travellocal.com Reviews

4.90 Rating 403 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend travellocal.com
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read travellocal.com Reviews

About travellocal.com:

TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how travellocal.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom and Chris
travellocal.com 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John and Sylvia Cook
travellocal.com 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Rachel
travellocal.com 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Travel local arranged my trip in 2019 to Costa Rica. We were looked after from designing the itinerary based on our needs and the team in CRs expertise. We were called from UK office before we left to check that we were happy with everything. They even met us when we arrived and presented a bag of goodies to use. I have never had that service, it was wonderful. They knew their country so well from a tourism perspective. The trip surpassed our expectations. We booked a trip to Namibia this Autumn which again was designed well within our plan of what/ when best to see the areas and animals, the team understand it so well as they are local. Unfortunately we have had to postpone until next year but TL booked everything again speedily so that we are ready to go next Autumn. We declined the repayment of our deposit as we really want to go and to keep tourism healthy.
Kind regards
Caroline
Hi. This Kendall. Travel local is amazing. They worked with me constantly and prepared a fantastic trip to Jordan - it had to be canceled due to co-vid but they have rebooked me for April 2021. They always responded to questions , worked to make it work for me. They are prompt , courteous and so competent I encourage anyone to use them. Kendall natvig
Unfortunately due to Covid we have had to cancel our trip scheduled for 1st October. Not able to comment on the trip. However they have kept us informed all along and we will certainly hope to rebook if and when "normal" returns.
We had a holiday booked to Indonesia with Travel Local in July 2020, a wonderful itinerary across Bali and Komodo. We had great input in getting the itinerary just right, so it was very disappointing to have to cancel it. Travel local helpfully delayed the balance payment date to see if conditions might change, but when it became clear we had to cancel, they were very understanding and our money was refunded without any delay or questions. We were very impressed at all stages and will definitely be using them again for a trip in 2021, fingers crossed.
Hi Helen

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you were happy with the service from our team but sorry that you were not able to travel as planned. We hope that you will be able to get to Bali and Komodo soon! We will be very happy to help in the future.

All the best
TravelLocal team
Unfortunately due to Covid 19 our dream holiday to Bhutan had to be cancelled. We were devastated as we had spent a lot of time researching and planning the trip with Travel locals help and it was to celebrate my wife and my 50th Birthday. Unlike other travel companies we had holidays booked with in 2020 Travel Local refunded us our money immediately and were so helpful. We will 100% be visiting Bhutan in the future and we will 100% book with Travel Local and No one else. Cant speak highly enough of this travel company and its staff
Hi Sean

Thank you very much for your review. It is such a shame that you were not able to visit Bhutan as planned for your wife's and your 50th Birthday. We hope that you will be able to travel soon as it really is a wonderful country.

We are glad that you were happy with our handling of your cancellation and hope to help you with your travels in the future!

All the best
TravelLocal team
TravelLocal organised my 10 day trip to Uzbekistan for March 2020, which unfortunately had to be cancelled. Beforehand, the company was very good tailoring the trip to my requirements and then, when the borders closed, Olga in Tashkent was quick to communicate the changing situation with me. I also received a promptly paid full refund. Thank you. I’ll definitely be using TravelLocal again.
Thank you for your review! While we are sorry that you did not get to travel as planned, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the way our partner in Tashkent handled your cancellation.

We hope you can travel with us soon!

