The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,106 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 4th March 2021
Roger W
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 25th September 2020
Denis D
44
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Sorry, but it was really not up to par. A teacher is supposed to know / be tested of way different things. Grammar was simply ridiculous. The teachibg methodology just followed one principle that is the correct was of teaching according to you, but there are countless studies proving that teaching is not like you claimed. It looks way different in practice and there are several working methods & schools of thought. I don't want to write an essay here but I wrote my thesis in a language pedagogy related topic, so I know very well this course presented a bit of a, well how to put it, narrow-minded approach
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Gabor, We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. As we are the most accredited TEFL Course provider in the UK we are required to follow strict guidelines to ensure these standards are continually met. Your feedback has certainly been noted though. Wishing you the best of luck in your future endeavours, Debbie
Posted 4 weeks ago
Advised to drop out by teacher as the course I booked wasn't suitable,misleading website! Waste off money I can't afford.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Andrew, Thank you for letting us know about this. I can see that you enrolled on one of our specialised advanced courses, so this assumes prior knowledge of TEFL. If you do not already hold a TEFL qualification, we understand why your tutor may have advised this. Please can you contact the customer service team at info@tefl.org with this information and they can help you further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 3 months ago
I purchased the online program on January 16th 2022. On January 18th, 2022 I wrote and requested that my order be cancelled as due to unforeseen circumstances (related to family Covid illness) I was going to be in an area without internet/WiFi connection. On January 19, 2022 i was told that I could not cancel the program. The rerun policy states “Once you have started your precludes task, you are deemed to have started the course and refunds are not possible”. I had NOT started any courses and was told I did not qualify for a refund. The telephone number on the website did not work. The message service refused to give me the name of anyone in management and told me to write a letter to their info email which I did and received a boiler plate reply which did not address anything, I do not recommend this company or their service, it I should obviously a money making racket on auto pilot,
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
First when i registered for the course they failed me in assignments and i bought extension. Then they promise we will deliver the hard copy to your address. I have never received that copy. I have mailed them but they are saying now you have to pay for the hard copy. Highly unprofessional behaviour which is not acceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi David, Thank you for your review. We do certainly advertise our courses as having a specific timescale for completion. If you required more time to view your tutor's feedback you could have contacted our customer service team who would have helped with this. The initial paper certificate is certainly included in the cost of your course. Depending on the address provided and the local postal service, it can take up to 6-weeks to arrive. If you have not received this as yet please get in touch with us at info@tefl.org and we can look into this further for you. In the meantime, we wish you all the best. Debbie
Posted 5 months ago
I have purchased the 120-h course, but I did not get the course. I cannot see it in my dashboard. What is going on?
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Maximiliano, Thank you for your review. I can see that you had also been in touch with our Customer Service Team, who were able to get to the bottom of what had happened. If you need any further help with your course please don't hesitate to get back in touch. All the best, Debbie
Posted 8 months ago
At first it was good, but then it all went downhill due to lack of support, no adequate extension, etc.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel there was no support available. For account related queries you can contact us by phone, online chat or email here: info@tefl.org. You can also contact your tutor direct who can provide course related support. For extensions you can certainly buy an extension any time you wish, and you don’t need to activate it until you are completely ready to restart your online work. You also do not need to purchase an extension to keep your course open. All of your work will be saved! Please feel free to reach our to us at into@tefl.org with more comments or suggestions. All the best, Debbie
Posted 8 months ago
The TEFL learning platform is buggy, the courses are extremely unengaging, and my "tutor" is more of a hindrance than a help. I'll use a different program to meet my goals.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi John, We are sorry that your experience at TEFL Org didn’t match your expectations. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further as there could be an issue with your account that can be fixed. We receive many excellent reviews about our tutor's and the invaluable feedback they provide to help students pass their course. We would love to know more about your experience, so that we can deliver a better service next time. Please could you contact us at info@tefl.org. We’ll work with you to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. In the meantime, we wish you all the best, Debbie.
