The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,229 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 18th July 2022
Rachel H
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 10th July 2022
Raymond B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
46
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The course is well structured. However, I expected more depth in terms of the teaching methods. For example, PPP is not well illustrated, but it was emphasized as a key tool in the classroom. The methodology part is lengthy, parts of it have been repeated in following units. Shouldn't be there more elaboration on the psychological part of teaching students. Meaning, adults misbehave as well, there is no mention on how to deal with it !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Abdelhameed, Thanks for sharing your review with us. Your feedback regarding these different points of the course is very much appreciated as we will always endeavour to improve our courses further. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your future TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
We had little to no interaction with your staff. I understand I a person who is to help me out with visa and job hunting. Never heard from this person. The resources need to be updated. It would be interesting to watch a complete class with actual students….beginning to end.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. For our courses you are assigned an online tutor to help you through the course work. You would be required to look into visa processed and search for jobs yourself but we can certainly help with any queries you have surrounding these. Please get in touch if you have any questions about this. We will also support you with writing your TEFL CV, provide you with a reference letter from your course tutor (course dependent), as well as grant lifelong access to our TEFL Org Jobcentre, where you will be able to exclusively access many TEFL positions both internationally and online. We also encourage an active Facebook and forum community, which include weekly webinars, and blogs. We'd like to thank you for your feedback regarding our resources as we will always look to improve our courses further. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours, Debbie.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alan. I am upset! I recently bought a 3 month extension to my Tefl English Program in April 23/21 and was denied access to the program yesterday May 27. Extension pre expiry Order ID 806634 Please fix I want to work on the program asap today. I sent issue to Support last night and no response yet. My tutor support person is Thomas Kerr. Thank you, Candice
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Candice, Thank you for your review. I can see that the customer service team got back to you to advise how you activate your extension once purchased. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to get back in touch with us here: info@tefl.org . Best of luck with the rest of your course!
Posted 1 year ago
I find the course to be good, but waiting up to 48 hours for an assignment to be graded and critiqued is absolutely ridiculous. 24 hours max is all we should have to wait. Hire more tutors if need be.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Cody, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. To ensure we deliver high quality, affordable courses, our tutors are assigned to a number of students. Also, due to the number of students that our tutors support who are located all around the world in different time zones, we find the 48-hours a more realistic and efficient timescale. I will certainly pass on your feedback regarding this however, as we will always look to improve our courses further. All the best, Debbie.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Alan, Friday webinars are great, thank you. I am still struggling with writing teh course work.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sonja, thank you for your review. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I am slightly disappointed with the course so far but I haven't done very much yet. The real life classroom teaching was very lack lustre and I was extremely bored. Special occasions - I would hope my teaching experience would be more engaging. My son has completed the course and tells me that this is normal. I'll continue with the course and hope that it improves. Thanks for asking:)
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Paula, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our classroom teaching videos, we normally get good reviews for these but will certainly take on board your feedback, as we will always endeavour to improve our courses further. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org with any further comments. In the meantime, we wish you the best of luck with the remainder of your course! All the best, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Only emails providing some videos need to register by YouTube or Facebook which are not available here in China. As a result I can't share some valuable resources. If you provide those information by dingtalk or tencent,Zoom meeting,I think everyone can share together. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Kefang, Thank you for leaving a review. Our Webinars currently go live every Friday on Facebook and are available on YouTube as well. We certainly appreciate your feedback regarding this as we always look to improve our services. In the meantime, if you are not able to access either you can always use the online forum to get in touch with other students. If you have any questions regarding the subjects covered in these Webinars then we can also help if you contact us at info@tefl.org or by going on to our Blog. Wishing you all the best, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Overall I thought the course was fine, although i’m not what use it is of yet. I thought the classroom lessons staged and the written tests more fictional than A proper teaching plan. Only my opinion and we know what opinions are
