The Tax Refund Company Reviews

4.47 Rating 775 Reviews
90 %
of reviewers recommend The Tax Refund Company
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Very Easy
Read The Tax Refund Company  Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how The Tax Refund Company made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I keep sending the same information over and over again. Bored now.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. This could possibly be due to automated emails over the xmas period. If not, please feel free to give us a call on 0161 968 7345 and one of our team will go through your application to see what's happening so that we can prevent this from continuing. Kind regards.
Posted 4 months ago
Bullied and harassed into making what I thought was an OPTIONAL claim. Distressing and threatening-feeling emails sent to me.
Posted 5 months ago
• Hello Alan, I see you were referred to us by one of the debt management companies that we work with. • Part of the requirements of debt management programmes and the service they offer to help you to right off / reduce your debts is that you explore all income generating opportunities open to you. • One of those opportunities is to check if you are due a tax refund – which is the service we offer. • As you didn’t complete your initial application with us back in August, the process is then to remind you that this needs to be completed as part of your agreement with the debt management company. • I’m really sorry that you feel you’ve been “bullied” into having to complete this process, I appreciate that there can sometimes be a lot of information to gather when first signing up to a debt management scheme. • I can see you have started the process again, thanks for doing that, we will do everything we can to make it as painless as possible for you (add contact details etc) Mel @ The Tax Refund Company
Posted 5 months ago
Too much past information needed eg date started nmc date finished nmc. No way of indicating the information is no longer available Diffulty identifying what the error was entered to complete the claim.
Posted 6 months ago
Hello Barbara, Thanks for your review. For us to complete a full tax review and put in a claim for you these are the kinds of things we need. If you have any difficulties please call us on 0161 968 7345 so we can help you complete your application. The Tax Refund Company.
Posted 6 months ago
Threatened that my iva would be annulled if I didn't go through this process. Did not consent in any way to my information being passed from PayPal to a third party. Forced to answer questions relating to the exact amount of a benefit I was paid on one single occasion almost three years ago.
Posted 7 months ago
So sorry to hear that you didn't want to go through the process. We work with a number of debt management companies to help their clients clear their debts by seeing if they are owed any tax that they weren't aware of. It's a great way of reducing the debt without having to actually pay anything out as it all comes straight from the tax man (HMRC). Any clients that has their details passed to us from the debt management company have all agreed to it in the original terms and conditions when the debt management company took on their case. All of the debt management companies that we work with have gone to great lengths to ensure that everything has been done correctly and is all above board. We are a very reputable company and have been doing what we do for over 25 years. We certainly don't force or threaten anyone to complete the process, if you choose not to then ultimately that is between you and your debt management company. If the debt management company decide to annul your IVA for not following the terms and conditions that you agreed to with them, then I guess they have that right, but it's up to them at the end of the day. We're just here to see if you're owed any tax and get it back for you. Hope that makes sense, kind regards.
Posted 7 months ago
They Sent requests for additional information but Ignored my emails for clarity, and failed to communicate. Poor customer service.
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, so sorry you've had a poor experience, that's very unusual for us (as you will see from previous feedback) we aim to respond to every customer in a timely manner. Please could you clarify which email address you were sending your questions to so that we can look into this for you? Kind regards
Posted 8 months ago
Bullied into making this claim. Wanted nothing to do with them and they persisted despite me telling them this
Posted 8 months ago
Hi there, If you were asked to complete the review by your IVA company it is with the aim of getting you a tax refund to reduce what you owe on your IVA. If you have any queries please call me on 0161 968 7345. Regards, Mel @ The Tax Refund Company.
Posted 8 months ago
Forms constantly showing errors despite the fact that none are there
Posted 8 months ago
Hi there, Sorry to hear you were having some difficulty with your application. Please could you call us on 0161 968 7345 so we can take a look at this for you. Regards, Mel @The Tax Refund Company.
Posted 8 months ago
Spammed with emails
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Matthew, Sorry to hear that. It looks like the only emails we have sent you are to progress your application for a tax refund. Please can you call us on 0161 968 7345 to clarify. Regards, Mel @ The Tax Refund Company.
Posted 8 months ago
No news on my case at all. What’s going on???? it’s been 8 months!!!!