Best wishes
TravelLocal team
"The travel company you want to work with if a crisis hits"".
I used Travellocal for planning 2 holidays. First in Costa Rica in 2019 (painless, amazing, knowledgeable) and second in South Africa in April 2020. Of course COVID hit in April and Travellocal handled this with great care, professionalism and amazing customer service. We received a 100% refund...honestly unheard during this crisis! They were so professional and trustworthy... unbelievable!! I am now considering our 2021 holiday and my only destination will be Travellocal to book this.
Hi Bill, thank you very much for this lovely review and your repeat custom. The team in South Africa can't wait to rearrange your trip in due course, but at least for now you have some fabulous memories of Costa Rica! All the best, the TravelLocal team
Excellent service from TravelLocal throughout, and would not hesitate to use their service and guidance again. We are 3 adults, with intention to travel round Peru, culminating in the Inca Trail. TravelLocal’s advisor in Peru (Chaska Tours) listened to our requirements of what we did, and did not, want, and put an itinerary together which suited us exactly, and selected accommodation which we were very pleased with and good value. Our communication to TravelLocal was always replied to quickly and helpfully. Highly recommend
Hi Irene, many thanks indeed for this lovely review! It is a huge shame that your trip could not go ahead this year, but we'd love to hear from you again to rearrange in due course. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
I arranged two trips with TravelLocal/Tonkin Travel in the South and North of Vietnam and I have been blown away by their responsiveness, level of service and overall professionalism. I must have made well over a dozen tweaks and changes, but Dzung, our local rep, remained friendly efficient, fast and accommodating every step of the way, curating a perfect custom-built trip for us. This is the first time we have ever gone for an arranged tour and so far (not going on the trip until next year) the experience has been more than positive. On this basis alone I would highly recommend TravelLocal.
Hi Sean, thank you so much for this fabulous review! Our local experts really are the stars of the show, and Dzung in Vietnam will be thrilled to hear that you were so pleased with the trip planning process. We hope you are looking forward to your travels next year! All the best, the TravelLocal team
Very professional service. Also full and very fast refund for cancelled holidays ( corona virus). This is the company one can trust. I will rebook with them as soon as we will be able to travel again.
Hi Iwona, thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. It's such a shame that this latest trip had to be cancelled, but we'll look forward to hearing from you again in the future! All the best, the TravelLocal team
We are in the unfortunate position of having had to cancel our trip to China due to Covid 19. We’ve heard all sorts of horror stories about travel companies in the past few weeks, none of which reflected our experience with Travel Local. Once it was obvious things were not good in China, both Travel Local and our local Chinese agent got in touch with us and gave us the option to cancel or postpone our booking. We decided to cancel as we are in an older age group and didn’t know how long we’d have to shield. Once we’d decided this, our refund was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Prior to this, Leo our agent in China, had done a magnificent job as sadly we’d already delayed our journey once before due to personal circumstances. Once again, there was a ‘ no trouble’ attitude and all was sorted out in next to no time. We had great service from everyone.
Hello, thank you very much for this kind review. We're really glad to hear that you had a good booking, and sadly cancellation, experience with us, and hope to hear from you in the future for the next trip. The team in China will be there waiting for you! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Great and very reliable company, I was travelling with my family including teenage daughter through China couple of years ago and had the very good time with my trip being made easy and problem less. All the local guides were very helpful, attentive and caring. We had a great time. All transfers were well organized and even we had some flight cancelations they were quickly replaced with the new flights only couple of hours delayed. Doing it on our own would not be as easy I am sure.
We were going to travel again this April to Uzbekistan and Tajikistan but unfortunately our trip had to be cancelled due to corona virus pandemic. All money has been refunded to us a week after we suppose to travel so in the current situation, I would say this was really reassuring. Just to add we were waiting for the flights refund from another company for over 2 months! I would recommend them with no hesitation and will be travelling with them again as soon as it would be possible and our finances would permit.
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020 travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Hi Marzenna, good to hear from you and thank you for this lovely review with some fond memories of your time in China! It's such a shame that your trip to Uzbekistan and Tajikistan couldn't happen this time, but we'll look forward to helping you with the next big trip once we can all travel once more. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Excellent customer service

Having had an excellent trip to Jordan in November 2019 with TravelLocal we booked to go to Peru with them, pre Corona Virus. Unfortunately as our travel date was during lockdown it had to be cancelled.

We were kept informed in the run up to our departure date and received a full refund 2 days BEFORE our travel date. No hassle no arguments no need to do an insurance claim.

