travellocal.com Reviews

75 Reviews
Ad You May Also Consider ? Adverts from our client network
Are you a business owner? Click here to learn about Reviews.co.uk business solutions.

How would you rate travellocal.com?

Your Rating
Sue
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

We had a brilliant four week holiday in Costa Rica and Nicaragua. I contacted TravelLocal when our original holiday company went bust, very close to our travel date. We were immediately put in touch with Wouter at Ecole Travel and ended up with a vastly improved itinerary and more interesting hotels - plus saved some money on the original cost. Could not have been more impressed with the service, and have recommended TravelLocal to friends. We are using them again this autumn to go to Iran. Was initially a little concerned about this new concept of booking holidays but it's working really well for us. Great being able to chat to experts in the countries involved rather than following the vision of someone at this end, who may only have visited there during a university gap year and is limited to dealing with specific hotels. Plus we had Huw from TravelLocal following our email conversations and giving us his input if he felt it necessary. The ABTA protection was important. All in all, very impressive.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Visit Website
Helen
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

The help and communication from the local representative was second to none. The website application is superb and all your travel information is in one place.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Tony
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

A business concept that worked brilliantly for us: TravelLocal does all the due diligence to find a reliable partner in Armenia (the Armenian Travel Bureau), puts you in touch and provides a communication platform for the design and pricing of your trip, and a secure, underwritten, payment mechanism in a variety of currencies. So far, we've had excellent, responsive customer service from the ATB in Armenia and great support from TravelLocal in the UK. Trip starts in June but so far highly recommended.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Gemma
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

My partner and I were in the very early stages mulling around ideas of travelling to Uganda and we'd mused over a couple of websites before stumbling across TravelLocal.com. Everything about TravelLocal.com has been superb and has exceeded our expectations of what a travel company can offer. We love to travel and usually make the arrangements ourselves, trying to book locally rather than through big package travel corporations. Uganda was a destination that we didn't want to 'wing' our travel plans with but at the same time we didn't want a set package tour though a corporate travel giant! Stumbling across TravelLocal.com was perfect for us - we filled out the online form and within an hour we had a response and were connected to Kombi Tours in Uganda who have been absolutely fantastic in make suggestions for our trip, making sure we get the most out of our time, and matching us to accommodation that exactly meets our preference. They have consistently responded either the same day or the following day and in less than a week we had all the information, a great itinerary and a quote. We are booked and confirmed to travel in September. I have already been recommending the service of TravelLocal.com to my family, friends and colleagues and I know already that we will be using them again in the future.
Top points: Unbeatable local knowledge, reassurance that your money is going back into the country you are travelling to, super quick turn around and response rate, easy to use website (and great that it tracks all your messages between you and your local travel company - no searching around for the last email you received!)
Posted 1 month ago
Roger
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Easy system with a great product offering. Good to know that you are dealing with the carefully selected in-country operators directly (subjet matter experts), yet with the assurance of payment and support from the UK with guarantee if anything goes wrong.
Posted 1 month ago
Katie
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Very personal, great ideas and very informative from a range of things regarding the full trip. Excellent service, I would highly recommend using their services
Posted 1 month ago
Rosie Wallace
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

First used Travel local in October 2015 having read about their company in Wanderlust. Phoned initially and spoke to Huw, one of the 2 partners of the company, My husband and I are well travelled and fancied Jordan. We tend to know exactly what we want to see in different destinations, don't like big high rise flash hotels, but do like nice boutique type hotels in quieter locations with all the creature comforts and especially improtant good local cuisine, but equally we do not have bottomless budgets. Huw had himself extensive knowledge of Jordan and the middle east, but recommended I liaise directly with his contact Ibrahim in Jordan. Ibrahim was fantastic, and after telling him exactly which areas we wanted to cover and what we wanted to see, along with the type of accommodation etc we prefer, and of course a rough idea of our budget, he could not have provided a better service. Every aspect and detail was exactly as requested and the whole tour was over and above expectations, so would highly recommend using Ibrahim via Travel Local if going to Jordan. This winter was an extended trip down under to NZ and Oz so was able to do all that myself. But this next time we fancied Sri Lanka, having in the past enjoyed touring Kerali. Anyway, returning to Travel Local, we spoke to Huw again, but this time he put me onto Tom in the first instance, the other partner of the company, as he has more experience of Sri Lanka. After lengthy chat with Tom of his thoughts and experiences of the country, he suggested I liaise with their local contact Viraj in Sri Lanka, who I have to say has been absolutely brilliant, so helpful and courteous online, full of advice and suggestions in line with our likes and dislikes, and so amazingly patient with the number of changes I have kept making to the accommodation and trips etc. These local companies have so much passion for their countries and an in depth understanding of their clients needs, and at very sensible money. We much prefer to give the trade to the countries local companies rather than the large national tour operators. Can't wait for next January for our 3 week trip to Sri Lanka, I have absolutely no doubt it will be everything have come to expect using Travel Local as every last detail is outlined in our now finalised and booked itinery. Can't recommend Travel Local highly enough!!
Posted 1 month ago
Sally
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Travel Local are great because they allow you to deal with companies in the country you are visiting and the local companies know their patch. We have travelled to three different countries with Travel Local (China, Mongolia and Uganda) and all the trips have been tailored to our wishes, very well organised and very good value for money. All three have been memorable, enjoyable experiences, so we have just booked another trip through them. It is a great way to organise your ideal trip.
Posted 1 month ago
Linda
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

