travellocal.com Reviews

4.90 Rating 430 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend travellocal.com
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Read travellocal.com Reviews

About travellocal.com:

TravelLocal is all about bespoke travel - with a difference.

We help you to create tailor-made holidays your way, with carefully selected local experts based in nearly 50 destinations worldwide. Since 2012 we have scoured the globe to find these expert companies - entrepreneurs and innovators from Argentina to Zanzibar and many countries in between.

They know your destination better than anyone. They use that knowledge to craft unforgettable trips, unique to you, that combine your ideas with their local knowledge and contacts, to bring the world to life.

You get a better, more authentic holiday experience and they get a fairer deal. And for peace of mind, we are members of ABTA and your booking is 100% financially protected.

These are reviews of the TravelLocal website and booking process. For reviews of the trips our customers have taken, please go to the TravelLocal website.

Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how travellocal.com made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 25th June 2020
Marzenna Czubowicz
travellocal.com 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Thom And Chris
travellocal.com 5 star review on 10th February 2020
John And Sylvia Cook
travellocal.com 5 star review on 14th November 2016
Rachel
travellocal.com 4 star review on 9th February 2020
Esther Eyre
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Unfortunately due to Covid, we were unable to travel but the booking procedure, customer service and the refund process were all five star!
Helpful Report
We booked a 9 day tour of Kyrgyzstan with Travel Local and it was fantastic in every way.
Helpful Report
We were delighted with all aspects of the planning for our trip to Indonesia and with our final itinerary which combined tourist attractions, local experiences and a break to visit Indonesian friends. We were due to go in June 2020 but with the onset of Covid accepted the offer to postpone to October 2020, then June 2021 and then September 2021! After much deliberation, we decided we would prefer to cancel and rebook at a later date rather than postpone further. Our request to cancel was agreed within 2 days and a refund received within 12 days. We are keeping our itinerary and will have no hesitation in rebooking with Travel Local and their Indonesian partners Tari Travel once we feel ready to travel. Our thanks to all involved.
Helpful Report
Travel Local are a lovely, small, personal company. They seem to really care about their clients. They put me in touch with an agent they work with, in Brazil, sadly due to Covid I had to cancel this particular trip but I will use them again without a doubt. To potential clients I say, dont hesitate, this is a good company who you can trust.
Helpful Report
Travel local really helped us to create a holiday that we had wanted to do; it was tailored to our specific family needs and we were so looking forward to it but then...... Subsequently they were happy to transfer our holiday to 2021 and we were keen to continue and support them and other local businesses but then Peru remained on the red list. Since then, they have supported us through the process, offering to extend the holiday and giving us the option to get a refund which we reluctantly had to take due to change in circumstances. We will definitely use them again as they were so helpful, kept us in the loop and had created such a special holiday that we were sad to have to lose. Thanks to all the team in UK and Peru.
Helpful Report
It is tough times for travel agencies but I have found travel local to be really efficient, firstly last year providing options to move dates and re-arrange schedules, and then when I could not go this year providing a prompt refund. When the uncertainty ends, and normal times return I will definitely use this company.
Helpful Report
Fantastic company to deal with - initial tailor made holiday was so well handled and despite having to postpone and then cancel Safari due to Covid, Travel Local were brilliant. Will be rebooking through them as soon as the pandemic is over.
Helpful Report
Kept us posted about options due to Covid situation and then refunded promptly without delay or fuss
Helpful Report
We were very sorry to have to cancel our holiday because of the pandemic but we were very impressed with Travellocal response and immediate refund
Helpful Report
Very very good.
Helpful Report
I just wanted to say thank you to Hayley and Emily for their tireless work to secure 100% refund for our trip to South Africa, we are forever grateful. I cannot say enough good things about TravelLocal. We are a group of seven travelers from the US and Germany and our trip to South Africa was originally scheduled for May 2020. The trip was postponed for one year after discussion with TravelLocal team and subsequently cancelled because of Covid. We are all looking forward to the time when we can travel again and when that happen, we will rebook our trip to South Africa with TravelLocal. I highly recommend this awesome company.
Helpful Report
We have received nothing but excellent service from everybody we have dealt with at Travel Local. Back in 2019, we booked a trip to Uzbekistan for Spring 2020. The whole process was very easy and interesting, with a clear layout and lots of inspiration on the Travel Local website. Olga in Uzbekistan did a wonderful job of accommodating our wishes for the trip. Due to the pandemic, our trip had to be postponed until this Spring, and now sadly, we have had to cancel the trip altogether with the uncertainty of the situation worldwide. The refund process at Travel Local has been very easy - they contacted us with clear options, and there has been absolutely no quibble, and a full refund. We very much hope to book another trip with Travel Local very soon, and thoroughly recommend them.
Helpful Report
Hi Susan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm so sorry your trip couldn't take place, I'm sure you would have had a wonderful time in Uzbekistan. Soon enough, when the situation improves, we look forward to helping you rearrange this special trip. Until then, take care and we look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best, the TravelLocal Team.
Excellent service from Travelocal planning our trip to South Africa. Nothing was too much bother as we tailored our trip with frequent communications. Sadly covid meant we were unable to travel in 2020 but the team were in touch and rescheduled our trip for Easter 2021. Unfortunately we still couldn't travel so they arranged a refund. We will definitely be back in touch to rebook our trip when the world is safe to travel. Would recommend using this company.
Helpful Report
