HomeOwners Alliance Reviews

4.83 Rating 109 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend HomeOwners Alliance
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read HomeOwners Alliance Reviews
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
There should be a massive warning when dealing with Estate Agents. HOA have been extremely helpful during a difficult time, wish I’d read their site before I sold my house.
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute nonsense! I purchased the homebuyers insurance and I have since made a claim but the claim has been rejected.
Basically I found a property, offer accepted, sold my property, all legal work, surveys, searches complete and then my buyer dropped out at the last minute so the property which I was purchasing went straight back on the market as the owner said they would not wait for me to find a new buyer.
I was so relieved that I had insurance in place as I had spent over £1300 and it states you are covered if the seller withdraws the property and it’s out of your control.
However the company have refused to pay as apparently my buyer withdrawing and my seller returning the property to the market is all in my control. What an absolute con! I would certainly not bother with a home buyers insurance in the future because it looks like they will bend and twist the policy to suit them so you will NEVER get a payout! HONESTLY DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY! TOTAL CON!
Posted 1 month ago
Emma, we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the product. We investigated your complaint and we are surprised that you posted your dissatisfaction before lodging a complaint with the insurance provider. The insurance provider have not heard from you and you still have the right to appeal the decision.

Your claim was rejected because the property was still available to purchase and the policy does not cover a breakdown in the chain. The vendor put the property back on the market because your buyer could no longer proceed with the purchase of your property. At the time of the claim the property was still available for you to purchase.

Although the policy will not cover a break down in the chain under you, it will cover a break in the chain above subject to the claim meeting the insured events on the policy – whereby the vendor withdraws the property from sale.

You are welcome to appeal the claim decision if you feel it is unjustified and or if additional evidence is produced demonstrating that an insured event on the policy was triggered, the claims team will happily reconsider their decision.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Such a useful site!
Posted 2 months ago
The contract review service is excellent.
Posted 2 months ago
They try to give you 'advice' on subjects you haven't even mentioned but can't help you on the matters you've contacted them for. Their advice can be poor. They batten down ideas you have about your problem.
Posted 2 months ago
Janet - we are very sorry to hear you weren't happy with your recent interaction with our members' helpline; one of our team will give you a call back to discuss how we can help further. We do note that you also provided us with a five star review back in June 2019. Our helpline team has regularly talked to you about your property - please do let us know on the phone as well if you are not happy with the service provided. Rest assured, we will always do our best to give our members impartial suggestions on next steps in their property journey including, in the current time, considering the implications of the coronavirus pandemic.
Posted 2 months ago
Extremely useful!
Posted 2 months ago
I found the HomeOwners Alliance website to be a mine of useful information which was really helpful as I haven't moved house for 20 years. Subsequently I paid the subscription and am reaping the benefit of a review of an estate agent's contract and direct advice on issues over the telephone.
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you to the Home Owner's Alliance and in particular to Naomi for supporting us through the house buying process every step of the way. The HOA has been an invaluable resource and I have already recommended it to friends. The communication via email has been very detailed and helped us feel more confident with communications and decisions throughout our first time purchase. I hope that anyone who seeks relevant support (from the HOA) can readily find it. I have no hesitation in highly recommending you.
Posted 2 months ago
The Home Owners Alliance has been our best discovery during the process of house hunting online!

I put in a call to this organisation, wondering whether someone would be able to speak to me urgently when we were suddenly serious about offering on a property, & then again when the survey brought up serious concerns. I was really impressed when I was able to speak with knowledgeable team members - first Naomi, & then Sara - straight away on each occasion. To my amazement, they gave me time to outline our dilemmas in detail, answered each of our questions and directed us to both their own & other online resources - invaluable tools, out there in the public domain & freely available to anyone in the know.

Naomi and Sara were both friendly & encouraging, their perspectives incisive and professional and their remarks concise and enlightening. They assessed & then summarized succinctly for us the situations we had been finding overwhelming, giving us confidence to carry on with our own research.

Thank you, Home Owners' Association! Offering detailed advice for sellers, owners and buyers, a list of local professionals and this brilliant telephone consultation service, at a mere £45 a year membership is an absolute snip.
Posted 3 months ago
Very quick and detailed response to our enquiry which helped greatly in choosing an estate agent
Posted 3 months ago
Access to legal advice has been invaluable.
Posted 3 months ago
Quick , knowledgeable very helpful response with regard to checking estate agents contract. My call was unhurried with all my questions answered with very full explanation.
Posted 4 months ago
We have been very impressed with the support we have received from HomeOwnersAlliance. As first time buyers the advice we have received from the orrganisation has been invaluable. They were quick to reply to our queries and gave important insight. We feel much more confident knowing that we have the support of experts we can rely on.
Posted 4 months ago
Gave me very sensible advice on a query about an estate agency contract. Replied the same morning, which was very impressive.
Posted 5 months ago
Friendly, helpful and quick to respond to queries
Posted 6 months ago
I very clearly remember my life as a renter and home owner before and after HOA appeared. It was a relief to have an organisation this positive, thorough and knowledgeable advocate for the rights of us, mere mortals, in a big property system driven by profit, where no one gives a damn about a small guy. HOA guides were so helpful over the years that I became a member, to give back. I find the conveyancer selection tool very useful and thanks to it I found a very speedy, organised conveyancer which was very refreshing! Membership services are amazing also - I called a couple of times with very specific questions and every time got amazing advice. Thank you, HOA!
Posted 6 months ago
I talked with Sarah a couple of times right from the day after I joined as member. Each time, the advice was very professional and the customer case was excellent!

All in all, they do a fantastic job. My only regret is why I did not join earlier!
Posted 7 months ago
I wonder why I hadn’t heard of HOA before. Great advice, great service, I’m very impressed.
Posted 7 months ago
Signed up with HOA on 24th Sep, emailed them on the same day and got a reply on 25th Sep, and a phone call on 26th Sep as they promised.
The subscription is well worth it with the prompt and professional support they provided. I spoke to Naomi over phone and had Marianne supporting me over emails. My questions is mainly over Shared Ownership sale so if you have issues trying to move on with the sale, this subscription is worth the money and effort for a professional advice.
Thanks HOA!
Posted 8 months ago
I have been very pleased with your services
Posted 8 months ago
HomeOwners Alliance is rated 4.83 based on 109 reviews