MoneyMaxim Reviews

4.7 Rating 5,312 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend MoneyMaxim
4.7
Based on 5,312 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.8 out of 5
Read MoneyMaxim Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01183 218197

Email:

info@moneymaxim.co.uk

Location:

Suite 8, Market House
Market Place
Wokingham
RG40 1AP

Write Your review

Tell us how MoneyMaxim made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Promised discount code from Monet Saving Expert was not accepted.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thanks Allan for taking the time to explain the circumstances behind your comments. MoneySavingExpert recommends users to use us to compare due to the comprehensive comparison service we offer and the details of policies we provide in one place. We also offer policies at significantly discounted rates. However, MSE also has some separately negotiated deals that can only be used if you visit the insurers directly. You cannot see these prices without visiting each insurance company one by one and checking the resultant quote - in practice, and at different times, some offer similar discounts to those we are offering, some lower or higher. I am sorry that you found the process cumbersome, but that is really outside our control given it is dictated by MSE not us. I am pleased though that you are heading off on your break with a policy that will cover you and we hope you have a great break. Mark Bower Managing Director
Posted 3 months ago
Impossible to finalize the transaction as a fake error occurs like “ emails don’t match” even if they do. It’s been like this for months. Fix the bug pls
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Alessandra, Thank you so much for your feedback. I would really would like the opportunity to pin point what you are referring to and then once found, to resolve this with immediate effect. I've tried to replicate something similar to the quote you have run, but I'm unable to find anything at all in regards to the points that you have kindly raised. Can I ask you very kindly to call me on 01183 218197 option 3 or email me at info@moneymaxim.co.uk with a convenient date / time to call you. I would really appreciate just a few minutes of your time so we can investigate this further. We are obviously very sorry to hear of your experience and it would be great if we could resolve this for you and potentially any other customers in going forward. Without you, we won't !!!! I do very much hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, David David Neal Moneymaxim Head of Customer Services
Posted 6 months ago
Disappointed. Looked at European Car hire excess insurance which I've found previously with you - really good policy with World Wide Insure. You were showing a good deal with them but clicked through and the link to their website took me through to more expensive deals and not the one you had advertised...
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Virginia, Thanks for your review which we have investigated at length - as we explained when we contacted you whenever we tested the process the Worldwide Insure policy was correctly displayed - and in addition there were no technical issues on either our or Worldwide's at the time you ran your quote that might have impacted this. It is true to say that the company are one of the few on the site who do not have the ability to allow us to deep link you directly to the policy in question, so some reinputting is required and we do wonder if that caused the problem. If you ever have a similar issue in the future please do contract us, as we would have been able to to sort this within a couple of minutes. Many thanks again for letting us know of your concerns as it did give us the chance to do a top to toe review to ensure all is working fine.
Posted 7 months ago
Not great. Some of the attributes (e.g. Personal accident cover provided) stated on the Moneymaxim site were not in fact included in the cover when you looked at the insurer's own website. Also the insurer I first went with - the card transaction failed possibly because the name on my credit card didn't match my full name. Many card providers put people's initials on bank cards so the name won't always match exactly.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi, Thanks for letting us know your feedback - its really appreciated. Immediately we got your review we double checked all our content but found no errors. We also contacted you and you helpfully retraced your steps but again could not find the issue when you did so. I know you will let us know if you do track down anything - but we really work very hard to ensure everything is spot on so would be surprised to find an issue. We also offered to provide feedback to the insurer on whose site you experienced the payment problem. Thanks again
Posted 8 months ago
Expensive
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
That is not a word we see often! I wonder if it’s because you asked us for a CDW quote rather than an excess insurance quote? CDW covers the whole value of the car rather than the excess cover which only covers the excess you are responsible for – and for that reason it is more expensive. Hopefully you are sorted now but if you would like us to check any future quotes you run please do let us know.
Posted 9 months ago
Tried to get me to use a scam hire car firm - Green Motion... No thanks!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Well.... we do offer Green Motion cars through our car hire service - alongside many other car rental firms. Have corresponded we understand that you are basing your comments of feedback you have read online rather than any first party experience - and we explained that whilst we continuously monitor our customers experience we have had no expressions of dissatisfaction with Green Motion in over two years - hence the reason they are featured. There are other companies who are not featured because we are not confident that they will care for our users as well as we expect, but we base our decisions on the evidence we see, and therefore unless our users tell us otherwise we will continue to offer the existing panel. I hope that at least explains the situation.
Posted 9 months ago
I spent 14 minutes waiting for an answer from the first site, after that I gave up on two others after 5 mins each
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Gerald We have emailed you directly to learn more about the issues you faced, and hopefully we can resolve the situation. By the looks of it the problem was not with us, but with a company (ies) featured on our service but I am sure we will be able to get to the root of the issue and sort it for you very quickly. Mark Bower Managing Director
Posted 11 months ago
