i-to-i TEFL Reviews

4.67 Rating 4,992 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend i-to-i TEFL
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
On-time Delivery
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.70 out of 5
Read i-to-i TEFL Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0113 205 4610

Email:

tefl@i-to-i.com

Location:

Suite 2, Chantry House
Victoria Road

Write Your review

Tell us how i-to-i TEFL made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
I liked the course. However, trying to contact someone is near impossible. On top of that I paid for express marking. Did I get it? No.
Posted 2 years ago
I've just finished the i-to-i 120-h online TEFL course. Here are my thoughts:

PROS: Interesting and useful resources provided throughout the course. Platform is really user-friendly and easy to navigate around. Some useful quick and straightforward tips on how to teach English. Important concepts are reviewed and reinforced throughout the modules.

CONS: I would have given more than three stars had it not been because of the course quizzes/tests. I found many of the questions in the quizzes/tests unclear, ambiguous or open to different interpretations. For example, in one of the tests we had to match the type of the class (General English, Business English, Academic English) with the type of writing activities (letter, email, report.) However, you didn’t specify what type of letter it was, business or informal. So when I matched 'letter' with 'General English', I got marked down because you said the answer was ‘Business English’. But you didn't tell me you meant BUSINESS letter, not a letter for a friend, which I thought it was, and which would mean the answer is General English. The same goes with ‘report’. I thought you meant a laboratory/research report, so I answered Academic English, but I got marked down because it turned out to be a business report, so Business English was the correct answer. But how could I have known if you just said ‘report’ or ‘letter’? Ambiguous.

Moreover, in one of the tests I matched ‘Teacher talk time’ with ‘the time when the teacher speaks’ and got marked down. Well, teacher talk time IS when the teacher speaks. What else could it be? That’s what you said in the materials. The correct answer in the answer key turned out to be something completely irrelevant. So I guess you've got the correct answers mixed up in your answer key.

CONCLUSION: Good course contents. Poor assessments.
Posted 2 years ago
This course gave me a lot of practical ideas that would be very useful in the classroom, though the 120 hour course that I took did not provide constant feedback from a teacher. The only feedback is at the very end, when I turned in my final lesson plan.
Posted 2 years ago
The course is completely based on solo learning via the computer - no support from a tutor! The course material is reasonable and good for most, especially (I would think) for those with little or no experience, as it really puts a lot of emphasis on planning and teaching styles - which is very relevant. I think, though, that more examples in the form of video clips or comments on on-line material would have been beneficial for understanding of what was actually meant in the material. Personally, I often got that understanding from my vast experience, more than from the course that actually often did not match what my experience tells me is right. I found this annoying and confusing, but a novice might not notice (he/she will later learn it the hard way from doing classes, though). Overall, the course material was good, and the online references plenty and at times almost overwhelming; (such un-commented "dishing out of links" is actually in itself bad teaching, though, which I don't hope any student will pick up for personal use in class!)

The downfall was the multiple-choices tests. They had too many questions (more than 10%) that were ambiguous and could be misunderstood, because the reference was poorly explained, or they were even plain meaningless when you took more experience and knowledge into account than what precisely was covered in the course material, and not an iota outside it. Even the final test was flawed with such bad questions for such a test. Those bad questions generally took up about half of the margin for errors that the students have for making errors, in reality significantly increasing the demands for perfection in the course material in order to pass the various tests. Maybe that's relevant, but it is not a genuine way of achieving such an intent.

However, the final task about making a detailed, personal work for evaluation (by a HUMAN) was relevant and delightfully realistic, and the feedback from a tutor (although it really was too late...) was valuable and inspiring, probably especially for someone who did not pass first time.
Posted 2 years ago
HI Mogens, thanks so much for giving us such detailed feedback on the course, we will definitely use your comments when reviewing improvements. We do have an academic team here in the office to support our students but perhaps you didn't need to use it?
Alexa
Academic Head
Posted 2 years ago
I am enjoying this course and learning a lot, I appreciate the fact that they are very detailed and give links to sites, PDF files to keep with the same or more information. However, I am disappointed in how unspecific some of the questions in the tests are.

