Lilley Tile and Stone Reviews

4.72 Rating 722 Reviews
93% of reviewers recommend Lilley Tile and Stone
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
Greater than 93%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 87%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
Featured Review
This review is set as featured by the company.
"After calling a lot of other tile suppliers I found the most helpful advice, politeness, knowledge & excellent customer service from you. Apologies for not remembering his name, mobile ends 1721! He sent me WhatsApp pics of alternative choices to think about as the bright coloured grout I really wanted wasn’t available in UK. I went with his alternative suggestion in the end. Excellent c.service really isn’t easy to find these days. Thank you. All the other tile shops could learn a thing or two from you 👍"
Posted 6 months ago
"Products ordered not yet received"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Sean,

Can you please urgently confirm receipt of your goods? They are made to order but should have been with you by now!

Many Thanks

Ray Cannon
Lilley Web Support
Posted 2 weeks ago
Visit Website
"The item arrived bent."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Keir,

could you please advise the store directly with photos of the damage and they will sort this out immediately for you. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and will speak to the courier concerning this.
Posted 3 months ago
"Hi I ordered 2 items but they were delivered on two different days even though I paid extra for delivery also the second item was delivered damaged the lid had burst causing the mapei primer to leak into packaging. Not happy"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Andrew, extremely sorry to hear that. Could you please make sure a picture of the product is sent through to the store with your order number and I will make sure we take urgent action on this.

Best Regards

Ray Cannon

Lilley Web Support
Posted 6 months ago
Andrew,

Just checked with store. Order was placed on 2 wkg day delivery Tuesday 23rd at 17:31pm and all goods were delivered within 2 wkg days albeit separately. We would still like to address the damaged delivery issue though so would be grateful for an image showing the damage so we can talk to our couriers and fix the issue.
Posted 6 months ago
"Order despatched promptly however 5kg pack of grout arrived with bottom of bag split (see photos). A right pain to clear up and transfer grout to plastic container."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Peter,

We're really sorry to hear about this. I'll refer this straight back to the store just in case you haven't already so we can sort something out for you. We will also be having words with the courier. Could you please let me know your original order number so I can get onto it straight away? You can email me on ray@lilleytileandstone.co.uk

Apologies once again.

Many Thanks

Ray

Customer Web Support
Posted 9 months ago
"Your delivery cost is extortionate. The only reason i ordered from you was because i had to get a specialist colour grout knowone stocks."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
James, I'm not sure what delivery you paid for, but as we explain on our website we do not amortize our carriage charges in the product price so the price you see for our standard carriage (£9.99) includes everything to do with delivery cost of packaging, documentation, actual cost of delivery etc. Also, on standard deliveries we charge no more than this, it is a fixed fee no matter how much you purchase. This does cause an issue when you are buying small quantities of grout/tools etc (Which we are currently looking at) but when you start buying pallets and larger quantities you will find we are still a lot cheaper than the competition. We do stock a lot of specialized product that our competitors do not, but we don't increase our carriage charge to penalize our customers.
Posted 2 years ago
"Poor delivery service. Requested delivery before 2pm if possible which wasn't even passed on to the hauliers. Rang and asked Lilley Tile & Stone at 1pm where it was, they said they can't chase deliveries until 3pm and the hauliers deliver until 6pm. Who stays on site until 6pm!?! Driver rang at 3pm saying he'd be an hour, i had already left site so he suggested delivery the next day instead, first drop at 7.30 - 8am ish. Lilley Tile & Stone then ring me and say that way would cost an additional £60 which the drivers apparently don't tell you so can they go ahead with delivery today after all. Yes ok so I go back to site from 4pm until 6.30pm and no delivery arrives. Next day comes and the delivery finally arrives at 9.20am. Total waste of my time for about a £15 saving over buying in the local Jewson who deliver the next working day free of charge. Have used these in the past but doubt I will again now thanks to a shambles of a delivery."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Luke, we can only apologize again for the problems you encountered on this order. I am aware of this particular situation and we are reviewing our systems internally for possible improvements. As per your discussions with the store we have reimbursed you the cost of the 2 day delivery. And although the actual delivery was effectively only one day late, we still do not find this acceptable and appreciate the problems this can cause when planning jobs on site. In general, if the order is placed before midday on a working day, that day is considered day 1. So an order placed on Friday before 12 should have been with you by Tuesday.

Best Regards

Ray Cannon
Lilley Web Support
Posted 2 years ago
"Item missed from order."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
David. We have just finished checking your order and it would appear a sealant applicator pad went missing whilst on route. After you informed us we shipped a new one straight away. The order was also delivered a day earlier than promised. We would be extremely grateful if you could re-review your comments based on this.

