FreeAgent Reviews

4.49 Rating 544 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend FreeAgent
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read FreeAgent Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 288 8691

Email:

marketing@freeagent.com

Write Your review

Tell us how FreeAgent made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It launch in 2007 I believe, and by the look of it hasn't been updated since. On the plus side it does seem to have everything necessary to keep track, send invoices, receive payments (stripe) etc. Which to all tense and purposes are in the background. Where you really have an opportunity to show off your business, look professional, make people want to pay your invoices ! Is where it really disappoints, and I mean disappoints. Invoice templates look dated, lack any colour customization, sure you can stick your logo on but that's about it. Sending them via email you can write any message etc and seems ok from your side. On the receiving end its.......well... an email, with line text of your message, with then a hideous blue hyperlink which then takes the customer to the payment portal. This was enough to put me off and even though it was free with my bank I won't be using for the reasons above. Pity really.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Kel. It’s possible to customise the layout, typography, and content of invoice themes, but doing this does require some knowledge of HTML and CSS. This article has more details: https://support.freeagent.com/hc/en-gb/articles/115001219090-Invoice-templates-Creating-a-custom-invoice-theme-with-CSS We'd be more than happy to discuss this with you in more detail, please feel free to email us on support@freeagent.com. Thanks, Team FreeAgent
Posted 3 months ago
It's too complicated, the user interface is too complicated for a non-accountant. It really needs to be step by step.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Emma, Our support team will be happy to discuss with you in more detail if you're able to contact them on support@freeagent.com Thanks! 🙂
Posted 7 months ago
The Good: Pricing is reasonable and support is usually readily available and helpful to the extent they can be given limitations of software. They have an easy remote access tool which also helps. I haven't submitted VAT yet but they are part of the HMRC tax made digital program. The Bad: Like many programs it doesn't appear the developers or product managers have ever actually used a program for small business accounting, in other words are familiar with the challenges such business owners face. What should be very intuitive things: ability to include expense receipt images with invoice, sorting expenses by month for invoicing, etc, are not available though have been requested repeatedly on forums. Interestingly enough there are responses from Freeagent over two years old saying functions like this are coming in new few months but have never materialised. I will most likely finish my year subscription and see if I can find better but then again it's not usually easy to change so we will see.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi there. We understand you have been in discussion with our support team, and we will ensure to pass all feedback and feature requests across to our product team. If you’d like to discuss specific feature requests further, please do email us on support@freeagent.com and a member of our team will get back to you. Thanks! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 9 months ago
I am a sole trader and use cash basis which is not supported by Freeagent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. HMRC introduced cash accounting to help simplify Self Assessment returns for taxpayers. FreeAgent automatically calculates your accounts using traditional accounting methods from the transactions you’ve entered. This hopefully further simplifies completing your Self Assessment. However, we do understand that taxpayers do still like preparing their returns on the cash basis so it is something we will likely look to implement in the future. But it’s not in our short or medium-term plans. The FreeAgent team
Posted 1 year ago
Really hard to use with very little reference sources available. Setting up journal entries is brutal.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We do have an extensive knowledge base that should hopefully contain all the reference material you require: https://support.freeagent.com/hc/en-gb However, if you get stuck you can also get in touch with our lovely support team by emailing support@freeagent.com. The FreeAgent team
Posted 1 year ago
Linking to a business account appear impossible. Annoying, especially when I've dropped ~£150 on a six month subscription. Snail-paced online help.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. Could you please email our Support team (support@freeagent.com) so they can take a look at your feed? We do work hard to respond to all queries as quickly as possible. The FreeAgent team.
Posted 1 year ago
reporting is poor, cannot make your own reports and the ones that are there are poor have ran trial balances several times with different results vat is poor you cannot amend the report especially if you it is your first report in Free agent Profit & loss has subtotals at the top of the numbers Help is poor
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi! Sorry you couldn’t find the reports you were after. Was there anything in particular you were looking for? Our Trial Balance is made up in realtime from transactions entered in your account; it won’t change unless a new transaction is entered or an existing transaction is amended. However, you can also place account locks in your account to ensure nothing historical changes (in case you have multiple people using the account). In terms of VAT, you shouldn’t need to amend any of the figures before submission. Our VAT engine picks up the transactional data you have entered and converts that in to a VAT return that you can send off to HMRC directly from within the application. If something looks wrong, it might indicate you need to amend one of your underlying transactions or change the settings on the VAT return. Our support team will be happy to help you out if you’re unsure about any of this. Regards, The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
