The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,231 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 18th July 2022
Rachel H
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 10th July 2022
Raymond B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
46
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Everything was fine with the course, but I gave 3 stars because I still have not received my certificate and have not received any updates on it. I cannot begin teaching until I receive my certificate, which was supposed to arrive weeks ago, now. I really wish there were more communication on this or a way to track the status, somehow. It is affecting my career, and I may lose my job opportunity due to it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Hayley, Thanks for sharing your review with us. Our PDF certificates are emailed within a couple of days of you completing your course, we are also posting paper certificates within 2-3 weeks at the moment due to the lockdown. If it has been weeks then this is certainly something that we will need to investigate. Could you please contact us at info@tefl.org so we can look into this for you. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I need information about WHAT topics are covered in what level per the CEFR (A1, A2, etc.). I've been teaching English for over a year already and knew almost every detail covered. It would have been helpful to understand at what pace students should go through the content.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Joanna, Thank you for getting in touch. In 1.15 of the methodology courses, you will see what it taught at each level: Beginner, pre-intermediate etc. You can translate that into CEFR levels by using this chart: CEFR Level A1 – Beginner / CEFR Level A2 – Elementary – Pre-Intermediate / CEFR Level B1 – Intermediate / CEFR Level B2 – Upper Intermediate / CEFR Level C1 – Advanced for CAE / CEFR Level C2 – Proficiency.
Posted 1 year ago
The teaching materials & training content within the TEFL website is useful & helpful. The functionality I think can be improved to give a better user experience. For example: Each time I complete a module (typically a video) the site returns me to the 'My courses' page, meaning I have to navigate back to module page I am working on. Also in some student classes when the students are talking the sound can be inaudible. Occasionally a module is not ticked to indicate it has been completed or passed even though it has completed/passed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Mark, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this great review. Your feedback regarding the functionality is very much appreciated as this helps us to improve our courses further. We wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I have not completed the whole course so I am not sure about the rest of it but I found the grammar course really really hard to follow due to its dullness.. I hope the rest is better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Tarah, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We are confident that you will enjoy the rest of our course as we received excellent feedback for our courses. Best of luck with the remainder of you course. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I’ve only recently started the course but I must say the quality of the videos is definitely not as professional as I would have thought, especially seeing as the whole course is conducted through videos. There seems to be have been a lack of professional videographers used as the camera, lighting and other aspects are fairly poor and there seems to be little to no editing resulting in mistakes being left in the videos. The information is still okay but the overall quality of the videos is disappointing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Edwards, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the videography of our courses and this has been passed on to the team. Best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The 120 hour online TEFL course is thorough and quite rigorous so you do feel you have achieved something. HOWEVER..... the online teaching jobs world is a thing to behold. I was offered work following an online interview which I successfully passed, but you need to be aware that most of this is China based and so the hours of the day you need to be active are not sociable and there is no demand for other times if day. Also... some of these companies operate very oddly in terms of payment. Sometimes reviews are given by children who just may not want to be there! This CAN in turn affect pay rates (which are often less than UK minimum wage anyway to start.) Bottom line... know what you are getting into. I’d forget investing in extra courses or units until you see what the job situation is like. AND..... don’t feel you have to buy an English teaching textbook from the get go.... not necessary. This is not a career option really so be careful just how much you spend on it all.....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Ray, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your course with us. Your feedback regarding your experience after the course is appreciated as well. It is important to gauge the TEFL jobs available to understand what to expect - especially when entering the first year of TEFL. Our blog can help with many of these queries as well: www.tefl.org/blog/ Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your future endeavours! Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The classroom sessions were great and I thought our teacher was fantastic; however, the online lessons had a lot of glitches and I ran out of time to complete it for a job I was accepted for, therefore losing the amount of money I spent for the 120 hour class because the glitches did not allow me to move forward with the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Laura, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you experienced these glitches during your course. It was an uncommon instance, but we can certainly look into this further. Please contact info@tefl.org.uk to provide more information and they can investigate these issues. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The online course was structured well and was easy to follow. My tutor was very nice and very prompt with feedback on assignments. What I disliked was the customer service experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Rosanna, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear that you are enjoying our course. We are concerned that your customer service experience was not of the quality we strive for. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please could you contact us at info@tefl.org.uk and we will investigate this further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
RE 40 hour teaching online module. Good but severely let down by units 4 and 5 on website building and marketing. Actual case studies and examples of web sites and real llife marketing approaches were clearly needed in these latter two units, not only text. The earlier units were were good but web and market building are so crucial its a pity the module was weak in these areas.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Dan, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with our Teaching Online Course was not of the quality you expected. Your feedback will certainly help us improve our courses going forward so this has been passed on. Again, thank you for your feedback. We wish you all the best in the future. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The courses were well structured and content helpful. The presentation was of high quality and delivered clearly. The experience of working through the material was generally engaging and positive. I would however suggest that you consider creating a course for qualified and experienced teaching practitioners that demonstrates more recognition of their existing knowledge and understanding. The course I have done was, at times, more than a little patronising. Also, it is about a week since I completed all five courses in my programme and I have had no acknowledgement or certificate yet. This is a milestone to be recognised more promptly, as I would with my own students. Perhaps a little ironic in this context! Thank you for the opportunity to feed back. Keep getting better