Many Thanks

Lilley Tile and Stone Customer Support
Posted 3 years ago
"very disappointed with the delivery,with parcel force,"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"One of the coloured grout bags arrived open with a great deal of it missing, it didn't even look torn, but cut, as if it had been cut across when opening a bag. Wrote to them to no avail. Won't be using them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Yaiza , we replied to you on 10th December via email requesting an image of the damaged product which we would have been happy to replace. Please check your junk email folder just in case. In the meantime please contact us directly if you still wish to persue replacement product.
Posted 3 years ago
"Can't really comment as still have not received the items"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I think we might need to amend our review request timing! I will amend our system but please feel free to update your review once your goods have been received. Many Thanks.
Posted 4 years ago
"Haven't received my order yet!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I have already made a comment against another customer review who also received the review request before their goods. We will be amending the review timing shortly.
Posted 4 years ago
"The mastic was one year old and can only be kept for a further 6 months."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"was very disappointed,with the delivery,after paid £9,put my works address,not only parcel wasn't delivered not even a card,just text telling me parcel was left at martlesham post office,had to waste 1and half hour in the morning to pick it up,very very disappointed."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"I am sure that the product that arrived today is fine. I have yet to use it. However your delivery information service leaves a lot to be desired. In the last e-mail I received from the company I was advised that I had selected 3-5 day delivery. Probably correct. I ordered the product on a Bank Holiday Monday. I was therefore surprised to receive notice that it would be delivered the following day, Tuesday, between 8am and 6pm. The carrier was not mentioned. Stayed in all day - no delivery. After complaint advised that 'it was posted 1st class signed for..It should be out for delivery today with Royal Mail.' Thinking it was a recorded delivery with a guaranteed delivery before 1am, I stayed in again - no delivery. It arrived on the Thursday with Tuesday's postmark and with no signature required. In no way could it have been delivered on the Tuesday or guaranteed on the Wednesday as the 'first class signed for' implies."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"Had text from Parcelforce yesterday morning saying it would be delivered Wednesday still not arrived today Thursday at 5pm, which is a pain as I need it for tomorrow morning."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"The Mapei Ultracolur Plus Grout I bought is good stuff, but my packet arrived with a pin hole in it (hence a leak), and it was date stamped10/02/14, so it was almost a year old when it reached me on Feb. 2nd 2015. This won't do; mortars and grouts decay as they age, and often fail. Your company needs to refresh its stock more frequently!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Richard, thanks for your comments. We understand your concerns so just to clarify; These Mapei products have a "2 year" shelf life from the date of manufacturer. We turn our stock around quickly here and work with the latest shipments from Mapei and on occasion we will receive stock that has been stored by them to the 12 month limit. However, this product is still has 1 year of shelf life remaining which is within date and perfectly fine to use as per the datasheet specifications. After 2 years the product does start to degrade but is still usable even then, although the set time takes longer. Should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Posted 4 years ago
"Whilst the order was delivered promptly with the delivery driver contacting by phone to confirm ease of delivery it was NOT appreciated when an AUTOMATIC TEXT CAME THROUGH AT 3.00AM ON THE LANDLINE WAKING UP THE WHOLE HOUSE! THIS WAS PARTICULARLY ANNOYING AS THE ITEMS HAD BEEN DELIVERED OVER 12 HOURS EARLIER. The delivery would have scored excellent apart from what seems to be a very poor notification system. It would be appreciated if this could be sorted out and I only hope other people have not been disturbed in the same way!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
David. We apologise that you were woken up at such an awful hour. Unfortunately we are unable to control delays in the texting system/phone company used by our couriers and I would expect in this case an error that a text was sent to a landline. However, we will pass your comments back to the couriers responsible and ask them to be more digilent when entering their delivery information. Apologies once again.
Posted 4 years ago
"Ordering process pretty quicker and delivery was when it said it would be. However 3 bags of the adhesive were bust open and there contents spilled on my drive when off loading from the pallet. This was because the person who put them on there put the bags on nails protruding from the pallet. I contacted the company and they asked for photos which I sent. Offered to replace but tiling had started so I had to purchase more at the tile shop. So I am left out of pocket."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Paula, we're very sorry that you experienced problems with this order. On rare occasions the tops of pallet nails can come through the pallet due to movement during transport and some of the contents can be lost if the bags are dragged off. With photo evidence of the damaged goods we can usually collect the damaged goods and turn round a priority replacement extremely quickly, but we're sorry that on this occasion we could not do so in time for your project.
Posted 5 years ago
Lilley Tile and Stone is rated 4.72 based on 722 reviews