Disappointed with the bank feed - it doesn't bring through the HSBC automatically which is time consuming and annoying to activate every week.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, We're really sorry the HSBC bank feeds aren't working at the moment. Our incident page (https://freeagent.statuspage.io/incidents/nxdv4qhcfzcn) provides more detail and context on the issue. Please rest assured that we’re on the case and doing everything we can to resolve it as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
When I started using FreeAgent I found it really great and useful, until it came time to file my taxes, then I discovered the limitations of FreeAgent. Not only was I unable to manage that from the website, but the categories they had used didn't match to the categories I was asked to fill in on the Government online tool, which made the process much longer and more painful than it needed to be. Additionally when I need to close payroll this was yet again a feature they did not support. So I am afraid it hasn't lived up to my expectations and I'll be looking for a different tool for the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi there, We're sorry to hear that FreeAgent didn't live up to your expectations and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We've passed it along to our dedicated product team to review in more detail. We are always developing the FreeAgent software to support different scenarios for customers – which is especially relevant right now as we’re building towards Making Tax Digital – so your feedback is extremely valuable to us. If you have any additional context or details you'd like to share, please contact our support team at support@freeagent.com and they can pass it along to our product team. All the best, The FreeAgent Team
Posted 3 years ago
I couldn't set up my bank
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Molly, We're sorry to hear that you had trouble setting up your account. If you'd like our support team to walk through setting up bank feeds - and anything else they can help with - please contact them at support@freeagent.com or call us on 0800-288-8691 and they'd be happy to help! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 3 years ago
Its ok, better than a spread sheet but most likely will move to a different system as is it hard to understand why certain figures appear and how to change them and the support cannot help. Will likely to move to sage as colleague has used them and said the support really could guide them. For example you know you want to put value x in box 6 of the VAT return. You talk to your accountant they say just put x in the box, but freeagent (FA) is not showing that value as you are doing a correction and neither the accountant nor FA support is able to help. FA Support says we cannot tell you ask an accountant, the accountant says I have no idea how to do that in FA and we are using an accountant that is a partner with FA.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Been using for 1 year, at it's core it works and provides a nice alternative to keeping your data in a spreadsheet and the online integration with self assessment is nice; but there are 3 huge flaws I am struggling to get over and looking to alternatives. 1) No ability to download or export your invoices OR expenses. This is criminal, it's sensible to have an offline copy of these vital documents (even FreeAgent agrees) but there is no way to do this. All the invoicing & cloud accounting packages I have tested have this basic ability but FreeAgent is the only one who can't (and won't) add this feature despite it being requested on the support forums since 2012 *see note 3. 2) Design. The branding and the invoicing are not very nice. Send a client an invoice with online payment and you get a massive "JOIN FREEAGENT" logo plastered all over it, which is a bit unprofessional and I have had raised eyebrows. Worse still, many things have their mascot - a cartoon cat in a suit and tie - everywhere. 3) Feels like development stopped 5 years ago. If you read the support forums there are many basic features people have asked for and it's apparent that people have been asking for the same things since 2012 and nothing ever seem to get done. On the positive side: 1) Easy to use, the app works well for creating expenses on the fly 2) Integrates with Stripe / Paypal / Bank's well 3) Provides a few more tools than invoicing services like FreshBooks 4) Very good customer support. 5) UK based, so better geared for UK tax system.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thanks for your feedback and sorry you’ve been frustrated with FreeAgent. I just wanted to touch on a couple of the points you’ve raised. You can currently export invoice and expense data in .xls format. We are working on improving this feature over the next couple of months, including export of receipts and attachments. We recognise that we’ve not had loads of product releases this year, mainly because we’ve been focussing on some larger pieces of functionality which will be released soon. In the last few months we’ve also redoubled our efforts on addressing smaller feature requests and improvements, and I’m confident you’ll see these soon. Roan Product Director
Posted 3 years ago
no billing capabillity in app, to be able to input bills and take a photo record from phone would be great. you can do it for expenses why not bills?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi, thanks for your feedback. You'll be pleased to hear that we'll actually be launching bills on mobile in the next couple of weeks!
Posted 4 years ago
remove access when you have paid for 3 weeks
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Great invoicing tool. However I have tried numerous times (gave up in the end) to get guidance and help in understanding the management of my outgoings. I'm not sure whether I couldn't grasp it, or the helpline team didn't have the patience for me. I noticed in an online forum a question being asked about tutorials. I would have paid to attend one, however the reply was 'They are not available'.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
FreeAgent is rated 4.49 based on 544 reviews