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Megan Amber, Please could you email me Mel@thetaxrefundcompany.co.uk with your client reference or post code so I can investigate this for you.
Posted 10 months ago
They transferred my tax allowance to my wife, claimed 38% and then I got a tax demand for £124. Despite 3 e-mails and leaving a telephone message(no one in the office to speak to directly) no one has ever contacted me. Contacted HMRC who were very helpful and made sure no further tax allowances could be transferred. Would recommend anyone to contact HMRC first if they are thinking of allowing this company to act on their behalf.
Posted 11 months ago
Following our phone conversation we have now investigated your complaint. The claim we made to HMRC was correct, based on the information you provided. However, we have now confirmed that you provided the wrong information regarding your income and this is why you have received a tax bill from HMRC.
Posted 11 months ago
I didn’t like the way I was contacted and basically emailed with red letters I thought it quite a threatening manner considering I’m in an IBA and I’m stressed over it and I have learning difficulties and my mum acts on my behalf yeah I was the one being scaremonger by this company I have anxiety and it’s just made it worse not sure why this was so important at this time when everything is going on like this in the world
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. As you point out, you are in an IVA and as such, your Court Appointed IVA Supervisor requested (on the 22nd January 2020) you have your tax codes professionally checked by our tax code experts to check if you are owed money by HMRC that could be used to reduce your debts. As you didn’t respond to their request, which may be because you didn’t see their email, we emailed on the 12th February using the same email address, to remind you that you needed to start the process and re-iterating the point your Supervisor explained – that under the terms of your IVA, you’re required to comply with any reasonable requests he makes. As you had not contacted us , (which we now believe is probably because you didn’t see / open the email), after a further 5 weeks we sent you a letter using the address at which you are registered under your IVA. We did this in case you hadn’t seen the emails. The letter, which contained no red wording, carried the same message as the email. Unfortunately, as you didn’t respond to this either, we reverted to sending you another email using the same email address we used previously, on the 7th April. It contained the headline “Urgent Notice – Please do not ignore” in red. Thankfully, you opened this email and did as your IVA Supervisor requested and started your review. I can appreciate this may seem a somewhat heavy-handed approach if you had never received any correspondence in relation to this matter before, but we have to assume the email and postal address we’re using are both current and actively in use, which would seem to be the case according to the Insolvency Register and the fact you received our email on the 7th April. We do appreciate these are unprecedented times, and as such, we have given you significantly longer between each email and letter than would normally be given.
Posted 1 year ago
Fairly easy to fill and the company is very persistent in reminding employees to complete the form.
Posted 1 year ago
Too much paperwork to complete. Endless requirements and then not a single penny refunded. Also, no amazon voucher given as promised in letter.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, As you are aware following our recent email correspondence, our offer of a £25 Amazon Voucher in the event that you didn't get a refund, was subject to a couple of simple T&Cc's, one of which was that you applied for your tax review using the unique reference you were provided with. (You can read these in full on our website here https://thetaxrefundcompany.co.uk/amazon-gift-certificate/) You failed to follow the clear instructions in the letter we sent you which asked you to return the documentation enclosed with the letter in the envelope provided. Instead, you started a new tax review via our website, which was not covered by the offer. With regards to the "endless questions", the service we deliver provides our clients with a comprehensive and in-depth review of all areas of their personal tax affairs to ensure that nothing is overlooked. Our guarantees, a) to recover any money owed to clients by HMRC and b) that we will pay off a clients tax bill in the event they receive an unexpected tax demand as a result of our work, can only be offered because we provide in-depth quality service and give our clients the peace of mind they deserve when they entrust us to look after their tax affairs. Thanks, The Tax Refund Company
Posted 1 year ago
Took a huge proportion of the tax I was owed. Was my own naiveness to allow this to happen but for your own money to be taken like this is sickening to know they took such a large proportion is disgusting. Won't use again and have already told peers and friends to be wary of this company.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi When going through our application process there are points where our fee structure is laid out for you to read and you will have had to agree to our terms and conditions to continue. We do lay this out clearly for our clients so that they can be sure what they are agreeing to. You still received a refund of over £200 and we have also amended your tax code to ensure that you are saving money on your tax payments for the foreseeable future, so I'd like to think that it was worth the fee considering the work we put in on your behalf. In any case, thank you for your review and I wish you all the best for 2020. Kind regards, Mel
Posted 1 year ago
Didn't realise out of a refund of £289 I would only receive £183!!! Not bad commission eh?
