The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,106 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 4th March 2021
Roger W
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 25th September 2020
Denis D
44
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Considering that is costed me about $300, I'd say it was worth the money, but overall it wasn't a fantastic experience; however, that can be blamed on the fact that it was an online course. My main issues are that often times instructions can be unclear which leads to confusion, and because it's all online, clear feedback isn't easy to get. There are also too many videos. The ones featuring the instructors monologuing are fine, but the classroom demonstrations are painful. I understand that watching a class in action helps you understand the process and technique, but there are at least a dozen 40+ minute videos you're expected to watch and they are very boring. The course also isn't particularly challenging. All you need to pass it is a pulse. All the difficulty comes from the frustration of unclear instructions rather than actual challenges. Overall, it was a decent course. It was worth the money, but it wasn't really super fun or even really that instructive. I'd probably recommend it just for the cost, though. P.S. Why does the bald guy say "What" like Hank Hill?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Hi Reno, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We normally receive great feedback for our courses, especially the video courses, but your feedback will certainly be passed on as we endeavour to improve our services better. All the best, Debbie
Posted 5 days ago
I would say my overall rating of TEFL is satisfactory. The lessons are taped so there is no way to give feedback. I found the lessons to be boring and the group classes were difficult to hear. It was easy to hear the teacher but not the response of the students. If I was a student in that environment I would not have found it comfortable. Everyone looked cramped together with no surface on which to write. I had to repeat many assignments to get them correct. I guess that is ok but it was time-consuming and I don't know how productive. I am glad I am finished and I will see where this certification leads me. Thank you
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Mary, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. We normally receive great feedback for these courses but we will certainly pass on your feedback to be looked into further, as we will endeavour to improve our services further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 1 week ago
While I appreciate that this course is the gold standard for English as a second language, and consider myself an engaged learner generally, it was a grind to get through this course. The teaching styles felt rather outdated, as did the format. When I started the course I took extensive notes, but by the 30th module, I had stopped writing almost anything down. It felt largely bureaucratic and without much to engage/inspire. I did enjoy the little activities for the most part and saved a few of them to use with students. However, I found the course assignments to focus too much on structure and not enough on content. Relaxing your guidelines and encouraging more creativity could only serve to benefit both teachers and students.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Abigail, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. We normally receive excellent feedback for our courses but we will certainly take your feedback on board as we endeavour to improve our services further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 2 weeks ago
The course was serviceable but less polished than I expected, especially given that everything was prerecorded.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to info@tefl.org with more information or suggestions you wish to share and we will look into this further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 3 weeks ago
Overall course was great and well done, I liked mostly the video lessons and good examples on how to deliver the training in class. The principle of teaching English could have been a summary and not a lot of quizzes. Teaching large classes and telephone teaching also had lots of quizzes which could be improved as some of the questions were not clear.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Progress, Thank you for your review. Your feedback regarding our quizzes is very much appreciated as this helps us to improve our courses further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 4 weeks ago
TEFL is a great place to start when you are new to teaching ESL. It is a nice opener program.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Bayinnah, Thank you for your great feedback! All the best, Debbie
Posted 2 months ago
I found the overall material quite interesting but I also found (for what I needed ) that lacked depth. Also, some of the tasks you were asked to do were not too explicit and I have noticed in the forums other students were not too happy about this too. Lastly, this is partly my mistake as I missed the first e-mail by my tutor, it simply got lost in my inbox but at the same time, I feel that overall it was a lonely journey and there was a lack of real support and interest from the tutor. Not once I have received an e-mail checking on my progress etc... maybe this should be specified when people buy the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Giada, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We’re sorry to hear that your experience didn’t match your expectations. The courses we offer are self-study courses but we also encourage an active Facebook and forum community. Our tutors are also available to answer any assignment related questions and mark student coursework promptly. Your feedback is certainly appreciated as we will always look to improve our courses further, so thanks again for this. All the best, Debbie
Posted 2 months ago
I really enjoyed the classes but didn’t like the fact that my time was limited to finish up the courses… I have received very great tips and look forward to putting it into action soon.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us. We're happy to see that you enjoyed our course and wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 2 months ago
I feel like i am totally on my own.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, I'm so sorry to hear that you feel this way. Although we only offer self-study courses we also encourage an active Facebook and forum community, which includes weekly webinars. Please feel free to reach out to other students on these forums. You will also have been assigned an online tutor who you can contact at any time if you have assignment related questions. I hope this helps but should you have any further queries please reach out to us at info@tefl.org. Wishing you all the best, Debbie.
