Ancient Wisdom Wholesale Reviews

4.58 Rating 1,229 Reviews
89 %
of reviewers recommend Ancient Wisdom Wholesale
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 67%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 61%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Ancient Wisdom Wholesale Reviews

About Ancient Wisdom Wholesale:

We Love Gifts. It’s important to be enthusiastic about what you do.. Since 1995 we have been passionate about bringing the best in wholesale gifts to our customers, both in the UK and across the world.

Visit Website


0114 272 9165


Ancient Wisdom Marketing Affinity Park, Europa Drive, Affinity Park

Write Your review

Tell us how Ancient Wisdom Wholesale made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 4th August 2020
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 8th February 2018
Patricia Sutherns
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 6th February 2018
Suzanne Becks
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 6th February 2018
David Grimmett
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 10th October 2017
Debs Soap & Pamper
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 5th October 2017
Angela Cready
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale 5 star review on 13th July 2017
Mothers Goodies
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Sent an email about batch of faulty candles and they never reply unless you are ordering
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Jenny, Thank you for your message. I am sorry you feel like we never reply - we are just back from the Christmas break so it took us a couple of days to catch up but your message has been answered this morning and the issue with the candles resolved. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please let us know. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 6 months ago
I feel that I have been very patient throughout the Covid pandemic, and then the warehouse burning down. I was placing multiple, high value orders each week, but constantly disappointed with the the stock control & delivery times. The most frustrating thing is ordering something that appears to be in stock, waiting over a week for the order to be picked, and then finding out not everything is in stock. I don't know of any other businesses that operate in this way! I have now been ordering stock from elsewhere. My latest order for AW was placed on Monday of last week, the website states 1-3 working days dispatch - it's still in the warehouse 6 days later, despite me contacting AW on Friday. I still don't know if my items are in stock. You refer to a great stock system in your blogs, but I'm yet to see it! Very disappointing & unlikely to be ordering again
Posted 7 months ago
Dear Clare, Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate it. I am sorry that you feel disappointed with the stock system and dispatch at the moment. I would like to let you know that we do appreciate your patience and continuous custom - thank you. We are still battling the aftermath of the fire and the subsequent move to the new warehouse, not to mention the ongoing Covid-19 management so that all our staff are working safely. We have been working on a real-time system for quite some time now, however the fire did put us back a bit with this. The current system is much better than it was before, especially after the move, but it does also have its challenges. I can assure you we are working tirelessly to improve this. I have sent you another email directly regarding your order and left a voicemail this morning so please do get in touch when you have a moment. Once more many apologies for the inconvenience. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 7 months ago
I know that they have had a bad year, with the fire and the move, but holding onto your orders and money for up to 10 days before even starting to pick your order, then getting a call the day before dispatch telling you they are out of stock of half of your order, even though all is still showing as in stock on the website, absolutely disgusting.
Posted 9 months ago
I wish I could give 5 stars, however my experience has not been great. I made 2 orders now, even though after the first one I had an issue with a couple items, and the response rate to my email was a week, only because I sent a second email complaining of no response. Who knows how long it would of taken if I didn’t email again. The dispatch time for orders is overwhelmingly long. 3-4 days is extremely long for a wholesaler, and as a business I require my items fairly quick. The companies issues and delay reasons are unfortunately not my issue, and if understaffed they should still try to meet clients expectations by sorting this issue. It is not clients issue. I do not like leaving negative feedback, however the service time and dispatch time has really put me off this company, and I cannot be left with such bad service when ordering fairly large orders.
Posted 2 years ago
I am using Ancient wisdom for 9 months now and always loved their products. However I am disappointed with few things.For 4 times now I was informed about out of stock products only after a week of placing my order just before the dispatch.I always talk to them on chat for an order update at least twice before my order is dispatched.However they would not say about out of stock items then.I will only be informed just before the dispatch after a week's wait.I received negative feedback for cancelling my orders after keeping the customers waiting for a week and cancelling their orders because I did not have any other option to send the products.Also the reed diffuser sticks quality was top at the beginning but now the natural reed sticks are way too thin and not their best quality.I generally do not leave a negative feedback because I myself am a business women.But the issue keeps recurring and I am quite disappointed.