Hi Morag, many thanks for leaving us such a kind review. We're so sorry that you weren't able to visit South Africa, you had such a wonderful trip planned. Hopefully the situation will improve soon and you will be able to finally visit this beautiful country. We look forward to helping you plan the next one, hopefully in the near future. Until then, all the best - The TravelLocal team.
As always Travel Local came up with a great trip for 2020 - this time to Georgia for a group of us. This was subsequently seamlessly reorganised at the same price from June 20 to June 21. Very sadly given the covid situation the flights (which we'd had to book separately) were then cancelled again and the direct route itself also cancelled, which made it almost impossible for us to go ahead. Hayley very quickly arranged a full refund of our deposits for the Travel Local tour. This would have been our third trip with Travel Local and we will definitely be using them again (we already have our next trip booked). We have been more then delighted with their service every time (both in the UK and abroad) and would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Helpful Report
Hi Hilary, Thank you very much for your review. It is such a shame that you were not able to visit Georgia with the group as planned on this occasion. We hope that you will all be able to visit again soon, as you know it really is a wonderful country. We are glad that you were happy with our handling of your cancellation and look forward to helping you with your travels in the future! All the best TravelLocal team
Customer service has been brilliant. The staff I have dealt with (Emily and Hayley) have been really helpful and I could not fault them. Unfortunately my trip to Costa Rica had to be cancelled due to travel insurance problems but my deposit has been refunded in full. I will be rebooking my trip with Travel Local as soon as we are allowed to travel to Costa Rica again.
Helpful Report
Hi Julie, many thanks for taking the time to leave this lovely review! It is a real shame that your trip could not go ahead to Costa Rica this year, we understand it's tricky with the current travel restrictions. We'd love to hear from you again to rearrange the trip, so you can finally visit this beautiful country. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
Had spent ages planning and booking a mega-trip to the Seychelles, South Africa and Abu Dhabi. TravelLocal had painstakingly put together the 12-day South African leg which included two safaris. Then Covid struck. We were happy to put the trip off for a year, until this April. But struggling through our third lockdown, April looked increasingly unlikely. So we asked for another extension, until October. Then the South African variance of the virus reared its ugly head and we were told the vaccine roll-out against that would not begin until the autumn. Again grounded. We were very reluctant to pull the plug on the holiday but decided to ask for our money back. TravelLocal did a wonderful job and we received a full refund. Have travelled with the company several times before and only have the strongest praise for its services. Sincerely hope TravelLocal will soon be back to normal and flourishing.
Helpful Report
Hi Sue, thank you for this lovely review! It's a shame that this latest trip to South Africa with us could not happen due to the travel restrictions, but we're glad that you were happy with the service given the difficult situation. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when we can all travel once more. All the best, the TravelLocal team
Sad we couldn't travel due to pandemic. The original booking process was exceptionally good. We have received a full refund but hope to complete our trip in 2022. Many thanks.
Helpful Report
Hi Claire, many thanks indeed for this lovely review! It is a huge shame that your trip could not go ahead this year, but we'd love to hear from you again to rearrange for 2022. All the best, the TravelLocal team.
My wife and I had booked a three week holiday in Costa Rica for December 2020, but was subsequently cancelled due to Covid. Exceptionally disappointed as Mariana had put together a great itinerary for us, after we had changed several locations. The team at Travellocal in all honesty are superb, providing us with a choice to cancel everything or suspend the holiday for up to two years. They act in a very professional manner to ensure goodwill replaces the uncertainties of today. I wish Travellocal the very best wishes to be able to continue in the future, and look forward to our trip in December with them.
Helpful Report
Hi Mark, Thank you for your review! While we are sorry that you did not get to travel to Costa Rica as planned, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the way our partner in Costa Rica helped to plan the trip. Soon enough, travel will resume and we look forward to helping you rearrange this special trip! Best wishes TravelLocal team
I booked with Emily Downes for a Tour of Oman in March 2020. Unfortunately for me Oman was closed due to Covid While I was in transit to Dubai! Oh well. an expensive lunch with a friend there so all was Not Lost! The subsequent dozen or so fits and starts with Airlines and of course the Killer Covid intervention in our travel lives, has caused dozens of reschedules with Emily and Travel Local Omani personnel and yet their patience never waned and their continued upbeat professionalism buoyed my spirits even though the net result has been cancellation. As people they are fantastic and as Custom Organizers they are outstanding as well. I am a well traveled solo for now 40 years... I recommend them hugely.
Helpful Report
Hi Gary, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this kind review. It is such a shame that your postponed trip to Oman could not take place in the end, but we'll be ready to rearrange it again for you when the time is right. All the best, the TravelLocal team
We booked our holiday to Jordan with Travel Local and the service we received was excellent. They gave us confidence that our adventure was in good hands. Then Covid-19 struck and we cannot praise Travel Local highly enough on their service. Twice we agreed to delay our dates of travel from March 2020 to March 2021. However this month it became obvious that we would not be able to travel in March/April this year and we asked what our options would be regarding a refund. Travel Local immediately gave us the option of a further delay or a full refund. We opted for the full refund and within 10days the money was in our bank account. We cannot thank Travel Local enough for the excellent service and we will have no hesitation in booking our adventures with them in future.
Helpful Report
Hi Robert, many thanks for this lovely review - it's great to hear that our customers are happy despite this challenging time. We'll look forward to hearing from you once the time is right to rebook your trip to Jordan, and indeed other future adventures! All the best, the TravelLocal team.
travellocal.com is rated 4.90 based on 430 reviews