The Private Plate Co. Reviews

4.94 Rating 13,050 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend The Private Plate Co.
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.93 out of 5
Read The Private Plate Co. Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01639 888833

Email:

info@the-ppc.co.uk

Location:

P.O.Box 200

The purchase was adequate
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Martin. We really don't know what we could have done any better. You ordered NP07 MJP on the 22nd September and we had the registration transferred to your car on the 24th September. Just 2 days from the date of the order. You plates were delivered by recorded delivery so we are unsure what we could have done to improve that sorry.
Posted 1 month ago
Was not clear on weather plates included until I got intouch very confused 😐
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Didn't find they responded very fast to my emails Took a number of times to get a response But in the end got the plate I wanted
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us. You placed the order on the 23rd December and we posted the certificate to you on the 31st December. Thats not bad going when you consider we were closed until the 4th January. You then contacted on the 5th January asking us to arrange the transfer for you which we completed on the 8th January. We think that's pretty good going to be honest.
Posted 10 months ago
Plate was fine. It was supposed to be a surprise Xmas present. But u sent it in my name and not my dad's as requested so it was not a surprise. So am a little disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I'm sorry but Joshua Mark Ditton was the purchaser according to the order. Joshua Mark Ditton was the card holder according to the order and Joshua Mark Ditton was the registered keeper of the car so we cant see what we have done wrong.
Posted 10 months ago
Bad communication when I wanted reassurance on a couple of things not one reply , but they did change over on the date I asked just better communication next time
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi. Thanks for your review. You purchased the registration in November and asked us to transfer the registration number for Christmas Day. We have no record of you asking us to contact you although we can se we emailed you on 23rd December to confirm you could use the registration in Christmas Day.
Posted 10 months ago
plates are brilliant, went through fast on the changeover however was told plates would be with me on the saturday and they came the following wednesday. but the customer service was blunt and rude and i wouldn’t use these again because of that reason alone
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
The order was placed on the 11th November. The plastic plates were ordered on Thursday 12th November and they were signed for by recorded delivery PM799968335GB on Monday 16th November which was 2 working days and in plenty of time for the birthday gift on the 19th November. All in all, we think that's pretty good going considering the reduced capacity at Royal Mail. The registration was then transferred when we received the paperwork on the 2nd December.
Posted 11 months ago
Would be useful if you actually got my name correct!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was very pleased with the condition and the prompt delivery of the plates. When I went to fit the plates, the screws provided were the wrong size for the back plates. Hence the fitters used their own screws as a result the screw caps didn't fit which was a shame. It didn't have that finishing touch.
The Private Plate Co. 3 star review on 20th August 2020 The Private Plate Co. 3 star review on 20th August 2020
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mrs Otuntunde. We have to agree. The rear plate fitment looks awful. The rear number plate has been fitted with large screws which are overkill and unnecessary. If the screws included in the kit were suitable for the front plate then they should clearly be suitable for the rear plate. Manufacturers don't use different fittings for the front and the back of the car. We sell hundreds of plates for Mercedes Benz owners and this is the first time we have encountered this issue, so clearly I assume the person fitting them used the wrong size drill bit and as a consequence had to use large screws because of their error. It's a shame.
Posted 1 year ago
They did ok
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Perfect accept I asked and paid for a blue border to be put around the number plate, which I didn't get.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Not a bad experience for my first time purchase apart from all the extra hidden costs like paying extra to hurry the process up great idea but when you dont receive the email until after where is shut is a little annoying and then the extra cost of the actual plates soar from that happy with the end result.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very disappointed at the length of time it took to get the plates. I had to ring you only to find out that you had misplaced my payment so this had caused the delay,once this was corrected everything went quickly and efficiently
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Philip. Yes you are correct. This was our fault completely. We did take a payment from you and instead of completing your transfer we filed away as there was no note telling us of the date you wanted it completed. We then transferred when you called us the second time 7 days later. Sincere apologies that it was a week late.
Posted 1 year ago
Wasn’t happy that I could not assign the number plate myself it cost me another £20 for them to do it. I’m not stupid I’ve done this a few times a bit of a con to get the extra £20
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Simon. Thanks for taking the time to write a review however your review is slightly misleading. You said you were unhappy that you could not assign the transfer yourself but this is because your vehicle had a tax history issue and so the online transfer option was not made available to you by DVLA. You then called and asked us to arrange this service because you couldn't manage yourself, which we duly arranged for you for a small fee within 48 hours.
Posted 1 year ago
Fast delivery and cheap prices but very misleading as I ordered my plates I thought everything was included as it says and had to pay extra for transfer and admin fees
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi. This is not quite correct. You ordered Y99 OGR and then asked us to arrange the transfer for you at the small cost of £19.95 plus VAT because you found it too difficult to arrange yourself. You then tried to get the service free of charge by telling different members of staff that you had paid the other member of staff. Bit naughty.
Posted 1 year ago
The plates are perfect. All high quality and looks the part. The adhesive pad where not received. I contacted support, have now has to source the pads at other places. I am yet to revive a response from PPC
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Not the same service I received the last time I bought plates here. Not sure if it makes a difference but this time I got my plates through the DVLA auction so not sure how long all the admin takes but I have now been told I can put my plates on the car nearly 3 weeks later. Also i haven't been sent any plates so I have to get my own made up after spending a fortune on the registration.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jamie. Very disappointed in getting a 3 star review from you considering you purchased a registration that was sold by DVLA at auction. The auction ended on the 22nd November and we received the invoice from DVLA on Monday 25th November and received payment from you on the 26th November by bank transfer. Your documents arrived 1st December and we completed the transfer to your car today. All in all a very good service when you consider DVLA quote 6 weeks to receive the auction certificates.
Posted 1 year ago
Excellent quick service however I felt very pushy on after sales .. the plates aren't great quality and screws missing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi. We never push on after sales such as transfer service and plates unless the customer asks us or if they seemed unable to arrange themselves. As you haven't mentioned the registration or your name we are unable to arrange a new set of plates with a fitting kit for you. Incidentally, a fitting kit with adhesive pads is included with all sets of plates ordered free of charge.
Posted 1 year ago
We are still waiting on our paperwork being sent back to us so until we get that we will be unable to review!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi James. The transfer has been completed and the new V5 will be with you in a few days.
Posted 1 year ago
The plate is ace my son loved it for his 21st shame the surprise was spoilt by the DVLA. I used my details and my card to order the plate and said it needed to arrive before the 6th November as it was a present so I thought somebody would have realised and sent his new log addressed to me not him!!!!!! For future reference I think you should look into this so surprises aren't spoilt.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Kevin. We ask customers to tell us when they want the transfer completed so that he V5 arrives "after" the occasion so as not to spoil the surprise. DVLA post the new V5 documents and cannot send them to anyone other than the registered keeper of the car to prevent fraud and possible theft so your 3 star review is not really a reflection of the service we provided to you which was to transfer the registration before the 6th November. We are sorry if the surprise was spoiled but if you has stated the occasion was for the 6th November rather than saying it was to arrive before the 6th we would have prevented this happening.
Posted 2 years ago
Great, fast service however someone forgot to send me with my plates screws, strips and plastic covers for the screws...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The Private Plate Co. is rated 4.94 based on 13,050 reviews