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you for your message and your feedback - we appreciate it. I am sorry about the your recent experiences. May I take this opportunity to let you know that we inform you on out of stock items as soon as we are told by the warehouse. For the past few weeks we have been on 4-5 business days for dispatch due to a large amount of orders we have been receiving. The orders are in a queue system where the oldest ones get picked first, which means that by the time we get them with an out of stock message, they have been in the warehouse for a while. We receive the paperwork once all in the order has been prepared and that is when we know what is out of stock. I am afraid that we are unable to let you know any sooner than when we do. We are working very hard on developing our systems and introducing new, better stock management solutions. If you have any further questions or require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 2 years ago
I made an effort to come through to your warehouse at 9.15 on Monday 8th October and paid £460 cash and was promised delivery by Friday at the latest. Spoke to them today (Friday)and told me it will be dispatched today and now be Monday and we have a craft fair tomorrow!!(now what do I do). My account says dispatched, order no is 326124.
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, thank you for your review and many apologies for the delay. We tried to ship yesterday, however this was not possible - many apologies for this. My colleague was actually in the middle of checking yesterday's dispatches when you called. We weren't made aware that the order was for a special event and when she advised a Monday delivery, that was accepted by yourself. Now that we know about the event, my colleague had given you a call back to arrange a Saturday service - not something we have as an option, but in special circumstances we are happy to call upon this. Again, apologies for any inconvenience. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 2 years ago
We still use them as they have some good items at a good price however we can be sure that when an order comes lots is either broken or just wrong. To add to this delivery times are getting worse. We placed an order and it is due 7working days(11days) later. We orderd from another company 2 days later and they had a system error which lost the order and we still recieved the delivery 5 days earlier.
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you for your review and many apologies for the experience you have had with us. We do appreciate the positive feedback regarding the items. We have entered the busiest time of the year, this has been paired with an increased amount of deliveries thus delayed the dispatch so we have placed a notice on the website regarding extended dispatch times (4-5 working days). As I do not have any of your details to look into this further for you, I am afraid there is not much I can help at present but if you would like me to investigate the issues you have been having, please do drop us an email to with your account and/or invoice number. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 2 years ago
Late dispatch and no information provided
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thank you for your message and your feedback. We have been receiving a higher than normal demand for this time of the year and therefore we had to suspend the priority dispatch option - I do apologize for the incovneience. We have been working very hard on clearing the backlog, we have extra staff and have been working extra hours. We are doing everything in our power to be back on track very soon. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 2 years ago
Placed an order on the 20th, it's now the 27th and it's still not been dispatched... am running out of summer to sell the summer bags I ordered. Shame really as my first order went without a hitch. Not sure I'll risk another order after this, sorry!
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your feedback and many apologies for this. I have passed your message to our export team. They are on it and will sort this out for you. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 2 years ago
Stock goes in and out like a yoyo and an order placed on a Friday evening wasn't dispatched until the following Thursday. Yes I know it had snowed the week before but even so....thats why I went with 2 stars rather than 1. Not impressed ;-(
Posted 3 years ago
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you feel this way. It has been pretty sketchy with the courier collections during the snowy weather, indeed. As we do not have our own fleet and are based on a hill, some service providers did struggle to get to us. Please email us directly to with your details and I will be happy to check on the dispatch times further for you, as well as advise further on stocks based on your orders. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
poor quality goods
(Norman Grigsby) - Posted 3 years ago
Dear Norman, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn this. If you wish to elaborate, please email us at and we will be happy to help. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
Out of all of the orders we have placed in the last 12 months only one has arrived without missing, damage or incorrect items (which causes a whole issue when trying to get that sorted out). Whenever you have to phone through for help you wait ages to get someone on the phone and they rarely seem interested in actually helping you. We are very happy to have moved away from this supplier as we do not feel that they care about helping a small business.
(PositivEly Treated) - Posted 3 years ago