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Charles, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Your feedback regarding the classroom lessons and tests has certainly been passed on as we will always look to improve our courses further. All the best, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Honestly, if this was based solely on the educational content of the course it would be Good to Excellent without a doubt, but I really struggled to watch the videos throughout the course. Those presenting were clearly not experienced at being infront of a camera and it was so uncomfortable and awkward to watch that I really started to dread the videos in each course. The exception would be those hosted by Joe who was by far the most natural and a joy to watch and listen to, but sadly he didn’t then seem to make an appearance after the Grammar module.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Lauren,  Thank you for your review.  We are sorry that the presenting skills of our tutors did not meet your expectations but we are happy that you enjoyed the educational aspect of our TEFL course. Thank you for your feedback regarding this. We wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
This course should not be offered to United States students. British English is far more detailed and I had a high learning curve. The resource section was not indexed in a way that I could find answers to my questions. I had to do a lot of internet searching to understand things better. I think that there should be less video observation. There should be a larger focus on TPR and there is no job search guidance. It takes months to get into a teaching practicum module.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Carol, Thank you for your review. We do certainly offer US versions of many of our courses. We also get a lot of great feedback about our video observation course but I will certainly pass your comments on as we will always look to improve our courses further. Our students get lifelong access to our TEFL Org Jobcentre, where you will be able to exclusively access many TEFL positions both internationally and online. Our team can also help with any questions you may have regarding this - we also encourage an active Facebook and forum community, which include weekly webinars, and blogs to help you with your job search. We would like to know more about your feedback regarding the teaching practice course, as you will see from our website we run 2-3 classes each month. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org with any further comments regarding this course. In the meantime, we wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
It's a good teaching app to help individuals who are trying to get certified I've got some understanding on the level of what a teacher handles. Downside most of their tests can be punishingly difficult and contradicting. At the same time some of the wording is by UK phonics and somewhat US. But still, so far I like the courses.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Christopher, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear that you are enjoying the course. I'll pass on your feedback regarding the US version as well so this can be investigated further. In the meantime, best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I HAVE NOT YET BEEN ABLE TO ACCESS COURSE SO HARD TO RATE JUST YET
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Elaine, Thank you for leaving a review. If you're having any problems accessing your course please let us know. Please contact us on: info@tefl.org and we will look into this for you. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I didn't have a good experience and I wouldn't recommend this institute to anybody. The content of the course is very good but the problem is with the final assignments. I tried to do everything on time because for me it´s extremely expensive to pay 20 pounds for a week extension. It was impossible to do it on time because my tutor didn´t explain correctly why my assignment was rejected in my first attempt. I got to understand what she wanted when she actually explained everything when she rejected my second attempt. By that time, it was too late so I worked very hard for a certification I will never get. I just wasted my time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Melina, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience with your assignments. For any questions on the feedback given by a tutor we would recommend emailing them direct for clarification before submitting further work. We would however like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further if you could please contact us at info@tefl.org In the meantime we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The unexpected problem I had with the TEFL was the way they conducted feedback. The modules are not connected with assignments, and I’m expected to do the work in assignments that’s uncorrelated with anything presented in the modules. Luckily I have a teaching and high level of educational background so I was able to handle these mishaps, but how would someone with no teaching background handle this? The feedback I had been receiving from the tutor has been daunting at times. For example, I would write in my assignments ‘write down’ and teacher would ignore it and give me a feedback that I need to write my sentences down on the board. Or I would write three example phrases, but I would receive a feedback that I need to write 10 examples of phrases even though no where in the assignment instructions was it even specified that I need to write 10 examples of phrases. It just seemed at times that they were trying to find ways to fail me but the TEFL would not teach nor instruct what they expect us to do. I was receiving lots of info unrelated to passing the assignments and getting the certificate. TEFL specified only a handful of activity examples in Lead In’ and ‘Practice’ sections. Which is fine, but when I used those in my assignments those were somehow not good enough. If we are expected to come up with our own activities, practices and drills, please give us the appropriate guidelines and expectations to follow. It appeared that the tutor had changed his feedback once I challenged him. He provided me with link that had no usefulness whatsoever. In summary, please be more specific with what you want us to do, give us the modules that are actually relevant to the assignments we are expected to do, and if you want us to be creative please give us detailed guidelines for us to follow instead of coming up with excuses to fail us.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Jadranka, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. Our courses are highly accredited, so they are checked internally and externally to ensure that the sequencing is correct. However we do value your feedback regarding this and I have passed this on to be looked into. Congratulations on completing your course and we wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
