KLG Rutland Reviews

4.72 Rating 212 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend KLG Rutland
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
on-time delivery
Greater than 94%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Read KLG Rutland Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01159 22 11 55

Email:

reception@klg.co.uk

Location:

Queens Road East, Beeston.

Write Your review

Tell us how KLG Rutland made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (Optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
First time customers to KLG and everything ran smoothly from start to finish, will definitely use you again for our next project. We are already getting the benefit from our new conservatory roof, very very pleased, thank you.
Originally, when asked to write a review, I decided against doing that, as it would not have been particularly positive. However since then I have changed my mind as I feel future customers should be aware of some issues which could cause misunderstandings and may result in work being poorly completed. The contract, which the director agreed, was misleading in the way it was set out as also were the invoices I received. This lack of clarity concerning payments resulted in costing me more money than I understood on signing the contract. The attitude of the company was intransigent even though it was agreed the wording would in future have to be changed to avoid misleading others. I hope this has happened. The work on replacing the glass and frame of my conservatory took twice as long as initially guaranteed due to all the roof glass being cut wrongly and therefore having to be re-ordered. This took another week during which time a tarpaulin was tied onto the frame to try and protect flooring, walls and electrics. This was only partially successful. The two large opening windows were not made as openers and had to be remade. The side windows were fitted incorrectly and had to be removed. Fascias were cut too short and had to be replaced. The initial workmanship and final clean were, to say the least, disappointing. I would not be able to recommend this company.
2 Helpful Report
Dear Mrs Draycott

Thank you for your review. We do apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment that you have felt, we are always disappointed if our customers are unhappy with the service they receive from KLG Rutland.

We assume that the main reason for leaving a belated review is because you have now paid in full for the contract we delivered as per the documentation. You did at the time of withholding funds threaten that you would leave us a bad review if you had to pay the bill in full.

Unfortunately, we actively insist that we deliver all contracts to completion and fulfil our obligations. We dealt with any warranty issues and snagging as quickly as possible and apologise if this wasn’t soon enough for you.

Therefore, we expected the contract to be paid once completed and threats of a poor review would not hinder us from requesting payment.

If you have any outstanding or further issues, please contact our customer service team on 0115 9221155 and we will resolve these as covered by our comprehensive warranty.

If you are still unhappy with our service, then please contact the Double Glazing and Ombudsman Scheme of which we are a founding member. They will be able to advise if we have fallen short of industry standards. https://www.dgcos.org.uk/

We have checked and are unaware of any complaint currently lodged by yourself.

Regards
KLG Rutland
The customer interaction before the building work was very good. The actual building work was very good and all the contractors very polite and hard-working. However, the post work customer interaction was unnecessarily unpleasant and really very poor.
2 Helpful Report
Dear Mr McDermott, we do apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment that you have felt, we are always upset to hear our customers are unhappy with the service they receive from KLG Rutland.

According to our records we can only assume your comments relate to correspondence towards the end of the installation. We received a communication where it stated you did not intend to pay for the contract in full, withholding an amount for skirting boards despite these items being on the original contract, and you being unable to give us a completion date for your own flooring.

We explained that once you had fitted your own floor we would come back to finish the job, we also agreed for you to hold back an amount until we had done so.

The context of these communications, like many written words can be taken in different ways. But, unfortunately, we have examined these in great depth and really do not see anything that was either unnecessarily or unpleasant in any way. We will have to agree to disagree on that point.

Once again, we do apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment this may have caused you. This was never our intention and we hope that you enjoy your conservatory for many years to come, obviously covered by our comprehensive 10 year warranty.
We have twice had a lock failures on two of the 26 opening windows which were put in nearly 5 years ago The team response was excellent and they were repaired within hours of notification. Question ; WHEN SEEKING QUOTES FOR TWO REMAINING WOODEN WINDOWS AND BACK DOOR. WHY IS IT NOT POSSIBLE TO GET A QUOTE UNLESS BOTH ADULT OWNERS PRESENT.
2 Helpful Report
Dear Mr McFarlane
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding our products and services. In answer to your question relating to obtaining a quotation it is not our company policy to insist that both homeowners are present, unlike our competitors we do not actively operate these type of sales techniques and have been in touch to investigate this serious matters further. We have two large indoor showrooms where customers are free to browse before or after we have quoted for home improvements. We provide home visits or appointments for showroom quotations, whichever most suits the customer. Once, again we would like to thank you for your custom and honest feedback.
We were quite satisfied on both occasions with the product and after service. The only thing we found odd and not satisfactory was when we had our windows and door fitted at the front the company only sent one fitter. It was impossible for a single man to fit large first floor windows on his own up a ladder so I helped him !!! It was a very dangerous practise.
2 Helpful Report
Dear Mr Summerton
Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We have investigated the job in question and this was down for a fitter and mate to complete. Unfortunately, the installer has since left the company so we are unable to ascertain why this happened. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please be assured this is not our normal working practice.
We had our old conservatory replaced with a Rutland conservatory complete with bi-fold doors and the warm roof system,they are not the cheapest but we like to support local business,the sales rep surveyor and installation team were brilliant, when measuring for new blinds we noticed small straight scratched on one door and window glass we contacted Rutland who sent a surveyor to inspect he agreed that the glass was scratched, we were surprised to receive an invoice to replace the units at nearly £300 when I phoned Rutland informed me that as the units had been fitted for more than a two weeks they would have to charge he also said that glass scratches very easily, we have had double glazed units since 1978 and have never scratched any of the glass. Will not be ordering glass splashbacks for our new kitchen if KLG glass scratches before it has even been cleaned once.
1 Helpful Report
Dear Mr Burnett, we are very sorry to hear that you’ve been unhappy with aspects of the service from KLG. We are a small, local company, and really do strive to offer the best service possible, however we do not replace any glass that has been fitted for over 2 weeks as it is simply impossible to know where the scratches have come from once the installation has been signed off. Your glass had unfortunately been installed for 3 months when the scratches were reported to us.