Posted 2 months ago
Good! But hard to find the time if you’re writing thorough notes
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Chloe, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you haven't had much time to continue with the course. You can also download your course work to read over or highlight, rather than take notes, although I appreciate taking notes can be preferred. If you would like more support or have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch. In the meantime, we wish you the best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 3 months ago
I don't Recommend Tefl. Org. As a provider. First they are dishonest. When I first purchased the course.. It was advertised as on offer 50% off.. Until the end of January. So I encouraged my husband to do the course with me. I proceed to do the course for the next 6 months. Guest what every month it was on offer 50% off only valid until the end of the month. A little dishonest. I also discovered that after I completed the course and paid for it I lost access to the course. Unless I purchased an extension. I don't understand why a person has to pay for an extension.. The course was mostly videos to follow.. Tefl has a lot of possibilities but shop around and do your research. I have been dissapointed from day one.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Janesse, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you have been disappointed in the course. With more accreditation than any other provider, our qualifications are recognised internationally, so now that you have passed the course you will be able to embark on your own TEFL adventure! As with many companies, we do offer monthly sales. These are reviewed each month and adjusted or extended. Please be assured that you certainly do not have to buy an extension to access your completed course. I can see that you have since been in touch with our customer service team who have helped you with your course access, so we are happy to see this has been resolved. Should you have any further questions or comments please don't hesitate to get in touch with us. In the meantime, we wish you every success in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 5 months ago
While most parts of the course are really clear some tests are a bit confusing because of the ay the questions are redacted. In some videos they will insist on one specific idea and then the correct answer will be the opposite on the test. Some other questions might be subjective or up for debate which makes getting a correct mark a matter of guessing the intention of the question and hoe to answer. I'd like to see more clarification on those tests and on the assignments which sometimes are also not clear about what you need to submit
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Carmen, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. I'm sorry to hear that you felt some of the course was confusing. This is certainly something I will pass on as we will always endeavour to improve our courses further. If you ever have any course related questions in the meantime, please don't hesitate to get in touch with your tutor who can help you through the course. Wishing you the best of luck with the remainder of your course, Debbie.
