FreeAgent Reviews

4.50 Rating 541 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend FreeAgent
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read FreeAgent Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 288 8691

Email:

marketing@freeagent.com

Write Your review

Tell us how FreeAgent made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have spent literally years trying to find the right accounting app for me, as a freelancer. At this point, I've used about all of them. I tried QB Freelancer in it's first year and it had far too many bugs. I used Harvest but it didn't have all the features I needed. I tried Freshbooks but it just didn't work and it lacked features. These other platforms all want to just be an expensive cog with a million addons or are just too case-specific or just plain buggy. Frustrated to the point of just using good ol' excel sheets, I found FreeAgent. These guys do just about everything perfectly. It honestly is hard to express that. They had a slightly older UI when I started, but they're already working on a new one (I'm in the Beta, and it's awesome). I have my invoicing, time tracking, expense tracking, and all the important stuff right in front of me. I have the usual big-options for getting paid, paypal & stripe, plus banking details for check-payment on the invoice. It will automatically match bank transactions to payments where possible. You can link 1 huge payment to multiple separate invoices (and it keeps track to make sure you don't get underpaid). There is multi-user support, so I can have employees/contractors work within my business to track their working hours and manage invoicing smoothly and efficiently. I can rebill expenses, with markup to clients. There's reports, which I use all the time to get a quick glance at what the next round of invoices should look like. I can get account statuses/summaries for any delinquent clients, and it is just amazing. No other platform I've worked with had all of these features. None of them were this affordable. And none of them were working this hard on improving their product.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Has been phenomenal for helping me set up my business...but it's not great now we're reaching 15-20 employees. Would highly recommend for freelancers or micro businesses.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thanks for the review, Jeanice. We really appreciate it!
Posted 4 years ago
Having only every used basic spread sheets and no experience of accounting software, I have found Freeagent pretty easy to learn and got to grips with the basic functions quickly. I still have more to learn but the knowledge base is really helpful and their phone support is brilliant. The phone support was what really attracted me to Freeagent over any of the other ones available and I've made use of it. There is nothing I don't like so far so am really glad I chose Freeagent, it suits my needs, is not a headache to understand and I feel well supported.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Really hard to use with very little reference sources available. Setting up journal entries is brutal.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We do have an extensive knowledge base that should hopefully contain all the reference material you require: https://support.freeagent.com/hc/en-gb However, if you get stuck you can also get in touch with our lovely support team by emailing support@freeagent.com. The FreeAgent team
Posted 1 year ago
enjoying the package, the essential elements are easily accessible & clearly labelled & when I need assistance, "Rudy the Robot", is a valuable tool providing answers in real time
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Excellent software that beats the pants of Quickbooks self employed. There is always room for improvement and there is one thing I prefer on QB. But the difference is that Quickbooks are NOT listening to what their customers want, whereas Freeagent does actually seem to give a damn! Support alone is the one area where Freeagent makes Quickbooks look like amateur hour. The software does more, is easier to use and if you get into difficulties-their support team cares more than the useless QB support. Forget the QB slick adverts. They just want your money then forget you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
It just works and makes sense. The UI is a pleasure to work with and if there is something that you need advice on, support is very responsive and thoughtful. This is the 3rd business I am using FreeAgent on and everyone business partner I introduce is also seeing how FreeAgent can make their life a lot easier, especially when it comes to estimate, Project tracking, reconciling bank accounts and running payroll. Keep up the good work!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
it just works straight out of the box, then the more you use it the more features one finds, then it gets better and better — I full trust Freeagent
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I would like the webinars to be longer. Not enough on banking and reconciling the bank
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Liz, thanks for the feedback. Can I just check with webinars you're referring to? And would you like banking as a webinar topic?
Posted 3 years ago
Excellent support, breadth of functionality and features!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I really like the fact that is linked to HMRC and how easy it is to take a picture of the receipt and download it to justify each expense. Free Agent is easy to use and just love it.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
As a seasoned Sage user it took me a little while to appreciate the differences in FreeAgent BUT I would never ever go back to Sage now. FreeAgent is smart, it learns and each month I have to do less and less. Just incredible. Clients love it too. Filing my tax return on 31st Jan took just moments (compare that to a friend who logged on to HMRC and spent the whole morning trying to submit hers.) I didn't expect to be so impressed - things so often disappoint but FreeAgent has been everything I hoped it might be, and more. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Overall functionality is excellent and we're happy with the system (we have 3 accounts running). What's frustrating is the lack of any real roadmap to incorporate new features and reports....to be frank it doesn't really look like the system is being developed very much. A lot of what people are asking for on forums (including ourselves) seems to have been ignored for years. We'll stay put but it would be great to see a pro-active list of new features coming up. I think you need to keep a weather eye on other online accounts suppliers who may be more flexible with system enhancements going forwards!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
FreeAgent is rated 4.50 based on 541 reviews