KLG Rutland
I have been putting off this review but now feel it’s only fair to warn any potential customers of KLG’s customer service, or should I say lack of. We purchased a conservatory which you can imagine was not cheap, and had this installed in June/July. I don’t want to make this review too long so I will keep it brief, it was a catalogue of lack of communication & lack of customer service throughout. No one ever returns your calls or apologies for their errors. On a positive note the trades did arrive on time as expected, but trying to get a schedule of works out of the office staff was like pulling teeth. Their administration staff clearly need some customer service training and is the worst I have experienced in a long time. We currently have a leaking roof and are awaiting a call back to get this sorted, even though I had explained it had leaked all over our new sofa, still no apology or a returned call. Shocking behaviour!
1 Helpful Report
Dear Mrs Bradbury

Thank you for your comments, we are disappointed that you have found our customer service poor during your original installation and apologise for this.

We recruited an additional member of staff in July to help us deal with the increased volumes of work we are experiencing this year.

We accommodated your initial service call request and arranged an out of hours inspection.

We have then deployed three members of the workforce to come and rectify the problem. Hopefully this is now resolved, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will be replacing the end caps as soon as possible.

If you have any further issues, please contact our customer service team on 0115 9221155 and we will resolve these in accordance with our warranty.

Regards
KLG Rutland
We first contacted KLG Rutland over a year ago because we were looking for a company that specifically specialises in conservatories. Even though we live outside their normal area of operations, they agreed to come up to us and do the project. Since it was part of a big refurbishment of ours and we were not sure about dates, the project got delayed, and we also kept changing our mind about the final dimensions. Throughout this decision making process Danny Dixon accommodated us wonderfully, and issued several revised quotes without complaining, or making us feel uneasy. When we finally agreed on a rather narrow conservatory, Gary the surveyor came for a second visit to finalise dimensions and details. On the agreed date the building team came, consisting of 3 people, they worked fast and efficiently and got the foundations, grounding and the walls done in 2 days. Several days later another team came to fit the French door and the roof. When at one point it looked like there might be a problem with pipes that need moving, the team immediately took responsibility, put the problem solving cap on, talked to Kevin, the manager, and agreed to do diversion there and then. Thus the team was able to install the whole glass part of the conservatory. The result? 3 days in total for everything, minimum disruption, high quality work. We were impressed with the serious work and professionalism of all the people we came across from Danny the sales manager, and Gary the surveyor and the two teams who installed - we have had a wonderful experience, and would recommend them without hesitation!
1 Helpful Report
Arrived promptly to carry out work on replacing window. work was carried out efficiently with very friendly cheerful staff. No mess, all rubbish taken away at the end and no mess left. Very pleased with end result.
1 Helpful Report
I'm loving my new door, thank you KLG, another excellent job! Fitted by Richard just over a week after I ordered it. I will be recommending you to my friends and family :-)
1 Helpful Report
My parents have been customers of KLG for years and have always been pleased with the quality and after-sales service. When we bought a Cottage to restore in Shelford we went to look around the showroom. We received a warm welcome from Dave and Daniel in the sales team and we're able to choose the windows from a wide range, we liked the flush-fitting as they suit the age of the property. Dave found us a sample which he bought to the house so we could check against the brick-work. The paperwork and documentation was great, all our detailed questions were answered quickly and nothing was any trouble to them. We didnt feel rushed into making a decision and we didn't have to pay anything until the job was done. The fitter Eddie was absolutely fantastic, what a hard, conscientious worker! So pleasant and professional. The quality of fitting was great and a slight scratch to one frame was quickly sorted. KLG also replaced some conservatory windows for us and are fitting a cat flap. The windows and doors we have look fantastic and suit the period property (250 years old), so many people have commented and asked where we got them from! Pleased to act as a referee for a well-established local company!
1 Helpful Report
Craftsmanship excellent. Organisation a little less so; I wonder whether with the amount of work that KLG do, it wouldn't be better to train some of their own staff as scaffolders and to keep a supply of poles, rather than relying on subcontractors? Workmen polite, efficient and tidy. Aftersales helpful when a leak appeared. Probably cured, though we haven't had a really heavy downpour since the repairer did his work.
1 Helpful Report
Excellent service throughout. Our designer really listened and understood what we wanted, and offered plenty of ideas and options that we hadn't thought of. They stayed in touch throughout and were very helpful and patient, even when we tweaked the design a little. We could have got a conservatory a little cheaper elsewhere, but the customer service we got from the designer really made a big difference to our decision to go with KLG Rutland. The build itself was painless. All the builders worked really quickly and cleanly throughout the various stages of the build, and 10 days later we had our fantastic conservatory. The extra space has really made a difference to our house, it's so relaxing in there and we couldn't be happier with it.
1 Helpful Report
We were very impressed initially by the installation and quality of our replacement Rosewood windows and conservatory when they were fitted in 2014, However we have experienced problems several times during the last 2 years, especially when it is hot and sunny,
1 Helpful Report
Dear Mr & Mrs Stockhouse, we are very sorry to hear that you’ve been unhappy with aspects of the service from KLG. We are a small, local company, and really do strive to offer the best service possible – not only because we want to know we’ve done the best job we can, but because we want our customers to spread the word by saying good things about us to their friends and families! As a result, we’re always very sorry to hear that we might have let somebody down.
Our records show that we are scheduled to attend a service call on 20th September that was booked the same day as you left the review. Hopefully we can alleviate the problem you have with a window. Unfortunately, as any reputable company will tell you in the construction industry, there is always a degree of movement with all products. Many years ago it was warping and expanding wooden doors. Now it is expansion and contraction of composite materials. However, everything has enough tolerance to be adjusted between non-extreme climate changes. Hopefully we will be able to resolve this issue on our second attempt and retain you as a valued customer. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this oversight may have caused you.
If you have any other concerns regarding the installation or any other outstanding issues that you haven’t informed us of please email us with more detail at reception@klg.co.uk , or call 01159 22 11 55 and ask for customer service, we will make it our priority to establish what’s happened, and will work with you to find a solution if you have any other issues.
The job is not yet completed it has taken since June to organise with my constant chasing- your admin lady is not very efficient and lets down the company- your fitters are fine We have used you before and always been happy but this has been a challenge to sort!
1 Helpful Report
Dear Mr & Mrs Lockwood, we are very sorry to hear that you’ve been unhappy with aspects of the service from KLG.