Posted 10 months ago
Hello, everyone! Unfortunately, I am totally disappointed with the TEFL Org. At the end of May this year, I finished the 168h TEFL course, and previously, the 30h Teaching young learners course (November 2020). By now, my certificates were supposed to arrive, but they didn't. Not just I didn't receive my certificates, but I found out that I've been lied with regards that my certificates were sent... Twice!!! Every time I asked about my certificates, excuses over excuses, from them that the TEFL Org can't check/ follow/ or know if a certificate arrives or not. I find this behaviour unprofessional and careless! Not to mention that I paid twice for the re-issue of one of my certificates (I'm sure I wasn't supposed to do that), on the reason that first time when it was issued, the certificate wasn't able to be sent?! Like, what? If it wasn't able to be sent, it means it's still there... More than this, because the TEFL Org didn't send my certificates, I missed this year's enrollment for my Masters Degree with Harvard University Graduate School of Education because I need the originals. This after the huge amount of money I paid to the TEFL Org for the courses I took which includes the receiving of my original certificates! Very bad experience, lack of professionalism from their side and total careless! Not recommended at all! Find another course provider! Bianca
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Bianca, Thank you for taking the time in posting your review. I am sorry that there has been an issue receiving your certificate. We can confirm that your certificate has been sent out twice - the first time it was returned to our office, we then posted this out a second time on the 23rd July to the address you had requested. We have found that some international post has been taking longer than usual so do ask our students to allow more time. We are hopeful that your certificate will be with you soon. If not please contact us at info@tefl.org where we will look into this further. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 10 months ago
I don't give stars away. I give gold and silver.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Andrew, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We'd like to know why you are not having a positive experience so we can endeavour to resolve this for you. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We would love the chance to improve your learning experience with us. Kind regards, Debbie.
Posted 11 months ago
I feel like there was a lot of bias on the tutors end and I have tried to talk to TEFL Org and I felt like it is not really worth it. The support is not very professional and instead of helping me achieve my understanding of where I went wrong it is always justification and criticism. If I had known I would have taken the course I feel cheated and also their job portal is not regally updated. They trick you with that. Also the website has too much information all over. The chat/phone support may take along time to really help you and sort out your issue. Personally I got a tutor who always had a different opinion, I have done numerous attempts of assignments and each time there was always something wrong. I got so fed up and I almost gave up. The tutor wanted perfection rather than helping me achieve becoming like them. It is not worth spending your money on TEFL Org
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
I dislike how I only have one choice of word tenses when it comes to typing in the answer.There are many correct ways to to word it but I only have once word choice.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Somphonxay, Thank you for your review. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. In the meantime, thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best of luck with the rest of your course, Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
This is the worst course that I have ever taken! I have taken online courses for the past 10 years and I have never had an experience such as this on with TEFL. The course work is manageable and the delivery is acceptable however, the testing feedback did nothing to assist me. As such, I have all but given up on passing any of the written exams. I even extended for a month with the hopes of passing these exams, but I am unable even after asking the tutor for help. I will not be referring TEFL to any of my students, colleagues or friends. Patricia M. Cepeda-Russell, Ed.D.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Patricia, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry that your experience at TEFL Org didn’t match your expectations. It is certainly an uncommon instance as we find students often pass assignments once they have taken the tutor's advice on board. We wondered if you could therefore email us at info@tefl.org so we can look into this matter further. We can then work together to help you pass these assignments. In the meantime, we wish you all the best, Debbie.