Hello, Thank you for your message and I am sorry you feel this way about our service. I appreciate that errors are frustrating and we are working hard on reducing those. We pride ourselves in fast and as hassle free resolution as we possibly can offer. As you probably know, we are not a call centre here. There are 4-5 office staff so during busy periods it can be difficult to get through to us on the phone. We also have email and online chat. If a message is left, we will get back to you also. I would like to look into your complaint in more details please so if you do get a chance, please email us to with more details on the occasions where you felt the customer service levels were not up to standard. If there is an instance or a name you could give us, I will be happy to look into this further so that we can improve our service in general. Again, many apologies for any inconvenience and thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
I have been a loyal customer for the last 9 years, but the service has really dropped off in the last few months. My last 3 orders took over a week to pick and then they all had items missing or on back order. I no longer have confidence in Ancient Wisdom to deliver what I need, when I need it. I will now only use them to buy items I can't get elsewhere :(
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Steve, Thank you for your message and for your feedback. I would also like to thank you for your continued custom over the years. Usually November-December time are our busiest and there are some dispatch delays, which is something we advise on over the website. Since we came back after our annual 12 day christmas break we have been working extra shifts and hired more staff to clear the orders placed in that time. We have also carried on receiving higher than anticipated amounts of orders at the beginning of the month. This coupled with several large container deliveries that arrived within a very short space of time created a larger backlog than we normally experience at this time. We have been updating the website regarding this and we have also advised of this in our weekly newsletters. Because of the delays in orders, stock control is a little bit out as well. these are the main reasons for the overall delays in orders at present. I would like to apologise for the delays here and assure you that we are doing our absolute best to reduce these dispatch times so that we can return to our usual fast stock turnaround. If there is anything at all I can assist you with, please do let me know. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
sadly, there was a time i would give 5 stars, but over the last year.. may be two, as a company you have fallen behind. dont get me wrong the products i buy are great and the customer service is still great, BUT order turn around has become to slow in most cases, stock always out of stock, and for very long periods of time too.... i think you have forgotten your older customers that have been loyal for years, in your quest to get new custom! would it not be best to tackle the problems you have supplying the customers you already have? so no i will not be recommending you to others no matter how many ££ you offer. UNTIL you can make ancient wisdom great again
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Glenn, Thank you for your feedback. I can definitely relate to your frustration and only apologise for this. Even after a great time of planning for the Christmas and making extra shifts and also preparing warehouse for the busy period we have slipped behind again due to the overwhelming amount of orders coming through. It is on our priority list to fix the supply chain management and order processing for the next year and we will do everything in our power to make it more comfortable for you and all customers. Once again I am sorry for this and hope it will only get better from next year onwards. Kind Regards Tomas
Posted 3 years ago
My first wholsale order was incomplete which caused problems with my customers. The unpacked items were promptly delivered when I reported.
(Emeka Ezeoke) - Posted 3 years ago
Dear Emeka, Thank you for your feedback. Many apologies for the incomplete order. I am glad that the after-sale care you have received was prompt. Again, many apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
Appalling service if you're a small business. Totally unhelpful, uncaring, dreadful tone of voice on the telephone. Completely useless for passing on correct information about collection of goods. I need to work to earn a living, I was led to believe my parcel would be returned by the courier and returned here at Sheffield for me to collect around 6pm - gates locked. Does David really exist? He should be made aware how bad things really are. I'm off to the NEC for fresh ideas. I'm so busy, I'm really tired and really angry that I've wasted my time, diesel and energy.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Helen, Thank you for your feedback. I gave you a call this morning, but there was no answer. I would like to get to the bottom of this for you. Our records show that your order was set for a delivery and not a collection. Our opening hours are 9-5pm. We try to get all collections done before 4.30pm, however someone is here until 5.30pm as the gates do shut at 6pm. We have not contacted you regarding a collection of an order and I do not have any record of you contacting us so please do give us a call today to sort this out. Many apologies for any inconvenience. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
Delivery takes ages. Don't inform you of out of stock products until you get your order and find it missing, then check the invoice to see it's actually out of stock, which wouldn't be so bad if the delivery was quicker. You wait over a week to get an order and they don't inform you of backlogs, they expect you to go check it out their website - which is rubbish by the way!! I actually put off looking at what they have as their site is an awful experience to look through. They seriously need to update their site and make it more user friendly. Also - all orders I've ever done with them have had something missing or broken. Their customer services team take too long to rectify the problem and you have to chase for your replacements or refunds weeks later. Products, when they turn up and not broken are actually good so it's a shame they are letting themselves down so much with the delivery side of things. Maybe will try phoning in orders if they do that, as I'd like to know in advance if something I've ordered is not in stock. As a small business when you are waiting for a certain product for over a week, telling your customers that they are coming in, then for it to be out of stock and you find out at the last hurdle is very frustrating as you could have gone elsewhere and had it in sooner or AW lose out as you could replace it with something else from their supplies! Perhaps they don't care about small business?