Posted 1 year ago
Hi I'm sorry that you find the commission excessive. However, you had ample time throughout the application process to read up on our fee for claiming a successful refund. We have them readily available at all times on our website and in our Terms and Conditions. Despite this, we still have gotten you a successful refund and you still have £183 extra thanks to our efforts. Take into account that we have sorted your tax code for you so that in future you will be paying the correct amount of tax and should no longer be overpaying. Hopefully that makes the commission make a little more sense. Kind regards, Mel
Posted 1 year ago
I think you may have got the amount wrong as on the letter from hmrc it said I was owed £262 and I got a cheque for £162?
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alys The cheque that we sent to you is the money you received back minus our fee. The initial figure of £262 is what HMRC sent back to us whereby we took the commission that you agreed to when you signed your authorisation form. We have outlined our fee on our website and in our Terms and Conditions which was presented to you during your application and so this should not have been unexpected. We still secured a successful refund for you and have altered your tax code to ensure that you will not be overpaying tax to HMRC from this point forward also. Kind regards, Mel
Posted 1 year ago
I’ve emailed direct 1 week ago but not heard anything. Please see photos below
Posted 1 year ago
Although I must take responsibility for not taking note of the small print, I am absolutely disgusting with the way in which you handled my tax refund. You helped me to obtain a tax refund which I desperately needed, only to find you took a substantial amount from the total. I was completely shocked with the amount you have taken and this has now left me having to struggle through this next month.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mark, sorry to hear your feedback. I am a little surprised to hear that you were so shocked at our fee though. Having looked at your application I can see that you applied in response to one of our mailers that we send out through the RMT - each of these mailers has our fee structure clearly laid out in bullet point form (not small print). Also, once you then get onto our website to complete your application, our fees are clearly laid out once again in our terms and conditions which have to be agreed to in order to be able to complete the application (the web site won't let you past this point). As you will no doubt be aware, we work on a no win no fee basis and when we take on a case, we don't know whether a refund is definitely due until we complete the work and receive a cheque from HMRC. We also don't let it rest there, we check the amount is correct and continue to work with HMRC until we are confident we have recovered everything our customers are due. I can see from the notes on your application that we are completing this process for you also as we believe there may be more due to you. We will let you know in due course, but as you can hopefully see, although you may not be totally happy with our fee, we earn every penny. Kind regards, Mel
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely appalling the amount of money you have taken off me through my refund. I will not recommend your company or ever use this service again.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Khelsea, sorry to hear you feel this way. At the beginning of the application process our fees are laid out and explained to our customers. We don't proceed with our service without the customer agreeing to them. You agreed, so we continued with our service in good faith. We appreciate that at the point of applying customers are not aware of how much of a refund they're due, but neither are we. We accept every application on a no win no fee basis not knowing whether we will be able to obtain a refund or not. Oftentimes the work we carry out simply results in reassuring the customer that their tax code is correct and that they are not paying too much. We charge nothing for this. Looking at your application specifically, I can see that you did receive quite a considerable refund and are now hundreds of pounds better off as a result of our service. It's also worth noting: the bigger the refund we get back for our clients, the more they will save by paying less tax in future. Thanks for using our services, sorry again that you feel that way about our fee, but don't forget that you will now be saving money by paying considerably less tax, hopefully for many years to come, and that won’t cost you another penny. Kind regards Mel
Posted 1 year ago
No calculation or explanation of deduction from HMRC cheque.
Posted 1 year ago
Hey Aubrey At the point of issuing a refund, HMRC send a full breakdown of how your refund has been calculated along with what your tax code will now change to so that you will be paying less tax each year from now on. In regards to calculating our fees, this is explained at the beginning of the application process in our terms and conditions. Customers cannot continue with an application until they agree to this, and we will, of course, not proceed with your permission to do so. Thanks for using our service. Don't forget you will be saving money each year by paying less tax. Kind regards, Mel
Posted 1 year ago
The Tax Refund Company is rated 4.47 based on 775 reviews