Posted 11 months ago
Queries are never resolved and the communication is very horrible. The tutors are not easily reachable and even trying to get any sort of help is very frustrating and not professional. Once you pay you are on your own. Try find a different and better place to study your English course this place is not worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi, Thank you for your review and we’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. You can certainly contact your tutor at any time and they will reply to questions within 48-hours. They are there to help with any course related questions you have and will always endeavour to help you pass your course successfully. I can see that you have since been in touch with us, so I hope your queries have since been answered. We wish you the best of luck with the rest of your course. Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
I never began the (120hr) online course so this is not a review of the service and delivery of the course curriculum itself. This 1 star rating is a complaint based on their lack of transparency and customer service regarding the conditions of the course timeframe. I did not begin the course, I did not even agree to the terms and conditions however the 6month expiry began from point of purchase. They did not notify me of this fact until 3 weeks before the expiration. NB- they confirm that on average it takes people 10-12 weeks to complete the course, so why didn't they notify me sooner given they knew I hadn't started. They were keen to offer me a costly extension. Don't rush in. Their "Sale" prices are always available so don't rush the purchase to benefit from a reduced price.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. We certainly endeavour to be transparent about our courses. We advertise that there is a time scale to complete your course within and this starts from the date of purchase. Our students can also view their own specific expiry date on their account. As this information is available before and after the course purchase we do not start to send email reminders until nearer the end of a course. We are sorry that you do not feel this information is clear enough though and would love to hear any further comments or suggestions you may have regarding this. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org. In the meantime, we wish you all the best. Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
I asked you a question and you replied with the automated stock email you sent when I joined, word for word. Even this took you three days. Pathetic.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Andrea, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Upon investigation I can only find one email that we received from you yesterday and I see this was dealt with right away. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further though - could you please contact me at info@tefl.org to let us know which email address you previously wrote to. We’ll work with you to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. Thanks again for your review. Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
Not enough time to complete the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Aine, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. We do offer a timescale that seems to suit most of our students but realise that sometimes, life can get in the way. We therefore offer the option to buy an extension if more time is needed. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org to discuss these options further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Didn’t revive my certificate on time until I Sadler for it. I had no apology
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alexander, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I’m very sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience with your certificate, it is an uncommon instance, so I hope this was resolved for you. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org if you need more assistance. Our apologies again. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The 120 hour course took me about 60 hours. The questions are clearly written by people who know very little about clarity and quite often answers completely go against what's actually been taught in the course. But, the worst part for me is the purchasing of a 40hr 'advanced' online course. It's an absolute joke. I completed over 50% of it in two hours. Terms and conditions are such that you can't get a refund if you've actually looked at ANY course content, so I feel like I've been totally conned into paying for something completely worthless to me, it's false advertising to say it is in any shape or form advanced and absolutely would not improve my employment prospects.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. We normally get excellent reviews about our 120-hour courses but certainly appreciate any feedback that can help us improve our courses further. We endeavour to make our terms and conditions as clear as possible for our students, and the user agreement that must be signed before a course starts will state the terms of a refund. I am unsure which advanced course you have taken but we do detail the contents of each course on our website. We provide a breakdown of 'What you will learn' and 'What is included'. We also encourage our students to contact us with any questions they may have before making a decision. Thank you again for your review and if you would like to discuss this further please get in touch with us at info@tefl.org. All the best, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Everything went well until I got to the essays. The objectives are confusing and a stumbling block
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Joy, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you are struggling with the assignments. When you enrolled on the course you would have been assigned a tutor - Please don't hesitate to contact them and they will help you to get through the course. Best of luck with the remainder of your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The quality of the material is not very professional. Access to the teaching material is far too limited in time, only a mere 6 months. If you pay that much, you should get lifetime access in my opinion, or at least several years. For example, on another education website (NHA) I get 5 years of access to the teaching material. And there the price and quality is a lot higher.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jan, Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you feel the material was not professional. We receive many excellent reviews about our course material, so would certainly appreciate if you could provide more details to help us improve our courses further. Like most accredited TEFL courses there is certainly a set time given to complete a course, though there is also an option to extend. Once a course is completed our graduates get lifelong access to all there course material. We also provide lifelong access to our TEFL Org Jobcentre, where you will be able to exclusively access many TEFL positions both internationally and online. Thank you again for your review and please feel free to contact us at info@tefl.org with any further comments or suggestions. In the meantime, we wish you all the best for the future. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.52 based on 5,106 reviews