When I came to take up the quote it took me to an inappropriate website with further links that did not work.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ian Hawkins Thank you for your feedback. From our internal portal, we can see you clicked out to one particular insurer. Please feel free in such instances to call us directly and we would always do our very best to assist you. By then running the quote for you, we can then try and replicate the problem you were encountering and more importantly help you to progress your quote or to possibly come up with some different ideas or solutions for you. Sorry to hear that you were unable to progress your application with the insurer on this occasion. David Neal Head of Customer Services
Posted 6 months ago
Disappointing that when looking for excess insurance for a hire of a motorhome it was not clear on the website that cover was only available with an annual policy, and was not available as a single trip policy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi and many thanks for your review. We do title this product as an Annual European Excess with £1000 Motorhome Excess Cover but I am sorry if we have not made it clear enough. We did list this policy as being potentially suitable for you as it is actually cheaper that an alternative single trip policy which had a higher excess - and we always look to suggest the best value products for our users whether annual or single trip policies. The company in question do not offer the motorhome upgrade on their single trip policies, although this is something we have suggested to them, so it might happen in the future. If you ever want help in understanding the policies offered please do not hesitate to contact us as we will be delighted to assist you.
Posted 1 year ago
Despite entering various data, quotes exclude it. System not at all clear. When clicking through various options I eventually got a price for what I had requested in the first place. Quote was considerably higher than the front page. Will not use again. Had to use the online chat as website too incoherent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi and thank you for your review. We do have a dilemma here - you were looking for a European Car Hire Excess Insurance as a non UK resident. The prices we are supplied with by the most insurers are those that include UK Insurance Premium Tax - whilst if you are to buy from overseas you would pay the IPT at a rate pertinent in the country you live in. Additionally the insurer then charges you in Euros rather than pounds at an internal rate they use. So prices can differ, as we say on the site, for our non UK based users. We are left with two options - Firstly not to show rates for overseas users at all - but that would disappoint the considerable number of users who are happy to accept the situation as above and use our site as it is. Secondly to continue as we are - with the message that says that we are quoting a UK residents price with all that that entails. We have chosen the second route as feedback such as yours is in the minority, so feel we are doing more good than harm - if we felt otherwise we would change our approach immediately. We will however review the wording we use given your feedback though as we work hard to avoid being incoherent. We are glad that in the end you found a policy that met your needs and were able to purchase it. Thanks again for your thoughts.
Posted 1 year ago
I wanted to arrange car hire excess insurance but your site refers to some complicated jargon without explaining what it means, so I didn't go ahead!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Michael, Thank you for your review, Following our direct contact with you, we look forward to speaking with you within the next week and helping arrange a policy suitable for you! Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
The comparison system worked but the results were not as requested. I was looking for van hire excess insurance cover but virtually all the results (like the your request for a review) covered car hire excess insurance. In fact from the results offered there were only two companies offering cover. However some offered two or more levels of cover and despite calling the respective insurance company I was unable to discover what benefit may be obtained by paying the higher premium. Further issues arose when I discovered that all policies had a minimum excess level that I was unable to avoid. (I would prefer to have choice in regard to the level of any excess) It feels as if this market is not operating openly. I struggle to understand why I could only find two companies offering cover. Many advertise this "service" yet on asking for a quote the sites reverts to car, not van, excess cover. Finally I was left in considerable doubt about the link between the company I purchased cover from and Money Maxim. Going direct to the insurance company I was able to obtain answers regarding the level of cover but buying direct was unrealistic as it was more expensive than buying from Money Maxim. Yet the cover I purchased appears only to be available from Money Maxim. In summary this appears to be a 'fixed' market with premiums (compared to car hire excess) inexplicably higher.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review - We really appreciate the feedback and time taken for this. We have emailed you directly with a view to discussing your points further, and hope to help with your scenario. We look forward to hearing from you, Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
THE PRICE CHANGED FROM £32 TO OVER £37
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Helen, Thank you for your call earlier today - We really appreciated the opportunity to discuss this review further. Following on from our conversation, it does seem that their was some confusion on your chosen insurer, CHEW's website - Having clicked out to a 31 day annual policy priced at £32, we understand you then continued on their site and selected the 65 day annual policy at £41.99 - We will pass this feedback onto CHEW, and how you felt it was not necessarily presented very clearly. This being said, it's great to know you did manage to buy a policy via another insurer on our site and hopefully made the most of the discounts available. We look forward to your next visit to the site and assisting with future car hire and insurance requirements. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