First let me say that on day to day situations while at home, I can be a fairly flexible person. On the other hand, when it comes to my vacation travels, I do not fare well with disappointments, inconvenience, or miscommunication. It for this reason that I typically do my research, plan my own itinerary, and am festidious in personally making all my own arrangements. That said, when my son and I decided to take a vacation in Morocco, I found it daunting to do the research, both culturally and geographically. While there were a few Moroccan highlights we were aware of (and I could have planned for on my own), by working with Angela through travellocal.com, I was able to consider so many more itinerary options, get valuable insight into the local customs, cultural, and manage realistic travel distances so that we didn't end up just driving on any one of our vacation days. Angela was incredibly patient with all my questions, and especially with all the changes to my itinerary throughout the planning process. Communication was always prompt, personal and courteous. The answers to my questions were clear and very comprehensive. Every inquiry or change, Angela made a point of letting me know that she was open to any further adjustments I may want to make....which is one of the main reasons I finally decided to confirm all my plans through her.
We will be off for Morocco in two weeks, and I go with great confidence that we are going to have a wonderfully smooth adventure as a result of having found travellocal.com!
Posted 2 months ago
Verified Reviewer
Overall Rating
Verified Reviewer

Theyto put us in touch with a local agent who understood our requests for the type of accommodation we preferred and our overall interest in birds,
Animals and rain forests. Patient and always helpful as there was no face to face encounter but travellocal were. First class in their attention to us.
Posted 2 months ago
Beverley
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I had an initial problem with using the website, but once I contacted this was promptly sorted.
I've taken the plunge and booked a holiday in Jordan, so far it's all been a painless process. However the proof of the pudding is in the eating, so I'll let you know how it all went once I return 😀
Posted 2 months ago
Hilary
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We were looking to arrange a private tour to Nicaragua and had investigated other well-regarded UK companies (who we'd used before) , but found their proposals ridiculously expensive. Was looking online and chanced upon Travel.local - what a find! Not only did we save on the cost, but we ended up with a longer itinerary, more tours and the same accommodation as we'd been offered by the competitor. Great personal service (direct with Miriam, the agent in Nicaragua), who was very friendly & efficient, responding to queries immediately, offering advice and to Skype us if we needed more information etc. All information was well-presented online. We loved the ethical aspect too - knowing that the local agents/people are benefitting more directly, as opposed to the rather expensive head offices in the UK.
And with ABTA registration, there's no risk.
Have already recommended them to friends who are considering long-haul holidays and would have no hesitation in using them again.
Posted 2 months ago
Nancy
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Website is pretty thorough, colorful and functional. Simple with high quality incomparable service. Super friendly and professional. Great way to broaden overseas experience outside the States.
Posted 2 months ago
Yeon
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I found their website on internet. I haven't started my trip yet. However, so far regards to all the planning and coresponding with the representative, it has been best ,easiest and hassle free experience ever. They were kind, accommodating and very quick in response. Also it's the most straight forward and efficient website they have.
Looking forward to my trip and will write more reviews after the trip. I will highly recommend so far. Yeon from Korea
Posted 3 months ago
Verified Buyer
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Staff at travellical is extremely helpful and responsive. They tried their absolute best to find me the best hotel option possible amid the busy tourist season!
Posted 3 months ago
Verified Buyer
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

I have never used a travel company to help me plan a trip, but i have to say they were awesome
Posted 3 months ago
Hywel
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

We planned a 2018 South Africa visit and all staff were most helpful, made changes where necessary and liaised with our Canadian friends so we were all " singing from the same hymn sheet"
Excellent
Thanks
Hywel
Posted 3 months ago
Deidre
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

Excellent service and itinerary from TravelLocal and Tailor Made Safaris in South Africa. Really took our needs as a family into account - e.g. looking forward to penguin-watching and a Meerkat safari, something we hadn't even known was on offer. We only had a vague idea of a few of the things we’d like to do -  both Rachael and Jo know so much locally and made great suggestions for our itinerary. Liked being able to message with them on TravelLocal’s website when I wanted to as we evolved the itinerary and the links to accomodation and places of interest were good as well. We wouldn’t have had the time to get this trip off the ground without TravelLocal. And so nice to be able to use a local, knowledgeable travel company. We can’t wait to board that plane!
Posted 3 months ago
Lynnea
Overall Rating
Verified Buyer

After having a terrible experience with a travel company in the fall of 2016, I was very hesitant to use another travel company. I stumbled upon Travel Local and immediately was attracted to them because of their mission statement, to use local people and companies to provide a local and unique experience, and to boost local economies.

I worked with a woman by the name of Angela who is one of a few staff members for the company M. Trek and Tour based out of Morocco. I told her about my previous experiences with travel companies and she then was able to explain to me how the problems that occurred during that trip with that company could not happen with this company.

I began planning the trip, she was a wealth of knowledge. She would send an itinerary, I would ask questions, let her know what we liked or didn't like from that itinerary, and then she would adjust it and send a new itinerary with the adjustments. She patiently did this with me until we developed the best itinerary for our trip. She answered all my questions, about culture, travel logistics, accommodations, what to expect, why we could or could not do certain things based on weather, travel, timing, etc.

I am so excited for this trip. She was wonderful and really took her time customizing a perfect trip. I will add to my review following our trip, we leave February 10th!
Posted 3 months ago
Atanu Chattopadhyay
Overall Rating
Unverified Reviewer

Tips and information before going to a tour.
Posted 3 months ago
travellocal.com is rated 4.95 based on 75 reviews