FreeAgent Reviews

4.49 Rating 544 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend FreeAgent
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read FreeAgent Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 288 8691

Email:

marketing@freeagent.com

Write Your review

Tell us how FreeAgent made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I like the time tracking/projects feature which was what drew me to FreeAgent in the first place, but when it comes to invoicing it needs an easier way to customise the invoice layout - virtually impossible for the everyday person to adapt! And the standard layouts don't look good. Also would like an option to save an invoice without emailing it as I prefer to email directly from my own email. Other than that it seems easy enough to use, with a useful knowledge base and clear instructions on how to use the program.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
It's straight forward and easy. A few simple additions would make it that much better and nudge those stars up: 1. Recurring journal entries - some things happen every month, why enter them manually 2. Auto bank feed update at login or a button to update the feed - at the moment some accounts , such as Wise, are not automatically updated when logging in which means either manually uploading statements and reconciling later or waiting until the feed updates. When I do my books, i'd like everything updated so I know where I am at.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I'm using FreeAgent only for a week now and need more time to work out all functions. I'm specially concern about Payroll and it's functions which I'm finding limited compare to Payroll software I currently use (BrightPay). Also complicated recording CIS deductions from subcontractors payments - generally CIS recording as contractor and/or subcontractor needs improvement (should be linked to payroll payments, balancing the account) - unless I'm doing something wrong. That's the main reason of giving only 3 stars for the time being.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I think your software has some great qualities. As a virgin to setting up a new business, I still find the accounting side hard to get my head around. I've been paid by a company in Australia, but it still shows outstanding. Bank balance doesn't seem to be accurate or live. I now have a business bank account set up, but don't know how to transfer all the info / transactions from my personal account over. I'm just a consultant, so I'm not actually selling any products, so profit and loss is a tricky one. I assume i still need an accountant to sort all the financial side of it out.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
It’s really good but they need to implement more credit card and bank connections, it’s a pain having to manually import my credit card statements! Would have been 5 stars otherwise.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. Could you let us know which credit card and bank connections you're interested in and we can pass this on. The FreeAgent Team
Posted 1 year ago
Only want it for 4 VAT returns and one end of year return but not flexible enough to accommodate a lower fee and only after I paid their fee did they tell me I could have had it for free because I bank with Nat West
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We understand your frustration but we offer pricing that includes all of our features, and there are no hidden costs. If you have a NatWest business bank account then please get in touch with our support team (support@freeagent.com) to discuss this with them. The FreeAgent Team
Posted 1 year ago
As an accountant, preparing journals is fiddly. I would expect to be able to copy previous month’s journals and edit accordingly but this does not seem to be possible. Whilst acknowledging that Freeagent is generally quite intuitive and okay for micro businesses, I don’t think it readily offers everything that accountants need. From a personal perspective, Xero offers so many more reporting options and more flexibility and hence Xero is my current preferred choice and accountancy software partner. As an aside, I found Freeagent’s sales team’s efforts to encourage the onboarding of additional clients to be very pushy, verging on irritating with telephone calls at all times of day! Suffice to say that I will not be working with Freeagent for the foreseeable future as they have nothing that makes them stand out for me.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Steve, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I've passed your requests onto the product team. We're also sorry that you found our sales team to be too pushy but they were trying to help you. The FreeAgent Team
Posted 1 year ago
Nice and simple but lack the ability to manage stock properly, to create PO and get reports about sold stock.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good at what it does - but it cannot automatically import transactions from Stripe, which is a big player in the payment processing business. FreeAgent does not even seem to be able to import Stripe generated files. This leaves you having to manually enter everything. If you don't use Stripe - I'm sure you will find it a 5-star experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Andy, we appreciate you sharing feedback on your experience. I believe you've spoken to our support team who explained that Stripe will pay out to your bank account each week, and it will automatically import via our Open Banking feeds. We are looking into developing a Stripe specific feed in the future too, so we'll keep you updated! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 1 year ago
OK but does not seem to accept pdf`s of items which is a pain when using a laptop and scanner
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is possible to attach PDF documents to transactions in FreeAgent. If you have been trying and it didn’t work, our support team might be able to help and you can email them at support@freeagent.com.
Posted 1 year ago
I'm new to cloud accounting so have nothing to compare to. The user interface is not bad but could be more intuitive, and it would help if it was simpler to customise things, such as adding accounting categories.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. You can actually add new accounting categories. This article explains how: https://support.freeagent.com/hc/en-gb/articles/115001216910-How-to-add-a-new-category