I was on holiday and decided to hire a car to explore the area. Everytime I selected an option with Moneymaxim I worked through the details and just before I purchased it required me to confirm I was in Uk at point of purchase which of course I wasn’t so 3 options I was unable to purchase. I had to go to another provider direct who did not have this requirement. Often I wait till I arrive somewhere to review if there is enough in local area to keep us busy, what public transport/tour options there are and how the roads/drivers are before deciding to hire a car clearly money maxim is not appropriate for this. I have since been advised by Moneymaxim that they are adding a filter which will allow me to refine it to policies which I can purchase abroad so I will try it next time and review again at that point.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Valerie Herbert Thank you for your feedback. We do have some very good news!!! A number of insurers now, are now preventing their policies from being purchased online from abroad. This is mainly due to Fraud Prevention. Due to the increasing number of insurers that are now doing this and following feedback like yours, we have now reviewed all the Car Hire Excess Insurer on our site in regards to this. From the 9th October 2019, I'm very pleased to say, that we were able to add a new filter to our Car Hire Excess results page and if you then click the filter that says: - Available to purchase once abroad This will now provide you the Car Hire Excess Insurers that will allow you to purchase your policy, whilst being outside the United Kingdom. So, in going forward, the fact that you sometimes book your hire cars whilst being abroad at that time, this will now allow you to purchase your Car Hire Excess Insurance Policy whilst you are there. Do remember though, for any Car Hire Excess Insurance Policy that is purchased, this must be bought before the official pick up time as shown on the Car Hire Agreement. Once again, thank you for your feedback, this has assisted us greatly, in helping to improve the overall Customer Service Experience, when purchasing this type of policy from abroad. David Neal Head of Customer Services
Posted 2 years ago
Insufficient information about the actual car. No information about the pickup point on the selected car hire companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Brian, Thank you for your review, We have contacted you twice with regards to your review, and would really appreciate to opportunity to discuss this further with you. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
Quotes were great but when tried to phone numbers to ask for advice got long messages twice then cut off or no answer !
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review – which we would love to investigate. We have also sent you a personal email asking you to kindly contact us, so we can look into this further. Hopefully you can see by the speed of this reply that it is not our normal practice to leave our users waiting! I am assuming it was moneymaxim you were calling (or was it possibly one of the Car Hire Excess Insurance Companies) ? In regards to Moneymaxim, if you were able to provide us with a telephone number, we will then be able to track your phone number and to see what happened. We are not aware of any issues recently with our telephony that might have caused this so really want to get to the bottom of this. Please feel free to call on telephone number 0800 520 0699 option 3 (our Customer Services option), and we will look forward to speaking to you then. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards, David David Neal Head of Customer Services
Posted 2 years ago
I asked for a quote for USA car hire excess got a quote for UK and Europe?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review, This does surprise us, and having looked into this immediately we can see that two quotes were ran, for Europe and then USA. We have emailed you directly with regards to this, and look forward to hearing from you and helping with any further queries, if needed. Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
In most cases results gave higher prices than could be achieved by buying direct with discount code..
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Following on from our email earlier in the week, we have sent another email in the hope to hear from you and understand more regarding this review. It is a big world and we can't prevent voucher codes being offered by certain companies, but we tend to find in most cases that the prices available on our site are unrivalled in the market. We do hope to hear from you, Ross Customer Service Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
Price difference with supplier
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi - Firstly many thanks for your review this morning – one of the great things about reviews is that it allows us to help users when something clearly wrong has happened. We have replicated the quote you ran, and retraced your steps to the three insurers you clicked out to. In all instances they match exactly the prices we display. We therefore think this may be down to settings on your web browser rather than a more general situation This can happen because some insurers ‘remember’ users if they have previously visited them from another source – so for instance if you had gone directly to their website, or if you has visited them through another site. As the pricing we have agreed with partners is often cheaper than prices available either directly or via other sites this can mean a user can be shown a different price on clicking out. If you either clear cookies on your current browser or revisit you quote using a different device or browser you will find it all magically works Please do contact us directly if still have any issues. Mark Bower Managing Director
Posted 2 years ago
Selected one of the options, but when sent to the website, it was not available.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Many thanks for your review. As you know we have also sent you a direct message. The issue here is that your search was for a policy starting in October, and the insurer not yet issuing policies with a start date after 30th Sept. We do show policies on our site with start dates right out into the future. We took the call that it was better to show potential policies even if they cannot yet be bought, as it does allow users to see them, and if they wish come back to purchase at a later date. We could remove them, but would limit choice, and not let users know that particular insurers are likely to be able to help, albeit not today. Ideally we would be able to tell users when they can come back, but unfortunately the insurers are governed by their underwriters rules, which are subject to change at short notice. Some have a rolling three or six month rule or twelve month rule, some have a cut off when their agreement with their underwriter expires, some have different rules per type of policy! Therefore even if we adopted this approach we would end up disappointing. So we have left it so that users are advised when they reach the insurer. Fortunately as the average 'buy' date is 12 days before the start of a policy this issue actually affects very few users, but we are very sorry you were inconvenienced. Mark Bower Managing Director
Posted 2 years ago
MoneyMaxim is rated 4.74 based on 5,312 reviews