R3 Data Recovery Reviews

4.73 Rating 404 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend R3 Data Recovery
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read R3 Data Recovery Reviews

About R3 Data Recovery:

R3 Data Recovery is one of the best teams of data recovery engineers ever assembled in the UK. Security House is one of the few full data and disaster recovery labs in the UK accessible to all who need a high success rate reliable data recovery service from industry leading DR engineers at an affordable cost.

Visit Website


0800 999 3282




Security House Royds Mill Windsor St

Write Your review

Tell us how R3 Data Recovery made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 23rd August 2019
Paul B
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 31st October 2018
Morgan Burns
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 29th October 2018
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 5th October 2018
Kuldeep Mann
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 5th October 2018
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 23rd September 2018
Tim Greenhow
R3 Data Recovery 5 star review on 23rd September 2018
Linda Petty
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
‘ Send in the drive and will take a look’. Sent in a working but corrupt drive. Got back a non working bag of bits because the quote was I believe excessive. To boot was charged £18 postage when it cost £6 to send. You’ll want to be desperate.
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 3rd September 2018
(Ripon) -
Dear Matt I am sorry you feel that the resources and time spent trying to find a solution for the mess you made to your data was something you could leave a negative review about. We offered to try to work out how the AFPS encryption had affected your data based on your original inquiry as follows :- "WD MyBook drive. Hi Since I enabled AFPS have not been able to access drive. Drive will not mount but disk drill sees the files. The encryption process of the drive is stuck on 30% Tried via terminal commands to reset but no joy" We could not be sure what the problem was so offered to asses it. The drive arrived 3 weeks later. We take it at face value the drive had not been further interfered with in that period Our engineers found the following ---- FW been messed with and drive locked but cloning now then we have to get round the APFS problem --- There were actually no bad sectors, so any damage to the file system and data was as a direct result of other interference before the drive arrived with us. We explained the damage and you requested the drive back. There was no charge for the time and resources of several staff in the team who helped progress your case. We did charge a minimum invoice of £15+vat for UPS tracked courier return. Regards Andy Butler R3 Data Recovery
having explained in conversation that there was 4 files already on the disc which i already big let downhave a copy of you then charged top price to only recover the four i had
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 3rd August 2017
Hi Anthony For this particular case you were charged for the recovery attempt on a Damaged DVD - This involved an engineer using equipment specifically setup to read the data streams on DVD. Despite the resources and time the data fragments we could read could not be reassembled into a working video. The reason for this was given. 1 side is unreadable - corrupted/unfinished write session. Although £129+vat is an expense no one wants, as a lab we incurred much more cost in the attempt to help you. We work hard to get every recovery and we do not give in easily but we do have to cover cost of time in situations like this.
You failed to retrieve the data that I needed despite being explicitly guided to what was needed but still expect payment.
Having Investigated this case it was a full recovery of all data possible form a Deleted Imac Profile using a RAW scan to find the missing data. This was after PC KnowHow had attempted to move a user profile and deleted it. A mac specialist removed the drive from the iMac which and sent it to R3. The Seagate 1TB drive did have a read timing problem which was probably the original issue why the system needed an overhaul / upgrading. In a RAW recovery it not only recovers the lost data but also the existing data, We filtered out the existing data which can only leave the missing data and some other remnants. However do not go through the recovered data for privacy and security reasons. Screenshots of folder thumbnails were sent to show that the data was recovered as agreed. Much of the issue is explaining that a recovery of data is some situations will not have the catalogue / file system as it was before the loss. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Dear Client, It is very rare that the data recovery process fails to deliver what its can or what has been agreed to do. That is not to say we are perfect, we deal with hundreds of recoveries of failed storage devices every month. I was not involved in your case but will now take a look at it from the enquiry through to lab processing to the delivery of the file lists and recovered data. Is there anything from your perspective that might help me save time and identify a solution. I may need to ask a few questions of you as part of this investigation. It will take a few days to talk to all who have been involved depending on their shifts. Andy andy@r3datarecovery.om 079 3282 4264 0800 999 3282
At a time of stress over possibility of losing data one was in a position of using a recommended data retrieval company (yours) at an extremely inflated cost. There are many others but to choose who could the same job at a much reduced price on short notice was too much of a risk. I will be prepared if there is a next time and I certainly will not be using your inflated services. There should be some kind of regulation to limit how much companies like yours to charge.