Can't wait to use them again
Hi Gail, thank you for this lovely review! It's a shame that this latest trip to Peru with us could not happen in the end but we're glad that you were happy with the service given the difficult situation. We'll look forward to hearing from you again once we can all travel once more. All the best, the TravelLocal team
Travel Local is a brilliant company to deal with. They organised a wonderful trip to Costa Rica for us which unfortunately we couldn't take due to Covid 19. We wouldn't hesitate to use them again when we are able to travel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and eventually we received a full refund for our trip. Good luck to everyone in the business, I hope you will soon be back to normal!
Hi Dot, thank you so much for this lovely review! We're glad to hear that you wouldn't hesitate in coming back to us for any future trips, and that you were pleased with your experience. It is a huge shame that you couldn't make it to Costa Rica this time. Many thanks for your best wishes also! The TravelLocal team
Just wanted to say a big thank you to TravelLocal. We went to Costa Rica in March and the Coronavirus pandemic was declared whilst we were away. One amazing week of holiday before then. Excellent guides. Excellent travel arrangements. Superb support from TravelLocal in the second week when the FCO told us to return to the UK. Great communication and a real feeling of being looked out for by the company whilst away and after our return. Will definitely recommend them to friends and family.
Hi Patrick, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We're really pleased you managed to enjoy at least the first week of your trip, and that we were able to help get you home once international borders started closing around us. It means a lot that you'll also recommend us to your friends and family. Take care and we'll look forward to hearing from you again in the future! All the best, the TravelLocal team
At this time, probably few people are thinking of travel, but I wanted to mention that Travellocal did a fine job of planning our 6-day trip to Ethiopia. Tania was very helpful and worked with me to plan the trip taking into account my time constraints. I would highly recommend them in the future.
Hi Malcolm

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and it is great to hear that Tania was able to help you with your plan to visit Ethiopia!

Kind regards
TravelLocal Team
Our two week trip in Bhutan was a dream come true. The preparation time and organisation was very smooth and I received all required information on time with full details. The program there was just perfect and exactly what we were looking for. We were extremely lucky to spend the time with Sangjay and Ram, our guide and driver. We had a great connection straight away and felt comfortable at all times. We called ourselves: 'the four friends', a famous Bhutanese Buddhist tale. Both were very caring, helpful, knowledgable as well as very funny.
I truly thank them for making our trip unforgettable!!!!
We will be back in 2 years, that'a a promise!
MERCI BEAUCOUP from Marc & Brigitta from Paris
Hi Marc and Brigitta

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review of your time in Bhutan. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the trip and that you created a bond with the local guide and driver. It is such a special country! We look forward to being able to help you with your next trip.

Best wishes
TravelLocal Team
Worked through Travellocal for a trip to Morocco. Could not have had a better experience. Connected me with their local representative and we worked out exactly the type of trip my wife and I were looking for. Once we arrived in Morocco everything went exactly as planned - until CoronaVirus interrupted our travels. Then is when both their local prime and Travellocal really stepped up and helped us. Could not have asked for better support than what we got from them. Being stuck in a foreign country is never a good thing but they worked together to ensure we were well taken care of. Plus they kept us updated on the overall situation in Morocco as it evolved. We eventually got out via a US Govt evacuation. Just cannot say enough the overall experience with the Travellocal team and the local Orian Travel group we were working directly with. If the Morocco experience is any indication of their overall quality of service will be using them for future travels to countries they cover. Thanks to Hamza and Emily for your great support!
Hello P. Davis,


Many thanks for taking some of the time to leave us such a beautiful review!

We are very joyful we were supportive of you during these times and we thank you for your resilience and understanding.

Here is to many other amazing future holidays together!


All the best,
The TravelLocal Team
Thank you so much to all the dedicated staff at TravelLocal, especially Hayley and Jose (Zaia Colombia), who moved huge obstacles to get us home from Colombia last week.

They were unfailingly professional, communicative and attentive with each setback and kept us in regular contact until they finally got us home.

This was our first experience with TravelLocal and we enjoyed such a great personal service throughout our time in Colombia.

From the early days of planning our month in Colombia, way back in August, until now, we enjoyed great recommendations, lots of fantastic ideas and suggestions to tailor the trip to our needs.

Despite having to head home early, we have no hesitation in recommendating this company and completing our journey next Spring.

Thank you all!!
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Hi Thom and Chris,


Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write us such kind words. We really appreciate it!

We are delighted that you are now back home safe and that you had a great experience overall. Here is to many other holiday together!


All the best,
The TravelLocal Team
I have just booked a trip to Indonesia for next year. The process was both personal and effortless. Travel Local's agent in the country listened to my brief and responded quickly and appropriately giving me the perfect itinerary for a good price. I would thoroughly recommend Travel Local
Hi Sally,


Thank you very much for your lovely words and for booking your holiday with us!

We are very happy you enjoyed the process of planning the trip and we are sure our amazing Evy in Indonesia will make sure you have the best time there.

We will be looking forward to hearing about it when you come back home. You will be able to leave us a review then on our website.


All the best,
The TravelLocal Team
travellocal.com is rated 4.90 based on 403 reviews