The Fish Society Reviews

4.81 Rating 3,286 Reviews
96% of reviewers recommend The Fish Society
Visit Website

Phone:
01428 687768

Email:
team@thefishsociety.co.uk

Location:
Unit 1Coopers Place

Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how The Fish Society made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 88%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
5
David Joice
"5* for service, quality and delivery!"
Report
Posted 6 months ago
5
Ash Manji
"First time cooking a lobster tail, and they were delicious. Thanks for the quick delivery and well pack."
Report
Posted 7 months ago
Kusumal Sutton
"I would love to order again!"
Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I was very dissointed with the whelks they are absolutely tasteless,I am so dissointed with the fish society and that have normally such a good reputation."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Visit Website
"I received an order of large North Atlantic prawns three bags two of the bags were mixed small medium with a few large in and only one bag was completely large prawns these were North Atlantic peel prawns I made a complaint But they didn't act on my complaint sending photographs to prove what I'd heard I had to phone back spoke to Liz she received the photographs said they will refund some money onto my account with them for my next order but they have not told me how much this is to be I still don't feel satisfied of how it's been dealt with I feel I should've been told how much they're going to refund these prawns good quality north Atlantic peeled prawns are not cheap"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"We cooked two of the lobster tails in an identical fashion, together on the BBQ. One of the tails turned out fine whilst the other turned into slush/mush and the meat fell out of the shell onto the coals. We were not impressed"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and let us know that one of the lobster tails had gone mushy. We are truly sorry this happened. It is important to us that our customers are happy, I understand that my colleague has been in touch and that this has now been resolved. We very much look forward to hearing from you again.
Posted 2 months ago
"Just had my first delivery, packaging was excellent, however £16 for the smallest bag of winkles i have ever seen, what on earth. Not good value."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Crab was OK as was the Boqoronies"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"While the service was fantastic and most of the order great, the XXL red snapper fillet wasn't at all red, it was a different variety of snapper, golden one. Nothing special in taste and definitely wouldn't have paid £17 for it. I tried to write a review on the website, but probably because I checked out as guest without registering when buying, that review wasn't put up. I actually forgot all about it but last night I tried the small red snapper fillets. They were red in colour this time but turned out inedible! Curled up when cooking and tough as boots! I had no idea fish could be like that at all. The rest of the order was good, like I said, and they do have stuff I'd like to order again, but just couldn't overlook my red snapper problem even though I never even write any reviews."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"THE CLAM SEAFOOD WAS VERY POOR VALUE AT THE COST OF £9.80 I HAD ONLY ONE CLAM TWO COCKLES AND A LOT OF POTATOES I did order 4 portions"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I was very disappointed with my delivery. The cod gougons were completely defrosted, they were put straight in the fridge but as I was out all weekend was unable to use any until Monday when we had four of them, the rest I had to throw away. When speaking to an employee I was offered £15.00 refund. Through no fault of mine most of the gougons were wasted. It is very sad that you sell excellent fish but your customer relations are appalling."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I bought some winkles as a gift for my elderly neighbors who would get them on the coast years ago. They didn’t seem impressed and were concerned that the texture was crunchy. They didn’t know if it was just that they’d been frozen?"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Alyssa,

I'm sorry to hear they weren't keen on the winkles. We've sold many of these packs and the feedback is positive. That being said, there can be some variability in seafood so I've made a meaningful credit back to your payment card.
Posted 3 months ago
"Too bland for my taste. I prefer my smoked salmon to have a strong smokey taste ! Your smoked salmon tasted of nothing !"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"I’m"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"The address got mixed up and I received the fish already defrosted, unfortunately couldn’t safe the octopus."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
"Sell fresh smoked cod's roe in vacuum packs - that is not pre frozen"
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"Sadly disappointed, either the lobster wasn’t fresh or it was over cooked but I have had better from a high street supermarket."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
"Apart from being overpriced at source, the delivery charge was extortionate!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"You offer no Sea Trout?! So am not interested in your products!"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"The scampi had very little taste and was mushy and not solid"
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Communication very poor. Fish sent Special Delivery by Royal Mail when they specifically suggest 'Signed For' is not a very good option. As Special Delivery means it can only be the receiver that signs for it and if no one is in it goes back to the sorting office. I gave specific instructions as to the best option for delivery - this was ignored. I do not drive. Came in from work and had to pay £15 for a taxi to the sorting office. At this point the fish had been out of the fridge for over 48 hours. I contacted Alistair the owner and kept him fully informed of what had happened. He never informed me it was with Royal Mail until I happened to catch the postman who mentioned it looked like a food box he took back the day before to the post office. Alistair was agitated and annoyed with me and totally unhelpful. It was my fault by all accounts!! The fish was poorly back with 3 dry ice backs 'thrown' in around the fish. The contents had no hope. Apart from ordering 2 platters which had meagre contents at £108. I counted 10 mussels!! The lot went in the bin. I received a refund but I feel assured I probably had a lucky escape."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"The delivery was late, asking for refund but got refused. I bought the blue crab, whole, after I received them, one of the crab legs was missing and the crab meat was not as tender as expected. I guess because it has been in the freezer for too long. I wouldn’t recommend t9 buy in terms of the price and quality."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
"See review above"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The Fish Society is rated 4.81 based on 3,286 reviews