Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays Reviews

4.8 Rating 171 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays
4.8
Based on 171 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Read Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01527 575115

Location:

Stoke Prior, BROMSGROVE

Write Your review

Tell us how Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 29th July 2022
Mr Lane
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 29th July 2022
Ms Everett
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Mrs Jones
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Mr Hillyard
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Mr Chase
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Mr Parlone
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 25th May 2022
Tina Koenig
15
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We took our second holiday on a Black Prince narrowboat in May and it was one of our most memorable holidays. The boat was fantastic - all modcons even including wifi and TV! The cruise itself was superb - we started off in Ely (a beautiful city) and cruised down towards Bedford - St Ives and Godmanchester were brilliant stopping-off points and there were bucketloads of beautiful countryside, and wildlife, in between. The abundant riverside meadows in spring / early summer were stunningly beautiful. We will certainly return for another trip sometime soon.
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
When other travel/leisure companies are promising more and delivering less, Black Prince has maintained its standards, and their knowledgeable and friendly staff made our holiday with them a pleasure. We booked directly with the company (Canada/UK) and everything was exactly as we had booked. Our trip in 2022 was the third with Black Prince and we've recommended this company to everyone. The vessels, staff and booking process are first rate.
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 9th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We have been on a lot of canal holidays, Black Prince aren't the cheapest, so we have tried other companies, but as they say ' you get what you pay for' And we always go back to Black Prince. The boats are reliable and well maintained. The staff are helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The handover is detailed and we always leave the marina confident about where we are going and what we are doing. It never ceases to amaze us how many other holidaymakers are allowed to set off in a hire boat without knowing the basics about how to steer a boat or operate a lock and those hire companies should be embarrassed at the service they provide as it gives holiday boats a bad name.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Excellent boat for 2 people 52 ft Duchess class especially with the 2 lounge chairs at the front that made a huge difference comfort wise in the evenings .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Boat was superb (Daisy) - 2nd time we had her. Fully equipped and throughly cleaned. Staff were great and really helpful - even gave me a couple of tie wraps to fix my car at the end of our cruise.
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 29th July 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Had a lovely break very relaxing. A good experience.
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 29th July 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
We did Napton to Banbury return in a week. Easy booking process. Great boat, well designed, immaculately clean. Well equipped galley. This was our first canal boat holiday and we had overestimated how far we could get. The suggested routes on the website would mean cruising most of the day. We are a couple in our 60s and pretty fit but in late May (not many other boats around) we were (I was!)doing most of the locks on my own and it was pretty hard work. If there is a possibility of rain take waterproof overpants! A wonderful way to see the countryside and enjoy nature and villages along the way. An active holiday. For beginners, especially just a couple, I would recommend really researching your route beforehand and choosing one with fewer locks or one with lock keepers. Or take an extra person with you!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We had a blast. The boat was perfect for the 4 of us. We were given excellent service and instruction as we were first timers. We managed the boat well and enjoyed cruising and stopping along the way. It was truly a memorable vacation and an amazing way to see the English countryside and enjoy the pubs!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Our Black Prince narrowboat was very nice. This was our first experience with operating any type of water craft and it was very positive. The boat of which we took possession at Acton Bridge was clean, well equipped and in excellent condition. I I wish to especially commend Danny Coleman at the Acton Bridge location for his prompt attention, his pre-rental communication and his attention to safety.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
The boat was clean and tidy. Would advise you check the fuel gauge before you leave and when you return. Need a canopy for the Pilot it was boiling and there was no shade. Need a map of the locks and the pubs so you know when you will reach them, something like the London tube map. Wouldn’t advise going to Devises from Bradford on Avon. 36 locks each way, too much like hard work. Needed a holiday when we returned.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
A HUGE Thank you to Ian and Adam for their help today sorting our rudder out. Although not a Black Prince boat they couldn’t of been more helpful. Thanks muchly again from Rob and Dawn on the Pembroke Castle. Would definitely recommend Black Prince Boating Holidays. Xx
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Great experience, something I have always wanted to do and it didn't disappoint. Boats are well equipped and very clean. Some great stops along the way for lunch and dinner, so we only used the cooking facilities for breakfast.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We did the Four Counties Ring and the four of us had a wonderful week. It was all very well organised and we had a very comprehensive intro to the boat. Apart from having the wrong water key on board we could not fault the trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent holiday great experience and a lovely boat which was well equipped with kitchen facilities and bedding
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Excellently equipped narrow boats on historically interesting canal systems enabling travel through peaceful countryside, interesting towns and stops at waterside pubs for a well-earned beer after all the exercise. It's just great fun to operate the boat and the canal locks.
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We spent a most enjoyable week aboard Carole out of stoke on Trent base and despite mixed weather everyone aboard had a great time and will have no hesitation in recommending black Prince to friends and family
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
What a great, relaxing holiday. Superb introduction by our Black Prince team (Bridge Boatyard, Ely); really friendly and informative. The boat was lovely but just be prepared for the first day of “finding places to store stuff”. Excellent toilet and shower facility. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy the narrowboat was to manoeuvre! Great galley for cooking and lovely riverside pubs on the Cam and Great Ouse to moor up for the night. Pootle along watching the world go by and the dogs enjoyed it too! Black Prince deserve praise - great holiday experience!
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 16th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
good boat good holigay
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Friendly company, the boat we had was lovely and clean, comfortable everything we needed was on board ,everything was explained about the boat before we left ,would definitely use them again
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 25th May 2022 Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 25th May 2022 Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 25th May 2022 Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays 5 star review on 25th May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We first used Black Prince in 1978 and with only a couple of short gaps - have been enjoying their boats ever since! We have hired all different sized boats and all have been excellent. The new livery is both modern and practical; including a larger galley and much-needed microwave! We have travelled all over the canal network, but are still finding new cuts to explore. The staff are efficient and we always get a warm, friendly welcome at the bases. Keep up the good work and we look forward to seeing you again next Spring.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Avon ring excellent Shame about all pubs being bistros but always enjoy BPB holidays
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Black Prince Narrowboat Holidays is rated 4.8 based on 171 reviews