Rattle and Drum Reviews

4.90 Rating 2,655 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Rattle and Drum
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.95 out of 5
Read Rattle and Drum Reviews

About Rattle and Drum:

Rattle & Drum Music is an independent musical instrument retailer based in Derby, UK. Established in the nineties as a drum and percussion specialist, we are now one of the country’s leading independent musical instrument stores, keeping it simple and specialising in the key ingredients of all great music - guitar, bass and drums! We stock the very best brands in the business, with hundreds of acoustic, bass and electric guitars, a vast range of amps, pedals and accessories and we have one of the best drum and percussion showrooms in the UK.

Visit Website


01332 341414




77-81 Osmaston Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Rattle and Drum made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I still haven't received my product and DPD are now holding my item after failing to deliver on two separate dates.
Posted 4 days ago
Ordered on Monday, didn't dispatch until Thursday, arrived on Saturday. If I'd known I'd be waiting that long, I'd have paid more to buy from somewhere else.
Posted 1 week ago
item took too long to arrive
Posted 2 weeks ago
I paid for next day delivery and it took 3 days with DPD. I could have had it Parcelforce 24 by Midday the following day. I emailed them but don't believe I have had a reply.
Posted 2 months ago
I paid extra money for it to come next day and it came 2 days later urgh
Posted 2 months ago
OK, product came unboxed so was a bit suspicious on its authenticity.
Posted 5 months ago
The transaction was the one thing they were good at, I ordered some drum sticks that sadly broke after one use of them! I know it’s an awkward situation because they are meant to be hit, but with my playing ability the same sticks always last at least 2 weeks minimum (around 20 hours) before breaking. I tried to contact them and received no reply, that’s the main reason I would review this badly as the communication wasn’t there. Thanks anyway!
Posted 8 months ago
I found the online information very frustrating advertised as free delivery but was not made clear it was over £50 Price of the goods I ordered changed to a cheaper price hours after I ordered it. Refund offered but not given. A bad first time experience with rattle and drum.
Posted 9 months ago
Item I ordered didn't match the photo, appeared to be old and tatty, and didn't even work. It's not that difficult to check items work before sending them out. During the return process I kept being asked for info that the seller clearly already had access to ("what was the item number?", "what's the Royal Mail tracking number?"). Very annoying; why should I be the one having to find the info? Staff should be capable of looking up item numbers etc themselves
Posted 9 months ago
Hi, Clearly sending out items that seem used unless clearly sold as used is unacceptable. It's not something we make a habit of as can be seen from the majority of our reviews, I'd like to think that, as you've contacted us, we resolved the issue but as you have left your review anonymously I can't check. In terms of being asked questions regarding your order in terms of tracking details, we did have an issue when swapping to a new system whereby the details were not being retained. Thankfully this has now been resolved.
Posted 8 months ago
Sent wrong item and have not responded to my emails. Rubbish
Posted 1 year ago
Always check the price on the website prior to making purchases. They have tried over charging me numerous times when going in to buy string for my bass. I when I caught them out on this scam, I received free attitude with my purchase. Secondly, when I have asked to pick up and play an instrument, I was abruptly asked if I was going to purchase the instrument - of which I honestly answered, I don’t know, because I haven’t played it - Please bare in mind this was a mid level £400ish Ibanez, not some £2000 American made, custom shop boutique Fender - The salesman responded by telling me no, because if I play it and don’t buy it, the instrument is no longer ‘brand new’ I found this absolutely ridiculous and wouldn’t of even considered the bass brand new myself as it had been hanging on a wall in the shop, and god knows for how long if they don’t even let their customers pick up and play them!!! Would you walk into a car dealer and buy a car without test driving it? I know this store has gone bump at least once In the past and if my experience means anything, it is clear to see why. I only buy from here if I have absolutely no other choice.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sam I'm really sorry to hear you are so unhappy with your experience with us. With regards to your issues - 1. Our policy is to price things the same in store as we sell them online, the only time where that wouldn't be the case is if there is a genuine error on our system. If you could please let us know what strings they were I can double check the price is now correct. We would always charge the lower price if an issue like this was identified to us, it seems a bit harsh to suggest we are running an elaborate scam. 2. We absolutely encourage people to try instruments before they consider a purchase, it is the only way to be sure you are getting the right one for you. However, we also have to try to make sure someone is genuinely interested as we have to care for the instruments for their ultimate owners. It is a really tricky balance to strike and it sounds like we got it wrong in this instance so we are very sorry about that. 3. While the building we are in has housed numerous music shops over the years please be assured that Rattle & Drum has never "gone bump", in fact we are celebrating 20 years in business next year. We are an independent Derby based shop so we really care about this kind of stuff, our reputation is critical to us so if you'd like to pop in any time for a chat with one of the owners you'd be welcome any time and we can address your issues in person. Kind Regards Matt @ Rattle & Drum
Posted 1 year ago
