Painted alternators sometimes incur light scuff marks with general handling or in transit, however this is in no way detrimental to its use in any environment. In fact many marine alternators are not even painted at all. Ebay have preferential shipping rates with couriers for European destinations, but we do not. However as we matched the price you saw on ebay including shipping costs, we fail to see what point you are making. You have also sent us an email with a link to the item on ebay. If you look closely at the item images you can quite clearly see that none of the items are painted. This confirms our previous point about painted alternators and the superficial scuffing they might receive in handling. https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WA1656-Alternator-12v-60A-Volvo-Penta-Marine-AQ21-225-260-KAD32P-KAD44P/182593379438?hash=item2a8369dc6e:g:ofkAAOSwfpVZKETa Regards West Lancs
Posted 3 years ago
They sent me out the wrong alternator, wasn't even for my make of car when they was given my reg and my make and model of car. 2 weeks on and I'm still waiting to be reimbursed company is a dam joke avoid at all costs!
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Robert We can only apologize for sending out the wrong alternator. Unfortunately This can happen occasionally if you haven't actually given us the reference/part number from the old unit. When we were informed of the situation and the fact that you did not want to wait for the correct replacement we sent you a pre-paid label for the return of the alternator. You sent it back with no paperwork so it took us longer to establish the reason for return, but as soon as we did you were immediately credited with the full purchase price. Card payments take 5-10 days to show up on a persons account even though they have been processed at this end. This we have no control over whatsoever. In view of this we consider your negative review to be totally unfounded and unfair.
Posted 4 years ago
Disgraceful after sales service. Will not tolerate being shouted at over the phone by the so called manager. Will never use these people again.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Mr Rees We are sorry you were unhappy with our after sales service.Whilst our sales manager cannot remember each individual phone call, I am assured that he would never deliberately shout at any customer. I apologize if you think this is what happened in your case, but as you can see from our hundreds of reviews we pride ourselves on our customer service. This is backed up by the replies we recieve and we consider it to be second to none
Posted 4 years ago
Told it would be delivered today. Not so. Garage supposed to fit Monday
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Philip It is unfortunate when deliveries do not go as planned, but as you are well aware the Order was sent out from us on the Thursday for a Friday delivery. Due to unforseen circumstances with the courier this did not happen, but as the unit was delivered to you before nine on monday morning we trust you were still able to keep your appointment with the garage for fitting. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the couriers. Regards West Lancs
Posted 4 years ago
Company renegade on the warrenty and it took me a year to get my money back through the county court. i received remarks like GO GET A LIFE and DO WHAT YOU LIKE. Your choice if you use this company so i would not recomend
Posted 4 years ago
Mr Alan Trevor These comments refer to a transaction which apparently occurred in February 2012 (four and a half years ago) As the company has undergone personnel changes in the office since then, none of the present staff have any recollection or reference to any issues relating to Mr Trevor. However, we find it very difficult to believe that any of our staff either past or present would make those kind of remarks. We are unable to comment on any issues or refunds which may or may not have occurred at the time, due to the four and a half year time lapse. Our current customer reviews speak for themselves and although it is regrettable that Mr Trevor found his past experience in February 2012 to be unsatisfactory, it is somewhat unusual to receive a review of this nature so long after the event. Regards West Lancs.
Posted 4 years ago
Part supplied was faulty. I was £75 out of pocket from having to pay the garage to fit this faulty alternator. The alternator was vibrating right through the car. Bearings were absolutely shot. Not even an apology from West Lancs Auto. Use at your own risk. You could end up even more out of pocket.
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Rob With regard to your comments about the alternator we supplied that you claim had faulty bearings: Prior to shipment all our goods have to pass a stringent testing procedure and the BRAND NEW unit supplied to you was no exception. As you then returned the alternator with no paperwork enclosed, we had no way of addressing any issues you may have had until you later contacted us via e-mail. However all returned goods are retested and this BRAND NEW alternator, including the bearings could not be faulted. Contrary to what you experienced with your vehicle we are confident that the alternator was not the source of the problem. We did, however, refund the full purchase price as soon as possible once you made contact. Regards West Lancs
Posted 5 years ago
Thanks for sending the new alternator for my Fiat Scudo.Unfortunately Interlink didnt deliver it until 1700 fri 4th march.So was unable to get it fitted until today mon 7th.One week after placing order.I understand some carriers have difficulty with my location 70miles north of glasgow;but most don't and I would have gladly paid for a more speedy carrier Ian Barton
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Ian Thank you for your feedback which we always welcome. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the time it took to deliver your alternator. However as you said your location is sometimes difficult for the couriers and in fact Google maps shows you to be in the Scottish Highlands, 100 miles north of Glasgow. We are not aware of any express delivery available from these couriers to your location that we could have offered you. Also in our experience Interlink are one of the best couriers available. We can only apologize on their behalf for any inconvenience you were caused during the delivery process. Regards West Lancs
Posted 5 years ago
Sadly your service has been let down by the courier DPD. They text my phone to tell me the delivery would be between 12.30 -13.30. At half past two I tried to track, finally speaking to a human being to be told that it had been refused at the wrong address ! Well they had my contact number, so why not contact me? And get the right address ?So the customer help says they'll deliver tomorrow . I don't believe they attempted delivery just poor excuse, and equally poor explanation.this part was ordered Friday ! Please review your postal service!
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Ashley We are sorry you were disappointed by the service provided by the courier DPD that we use for delivery. DPD are usually very reliable and your bad experience is certainly not typical. However we always take on board our customer comments and appreciate your feedback. We will be looking into the matter as we always aim to maintain our high standards of customer service. Once again we can only apologize for the inconvenience you were caused by the courier. Regards West Lancs
Posted 5 years ago
This company has just been taken to court for not honoring its warrantee period and had judgement entered against them.
Posted 5 years ago
West Lancs Auto Electrics Retail Ltd. is rated 4.87 based on 957 reviews