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Ian, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our course, and your feedback regarding creating a course for our experienced students has certainly been passed on. We will always look to improve our courses further so this is very much appreciated. I have also looked into your account to find a system issue that prevented your certificate from being downloaded - I have corrected this now for you so this should be reflected in your account. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org.uk with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. In the meantime we wish you all the best in your future endeavours. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I have made it through the grammar course, but I have a couple of issues. First of all, I sent a couple of emails stating that I cannot open the course on my laptop or my chromebook. I can log in, but when I attempt to start the course, it just goes to a screen that starts "Initialising" with a spinning circle above it but never proceeds to the actual course. I have followed instructions to clear my cache, but it makes no difference. Now I can no longer get it on my Fire Tablet. It does the same thing. I can get it on my Android Smartphone, but that platform is small, not comfortable at all. Also, there are a few incorrect answers built into the system. I have advanced (graduate) training in grammar, so I know that my answers are correct, but they register as "incorrect" in the program. I had to put in incorrect answers to get 100% on the module.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Joel, Thank you for posting a review. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please could you contact us at info@tefl.org.uk and we’ll work with you to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. Again, thank you for your feedback. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Good and informative, learned a lot and got great chance to consolidate the language. However, perhaps not as thorough as it could be at times. Also there is a bit of a breakdown in communication amongst tutors and other website staff, meaning it became clear at points I was not talking with the same person/the correct individual.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Hannah-Lital, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org.uk with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I chose the 120 Hour TEFL certificate for its accreditation source in order to increase my chances of teaching English online. I'm over half way through the 5 module course. I found value in the Grammar and Methodology modules and would like to see TEFL create post-certificate content to help graduates with their teaching endeavors (a ready made teaching kit per-se to get you started and to come back and reference). Modules 3 & 4 (Video and Teaching Large Classes) could have been omitted and my learning would not have been affected. Module 5 is the only one remaining that I have not yet accomplished.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Your feedback regarding our modules and post-course experience is very much appreciated as this helps us to improve our courses further. We wish you all the best in your future TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
So far I’m only in the grammar section and I like the layout but the website has annoying glitches of kicking you out back to the dashboard page while you’re clicking through modules
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Margret, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please could you contact me at info@tefl.org.uk. We’ll work with you to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I found that one of the actors used in most of the informational videos to be very patronising and quite unlikeable. However the teachers who did the classroom videos were all great and I enjoyed watching them teach. The female teacher who did the spanish class was amazing, I really liked her content. More genuine tutor feedback would be great, I feel a lot of the time the feedback given was as if it was copied and pasted. Having decent good feedback is just as important as the bad constructive feedback. Overall it was an ok course, the videos that were less than 20 seconds long are totally pointless. However the content itself wasn't too bad.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Danielle, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our classroom video teachers will be happy to hear that you enjoyed their content. I’m sorry that your full experience was not of the quality you expected though. Your feedback helps us improve our service so your comments will certainly be shared with our tutors and course developers to help us improve our courses. We wish you all the best in your future TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The course is good but it could be improved: I didn't like the multiple choice assessment method used mostly througout the majority of the course (we know that multiple choice can be full of either silly, obvious or ambiguous statements most of the time!). I preferred the written assignments instead as there were truly challenging rather than trying your luck in multiple choice unlimitedly. The videos showing how lessons are delivered ( video demonstrations) were the most helpful. However, the demonstration for teaching young learners was poor and, unconfortable to watch and the ones for teaching large groups and Business non-existent: you are just told 'how it should be done' for the latter. Also, the audio could be improved and more camera angles included, and a view or file attached with the handouts used in the video demonstration would be desirable. The course does give you an overview of how to deliver a lesson as well as some techniques and insight into the tricks of the trade. The grammar course focuses primarily on earlier levels (the tenses). Get a good grammar book or two! I couldn't find a clear indication of what content goes for each level (syllabus) that was clealy stated on a handout or chart. I believe this is essential if we are to become tefl tutors!! Neverteless it was clarified upon request during teaching practice through zoom :) Alex, the tutor, was very good, encouraging, and helpful ( perhaps, too forgiving. Sometimes..). On the video demonstrations of principles ofntraching and grammar, I recall particularly that Christine was my favourite: very clear in the delivery and I telt I could learn lots from.her body language ans eliciting methods. Sorry Tefl.org i may sound too negative, but i believe on giving real feedback and constructive criticism rather than populating your list with 5-star -this- course is-awsome' reviews... The course.serves the purpose. It depends on how goor a student you are: passing the course I believe doesn't mean much( it is just the start. As in everyting in life, you would only truly learn by starting working, gaining experience and learning from your mistakes (hopefully).
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I find the courses quite boring.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was doing well until the assignments in units 2 and unit 6. I have submitted then twice and the latest feedback was once again negative. And I was warned if I fail again, I will have to restart the course. I think the student should be able to speak with a teacher online when there is an issue instead of sending emails. Also, to avoid failing and restarting a course, it would be good to have an example to follow. The instructions are not clear!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello there Alan, it's nice to make contact. I am an older student (48) and I am taking the course because I lived in Spain for five years but had to return to the UK about fourteen years ago after my marriage collapsed, and i know that teaching overseas would be a reasonable and with any luck sustainable way for me to return to the continent. I have genuinely always wanted to teach overseas and i intend to return in order to teach English as a foreign language some time into next year, lockdown restrictions dependant, of course. I am hoping for a placement in Valencia as i have a deeply soft spot for the city plus it is considered to be Spain's city of science, art and education. I have not been in the 'classroom' environment now for over 30 years and as such i initially found adaption more difficult than i had anticipated, however I am more settled into the course's methodology and style as of late. It's still early days for my study. Unfortunately i have also had a bereavement recently in that i lost my partner of seven years a couple of weeks ago and i am somewhat distracted from the daily course study for the moment. I am currently devastated. Again, thank you for your contact. I look forward to your response. Mark (Van)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I felt that paying the extra for the in classroom lessons was not helpful, its exactly the same as the stuff you do in methodology so I had already passed the module and had to redo the tasks. Also a whole day of watching people presenting isnt good value for money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.5 based on 5,231 reviews