Posted 2 years ago
Poor question! Some aspects I would rate good or very good, some poor or very poor. What should I score it to be helpful to you?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
According to my accountant, the bank feed doesn’t seem to tally. It has cost me extra money getting it sorted and I have been advised to do my accounts using an xl spreadsheet. I am now considering my options regarding using your service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, We're really sorry to hear that you've experienced issues and appreciate your frustration. If you could please contact our support team at support@freeagent.com, we'd like to further investigate this for you. The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
I’ve been using QB self employed but a couple of small frustrations and some recommendations lead me to switch. Signed up for a year, but I’m unsure if I’ll sign up next year QB allows me to simply forward my email receipts to an email address in seconds and they’re auto linked to the relevant bank transaction. Also, as a window cleaner I have loads of standing orders and QB allows you to set up a ‘rule’, meaning every time the same transaction appears it’s auto categorised. Lastly, the auto bank feed on QB is instant, whereas FA seems to be lagging by a week or more unless I download a statement Given that QB was only costing me £2.99 a month, I’d really expected an expensive program such as this to have these simple features that make life much quicker & easier
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Dave, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and to highlight some areas of frustration. We have some features that may help you, including transaction Guess which automatically explains a range of transactions. If you contact our Support Team they will be able assist in getting these set up on your account and to investigate if the bank feed behaviour can be improved. We’re working hard to evolve the banking area of FreeAgent and aim to target many of the areas you mention. First up, we are preparing to launch improved bank feeds, which will provide a direct feed to the bank that updates daily. Second, we are working to improve the automation of explaining bank transactions and, as you highlight, transaction rules is a key part of the process that we are investigating. We are running a research program around this at the moment and our team would be keen to hear your experiences and expectations if you’d like to get involved. Regards, The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
Overall Free Agent is good but there are improvements to be made in the invoicing templates. There is a large gap of white paper on the invoice and some of the important information such as company details, vat no and company registration are in different places so looks messy. The project section which I thought would be really useful is not very user friendly when it comes to adding late bills and additional expenses. I haven't found the information on the help sheets very helpful on the project section.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Liz, I've passed your review onto the team and one of our Senior Product Designers would be happy to help you out. If you drop us an email at support@freeagent.com then he'll pick it up and get back to you. Thanks.
Posted 2 years ago
I do Work for Agents So could do with Belling address and Job address might be good to put Job address in the New Projects section and on the invoice
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Steve, Thanks for sharing your feedback, we really appreciate it. I've passed your requests along to our Product Team to review. If you have anything else you'd like to share, please feel free to contact us anytime at support@freeagent.com. All the best, The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
FreeAgent is fairly easy to use. Is disappointing though that the tax filing doesn't work for Partnerships and we've learned this only after creating the account under a Partnership plan. Hope they'll do that soon. :(
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Looking for a way forward to MTD from QB Desktop - dissappointed as there are no delivery address options, nor way to print DN's. I think general inability to print will be downfall of me adopting this software.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The programme is easy to use and understand and well laid out The major problem I have is if you need to enter different VAT rates on the same sales invoice, you need to enter two invoices for each VAT rate. The same occurs with bills received. Reverse charge for VAT for service bills from outside EU/UK is not catered for and they have to be entered as EU services to ensure that the VAT is accounted for correctly. If these issues are addressed it would be the best package for my service company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! It is possible to add multiple line items with different VAT rates on invoices, however, it depends on what rates you want as the rates we currently support are 0, 5 and 20. You aren't currently able to mix in Exempt or Out of Scope. However, we're in the process of adding Exempt as a rate, so that'll be possible soon! We are also aware of other improvements we can make and are working to implement those in the near future. In the meantime, if you have any additional feedback for us, we're always eager to hear from our customers: support@freeagent.com. Thanks! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
Huge Negative which sways my total score - Won’t link to my hsbc business account so it’s awful at moment as I have to load my bank transactions manually. One day this will work no doubt but it’s miserable at the moment Positive - repeat invoices take seconds once setup - fab! You can record your time on the work, which is brilliant as you don’t need another time recording system But why do no accounts systems allow you to monitor and predict cash flow unless it’s a looming invoice or a repeat invoice
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Simon, We're really sorry the HSBC bank feeds aren't working at the moment. Our incident page (https://freeagent.statuspage.io/incidents/nxdv4qhcfzcn) provides more detail and context on the issue. Please rest assured that we’re on the case and doing everything we can to resolve it as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
FreeAgent is rated 4.49 based on 544 reviews