travellocal.com Reviews

4.9 Rating 435 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend travellocal.com
4.9
Based on 435 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read travellocal.com Reviews

About travellocal.com:

TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how travellocal.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom And Chris
travellocal.com 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John And Sylvia Cook
travellocal.com 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre
travellocal.com 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Rachel
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We had never booked any trip through an agency before, but the vision of Travel Local plus the Covid clauses gave us confidence to go ahead. We were not disappointed! The contact with the local tour operator Jetwing Eco Holidays through their portal was easy and quick. The use of local agencies appeals, as they know the country very well and Usiru's arranging of the tour was brilliant. The customer care in arranging our holiday was evident - the trip was really tailored to what we wanted, not a standard tour. The replies were quick and detailed and as travelling during the pandemic isn't the easiest, his list of all the things we had to do with links and a step-by-step guide was one of the best things. Especially since 8 out of 10 travellers at the border were not having their paperwork in order and we just breezed through customs! The entire trip was brilliant - the exact combination of hotels, destinations and time travelled we wanted with a local guide Mahina who was the cherry on the cake with his knowledge and care. The booking and payment process was easy. We had an amazing holiday in Sri Lanka and would use Travel Local again in the future.
Helpful Report
Brilliant! Holiday to Mallorca in Sept 21. TravelLocal's local expert Ana put together an itinerary with 4 fab hotels, all different, dotted around the island, recommending each one based on her personal knowledge. She also booked some fab restaurants, one only accessible by boat or walking down a cliff path. It was great being able to communicate with her online via TravelLocal and also by phone a couple of times. Have now booked my next trip with TravelLocal for this summer. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
I began communications with Viraj at Travel Local in November 2021, for a holiday we planned for January 2022. Sadly in the end we were unable to make the trip but the effort Viraj put in to helping me plan our route, advising on issues of accommodation, drivers, etc was extensive and excellent. He has a huge amount of local knowledge, perfect English and was courteous and understanding all the way. If you need a tour operator in Sri Lanka, I can’t imagine you would find better.
Helpful Report
Fantastic experience. The trip was very well organised and we got to do all activities planned plus some extra! We would definitely recommend to friends and will use again!
Helpful Report
Travelocal gave us exemplary customer service, accommodating our requests and proposing an itinerary that suited us perfectly. Through multiple delays and rebookings due to COVID, Alessandra supported us and amended our schedule where necessary so that it ran without a hitch. She was always quick to respond and the accommodation she found for us was excellent in nearly all cases. Bookings made by her in restaurants and bars gave us prime seats with the best views. Even though she was affected by a close family death, Alessandra was very professional and made sure we were fully prepared for our imminent departure. The price, although expensive, reflected the excellence of our 3 week stay in Italy.
Helpful Report
Hi Thomson, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We were so sorry to have to postpone this trip throughout the year due to the pandemic, but are thrilled when you eventually made your trip to Italy, that you had such a fantastic experience. Alessandra is so knowledgeable and passionate about Italy, we're glad she looked after you so well. We look forward to hopefully booking your next trip! Take care, TravelLocal Team
Unfortunately due to Covid, we were unable to travel but the booking procedure, customer service and the refund process were all five star!
Helpful Report
We booked a 9 day tour of Kyrgyzstan with Travel Local and it was fantastic in every way.
Helpful Report
We were delighted with all aspects of the planning for our trip to Indonesia and with our final itinerary which combined tourist attractions, local experiences and a break to visit Indonesian friends. We were due to go in June 2020 but with the onset of Covid accepted the offer to postpone to October 2020, then June 2021 and then September 2021! After much deliberation, we decided we would prefer to cancel and rebook at a later date rather than postpone further. Our request to cancel was agreed within 2 days and a refund received within 12 days. We are keeping our itinerary and will have no hesitation in rebooking with Travel Local and their Indonesian partners Tari Travel once we feel ready to travel. Our thanks to all involved.
Helpful Report
Travel Local are a lovely, small, personal company. They seem to really care about their clients. They put me in touch with an agent they work with, in Brazil, sadly due to Covid I had to cancel this particular trip but I will use them again without a doubt. To potential clients I say, dont hesitate, this is a good company who you can trust.
Helpful Report
Travel local really helped us to create a holiday that we had wanted to do; it was tailored to our specific family needs and we were so looking forward to it but then...... Subsequently they were happy to transfer our holiday to 2021 and we were keen to continue and support them and other local businesses but then Peru remained on the red list. Since then, they have supported us through the process, offering to extend the holiday and giving us the option to get a refund which we reluctantly had to take due to change in circumstances. We will definitely use them again as they were so helpful, kept us in the loop and had created such a special holiday that we were sad to have to lose. Thanks to all the team in UK and Peru.