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Lynda, Thank you for your message and your feedback - it is greatly appreciated. I do understand your frustration regarding the out of stock items. Unfortunately we do not have a real-time system so it can happen that an item becomes unavailable post sale. We are working hard on reducing this by implementing new stock control strategies. We are also working on introducing a scanning system so the stock control will be updated as the items are removed from shelves. In the meantime, we do advise on our website that we can ring you prior to dispatch of the order if anything is out os stock and this would give you a chance to swap. We tend to do this if 20% or more of the order is not available, but if requested, we will do this on each item so I have put a note on your account to do this on any out of stock items on your orders in the future. I am sorry that you feel that our customer service team do not reply quickly enough. I have checked our email communications and on the two occasions we have received an email from you, I have replied to both within 24 hours. If there are any enquiries you have submitted that you have not had an answer to, please resubmit those to me directly and I will be happy to help. I can also see that there was a refund due from your latest order for some out of stock items. This has been processed yesterday, upon invoicing of the order and I can see that the refund has been completed today. We process all refunds upon invoicing so I am afraid that we were not able to process this any sooner. I appreciate the fact that the dispatch times should be shorter and this is our ultimate goal. We would love to dispatch all orders within 24 hours and this is something we are working on constantly. Over the last 2-3 weeks we have received several large deliveries of items that are very popular and, therefore, we have received an exceptionally large amount of orders. Our MD did advise in the recent newsletters of these and also of the delays. We have put a notice on the website as this is the first point of contact for all our customers and therefore the most reliable and visible place to put the information. With regards to the dispatch times, I can see that there is a note on your account that you are closed on Mondays - please let us know if this is still the case as this does influence the dispatch times. We advise that we ship orders within 1-2 business days on average (barring any extenuating circumstances). I can see that the two orders we have received from yourself before the most recent one were both placed on a Thursday, which means they would have been leaving us on Friday for a Monday delivery, however, due to the note on the account, we held the orders until Monday so that you would not receive these on the day you are closed. The latest order has been placed during the time of the backlog so this is why it took longer than normal, for which I apologize. I have also forwarded your feedback regarding the use of the website to our marketing and IT departments, as they are working continuously on improving the website. If you have any specific suggestions, please do email us and I will be happy to pass these on as well. I hope this clears up a few issues and please do accept our apologies here - we value all our customers no matter the size of their business. I have also put a £9 credit on your account, which will cover the delivery fee should you decide to give us a go in the future. Kind Regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
placed an order for delivery 1-2 days pick and next day delivery still waiting for order sent me a tracking number but didn't send items so dpd informed me they would not be delivering even after speaking to ancient wisdom and confirming items were all ready for delivery. very disappointed.
Posted 3 years ago
I had a great first impression of AW when I first found it, I was even allowed to change items on the first orther bonus which was very kind... But when the products arrived, I realized that one of the items was not at the level of my expectations, at all. It is not esthetically pretty and it doesn't have any quality, at all. I'm trying to sort it out to send it back, but because I live in Portugal, it costs me a lot of money. I've paid a lot to send it to Portugal and now it seems that I need to pay to send it back when it is not my fault the product (6 kilos of unvented incense sticks) is not good. I've messaged a few days ago explaining the situation and no answer at all. I wonder why I don't get an answer...
Posted 3 years ago
Hello, Thank you for your message and your feedback. I am sorry that one of the items is not to your liking. We aim to reply to all messages within 24-24h so please forward your original email directly to myself to and I will be happy to find a solution that will work for you. Kind regards, Urszula
Posted 3 years ago
Very first order placed Monday a.m, expected it to arrive as per the website promise 1-2 days....still no order Thurs night.. had booked a pitch at a Fayre up country Fri / Sat / Sun...So am leaving early Friday morning to start a new venture with No stock.....Dissapointed is not a word I would use.......
Posted 4 years ago
Ancient Wisdom Wholesale is rated 4.58 based on 1,229 reviews