Really sorry! I can't review your course yet as I haven't even started! I'm sure it will be terrific eventually.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Julia, Thank you for your review. Please feel free to leave another review once you have completed your course. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I have only completed the grammar and history parts of the course so far, so it is early for me to give feedback. The grammar section is about as interesting as you could make grammar... I loved the history of the language, as I love that as a subject. I am very much looking forward to getting on with the rest of the course.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Eric, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the history of languages and hope you enjoy the rest of the course just as much! Best of luck! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I am not so familiar with this course. And no one could tell me how learn it more effectively.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Libo, Thank you for your review. I can see that you have not accessed your course yet, so we would love to help you with your concerns. Please could you contact us at info@tefl.org. We’ll work with you to resolve any issues as quickly as possible to help you complete your course work. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
I have one major annoyance when it comes to this program, everything assumes UK pronunciation. Even for the supposedly US version. I sit at my computer repeating words over and over again in my natural native speech and get things wrong, then say it in a semblance of what I believe an English accent would sound like and then I can hear it and get the answer right. Also the small word limit on written assignments is detrimental. I have to cut back my explanations so much that I can't even fully convey what I am trying to make clear. I cut back too much and fail an assignment because I reportedly did not hit all of the target things, when I literally paraphrased one of your own activities in a video to the short word limit and just changed the topic. This is quite frustrating trying to find the balance of brevity but specific enough to get all of the targets with only 100 characters. The grading is also fairly subjective without a very well-defined rubric, one of my feedback responses even told me I needed to put in all of the things that I did put in but said I appear to assume things, like they aren't even sure what they are grading. They said I should use visuals, and I described using pictures. They said I should drilling for pronunciation, I specified exactly that by having the class repeat back as I speak. They said I should write form, I explicitly said I wrote form on the board with examples. I was still marked wrong. Feedback was unhelpful and subjective. I have already had to buy one extension because of life reasons and these annoyances just make it all worse, and now I might have to buy another one and I am asking myself is it even worth it when things are given in such an unclear manner.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Overall, I like the course. It's informative with ample examples. It's easy to navigate and with so many options, it's easy to book something for you. However, I think the grammar section is a bit tedious. I understand why we review it, but I think giving us the opportunity to test out of the grammar lessons would be best; this way, those of us who are proficient in grammar could focus on how students struggle with it instead of wasting time learning something we already know. Additionally, I think there could be better communication surrounding the 20 Hour Classroom section. I found only limited information about what we'd review and many in my class were shocked when we were suddenly given a lesson to plan in less than a day. I think my biggest struggle here was my document was filled with grammar and punctuation errors. So much so, it was difficult to understand the lesson I was supposed to plan. There are just ALOT of gaps between what was expected of us and what we actually knew. For example, my lesson plan was for an Elementary Level. It was clear other students didn't know what each level meant and how we should plan a lesson around this. Furthermore, the teacher didn't review this and told us it wasn't that important to know. But part of the feedback given was based on how well we presented TO the intended level. So, it mattered. Again, I think TEFL.org is awesome for offering so much at a discounted price & for having a wealth of learning resources. But sometimes the approach doesn't make sense, and communication could be improved.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Ariana, Thanks for sharing your review with us. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. We do try to provide details of the classroom course within the pre-course task that is required to be completed before the course. Your feedback regarding the clarity of this and communication is certainly appreciated and has been passed on to be looked into further. We are always looking to improve our courses further so are very grateful for you bringing this to our attention. We wish you all the best in your TEFL career! Again, thank you for your feedback. Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
It is early days for me on this course so, I don't have a strong view yet. I have done my first assigment and I found the way to summit two different task is not easy, not clearly explained. The videos we watch on parts of the ppp plan are confusing and when it come to the quizzes , it just doesn't make sense.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Virginia, Thanks for sharing your review with us. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please feel free reach out to info@tefl.org and we can look into this further for you. Best of luck with your course! Debbie
Posted 1 year ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.5 based on 5,229 reviews