The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,106 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 4th March 2021
Roger W
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 25th September 2020
Denis D
44
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
She gave all the information very well but I don’t think she’s a funny person.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Lucy, Thanks for your review but I am not sure what you mean by this feedback. Please feel free to reach out to us at info@tefl.org with more details. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 4 weeks ago
I would have liked more examples for the taught subjects. There was no full example of a phone teaching element. A lot of the questions were multiple choice. My understanding was that this was part of the learning (as well as checking the learning). I do not think that this was very effective. The website was sometimes difficult to use. Marked long assessments were difficult to find. I was unable to have 2 TEFL webpages open simultaneously. At times I disagreed with the answers suggested or several answers were possible, but TEFL only accepted one answer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your course. I will certainly pass on your feedback, as we will always look to improve our courses further. Our tutors will certainly look for specific details to be shown in assignments, as this ensures we continue to meet the accreditation criteria. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 2 months ago
Añez meodo el ker shea sa fasya - onk mede tsheb el khar - madar 👍🏼🤣
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
This TEFL course leaves a lot to be desired. In attempting to have quite a general focus, it lacks grounding that could help students walk away with a clear understanding of the material.This is especially frustrating when attempting to do assignments as there are no perimeters for what level a class is aimed at, what the students may have covered in a previous class, etc. The UX is not user-friendly, videos take too long to load and often fail entirely. Multiple times during study sessions, progress is marred by being kicked out of the unit altogether and being redirected to the "my courses" page. It's difficult to plan a study schedule as there are no time stamps for how long videos will be before actually clicking into the video itself. There is no unit overview or breakdown before the introduction video. For a neuro-divergent learner like myself, videos under thirty seconds that preced a second video with the same, albeit more fleshed out, information is very disruptive. Especially considering that each video takes over two minutes to load, as stated above.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Feeya, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We receive many excellent reviews regarding our courses and most graduates go on to successfully find TEFL work all around the world, so your feedback regarding this is certainly appreciated as we will always endeavour to improve our courses further. The issues you have been experiencing regarding watching the videos is an uncommon instance and is normally related to an issue with the browser. Please feel free to contact us at info@tefl.org where they can look into these glitches further and help you proceed through your course without hindrance. Again, thank you for your feedback. All the best, Debbie
Posted 10 months ago
No one has contacted me until now when I am in a bad situation.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. Our online courses are self-paced, so we do not personally contact our students unless they get in touch with a query. If you need any support please at info@tefl.org or call 01349 800 600 with more information and we will endeavour to help with this. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
I finished my online program and have been waiting for my certificate to arrive at my address for long since then
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Orcun, Thank you for posting a review and letting us know about this. We would love the opportunity to look into this further for you. Could you please email us at info@tefl.org where we will be able to access your account to investigate what has happened with your certificate. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
I thought the course was a bit shallow, as I have been teaching for a long time and just wanted the practicalities of teaching online and examples, I thought the course offer was misleading, thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Cassandra, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience at TEFL Org didn’t match your expectations. In this advanced course we endeavour to show how to create, plan and conduct a TEFL lesson online, and the technology available to do so. As you did not feel that this course delivered this we would very much like the opportunity to investigate this further. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org with further comments and suggestions, as we will always look to improve our courses further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 11 months ago
Hi, I have been considering enrolling for a course for some time. Looked TFL courses etc. Spoke to someone to ask advice regarding me needs for TFL. Hoping to see a bit more, perhaps a short clip of a typical session to get an idea if TFL teaching methods on line would be something I could work with to learn. To this end I registered my name and email but no further information was available, just to purchase a course. In fact to register your name but NOT buy a course right away courses a major problem When I do come back, seeing prices reduced, a help as a pensioner, your system would not let me enter name and address and purchase a course as it said I was I was an account holder already. .... an account holder would indicate I had made a transaction with TFL and I had not done so. I tried to get around it and purchase a course but could not. I rang for help, but did not have a very happy conversation many course the line was poor and I could not hear all the time when the admin chap was speaking. So I did not have a very easy or happy time enrolling for the course and to date have not yet evened opened it and started. Partly because I was so fed up with the hassle of trying to register and pay AND because I had explained I had a very busy July coming up with what I do and would be able to give minimal time to it but would buy now as it was 50 % off . But it is clear that there is a continual salvo some sort and I could have purchase this course at the same price I paid but much nearer the time I can get to study which is end July. I presume I can still login in and start when choose but will have to reset password. Would I recommend currently no due to a difficult and unhelpful information, registering and purchasing process. This covers all your sections below. When I do look at content I can review that part of the question.