Helpful Report
It is tough times for travel agencies but I have found travel local to be really efficient, firstly last year providing options to move dates and re-arrange schedules, and then when I could not go this year providing a prompt refund. When the uncertainty ends, and normal times return I will definitely use this company.
Helpful Report
Fantastic company to deal with - initial tailor made holiday was so well handled and despite having to postpone and then cancel Safari due to Covid, Travel Local were brilliant. Will be rebooking through them as soon as the pandemic is over.
Helpful Report
Kept us posted about options due to Covid situation and then refunded promptly without delay or fuss
Helpful Report
We were very sorry to have to cancel our holiday because of the pandemic but we were very impressed with Travellocal response and immediate refund
Helpful Report
Very very good.
Helpful Report
I just wanted to say thank you to Hayley and Emily for their tireless work to secure 100% refund for our trip to South Africa, we are forever grateful. I cannot say enough good things about TravelLocal. We are a group of seven travelers from the US and Germany and our trip to South Africa was originally scheduled for May 2020. The trip was postponed for one year after discussion with TravelLocal team and subsequently cancelled because of Covid. We are all looking forward to the time when we can travel again and when that happen, we will rebook our trip to South Africa with TravelLocal. I highly recommend this awesome company.
Helpful Report
We have received nothing but excellent service from everybody we have dealt with at Travel Local. Back in 2019, we booked a trip to Uzbekistan for Spring 2020. The whole process was very easy and interesting, with a clear layout and lots of inspiration on the Travel Local website. Olga in Uzbekistan did a wonderful job of accommodating our wishes for the trip. Due to the pandemic, our trip had to be postponed until this Spring, and now sadly, we have had to cancel the trip altogether with the uncertainty of the situation worldwide. The refund process at Travel Local has been very easy - they contacted us with clear options, and there has been absolutely no quibble, and a full refund. We very much hope to book another trip with Travel Local very soon, and thoroughly recommend them.
Helpful Report
Hi Susan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm so sorry your trip couldn't take place, I'm sure you would have had a wonderful time in Uzbekistan. Soon enough, when the situation improves, we look forward to helping you rearrange this special trip. Until then, take care and we look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best, the TravelLocal Team.
Excellent service from Travelocal planning our trip to South Africa. Nothing was too much bother as we tailored our trip with frequent communications. Sadly covid meant we were unable to travel in 2020 but the team were in touch and rescheduled our trip for Easter 2021. Unfortunately we still couldn't travel so they arranged a refund. We will definitely be back in touch to rebook our trip when the world is safe to travel. Would recommend using this company.
Helpful Report
Hi Morag, many thanks for leaving us such a kind review. We're so sorry that you weren't able to visit South Africa, you had such a wonderful trip planned. Hopefully the situation will improve soon and you will be able to finally visit this beautiful country. We look forward to helping you plan the next one, hopefully in the near future. Until then, all the best - The TravelLocal team.
As always Travel Local came up with a great trip for 2020 - this time to Georgia for a group of us. This was subsequently seamlessly reorganised at the same price from June 20 to June 21. Very sadly given the covid situation the flights (which we'd had to book separately) were then cancelled again and the direct route itself also cancelled, which made it almost impossible for us to go ahead. Hayley very quickly arranged a full refund of our deposits for the Travel Local tour. This would have been our third trip with Travel Local and we will definitely be using them again (we already have our next trip booked). We have been more then delighted with their service every time (both in the UK and abroad) and would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Helpful Report
Hi Hilary, Thank you very much for your review. It is such a shame that you were not able to visit Georgia with the group as planned on this occasion. We hope that you will all be able to visit again soon, as you know it really is a wonderful country. We are glad that you were happy with our handling of your cancellation and look forward to helping you with your travels in the future! All the best TravelLocal team
Customer service has been brilliant. The staff I have dealt with (Emily and Hayley) have been really helpful and I could not fault them. Unfortunately my trip to Costa Rica had to be cancelled due to travel insurance problems but my deposit has been refunded in full. I will be rebooking my trip with Travel Local as soon as we are allowed to travel to Costa Rica again.
Helpful Report
Hi Julie, many thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review! It is a real shame that your trip could not go ahead to Costa Rica this year, we understand it's tricky with the current travel restrictions. We'd love to hear from you again to rearrange the trip, so you can finally visit this beautiful country. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
travellocal.com is rated 4.91 based on 435 reviews