travellocal.com Reviews

4.90 Rating 403 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend travellocal.com
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read travellocal.com Reviews

About travellocal.com:

TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how travellocal.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom and Chris
travellocal.com 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John and Sylvia Cook
travellocal.com 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Rachel
travellocal.com 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We have used Travellocal three times, visiting China, Japan and Cuba. Each time, we travelled extensively within these countries for about a month. Travellocal's concept of partnering with local companies was what first attracted us to them. We liked the idea of independent travel with expert help 'on the ground'. Overall, we have found these companies first-rate, particularly in respect of their guides and drivers. Travellocal have been very good facilitators, often suggesting quirky options, which has helped us get the maximum enjoyment from our trips. Both Tom and Huw have extensive knowledge of the travel industry, and passionately believe in giving their customers a unique and unforgettable experience.
Worked through Travellocal for a trip to Morocco. Could not have had a better experience. Connected me with their local representative and we worked out exactly the type of trip my wife and I were looking for. Once we arrived in Morocco everything went exactly as planned - until CoronaVirus interrupted our travels. Then is when both their local prime and Travellocal really stepped up and helped us. Could not have asked for better support than what we got from them. Being stuck in a foreign country is never a good thing but they worked together to ensure we were well taken care of. Plus they kept us updated on the overall situation in Morocco as it evolved. We eventually got out via a US Govt evacuation. Just cannot say enough the overall experience with the Travellocal team and the local Orian Travel group we were working directly with. If the Morocco experience is any indication of their overall quality of service will be using them for future travels to countries they cover. Thanks to Hamza and Emily for your great support!
Hello P. Davis,


Many thanks for taking some of the time to leave us such a beautiful review!

We are very joyful we were supportive of you during these times and we thank you for your resilience and understanding.

Here is to many other amazing future holidays together!


All the best,
The TravelLocal Team
Wonderful company, it’s great that the locals plan your holiday as you get to see the culture as it should be. David and Carmen in the Mexico office have been fantastic in sorting out our holiday.
Hi Karen,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed planning your trip with us.

We believe in authentic experiences and we hope you will have an amazing time on your holiday where our great partners in Mexico will take care of you.

You may tell us how it all went, on our website, upon your return home. We will be looking forward to hearing all about it!


All the best,
The TravelLocal Team
So far very good. Booked a trip to Costa Rica. Very helpful contact, Mariana, in Costa Rica. Easy process and all questions answered promptly. Accommodation all looks lovely and at a decent price too. Friendly reception at UK office when I rang to pay. Fingers crossed the rest of the trip will be as good!
Hi Vivienne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review!

We are delighted to hear about your efficient and enjoyable experience so far. Mariana is doing a great job and we are sure you will have an amazing holiday. Not long to go now!

You may tell us all about it, when you come back, on our website.