I don't like offering negative reviews, but sometimes you have to. I ordered a tone potentiometer from this company; they sent the wrong type (You had one job to do?). Just prior to my order they had '3 available' (I always take a 'Snipping tool' screen shot of my purchases) - my purchase would've meant that 2 would still be available. Naturally, my wrong item would have to be sent back (sigh), but when I tried to re-order the correct item they had none left... .. Someone had bought the last two. If you notice below the amount available, you'll see how many have been sold; click-on this link and it tells you the last 7 buyers. So, they sent me the wrong item but were unable to replace it with the correct one as they'd sold both remaining ones. Bad-luck? probably, but they HAD ONE JOB TO DO. Luckily, I wasn't in a hurry for the pot, I therefore ordered it elsewhere, cheaper, and waited around 2 weeks for delivery - but too-bad if you have an important gig coming up and you need it pronto, eh?
Posted 2 years ago
Customer service in rectifying incorrect on line order was terrible. out of pocket on postage, exchanged item but not refunded the difference. R&D adjusted their prices on the exchange upwards to match wrong order. Won't be buying here again thanks to the snotty kid - you know who you are.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Mr Bibby We are of course very sorry to hear you are unhappy with our service, it genuinely upsets us if a customer feels let down by us. However, in this instance your review is not fair or reasonable. You contacted us to let us know that you had received the wrong drum sticks. We checked your order and confirmed that you had been sent the exact drumsticks you ordered. However, you then informed us that the drumsticks you ordered were not the ones you actually wanted, which you then rather forcefully said was our fault. Had we been at fault we would of course covered all costs in rectifying the matter but where a customer has made a mistake in ordering it is standard practice for the cost of return postage to lie with the customer. Regardless, we care very much about our customer's being happy and so we agreed you could return the sticks and we would send out the ones you meant to order. As a gesture of goodwill we sent out the replacements at our own cost. If you feel this is an example of terrible service then we can only apologise once more, and agree that you should not buy from us again. Best Regards Rattle & Drum
Posted 2 years ago
I purchased 3 sets of drumsticks on the 7th of March, and chose and paid and extra £5 for “express delivery” which is meant to be one day shipping. This is now the 13th of March and I still don’t have my delivery. Not best pleased. When I heard back from someone in your company after I pointed this out. I was told that it was signed for 48hour delivery. This is now nearly a week later and still nothing. If I never contacted you guys then I would never have been told and still been charged next day delivery to this day
Posted 3 years ago
Hi We are very sorry about the issue with the delivery of your order. As you are aware from our email correspondence your order was mistakenly sent out via standard delivery instead of express. This was completely our fault and as soon as you made us aware of this we refunded all shipping fees and also gave you a 10% refund on your whole order by way of apology. Standard delivery is usually 48 hours but this is not guaranteed by Royal Mail; we have tracked your order and it was delivered to your neighbour yesterday. We are proud of the fact we are not a soulless automated warehouse, we are a small team of hard-working musicians who care very much about what we do, but inevitably we do on occasion make mistakes. In these rare instances we always try our very best to respond in a positive, helpful and friendly way that resolves the matter to our customer's satisfaction. I trust you feel we have done so in this instance but if you need any further help at all please email us at online@rattleanddrum.com. Kind Regards Matthew Pearson Director Rattle & Drum Ltd
Posted 3 years ago
Disappointed, ordered a guitar case and money was taken then refunded. When I phoned up why was told item was not in stock, although web site state one in stock. Would have been better if I had been informed.
Posted 3 years ago
The tone pot on the guitar was not fitted correctly, with the securing nut being very loose and not accessible without the knob being removed. The instrument could not have been checked prior to dispatch. No documentation supplied with the guitar, manual, wiring diagram etc.
Posted 4 years ago
Unfortunately as this is an anonymous review we don't know what guitar this relates to; we have received no communication at all from any customer regarding any issue like this. We pride ourselves on great aftercare and we are always happy to assist and help resolve any issues with the products we sell if given the chance.
Posted 4 years ago
Good products at a good price but let down by poor packaging- cymbal cleaning product was sent in a padibag which meant it was squashed and leaked in the post. Just a bit more thought and common sense required.
Posted 4 years ago
Hi We're very sorry to hear your cymbal cleaner had leaked in the post. If you had contacted us directly we would of course immediately sort out a replacement for you, and if you would like to contact us now at online@rattleanddrum.com with your details we are still more than happy to do that for you - we can only sort out issues like this if we are made aware of them. With regards to the packaging we take on board your comments though this is the first instance of any issue like this being reported. If we did use larger boxed packaging for smaller cheaper items our shipping prices would unfortunately have to be considerably higher so on balance we feel padded bags where appropriate are the best compromise for our customers. Again, sorry to hear about the issue, please get in touch and we will do all we can to help. Kind Regards Matthew Pearson Director Rattle & Drum Ltd
Posted 4 years ago
I recently bought a pack of guitar strings. I paid for 2-3 days delivery, the strings took 6 days to get to my house, it was very frustrating. But eventually they arrived and the condition of the item were good. But overall not very good service.
Posted 5 years ago
Very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the delivery time and disappointed that you feel this reflects badly on on our level of service. Unfortunately any order placed late on a Friday afternoon/evening after the shipping cut-off is always going to take the longest number of days to arrive. The order was processed in good time and our standard shipping service takes 2-3 days as quoted but obviously the weekend does cause a delay in this.
Posted 5 years ago
Rattle and Drum is rated 4.90 based on 2,655 reviews