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 22nd November 2016
Dear Marco, I would ask that you reconsider your rating of our services and accept that you have misunderstood why we were needed in this case, and why we are actually significantly cheaper for such situations than the sub £200 software recovery providers who would not have been able to deliver as good a recovery and in reality would have abandoned your case and either declared it unrecoverable or charged significantly more than we did. Please understand how bad your Hitachi 500GB drive was. Moreover why you needed our help, our engineers, our equipment and our secure and safe methods of recovery are not to be underestimated or undersold. Our system is designed to maximise the quality of recovered data. It is not a software £100-£200 service, and if it had been possible to do it with software your local PC shop would have done it for you. Our appearance of making a task look straight forward must have given you the wrong impression of just how difficult a case yours was. Your local IT Support provider made the correct decision to get our help to ensure you had the best chance of your data being recovered safely and maximise the quality of the results. Your drive had sustained head crash, it required extended imaging and bad sector recovery. And several passes of the heads to read sectors affected by platter damage. Hundreds of thousands of sectors were affected, each taking longer than normal to read from a total of nearly 1 Billion sectors. Many companies would have charged much more for this situation. We stuck to our quoted at the outset price of £329+vat . The statistics speak for themselves :- Unread: 79534 sectors - Bad Sectors: 305836 - ABRT Errors: 30019 This was successful recovery at 98% Header OK of the 60.5GB of data. In fact it was a very good recovery considering its condition. Our lab has taken on considerable investment and has hard working engineers with the tenacity to develop techniques, processes and a systematic approach to keep costs down. The R3 Team and our lab is helping hundreds of clients every month and continually develops new processes and solutions, so our charges have to cover not just the running costs of the company but the R&D we have invested heavily in to deliver the success rates needed. I cannot say we are not working to a profit motive and for our livings, but if you would like to visit the lab and meet the our team I am sure you will realise that your mistake was not to backup, and although an unwanted expense your money was not wasted and the investment in the best data recovery lab in the UK ensures you and thousands of others every year get their data back. Andy Butler R3 Data Recovery
I was told a price which was not stuck to. Also they only managed to get 10 to 20% of the info back but still tried to charge me an inflated price for 100% recovery.
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 3rd November 2016
(Doncaster) -
Dear William Thank you for your review and for this opportunity to respond. I am of course disappointed that you could give such a poor review and not realise we incurred all the costs of trying to help you. Your drive had previously been to another well known company who you had said "had messed you around" We undertook the work on a drive which required the considerable rework and repairs to recover as much as possible with the donor we were able to source. These MDT / BIPRA branded hard drives are effectively repurposed "B" grade drives sold at a discount on the manufacturers "A" grade price and as such much harder to match for donors and have a tendency to much reduced MTBF life expectancy. Worse sometimes they are previously failed drives that have been downgraded to less capacity and then resold. In your case when it arrived with us the top platter was scratched prior to arriving with us. Our team did their best to assist you including rearranging collections and sourcing matching donor parts. I am sorry the outcome was not good enough for you despite the considerable resources brought to your case and our tenacity trying to help you. Andy Butler R3 Data Recovery andy@r3datarecovery.com 0800 999 3282
your team were not honest with me on pricing/delivery
Dear Malcolm We priced the work based on the description you gave that the drive was not faulty. "Came up on screen as data recovery in process , put it on charge then went into data recovey mode, then got the reboot screen on a loop " We found that in fact one of the 4 heads on this 1TB Hitachi drive had failed. We requited for the supply of a donor and attempted the rebuild and recovery. The recovery was successful but there was considerable damage to some files due to the extensive software data recovery / power cycling procedures prior to arriving with us. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry that our communication fell below those you expected of us. The notes and the progress of the case show this was a difficult and prolonged case due to collection delays, sourcing parts and the additional platter damage caused before the drive arrived with us. For future if your data is important to you and a drive has a fault, stop immediately and get advice before attempting a recovery yourself, or allowing others to perform a recovery on a failing HDD or ssd. Andy and the team at R3
terrible communication and bad customer service. problem with courier. Not kept up to date. Were not clear about the process
(London) -
