The Tax Refund Company Reviews

4.44 Rating 789 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend The Tax Refund Company
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Very Easy
Read The Tax Refund Company  Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how The Tax Refund Company made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Fees are high so I only received a small portion of what HMRC owed me but it clearly stated the fees on the website plus I'd never get round to doing it myself anyway, so it's better than nothing. Took a while to get sorted but doesn't everything in life? Paperwork isnt overly difficult if you have payslips to hand and the communication was good. I would use this company again due to my own laziness.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Hi David, thanks for using our service and thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I see that your refund was under £100 so in this case we would have charged our minimum fee of £38 including VAT rather than taking a percentage. Don't forget that you will also now be paying less tax each year so as this was a one-off fee, our service becomes better and better value as time goes on and you save more and more money. Thanks for the feedback, and the stars, we really appreciate it. Kind regards Kind regards.
Posted 2 days ago
Took 8 months to get a simple refund then lost over half of it in commission, do it yourself this is a total rip off
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Hi Melanie, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - part of what you're saying is correct but part of it simply isn't and part of it is slightly confusing. Let's start with the correct part - HMRC has indeed been taking a much longer time than usual to process tax refunds. This is due to the staff who normally process refunds being switched over to deal with processing the government's furlough scheme to help the country through the pandemic. Unfortunately, as they had no extra resources available something had to give and in this case tax refunds had to take a backseat in favour of the millions of furlough claims being made each month. I am pleased to say that now that the furlough scheme has ended, staff have been moved back over to processing refunds and they are making great strides to get back up to date - hence you receiving your refund. OK, now for the part that isn't correct - you say you lost over half of your refund in commission, I've checked the details and you simply didn't, not even close. We work on a no win no fee basis. The only time that a client may end up being charged more than half of their refund is if the refund amount ended up being so small that we had to charge our minimum fee of £38. This in itself is excellent value for the service we offer. The same service from an accountant would have cost you a few hundred pounds, and that would be charged whether you receive a refund or not. And finally the confusing part - you advise people to do this themselves as we are a total rip-off, yet this is the 2nd time you have used our service and it's the 2nd time that we've been successful in getting you a refund - the 2nd refund being bigger than the first refund back in 2019. Our fees have not changed since you last applied, so why would you have used a service for a second time when you felt that it was a rip-off? Kind regards.
Posted 5 days ago
First class service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks for the first-class review! Kind regards
Posted 6 days ago
Quick and easy process. Would recommend. Short time to complete.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
That's great to hear, thank you so much for the review, we really do appreciate it. Kind regards
Posted 1 week ago
Easy process, have not had refund yet so can't say how efficient yet
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks for the feedback, our team will be working on it for you. Kind regards
Posted 1 week ago
This is good process for people who are working hard and they get low income home because of tax cut.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you so much for leaving us a great review Olufunmilayo, we really do appreciate it. Kind regards
Posted 1 week ago
I think it’s amazing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thanks for the great review Margaret, we think you're amazing too! Kind regards
Posted 1 week ago
Out of a £57 tax refund, I got £19 of it. How is this fair?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Perry, thanks for getting in touch and thank you for using our service. In answer to your question, this happens when the initial refund is quite small. There are a couple of points we should mention here so that you fully understand the service we provide. Firstly, as a business we try to keep costs to a minimum so that we can offer customers the best value possible, the fact that we work on a no-win, no-fee basis is a strong indicator of this. However, there are always costs involved when we are processing any case (paying the team to review your tax code and your circumstances for example) so we have worked out what we feel is a fair minimum fee which is just £38 including VAT (All our fees are laid out clearly in our terms and conditions that are agreed to when anyone applies for our service). This offers excellent value when you consider that we only charge it if we actually get you a refund and that the same service from an accountant could have cost you several hundred pounds which you would have paid, refund or not. Secondly, our service does not just simply get you a one-off refund. Whenever we receive a refund for a client we ensure that everything that should have been refunded has been, if it hasn't we continue to liaise with HMRC on your behalf until it has. But most importantly, we also ensure that your tax code is changed as this means that not only will you receive a refund, but you will also continue to pay less tax each year from then on (or until your circumstances change). As we do not charge any extra for this it means that the service we have provided you with becomes a better and better value, paying for itself many times over. Hope that all makes sense and thank you once again for using our service. Kind regards
Posted 1 week ago
Do not use trying to rip me off for £120.00 cos I did not answer there calls
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi Anthony, sorry you've had a bad experience however I can't find any applications or refunds on our system under your name, please could you give us a little more detail? Could it be that you have the wrong company? We certainly don't charge people £120 for not answering calls. Kind regards.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Very easy to fill form out but use don't tell people how long it takes for use to get a refund
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Micky, thanks for your review and the feedback. We have information in our FAQ section about how long claims can take. Also, once we've reviewed your application, if you are due a claim we will email you to let you know a little more detail around what to expect / what happens next. Here's the information from the FAQ section, just so that you don't have to go searching for it: "Our initial online review takes just a couple of minutes to answer the basic questions and we will tell you straight away if it’s worth having a full review. If it is, we’ll also give you an indication of the typical refund we secure for those who have given similar answers to you. If it is worth having a review, the time it takes depends on how complicated your claim is and how quickly you can respond to any further questions we may have for you, obviously the quicker you respond the quicker we can complete your review. We usually assess any information received within 24 – 48 hours and contact you to let you know the outcome and next steps we are taking. We’ll let you know if we put in a refund claim to HMRC. They normally take 6 – 8 weeks to deal with simple claims, but more for complex claims can take a lot longer. If anyone tells you that you can get your refund quicker than this, we suggest you take it with a pinch of salt! We send in thousands of refund claims every month and have been doing for years, so we know how long it really takes. It’s better we tell you the truth, rather than try to make out you’re going to get your money really quickly. Remember, we only get paid when you get your refund, so we continue to liaise with HMRC after we have submitted your claim to ensure we get back every penny you are owed as soon as possible." Hope that all makes sense, if you have any other questions please don't hesitate to ask. Kind regards.