The order quoted on this review 16332 actually relates to a contact that we completed in April 2015. We often revisit our customers to evaluate service levels since we completed a job, as this is where the quality of a company really matters.

Therefore, we respectfully request that you amend your review to relate to the actual contract that has actually been installed.

Regarding another order 17581 we currently have in the system, it appears that this is a repair to works and products you purchased from another company. We do not normally undertake this kind of work, but as an existing and previously happy customer of ours we have tried to help out and the complicated and difficult process is underway.

We are also a founder member of the Double Glazing and Conservatory Ombudsman scheme, but are unaware of any outstanding issues with the work carried out in April of 2015 after checking with them. If you could either email us with more detail at reception@klg.co.uk, or call 01159 22 11 55 and ask for customer service, we will make it our priority to rectify any problems you have with this completed work. If this is the case, please accept our sincerest apologies, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Large Rutland conservatory Installation went well. Nice looking product and much admired on completion. After approx 2 years, detail design of the fixings at the gutter line required attention. The end caps of the rafters came off as they were effectively only stuck on wth silicon adhesive and the central supports of a length of guttering became detached. Nothing had broken, it had just unclippef itself. All of this was repaired free of charge but should not happen with a quality product.
1 Helpful Report
Terrible service and quality never again
1 Helpful Report
Dear Mr & Mrs Webb, we are very sorry to hear that you’ve been unhappy with aspects of the service from KLG. We are a small, local company, and really do strive to offer the best service possible – not only because we want to know we’ve done the best job we can, but because we want our customers to spread the word by saying nice things about us to their friends and families! As a result, we’re always very sorry to hear that we might have let somebody down. In your review you’ve been a little bit vague with regards to what has gone wrong; if a customer is ever unhappy we want to be given the opportunity to put it right and make them happy. In this case it appears you have not spoken to us directly, and have so far not given us the opportunity to rectify any mistakes that may have been made. We are also a founder member of the Double Glazing and Conservatory Ombudsman scheme, but are unaware of any outstanding issues of this nature after checking with them. If you could either email us with more detail at reception@klg.co.uk , or call 01159 22 11 55 and ask for customer service, we will make it our priority to establish what’s happened, and will work with you to find a solution to turn it around. If this is the case, please accept our sincerest apologies, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Nice design door, non pushy sales team and installation completed to a high standard at the time agreed. No quibble 18 months down the line when I asked them to look at the door as there was a slight issue. Would definitely recommend.
1 Helpful Report
KLG Rutland is rated 4.72 based on 212 reviews