MoneyMaxim Reviews

4.74 Rating 4,425 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend MoneyMaxim
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.75 out of 5
Read MoneyMaxim Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01183 218197

Email:

info@moneymaxim.co.uk

Location:

Suite 8, Market House
Market Place
Wokingham
RG40 1AP

Write Your review

Tell us how MoneyMaxim made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
When I came to take up the quote it took me to an inappropriate website with further links that did not work.
Posted 4 months ago
Disappointing that when looking for excess insurance for a hire of a motorhome it was not clear on the website that cover was only available with an annual policy, and was not available as a single trip policy.
Posted 6 months ago
Hi and many thanks for your review. We do title this product as an Annual European Excess with £1000 Motorhome Excess Cover but I am sorry if we have not made it clear enough. We did list this policy as being potentially suitable for you as it is actually cheaper that an alternative single trip policy which had a higher excess - and we always look to suggest the best value products for our users whether annual or single trip policies. The company in question do not offer the motorhome upgrade on their single trip policies, although this is something we have suggested to them, so it might happen in the future. If you ever want help in understanding the policies offered please do not hesitate to contact us as we will be delighted to assist you.
Posted 6 months ago
Despite entering various data, quotes exclude it. System not at all clear. When clicking through various options I eventually got a price for what I had requested in the first place. Quote was considerably higher than the front page. Will not use again. Had to use the online chat as website too incoherent.
Posted 9 months ago
Hi and thank you for your review. We do have a dilemma here - you were looking for a European Car Hire Excess Insurance as a non UK resident. The prices we are supplied with by the most insurers are those that include UK Insurance Premium Tax - whilst if you are to buy from overseas you would pay the IPT at a rate pertinent in the country you live in. Additionally the insurer then charges you in Euros rather than pounds at an internal rate they use. So prices can differ, as we say on the site, for our non UK based users. We are left with two options - Firstly not to show rates for overseas users at all - but that would disappoint the considerable number of users who are happy to accept the situation as above and use our site as it is. Secondly to continue as we are - with the message that says that we are quoting a UK residents price with all that that entails. We have chosen the second route as feedback such as yours is in the minority, so feel we are doing more good than harm - if we felt otherwise we would change our approach immediately. We will however review the wording we use given your feedback though as we work hard to avoid being incoherent. We are glad that in the end you found a policy that met your needs and were able to purchase it. Thanks again for your thoughts.
Posted 9 months ago
I wanted to arrange car hire excess insurance but your site refers to some complicated jargon without explaining what it means, so I didn't go ahead!
Posted 1 year ago
Michael, Thank you for your review, Following our direct contact with you, we look forward to speaking with you within the next week and helping arrange a policy suitable for you! Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 1 year ago
The comparison system worked but the results were not as requested. I was looking for van hire excess insurance cover but virtually all the results (like the your request for a review) covered car hire excess insurance. In fact from the results offered there were only two companies offering cover. However some offered two or more levels of cover and despite calling the respective insurance company I was unable to discover what benefit may be obtained by paying the higher premium. Further issues arose when I discovered that all policies had a minimum excess level that I was unable to avoid. (I would prefer to have choice in regard to the level of any excess) It feels as if this market is not operating openly. I struggle to understand why I could only find two companies offering cover. Many advertise this "service" yet on asking for a quote the sites reverts to car, not van, excess cover. Finally I was left in considerable doubt about the link between the company I purchased cover from and Money Maxim. Going direct to the insurance company I was able to obtain answers regarding the level of cover but buying direct was unrealistic as it was more expensive than buying from Money Maxim. Yet the cover I purchased appears only to be available from Money Maxim. In summary this appears to be a 'fixed' market with premiums (compared to car hire excess) inexplicably higher.
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review - We really appreciate the feedback and time taken for this. We have emailed you directly with a view to discussing your points further, and hope to help with your scenario. We look forward to hearing from you, Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 1 year ago
THE PRICE CHANGED FROM £32 TO OVER £37
Posted 1 year ago
Helen, Thank you for your call earlier today - We really appreciated the opportunity to discuss this review further. Following on from our conversation, it does seem that their was some confusion on your chosen insurer, CHEW's website - Having clicked out to a 31 day annual policy priced at £32, we understand you then continued on their site and selected the 65 day annual policy at £41.99 - We will pass this feedback onto CHEW, and how you felt it was not necessarily presented very clearly. This being said, it's great to know you did manage to buy a policy via another insurer on our site and hopefully made the most of the discounts available. We look forward to your next visit to the site and assisting with future car hire and insurance requirements. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 1 year ago
I was on holiday and decided to hire a car to explore the area. Everytime I selected an option with Moneymaxim I worked through the details and just before I purchased it required me to confirm I was in Uk at point of purchase which of course I wasn’t so 3 options I was unable to purchase. I had to go to another provider direct who did not have this requirement. Often I wait till I arrive somewhere to review if there is enough in local area to keep us busy, what public transport/tour options there are and how the roads/drivers are before deciding to hire a car clearly money maxim is not appropriate for this. I have since been advised by Moneymaxim that they are adding a filter which will allow me to refine it to policies which I can purchase abroad so I will try it next time and review again at that point.