Posted 2 months ago
Don’t use these they take 50% off owed back 1400 and only got 800. Absolute rip off I should have waited for hmrc to contact me . Don’t use this service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi "Anonymous" Thanks for your review as it gives us the opportunity to dispel such feedback. Our fees are not 50% of the refund so maybe you used a different company. We work on an no win no fee basis, our fees are clearly visible in our terms and conditions when customers sign up and are agreed to before we commence any work. We take on all our business in good faith not knowing whether a refund is due or not at that stage. We have found that approximately 1 in 3 of clients who use our service have an incorrect tax code, so approximately 2 thirds of the work we carry out is completely free of charge. You could have waited for HMRC, but the chances are that HMRC didn't know that you were on the wrong tax code so you would continued to lose more money every year in overpaid tax. If you have used our service you will not only have had a refund of tax you didn't know you were due, but we will also have ensured that your tax code has been corrected so that you continue to pay less tax than you were paying previously, saving you more and more money as each year goes by but at no extra cost making the service we provide more and more valuable as time goes on. Hope that all makes sense. Kind regards
Posted 2 months ago
Do not use .Constant emails requesting information, then emails and messages saying it was a glitch. Awful customer service and very unprofessional. No replies to emails sent and when they do it’s a computer generated response. Would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi "Anonymous" thanks for your review. Sadly we did indeed have some system issues a couple of months back. I am pleased to report that this was all sorted out soon after we realised it was happening, but please accept out apologies for any inconvenience caused. I'm quite interested as to what you received as a computer generated response to your emails though as this is not something that we do - please would you be able to shed some light on this? Do you still have a copy of what you received? Kind regards
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely no information received explaining finer details. Have now received a £300 penalty notice from HMRC as I've failed to complete self assessment back dated to 2018/19. I work for the NHS, never been self employed, they explained Tax refund co had informed them I would be sending in self assessments....unbeknown to me! Very misleading, now I have to complete self assessment and appeal the penalty. Thanks for nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Helen, I think we helped you to sort this out with HMRC at the time. This was an HMRC mistake and had nothing to do with the claim that we submitted for you. As a business we only deal with PAYE claims not self assessment so would not submit a claim to HMRC saying that a customer should be completing a self assessment forms. However, we will always help our clients wherever we can as we did in this case. Kind regards
Posted 2 months ago
I was never sent any paper work in the post therefore didn't no your flat fee was £50 +vat I've ended up owing you money !!!!!😡 £58.98 my total claim £50 fee + 20% vat disgusting 😡
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Andrea, Thanks for your review - sorry to hear that you've had a poor experience but it sounds like you have the wrong company: Firstly - We have no record of an application in the name of Andrea Spacey. Secondly - Our minimum fee is considerably less that £50 and we don't charge VAT on top. Thirdly - All our fees are outlined at the point that a customer signs up to use our services. Again, sorry to hear you had a bad experience with whoever it was that you applied to. Unfortunately it gives us all a bad name. Kind regards
Posted 2 months ago
Am happy with this service .and the communication o this site used. Giving me all necessary information on tax refund.thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
That's great feedback, thanks. Kind regards
Posted 9 months ago
Very good thank
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks for the review, we appreciate it. Kind regards
Posted 9 months ago
Pretty straight forward but would be better to pre-warn people what information is required
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
That's great feedback, we are working on something exactly like that. Thanks for the review. Kind regards
Posted 9 months ago
I will be happy to get a rebate
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
And we'll be happy to get you one! Thanks for using our service Nigel, we really appreciate it. Kind regards
Posted 9 months ago
Easy form. Alot or email reminders to complete. Await result with interest
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Catherine, thanks for the review, we'll let you know what the outcome is as soon as your application has been reviewed. Kind regards
Posted 9 months ago
Very helpful 👌
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks for using our service Amanda, we try to be! Kind regards
Posted 9 months ago
The Tax Refund Company is rated 4.44 based on 789 reviews