MeadowMania Reviews

4.77 Rating 1,097 Reviews
97% of reviewers recommend MeadowMania
Visit Website

Phone:
0800 0854399

Email:
shop@meadowmania.co.uk

Location:
14 Golding AvenuemarlboroughWiltshire

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how MeadowMania made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier, Postal Service
delivery methods
Within 5 Days
average delivery time
98%
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels
5
Alan Hutchins
"Absolutely stunning - we required cover for a strip of land bordering the canal to provide a natural backdrop, MeadowMania came up trumps with their sunshine mini meadow mix. The seeds were sown three months ago and the photo shows the effective border created in that time!"
Report
Posted 4 months ago
5
Denny Howell
"Quality of seed is fabulous, everyone, literally, everyone has germinated! Customer service is exceptionally high as is their communication. Exceptional knowledge on their products and I will certainly be ordering some pasture mix once the paddock has been sorted out I purchased wild meadow, sunshine mix, ox eye, scabious and ragged robin seeds on this occasion. No hesitation in recommending to others and I think you'll find you'll say the same!"
Report
Posted 1 year ago
Kay Elliot
"Started a wild flower patch last year - rather late - first week of May because of torrential rain in the weeks before. All the grass was removed...then because the ground is heavy clay I added sand - rotovated 3-4 times - more sand. Threw the seeds. The results were utterly amazing. 'Gasp with delight good' !!! Honestly. However, over the winter the bullyish grass clumps coming up again darn them...so I've spot killed them I'm afraid...will do it again...leave it a bit..then remove those clumps. I'm also adding yellow rattle to try to deter the grass in the future. Advice, support, information pamphlet, efficiency of posting etc all great with Meadow Mania. I'm not going to anyone else - ever!"
Report
Posted 1 year ago
"The service was excellent - quick and efficient, but it was a poor and limited range of wildflowers (ground elder? Really?) for a lot of money, and I'm now wary of sowing them in case all I'm doing is sowing future weeds. I guess for well over £100 I had hoped for a better, wider and rarer selection."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The breakdown of all our mixes is online on the product pages. If you are concerned about any of our products when you receive them we are happy to discuss them and change them if required.
With regard to ground elder we do not stock and cannot supply this. It is not in any of our mixes including the one we supplied to this customer see the list of species below.
Corn Poppy (Papaver Rhoeas) 10.0%, Cornflower ( Centaurea Cyanus) 16.0%, Meadow Buttercup ( Ranunculus acris) 7.0%, Musk Mallow ( Malva Moschata) 1.0%, Ox Eye Daisy ( Leucanthemum Vulgare) 12.0%, Red Campion (Silene Dioica) 12.0%,Ribwort Plantain (Plantago lanceolata) 12.0%, Salad Burnet (Sanguisorba Minor) 12.0%, Self heal ( Prunella vulgaris) 10.0%, White Campion ( Silene Alba) 3.0%, Yarrow, (Achillea Millefolium) 5.0%
Posted 3 months ago
Visit Website
"3 years or so ago I purchased a quantity of wild flower seeds to plant into my summer meadow, I prepared the ground accordingly, all I had come through was grass, not one wild flower, so this year I have again purchased tome wild flower seeds, I have through the summer killed off the area for the seeds to go, I will rotavate it and plant the seeds hoping for some wild flowers this time."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"There would seem to be too much grass seed within the mix.............."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
All meadow mixes are based on 80% grass and 20% wild flowers. Because of very low seed rates you are sowing about 3 grams to the square metre of grass as against 40 grams when sowing lawn seed. A common issue can be it competing with grass seeds that were dormant in soil resulting in there being too much grass.
Posted 4 months ago
"Ordered and paid for seed two weeks ago. Still not delivered"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Clearly we have let this customer down for which we apologize. It was posted 2 weeks ago and we assume it is lost in the post. We will resend it again this time by carrier so it can be tracked.
Posted 6 months ago
"I have already emailed to express my disquiet regarding the state of the plugs when they arrived. There was evidence of both botrytis and damping off. If the failure level falls below what is acceptable I shall be seeking a refund"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
We have been in correspondence with this client and are awaiting the outcome.
Posted 6 months ago
"At this moment I suspect only three out of 10 bellflowers are likely to survive. They looked poor when they came and I potted them up immediately. I kept them on the balcony of my flat. OK, weather in Edinburgh has been poor which would not help. For background, I am 82, son of a professional gardener, used to dealing with plants and seedlings all my life."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Some species including Clustered Bell Flower remain dormant over winter. Spring 2018 has been a very long and cold season and the plants are still dormant. We would expect that once the warm weather starts up the plants will come to life.
Posted 7 months ago
"Yes the service was very quick, but the content was disappointing the label says 80 % grass seed but looks more like 95% , Have yet to seed the area so get back to us in a year time"
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We make the meadow mixes up in bulk generally about 10 kilos at a time then pack it up as the orders come in. The mixes are made up on the basis of 80% grass 20% wild flowers. The meadow mixes can look very deceptive. Since grass seed is larger than wild flower seed it tends to dominate the mix if you look at it.
Posted 8 months ago
"Ordered plug plants but received a tray of germinated seems instead (with the tray segmented but not the plants). No thinning had been done so there were up to 30 plants in each plug - had to thin them myself with some damage to the roots. Overpriced for just spreading some seeds over the soil and misold. Two or three in a plug would have been OK but not 10+."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We produce over 50 different plugs plant species but 23 species account for most of the sales. Species vary considerably in their development and it also depends on time of year. This species was sown by hand not machine so had many more seeds in each cell. It had been growing for 4 months before we sent them out which means there would be good root system. On plugs this is the most important part.
If you receive a product from us that you are not happy with please contact us and we will look to try and resolve the matter for you.
Posted 8 months ago
"The plants arrived over a week and in a poor state. They were not packaged well. I still have not received all of my order. I'm waiting for some bulbs."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We have offered to replace any damaged plugs but to date have not heard back.
Bulbs are sent out from September onward. Whilst our information online explains delivery times we are making steps to improve the information on the order confirmations.
Posted 1 year ago
"Bad seeds ? Bad climate in Belgium?? Anyway ...no flowers at all...."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We have tried to follow this up with the customer to find out what has gone wrong but with no response to date.
Posted 1 year ago
"I hope every seed germinates as there weren't many in the pack I received. Not happy."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The order was for 50 grams of seed and we delivered 50 grams of seed. 50 grams of wild flower seed can cover 30 sq metres of ground but it does look like a small amount of seed.
Posted 1 year ago
"Very disappointed as 80% of the meadow mix was grass seed."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I apologise that the information on our website was not clearer.

There are detailed breakdowns of what is in every mix on the website. All our wild flower meadow mixes are based on 80% grass and 20% wild flowers. This is a standard rate across the trade.

The percentages are based on weight of seed not numbers of seeds. Because there are a lot more wild flower seeds per gram than grass seed the percentages by number of seeds are more like 50/50.

The other factor is that when you sow a lawn you sow 40 grams to the sq metre. With one of these mixes you are sowing 3.2 grams of a grass mix which contains non-aggressive species.

I hope this helps and reassures you.

Tim Evans
Managing Director
Posted 2 years ago
MeadowMania is rated 4.77 based on 1,097 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on 0116 350 0610 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support