All the best,
the TravelLocal team
We just booked a 13 day private tour for Sri Lanka. We had reached out to 5 different travel agencies and Travellocal offered the best customer service and the best tailored package tour.
They made great recommendations based on our needs. They are very responsive and answered all your questions. It has been a great experience so far and we are looking forward to our trip!
Hello, Laeticia! We are pleased that you agree with us that planning with local knowledge does make a difference and that you received great support! We know Shernela out in Sri Lanka will further take care of you and Jason. Enjoy the holiday coming up soon and let us know how it all went when you return back home! We have lots of post trip reviews on our website, if you are interested. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
The company helped us achieve our tailor made itinerary in an extremely efficient manner . All queries were answered by return and good advice given. The holiday that we wanted was organised and supplied at a price we could afford..
Hello Michael, Always a pleasure to be reassured that our teams managed to find a holiday that is accurately tailored to your needs and preferences. Tell us what you thought after going on the trip on our website, we are curious to know how you enjoyed it. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
We are happy with the support we received from Travel Local enabling us to book a holiday with a local company in Senegal. As we haven't travelled yet we cannot comment further.
Hi Roy and Lyn, thanks so much for reviewing your experience with us so far. Senegal is a fantastic destination and Abdoulaye and his team are sure to show you a memorable time. Do let us know how it all goes! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
This is a company with a big idea and we are very happy to support it. We first traveled with them to India in 2014, and we have two more trips booked , back to India later this year and next year to Costa Rica. Don't believe you are going to compromise your holiday choices by using this ethically traded company, in fact you increase the flexibility and choices you have, you are able to talk directly to people who know and live in the country to build a holiday that is truly 'tailor-made'. Each 'local company' we have dealt with directly have been faultless in their attention to detail and in their desire to create the holiday you want. To us this is the gold standard, we are able to have the holiday we want at the same time knowing that our money is not lining the pockets of Hedge Fund owned international travel conglomerates, but directly to the small local companies in the country we are visiting.
Hi Janet! Wow - thank you so much for this shining review. You can't believe how much it means to us, as everything you've said here exactly describes the ethos that TravelLocal was built on. We're so glad you understand us so completely, and we're also really pleased that you've had such fantastic experiences with us so far. Long may it continue! Have a brilliant adventure in Costa Rica and be sure to update us. We'd love to hear from you anytime.
All the best, the TravelLocal team.
We had a brilliant four week holiday in Costa Rica and Nicaragua. I contacted TravelLocal when our original holiday company went bust, very close to our travel date. We were immediately put in touch with Wouter at Ecole Travel and ended up with a vastly improved itinerary and more interesting hotels - plus saved some money on the original cost. Could not have been more impressed with the service, and have recommended TravelLocal to friends. We are using them again this autumn to go to Iran. Was initially a little concerned about this new concept of booking holidays but it's working really well for us. Great being able to chat to experts in the countries involved rather than following the vision of someone at this end, who may only have visited there during a university gap year and is limited to dealing with specific hotels. Plus we had Huw from TravelLocal following our email conversations and giving us his input if he felt it necessary. The ABTA protection was important. All in all, very impressive.
So far so good. This is the first time we have used travellocal. Travellocal referred us to Ecole Travel and they are making arrangements for our 16 day tour to Costa Rica. My travel partner and I searched the web to find reviews of Ecole and travellocal. We found few. We got worried and thought we may have been duped after we sent our payment of $3,900. I will update this review after the Feb 2016 trip.
Al Schmauder, Olympia, WA
Hi Al! Now that you've finished your Costa Rica trip and left a 5* review on the TravelLocal website, we're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic trip! Thank you so much for the review, and please do remember us when you're planning your next adventure! We'd be happy to host you once again. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
If you are looking for an unforgettable travel experience, those are the people that will take care of every detail for you. Your satisfaction iw guaranteed
This is our second trip organised through Travel Local. Both have been excellent and well organised by staff in the appropriate countries who have taken our needs and interests into account when suggesting a personalised itinerary.. Will definitely use again and recommend to others.
I've just booked a holiday in Jordan for next year and have found the company so helpful in coming up with a fantastic itinerary to fit our requirements. Amendments suggested by me to the original itinerary, (thus giving us longer to stay at particular places on our travels), have all been added without any problems so that we now have a fantastic itinerary that has been tailored to suit us. If the holiday turns out to be as good as the organisation has been so far, then we're in for a great time. Excellent service.
I have not yet travelled using local operatives introduced by travellocal.com, however I have just booked two travels with them. Till now everything has gone extremely well. I could tailor-make the travel plans to my exact requirement and on the exact dates I wanted, I received very constructive suggestions from both local agents, and payments could be made using credit card (unlike many local operatives who demand international bank transfer).
Travel Local helped us to plan the most romantic and beautiful two week honeymoon in India. With the support of Travel Local, we were put in contact with some fantastic local experts and tailor made our dream holiday. We travelled around Delhi, Agra and Rajasthan, staying in a range of luxury hotels, palaces and a wonderful home-stay. They really understood what we were looking for and their recommendations could not have been more perfect. We had a private driver for the duration of the trip, with air conditioning and plenty of provisions; we were met at all hotels / airports and had guides for tours of the cities highlights. The guides were excellent; knowledgeable and friendly, we visited many forts, temples and palaces. There was also plenty of time to relax in the stunning hotels that we were staying in… a perfect balance. I would highly recommend and hope to plan another trip with them as soon as possible.
a great way to find true local travel experiences
At this time we have not started our travel but we have concluded what we want to do and entered into an agreement by down payment.
The support we received so far, in tailoring to our special needs and requirements, has been very good. The local travel agent gives an impression to know her country and the business and to take pride in finding and arranging the best trip for us.
We believe the price to be competitive.
Thank you for reviewing your experiences with us so far, Bo. We understand that Soledad has made every effort to make your bespoke trip a brilliant one, and we look forward to hearing all about it! It would be great if you could review your time in Costa Rica when you return, by visiting the TravelLocal website and clicking Costa Rica, Ecole Travel. Have a great holiday! From the TravelLocal team.
To be honest we have booked but not yet taken our month long tailored trip to India. We shall give a further revue after we get back and promise it will be honest.
However so far we are very impressed with all the service we have had in planning our visit both from travellocal and the local trip organisers. Booking is a bit techy for us 70 year olds but in fact it turned out to be very easy and personal. Our views were understood and acted on with responses at times overnight. The proof as they say... but we are optimistic.
travellocal.com is rated 4.90 based on 403 reviews