Posted 1 year ago
Valerie Herbert Thank you for your feedback. We do have some very good news!!! A number of insurers now, are now preventing their policies from being purchased online from abroad. This is mainly due to Fraud Prevention. Due to the increasing number of insurers that are now doing this and following feedback like yours, we have now reviewed all the Car Hire Excess Insurer on our site in regards to this. From the 9th October 2019, I'm very pleased to say, that we were able to add a new filter to our Car Hire Excess results page and if you then click the filter that says: - Available to purchase once abroad This will now provide you the Car Hire Excess Insurers that will allow you to purchase your policy, whilst being outside the United Kingdom. So, in going forward, the fact that you sometimes book your hire cars whilst being abroad at that time, this will now allow you to purchase your Car Hire Excess Insurance Policy whilst you are there. Do remember though, for any Car Hire Excess Insurance Policy that is purchased, this must be bought before the official pick up time as shown on the Car Hire Agreement. Once again, thank you for your feedback, this has assisted us greatly, in helping to improve the overall Customer Service Experience, when purchasing this type of policy from abroad. David Neal Head of Customer Services
Posted 1 year ago
Insufficient information about the actual car. No information about the pickup point on the selected car hire companies.
Posted 1 year ago
Brian, Thank you for your review, We have contacted you twice with regards to your review, and would really appreciate to opportunity to discuss this further with you. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 1 year ago
Quotes were great but when tried to phone numbers to ask for advice got long messages twice then cut off or no answer !
Posted 1 year ago
Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review – which we would love to investigate. We have also sent you a personal email asking you to kindly contact us, so we can look into this further. Hopefully you can see by the speed of this reply that it is not our normal practice to leave our users waiting! I am assuming it was moneymaxim you were calling (or was it possibly one of the Car Hire Excess Insurance Companies) ? In regards to Moneymaxim, if you were able to provide us with a telephone number, we will then be able to track your phone number and to see what happened. We are not aware of any issues recently with our telephony that might have caused this so really want to get to the bottom of this. Please feel free to call on telephone number 0800 520 0699 option 3 (our Customer Services option), and we will look forward to speaking to you then. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards, David David Neal Head of Customer Services
Posted 1 year ago
I asked for a quote for USA car hire excess got a quote for UK and Europe?
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, This does surprise us, and having looked into this immediately we can see that two quotes were ran, for Europe and then USA. We have emailed you directly with regards to this, and look forward to hearing from you and helping with any further queries, if needed. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 1 year ago
In most cases results gave higher prices than could be achieved by buying direct with discount code..
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Following on from our email earlier in the week, we have sent another email in the hope to hear from you and understand more regarding this review. It is a big world and we can't prevent voucher codes being offered by certain companies, but we tend to find in most cases that the prices available on our site are unrivalled in the market. We do hope to hear from you, Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 1 year ago
Price difference with supplier
Posted 1 year ago
Hi - Firstly many thanks for your review this morning – one of the great things about reviews is that it allows us to help users when something clearly wrong has happened. We have replicated the quote you ran, and retraced your steps to the three insurers you clicked out to. In all instances they match exactly the prices we display. We therefore think this may be down to settings on your web browser rather than a more general situation This can happen because some insurers ‘remember’ users if they have previously visited them from another source – so for instance if you had gone directly to their website, or if you has visited them through another site. As the pricing we have agreed with partners is often cheaper than prices available either directly or via other sites this can mean a user can be shown a different price on clicking out. If you either clear cookies on your current browser or revisit you quote using a different device or browser you will find it all magically works Please do contact us directly if still have any issues. Mark Bower Managing Director
Posted 1 year ago
Selected one of the options, but when sent to the website, it was not available.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Many thanks for your review. As you know we have also sent you a direct message. The issue here is that your search was for a policy starting in October, and the insurer not yet issuing policies with a start date after 30th Sept. We do show policies on our site with start dates right out into the future. We took the call that it was better to show potential policies even if they cannot yet be bought, as it does allow users to see them, and if they wish come back to purchase at a later date. We could remove them, but would limit choice, and not let users know that particular insurers are likely to be able to help, albeit not today. Ideally we would be able to tell users when they can come back, but unfortunately the insurers are governed by their underwriters rules, which are subject to change at short notice. Some have a rolling three or six month rule or twelve month rule, some have a cut off when their agreement with their underwriter expires, some have different rules per type of policy! Therefore even if we adopted this approach we would end up disappointing. So we have left it so that users are advised when they reach the insurer. Fortunately as the average 'buy' date is 12 days before the start of a policy this issue actually affects very few users, but we are very sorry you were inconvenienced. Mark Bower Managing Director
Posted 1 year ago
Scrolling across to see particular deals is clunky on the website. This happened befores as well and recently again when trying to hire car. I gave up trying and went to another site. No diffs when sourcing excess insurance - fairly smooth process
Posted 1 year ago