I am sorry you felt that we were not clear with the process of recovery. We do our best to provide a fast and efficient service having learnt that for some clients the loss of data can be catastrophic, After something has gone wrong it is doubly frustrating if couriers, or communications have problems. We do accept that every month there are some issues with collections and deliveries and with such a large operation in terms of the resources needed for a recovery, we are doing our best to build the customer services and sales functions to keep up with lab capacity. A real data recovery lab like that at Security House in Sheffield is used Nationally and Internationally. We are have continually developed the systems to enable more consumers to gain access to what are the highest success rates of any data / disaster recovery lab. What we did deliver in your case was the best possible result from a drive that would have been deemed unrecoverable, the rebuilt and recovered drive still had such platter damage that not all data could be recovered. For those reading this. Every drive fails differently and the quality of the results can vary in the extremes of damage, each case is effectively unique. And each method developed is dependant on the drive, how it failed and what was done to it after failure and before delivery to a genuine data recovery lab. For us the recovery was a success but it was still overall only 44% of the data that could be recovered from the donor heads. More rebuilds and recovery attempts may improve on the results so far, but a drive in this condition in general would have been declared uneconomic to recover by most labs. We do try to help everyone and this can sometimes not be appreciated. Andy
Dear Andy I found you very decent to deal with but I have given you a poor rating because you were unable to recover any of my data.
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 30th October 2016
(London) -
Many thanks for the Review Frances, and although negative from your point of view and understandable I would like to respond to help others reading this. Your case involved the recovery of files overwritten by new data and an upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10. The recovered file quality report showed that 72% of the previous data had been corrupted and you felt the 28% of good files in the file list were of no use or not worth the cost of the recovery. We do try to help in every case and our charges were negligible compared to a competitor in the same situation who would have charged you £1200 for the same work and the exact same results. Unfortunately this is not an engineering level situation, it is matter of fact logical problem, data can be corrupted by overwriting, but the files may still have useful content. Deleting data or upgrading an operating system and losing access to files means the data is still there just not accessible, and the space is now available to be written to, never continue using the system and do not add more files until the previous data has been recovered to a separate storage device. Andy and the team at R3 Data Recovery
I was disgusted with the lack of co opporation to the customer from staff . And the final result was a disgrace other people's photos half of data never recovered and a jumbleded mess .. I could have achived these results from an internet service online .. ????
Dear James Your disappointment is understandable with regard to the quality of the data recovered. But your blaming those who had tried to help you and your company on a budget service is unfair. The results were the best possible in your case. Your determination to push us as a team and have our company try subsequent scans still resulted in a raw recovery of just various unnamed files, many of which had been damaged by the overwrite of new data. Whilst we do everything we can to help those who have accidents we can only recover what is possible to recover. Despite our enviable success rates with failed drives and drives declared unrecoverable, rescuing files in good condition after being overwritten is more a task that is matter of fact, either data is in good condition or it is not. There are reviews on the net for a competitor who would charge 5 times as much for the same results despite advertising supposedly lower cost recoveries. You engaged us to help you and that is what we did. Frustrations aside we deal with many hundreds of cases successfully every month, and make time to help those with more complex and lower chance of success cases because we want to help. R3 have a proven our system and approach gives a higher chance of recovery than most data recovery labs in the UK. Andy
Collected the hard drive as agreed. Contacted me promptly as they needed a donor part which they did not have in stock at up front cost of £240 - then no contact until I contacted them for an update, very next day they call to say the drive in unrecoverable. Paid £240 and no data recovered.
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 25th September 2016
(Borehamwood) -
Dear Andy We processed your case after explaining that it was a donor killer, I am sorry but your situation requires that multiple donors and rebuilds will be needed to stand a chance of recovering any data. We undertook the work the strip down of the donor and rebuilds of your drive on the understanding you paid for the parts. Unfortunately it was not successful. I am sorry you felt the need to leave a negative review, but you are welcome to visit the lab and inspect your drive in our cleanroom yourself. We can show you why your case will need extended rebuild attempts. We are here to help and we are one of the very best teams of engineers in the country. The process flow of the lab is geared to emergencies and is only held up looking for donors. We are investing in the development of one of the largest donor hard drive stocks held by any data recovery lab in the UK Andy and the Team at R3 Data Recovery andy@r3datarecovery.com