Overall I am happy and look forward to continuing.
Posted 2 years ago
Hello

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you are enjoying the course and you are finding it informative. We appreciate every kind of feedback and we are sorry you have found some of the questions unspecific in the tests. If you could please send us an email with the particular questions I will look into them.
Good luck with the rest of the course.
Alexa
Academic Head
Posted 2 years ago
it is teaching me about how to teach english to others.
Posted 2 years ago
It was quick.
Posted 2 years ago
they didn't. How am I to print off my TEFL certificate? They didn't send me any certificate in the mail and they didn't attach a link so I could print a copy off. How am I to show any potential employer I have a TEFL?
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Jesse, I'm really sorry to hear you are having problems with your certificate. You should have received details straight after passing your course so we've just sent that information on again to you now.
Posted 2 years ago
Very confused, Have I done all the tests required? I dont know if I have. The structure is not that clear
Posted 3 years ago
I completed the 120 hour course recently. The course was fine but then I would not know the quality of the course or how to compare with other courses available these days. The interface of the course could be friendlier. An example is that if you log out or leave the module at any moment and want to log back in later it does not take you to the page where you left off. Also, some of the questions can be long and the drop down menu (answers) are designed at the top of the page. So, you have to move up of the page to look at the drop down menu for selection and back down to the questions in the lower half of the page.
I also purchased specialist modules through a 'bundle' and completed that one of them. Note to others: the certificate does not carry the "Ofqual" logo and I was disappointed with that. I-to-I did not mention this on their website (maybe it 's not their fault but they could have had a sample certificate on their website or made this clearer ?) and at the time of enrollment I assumed it did. I was wrong ! The only reason I took i-to-i was the accreditation by Ofqual.
Posted 3 years ago
i-to-i provides a cost-effective way to achieve basic certification in ESL teaching and opens the doors to initial employment opportunities.
Posted 3 years ago
help me improve my english,english is very important for my job
Posted 3 years ago
It offers a great experience,easy to navigate through the website and very eye opening.
Posted 3 years ago
I am still in the process of taking this course, yet sometimes feel frustrated when taking the exams. Some of the exams ask questions about material that was not mentioned or covered in the sections. Also not everyone that is taking this course is going to be working at a school. I am living in Brazil and offer private English classes, this course seems to assume everyone will be going to another country to work at a school which will supply you with guidance and a support system. Other than that I am finding this course quite helpful in my English teaching career. Thank you.
Posted 3 years ago
Hi,
Thanks for your comments. The quizzes are designed to review the knowledge acquired through each section of the course. Even though you are teaching private classes the materials and approaches are largely the same. If you need any advice on teaching one-to-one classes, or any other aspect of teaching, please contact us at customersupport@i-to-i.com.
Posted 3 years ago
The content and teaching methods are decent, although, they could set-up more activities that allow the student to practise the material being taught. One thing I found interesting was the amount of grammar mistakes in the text of the material being taught (60 hour online). Here is a copy and paste example: "Teach the vocabulary you will need for the reading task, using the techniques we covered in the Vocabulary module." Correct me if I'm wrong, but that comma between task and using is completely out of place!
Posted 3 years ago
It's teaching me interesting material.
Posted 3 years ago
TEFL has provided material and that I had before.You helped me only to systematize the knowledge on teaching English.It would be usefulto widen the techniques on teaching grammar especially for teaching adults.
Posted 3 years ago
So far So good
Posted 3 years ago
The course caters to British English. If you use American English you will lose points on quizzes. Some quizzes do not grade correctly even when giving the correct answer.
Posted 3 years ago
QUIZ PRIZE
Posted 4 years ago
i-to-i TEFL is rated 4.67 based on 4,992 reviews