Anonymous Thank you for your Review. Please feel free to call us in the future if we can assist you further on telephone number 0800 520 0699 option 3. Our Customer Service Team will be delighted to assist you and to help you to carry out your enquiry in the quickest way possible. We have just launched a new version on our Moneymaxim website for Car Hire Excess Insurance and you are very welcome to view this and we would be delighted to receive any further feedback that you may have. I do very much hope that we be of a further assistance to you again in the future as well. David Neal Head of Customer Services
Posted 1 year ago
I am not a Uk resident. Ticking this info did not make the search any easier as the offers your website directed me to were for UK residents.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review - We really appreciate customer feedback. We understand from the quotes ran for this email address that the policies shown were from 3 insurers (of a possible 18) - Worldwide Insure, ICarHireInsurance and Questor, that are available to Polish residents. The price shown on the quotes would have been the price for a UK resident, as they do vary according to each customer and their country of residence. Unfortunately we are not provided those prices so can not display them, however you will find the correct price the moment you go through to the insurers site based on your particular scenario. We do hope you found a policy suitable for you, and please do not hesitate contacting us on 0800 520 0699 if you have further queries. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
We organised a policy last minute which was great, however we never received an email confirming the policy. We had to take a photo of the computer screen to have a record of the policy number. This wasn't very comforting for our journey.
Posted 2 years ago
Gerard, I'm sorry to hear you did not receive confirmation/policy documents from which ever insurer you decided to purchase from. In this scenario, we tend to suggest to check junk and spam folders to see if it's ventured in those, if not then a quick call to your insurer and they will be able to resend any documents needed, not a problem! However, thank you for using MoneyMaxim - Glad your experience with us was smooth and you managed to find a policy quickly! We hope you enjoyed your trip, Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
No insurance offered to cover vans and cars in one policy. In the (my) real world I hire both and need an appropriate CDW insurance policy.
Posted 2 years ago
Jorg, Thank you for using MoneyMaxim - As promised, following on from our direct/personal email to you, please note our public reply. As a comparison site and not the insurer ourselves, we can only offer products that exist - and a combined car and van policy does not. The reason is that the risks on van hire excess insurance are much higher than on cars - we would estimate about 4 times the level of claims come from vans rather than cars. An annual policy used to exist but was withdrawn as it was impossible to balance the premium and cost of claims. A huge proportion of claims came from a small number of policyholders who were hiring vans weekly and to cover these claims the premiums would have to be set at such a rate that it would be unattractive to the casual hirer. As an insurer does not know whether a policy holder plans to hire more cars than vans or vice versa, charging the right premium is also pretty much impossible to calculate on a joint policy - the only way insurers have made it work is to offer the car policy - at a very low premium - and a daily van policy where they know what the exact risk is - and where they can charge a premium that covers claims. It is also the reason that many van policies have an excess - which car policies don’t. We hope this explanation helps you and other users, but will be happy to assist further if needed! Thanks again, Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
Plenty of option, but when I clicked through to look at details the site froze. Started over again and the site I was directed to purchase policy from froze again.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your feedback, We are sorry to hear you incurred these technical issues at this particular time, but hopefully you persevered and managed to purchase a policy that met your specific requirements. If we can help further or you did not manage to purchase a policy, please contact us on 0800 520 0699 and we will do our best to help further. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
Unable to find what I was looking for
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous Oh!!! You are very welcome to call us on Telephone Number 0800 520 0699 option 3, or via our web chat via our site www.moneymaxim.co.uk or even drop as line via our email info@moneymaxim.co.uk with your contact details, and we will be delighted to contact you. We will do our very best to assist you for sure. I guess sometimes we cannot provide a solution, which can be criteria driven by the insurers themselves for example, but we would really appreciate the opportunity to speak to you over the phone and once we fully understand your specific requirements, we will then do everything we can to assist you from there. I'll also send you a personal email and hopefully we can talk soon. Here's hoping to hear from you and hopefully being of a further assistance to you. Wishing you the very best for now. David David Neal Head of Customer Services Moneymaxim Telephone 0800 520 0699 option 3
Posted 2 years ago
Price went up 3 fold while I was checking over a couple of days prior to flying but when wife enquired separately it went back to original quote. Booked elsewhere while you were playing games
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous I've just sent you an email in regards to your above review. Although I've gone into more detail in regards to my email to you, I do believe having looked at the quotes you did run, this may simply be down to the fact that you kindly ran 2 single trips polices quotes and the other being an Annual quote. Hence the price difference, between the Daily Policy and Annual policy. A European Daily policy can be purchased from around £1.70 / £1.80 a day and an Annual European Policy from £32.83. Please also note, despite how many times you run the same enquiry, the price will not change, it will be the same. The only time the prices do change is when the odd Excess Insurer reviews its price structuring from time to time. This doesn't happen often though, and even when a company does change its pricing, it very small amounts either way (whether increasing or decreasing). These changes are also advised to us in advance, with an agreed date and time for updating as well. As mentioned in my email to you, I do really hope that you are able to contact me to discuss this further and to talk this through, in order to provide some further clarity in regards to this. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, David David Neal Head of Customer Services Moneymaxim Telephone ; 0800 520 0699 Option 3
Posted 2 years ago
MoneyMaxim is rated 4.74 based on 4,425 reviews