Posted 10 months ago
I’m having real difficulty understanding the instructions of my assignments I have come across so far and the great amount of text does prevent me from understanding and focusing on the task. I emailed my tutor for help and his help I found too complex as it’s explained just like what the assignment explains. And I’d appreciate it if I can get a simpler and shorter description of the assignments’s tasks. So I’m stuck and can’t move on from my assignments as I haven’t understood at all yet the assignment. And I find one assignment confusing that what it tells me to do is numbered so as complex as I find it, its like asking me to do different tasks but its one in one from the numbers.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Thomas, Thank you for posting a review and I’m sorry to hear you are having such a frustrating experience. We would love to help support you further with this. Please could you reach out to the team at support@tefl.org with further details and they will help guide you through the course. We are here to help with any questions you have so please don't hesitate to contact us. Wishing you the best of luck with the rest of the course, Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
I just started the course. I finished the first module (nouns) of the grammar course. So far so good. I didn't rate TEFL higher at this point because I'm just starting out. I thought the video on class instruction should have included what age group the instruction was meant for as the concepts were difficult for the students to understand (at least that was my take on the video). I am grateful that my mentor Denise has already reached out to me! I look forward to what the next part of the grammar course has to teach me and when I finally get past grammar into the coursework that counts towards the certificate. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for taking to time to leave this review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the course so far and that's great that Denise has been in touch! We are confident that you will enjoy the rest of your course and if you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best of luck with the remainder of your course! Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
Hi there. Things have been going well so far. The only issue I have is that sometimes I am on a certain spot and it will randomly refresh to the home page. I then have to go find my place again. Kind of annoying. I don’t know if that happens to everyone or just me. Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Oksana, Thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know about this as it is certainly something that should not be happening. We would like the opportunity to investigate this further - could you please contact us at info@tefl.org so we can look into resolving this issue as soon as possible. In the meantime, best of luck with the rest of your course! Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
The course was well presented but the after course support in finding jobs is rated unsatisfactory. Similar TEFL training institutes are doing a better job of assisting me find teaching jobs, this is in spite of me not training with them. They have been more helpful and have sent referrals my way.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Vivian, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. We certainly provide support with writing your TEFL CV, provide you with a reference letter from your course tutor (course dependent), as well as grant lifelong access to our TEFL Org Jobcentre, where you will be able to exclusively access many TEFL positions both internationally and online. We also encourage an active Facebook and forum community, which include weekly webinars, and blogs. You can also email jobs@tefl.org for additionals help and advice, or if you have questions regarding your job search. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org with any further comments or suggestions you wish to share as we will always endeavour to improve our services. In the meantime, best of luck with your job search, Debbie.
Posted 11 months ago
The course is well structured. However, I expected more depth in terms of the teaching methods. For example, PPP is not well illustrated, but it was emphasized as a key tool in the classroom. The methodology part is lengthy, parts of it have been repeated in following units. Shouldn't be there more elaboration on the psychological part of teaching students. Meaning, adults misbehave as well, there is no mention on how to deal with it !
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Abdelhameed, Thanks for sharing your review with us. Your feedback regarding these different points of the course is very much appreciated as we will always endeavour to improve our courses further. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your future TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
We had little to no interaction with your staff. I understand I a person who is to help me out with visa and job hunting. Never heard from this person. The resources need to be updated. It would be interesting to watch a complete class with actual students….beginning to end.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. For our courses you are assigned an online tutor to help you through the course work. You would be required to look into visa processed and search for jobs yourself but we can certainly help with any queries you have surrounding these. Please get in touch if you have any questions about this. We will also support you with writing your TEFL CV, provide you with a reference letter from your course tutor (course dependent), as well as grant lifelong access to our TEFL Org Jobcentre, where you will be able to exclusively access many TEFL positions both internationally and online. We also encourage an active Facebook and forum community, which include weekly webinars, and blogs. We'd like to thank you for your feedback regarding our resources as we will always look to improve our courses further. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours, Debbie.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alan. I am upset! I recently bought a 3 month extension to my Tefl English Program in April 23/21 and was denied access to the program yesterday May 27. Extension pre expiry Order ID 806634 Please fix I want to work on the program asap today. I sent issue to Support last night and no response yet. My tutor support person is Thomas Kerr. Thank you, Candice
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Candice, Thank you for your review. I can see that the customer service team got back to you to advise how you activate your extension once purchased. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to get back in touch with us here: info@tefl.org . Best of luck with the rest of your course!
Posted 1 year ago
I find the course to be good, but waiting up to 48 hours for an assignment to be graded and critiqued is absolutely ridiculous. 24 hours max is all we should have to wait. Hire more tutors if need be.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Cody, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. To ensure we deliver high quality, affordable courses, our tutors are assigned to a number of students. Also, due to the number of students that our tutors support who are located all around the world in different time zones, we find the 48-hours a more realistic and efficient timescale. I will certainly pass on your feedback regarding this however, as we will always look to improve our courses further. All the best, Debbie.
Posted 1 year ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.52 based on 5,106 reviews