I suppose there will always be some data that is not recoverable, however.......we had our money back as the data recovered was unusable and the files could not be opened, let alone used. So my experience is a distinctly poor one!
R3 Data Recovery 1 star review on 25th September 2016
(Worcestershire) -
Many thanks for the review Martin It does help to identify situations where even the very best data recovery engineers and service can fall foul of a situation which is a truly terrible situation for you- Namely overwriting your business critical data and not backing up emails. I am sorry you did not recognise our attempts to assist and that our company did the work free of charge trying to help you. When speaking to the customer he was not fully sure whether or not he had written over the data on the internal hard drive. data seemed to be lost after upgrading to windows 10. we had told them that if they have accidently wrote over the old data then we may not be able to get it back so that they are aware but told them to send in for the free assessment anyway. A recovery was undertaken and it produced a quality of just 47.12% 12.7GB which was accepted. The client accepted the file list and paid the invoice and testing the data himself then complaining that the results were not good enough when we had already advised that it was a low quality result. Sadly we cannot help everyone and we are also distinctly saddened that even in our trying to help, only the negative aspect of the result is focused on. We remain positive and will continue to help everyone in their hour of need. Andy and the Team at R3 Data Recovery Ltd Delete
Please send back the original hard drive. I've spent the last 3 months trying to get in contact with you about it and I'm constantly ignored. I'd like the original hard drive please back!
Dear Fearn Despite your negative review it has to be said you did receive a full recovery for the £199+vat quoted at the outset for the budget degraded WD Model WDBAAF0010HBK-00 drive recovery service. The delays and processing issue came form you being unavailable for many weeks and then confusion at your end on who was going to make payment. This caused a quarantine and credit control process to be invoked and meant that despite dozens of calls, and several emails trying to get in touch with you over several weeks we were about to wipe the data a destroy the original drive as we are not a data storage company and needed our image drive back for production. When finally we were about to secure wipe the recovered data and image drive, someone else did finally pay on your behalf but it meant that the recovered data and your original drive at this point had become separated. I will look into where your original drive is and make it ready for return, however there is an additional £15+vat for the carriage. Andy
When I originally fought the website and called I thought the service was to good to be true especially at the cost of £300 to get all my memories, movies and work documents back. However I couldn't have been more wrong, firstly the price I was quoted was without tax (no one mentioned that), secondly I received the totally wrong item that I requested and it was the wrong format for my Mac, which I had explained several times. Altogether its taken about 6 weeks when I was quoted 5 days. All the files I had recovered are in a mixed order when there was a lot of pictures etc, its not ideal to have them numbered so you have no idea where anything is, I don't know where to begin to try and organise them. The customer service I received was shocking. I would get an email from someone then when i returned their email I wouldn't get a reply for a few days on some occasions. When I tried to call I was told by Lauren that a technician would call me straight back. On several occasions I had to wait days or even had to call back to chase it up. Altogether this could have been a great service, but I'm highly disappointed and would defy not recommend the service to anyone. I felt as soon as you received payment you lost all interest in me as a customer. Regards Damon
(Sheffield) -
Hi Damon Many thanks for the review, although from your point of view its negative from ours we recovered the data at the original price quoted despite the drive being much more problematic. A severe a head crash resulted after a power surge damaged the PCB, difficulties tracking down the correct donor PCB did not help matters. Unfortunately the area which contained the catalogue file was damaged by the heads scratching the platter, this meant that the recovered data could only be sent back as folders containing file types. But it is good data and full recovery of all files on the drive.. The total cost of £299+vat included:- Courier Collection and Return A new 2TB drive for the recovered data Donor PCB for Converting USB to SATA sourced from the US Bad Sector recovery Data Integrity Check and file list. VAT is something non of us can avoid, this is normal for our service and industry and is always mentioned in all communications. I am sorry for the problems with correctly formatting the drive, some communications issues do creep into the system in busy periods but is rare, The lab is engaged on a number of very intense disaster recovery engagements and sometimes can reduce our normally very prompt reaction times. As one of the few high capacity data and disaster recovery labs we are able to recover drives at reasonable cost which some companies would have re-quoted and charged more for. Again apologies for any inconvenience caused, and know that we continue to build on the past few years as the UK's leading independent data recovery lab. During July and August we are adding an extra DR Engineer and 2 support technicians so we can better cope with the growing number of cases we are handling month on month. All the best Andy Butler R3 Data Recovery Ltd
R3 Data Recovery is rated 4.73 based on 404 reviews