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sarah, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience at TEFL Org didn’t match your expectations. When registering your details and creating a password with us, this does set up an account for you. To purchase a course you would then have needed to login to your account to do so, rather than try to set up a new account. I'm glad to see this was rectified for you and you were able to purchase a course at the reduced price. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch - you can email us at info@tefl.org if you have any telephone reception issues. Our customer service team will then get back to you as soon as possible. We wish you the best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I can tell the course is made with the best of intentions. But the videos are outdated and both so slow that it is difficult to pay attention to it and so simplified that taking in the information is actually more difficult. I would really appreciate it if you could consider creating new teaching videos with teachers or even actors that still speak clearly, but maybe not so slow that it becomes difficult remembering the beginning of the sentence because it took so long to get to the end of it. I personally only read the texts now. This might sound really harsh, it is just that I studied film and on a creator's level, the video's really fail to engage the audience. The second point would be to not simplify all teaching points to the bare minimum. For someone that actually wants to teach, the more context, examples and scenarios the better. If you only explain the bare minimum so that people don't get confused, it means instead of understanding, the learner is simply memorising the methods. Which personally means that I will learn it one day and forget the next. It seems the course layout and material is quite old and could do with some updates.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Emilia, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We normally have good reviews regarding our vidoes, however, your feedback will certainly help us to improve our services further, so this has been passed on. Thanks again and all the best with your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The class is like reading a text book. I wish there were some videos. I have had to read throughout the materials multiple times to understand it and how to do the assignment. The class is very boring and not enjoyable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Laurel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I can see that you are currently doing one of our new advanced courses. As this is a new course your feedback is especially appreciated and I have passed this on. We will always look to improve our courses further, so thank you again. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
There was some very interesting and useful content, but I felt it had been somewhat 'padded out' to give the illusion of value for money. It would be helpful if there were different levels of the 120-hour course. I am a 44 year-old mother of twins and engineering graduate. I felt some of the information was completely useless to me (such as how to discipline a class/manage young learners/keeping a personal development file etc), but would be helpful to maybe a gap-year student or someone just starting out in this field. I also felt that the feedback on my assignments wasn't particularly personalised. My tutor, Arthur, was prompt in replying to my emails but the feedback he provided had very much an air of "cut and paste" in certain parts. Also, the instructions should be clearer for the assignments. For the TelephoneTeaching Course I chose the option of the "General English Student" profile. This profiles states that : "This student is an adult learner, aged 25. They have been studying English for a couple of years and have been your student for the last 3 months, so you know them quite well. Their level is pre-intermediate. They enjoy watching films and TV programmes in English and are planning on travelling to an English-speaking country in the summer". I wrote my lesson according to that profile but my assignment was rejected initially. I appreciate there may have been mistakes in my lesson plan, but one of the things I was asked to re-do was to provide a description of the student as well as my reasons for choosing the resources I used. Neither of those things were listed as necessary (or to be included) in the brief! So, clearer instructions might help future students get it right first time round. Lastly, I was pleased to be able to purchase my course at a 'discounted' rate, which was 'soon to expire'. The courses seem to be on a permanent discounted rate though, which kind of negates any deal I felt I got. For this reason I would not recommend TEFL.ORG, as it seems like a bit of a rip off 'deal'.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Lilyanna, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We do try to make our course accessible and helpful to everyone, and ensure all the course content meets the criteria of our accreditors. We do offer level 5 courses as well for a higher level of training. I will certainly pass on your feedback though as we will always look to improve our courses further. I'm sorry to hear that you feel the assignments were not clear as well and will pass this on the our tutors to look into. I'm also sorry that you feel you did not get a good deal with your course. As with many providers we do certainly have sales on throughout the year and although these can sometimes be extended the deals do change regularly as well. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your future endeavours! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I provided some feedback to your colleague Fiona this morning who explained that her manager would follow up with me. I assume this will be personal and not a generic format like this. Then again, that seems a common theme with this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Paul, Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that you have felt that our replies to you have been generic, it is certainly not our intention. We do have automated emails that are sent though, such as our request for feedback. I can see that Fiona had forwarded your detailed feedback to our manager who has since replied to you. We certainly appreciate all feedback as this helps us to improve our service. I can also see that your certificate was posted early as requested, so hopefully this will be with you soon. Thank you again for your feedback. I wish you a safe journey and best of luck in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Alan, I have done so far the gammar course and it was not as i expected. Before i joined the course it was written that a tutor would be helping me, and after i joined, i have received an email saying that i have to buy grammar books and teach myself by myself. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Marwan, We are sorry that your experience at TEFL Org hasn't match your expectations so far. Our grammar course is a self-study course, though you can certainly contact the support team with any questions regarding this. We do recommend Grammar books as well, though these are not essential to complete this course. You can be sure that your tutor will be available for help in your other modules as well. Best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Very disappointed with the online live sessions. They’re a repeat of what the modules that you have to go through are. In 30 hours of live sessions I found 15 minutes important and of value. I think you should rethink how the online course is thought. The teacher was good however the material that she goes through is taught in the online courses. I’d find it a lot more informative if there was more emphasis on actual teaching and how to teach instead of explanation of what English consists of (grammar and tenses). Very disappointed for how much money the course costs. Wouldn’t recommend it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Barbara, Thank you for your review and we are sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations of this course. Our live sessions are a teaching practice course to make use of what you've learned online and help build confidence to deliver a lesson. I will certainly pass your feedback on however as we are always looking to improve our courses further. Again, thank you for your feedback. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Unfortunately I did not manage to complete the last assignment - I tried twice and got some feedback which really didn't help me and I bought an extension and tried again to get help from other people - I had sent a few e-mails to tutor who said she never got them and then I ran out of time. Disappointing as I got as far as last assignment just fine and I know I could teach a class
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Perpetua, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We would love to make things right if you could contact us to discuss the issues further. I can see that you have not contacted our Customer Service Team as yet - please email them here: info@tefl.org.uk and they will endeavour to help you to move forward with your course. In the meantime, we wish you all the best. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Too expensive for what it is
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Karen, thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org.uk with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We wish you all the best for the future! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I enjoyed the course however it was mostly about using various online platforms. There was very little in the way of how to teach, what to teach, the basics of teaching a subject is subject knowledge. Some of the people in my online group couldn't put a grammatically correct sentence together even though they are native speakers, even their presentation was full of errors . I put huge effort into ensuring my lessons were relevant, engaging and full of learning opportunities. If I had known that I could just show my face, fumble with technology and present any old thing I could have done the same. The fact that these people "passed" is disappointing as it weakens my qualification and does not show how much effort I put into it. Janet Poole Sent from my Huawei phone
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for posting a review. I can see that you enrolled on our Teaching English Online Bundle – this course focuses on how to set up and promote yourself as an online teacher. It also helps students to practice their teaching skills. To delve into how to teach and what to teach, this is covered in one of our full courses, such as the 120-hour Premier, rather than a specialised course. We are sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations of this course. Your feedback helps us improve our service and this has certainly been passed on. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Again, thank you for your feedback. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Alan, I was fine with the Grammar module, but on my second module: methodology I find there is not enough depth in the teachings to understand new concepts. Like for the PPP quiz I find myself searching on the internet for other resources to be able to understand better this new concept. So no, I am not very satisfied with the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alan, I believe there needs to be access to the tutors when students struggle. Recently, I struggled with an assignment twice and although I am getting support I feel it is not enough. I’m also using the forum to understand other students view and feel they are also struggling
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had trouble with the booking online to start with but the gentleman on the phone was very helpful and efficient. On receiving communication of the courses being cancelled, mine included, I asked information. I explained that I can not reschedule or take online lessons. It seems because of this I have been forgotten about. After numerous attempts at phoning but to no avail. I do understand that it may be a busy period but I would like to know what happens next. The 2 stars are for the kind gentleman that initially booked the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.52 based on 5,106 reviews