FreeAgent Reviews

4.50 Rating 541 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend FreeAgent
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read FreeAgent Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 288 8691

Email:

marketing@freeagent.com

Write Your review

Tell us how FreeAgent made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Too complex. Not intuitive. Too many layers of multiple choice.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
4 years of accounts GONE!!!!! … Been with free agent since 2017 decided to use them to file my tax return on the day I completed The last few remaining questions on the tax return i noticed year and dated needed adjusting to be the 30th of April and not the fifth so I changed the year end date and clicked on save changes I then opened it back up only find that the year end had changed and all of my figures since 2017 were 0 they have said that everything up to now has now gone and the only thing I now have is 21 to 22 tax year if I want any figures from previous years I will have to upload bank statements I think this is absolutely shocking and disgusting I will now have to hire an accountant which will cost me between £1200 and £1800 I would seriously recommend that you do not use this software
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Rubbish software. It won't let me submit a VAT return. I asked for assistance....got nothing. Too much advertising not enough, if any, content. complete waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi there. Our support team would love to hear from you on support@freeagent.com. We can work with you to get your account set up, talk through how to submit your VAT Return and how to make best of use FreeAgent. Thanks, Team FreeAgent
Posted 3 months ago
Just found impossible to set up Unless your an IT expert, then impossible
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi there. We'd love to help you get your account set up and talk you through how to make best use of FreeAgent. If you can contact our support team on support@freeagent.com they'll be delighted to help. Thanks, Team FreeAgent
Posted 3 months ago
inability to change the year-end date, meaning we have to set up a new account or leave freeagent, is very disappointing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Ben, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our support team have informed us that you've been in touch and have discussed your options. Please do get in touch again if we can help in any way. Thanks, The FreeAgent team
Posted 1 year ago
can not import open banking with nationwide, over 3 weeks now.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Phil, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We are working to provide a stable Open Banking feed to Nationwide and hope to have this available very soon. In the meantime, our third-party feed provider does offer a feed to Nationwide accounts. The bank recently introduced additional security steps that may have interrupted an existing feed via this method. If you contact our support team (support@freeagent.com) then they will be able to investigate this for you. Thanks.
Posted 2 years ago
Hi again, we have some good news, Nationwide is now available via Open Banking. Learn more about how to make the switch in our knowledge base article: https://support.freeagent.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360005409100-How-to-switch-from-your-existing-bank-feed-to-an-Open-Banking-bank-feed
Posted 1 year ago
Too expensive
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I tried FreeAgent as it was free with my new NatWest business bank account. I found it lacked functionality and I didn't get on with it. I've returned to using QuickBooks as it is just better in so many ways. I wanted to like FreeAgent, but found i didn't. So I cannot recommend it to anyone. Maybe you can up your game, add some features, make it more user friendly - but for now it's not for me.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi JC, we're sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience using our software. If you'd like to discuss it any further or suggest any specific feature requests, we'd really appreciate your feedback. You can contact our support team at support@freeagent.com and they'd be more than happy to chat. Thanks! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
i have given this another shot for a few weeks now, and while i can see how to get to where I need to be, it takes a large number of keys presses and clicking here and there just do simple things. I can get a cash in hand figure in seconds using a spreadsheet, using freeagent takes ten minutes. first I needed to set up an account called 'cash in hand' for entering my till sales. Again this just smacks of accountant thinking rather user thinking - everything has to have a category and /or an account! ok , so to enter sales, click on ' banking' at top, click on account 'cash in hand', zoom across screen to 'more' and click on that (where the add transaction is hiding just above delete account bizarrely), click on add transaction,select a type (sales is way down this list), make sure date is set to what you want because it always defaults to today,enter till sales in amount box, enter a description 'till', finally click one of the create buttons. I make that six clicks and a lot of fiddling around the screen to get to the bits you need. Spreadsheet method: click cell , enter sales, done. Can you see which is easier? A similar pattern of events occurs when trying to enter invoices from suppliers. Oh and don't forget some till sales are by debit cards which seem to need yet another transaction... There does not seem to be be a way of entering invoice number with 'add transaction', only on the long winded method of creating an invoice. Neither method allows for a local reference number and invoice number to be added that i can see. As it stands, this program is a hundred steps behind what our simple spreadsheet can do for us, and the time it takes to enter less information over multiple screens is frankly archaic. Is it based on some account program from about 20 years ago?! I still feel that this program has been written by accountants and not business people. What we really need is a system whereby we can enter ALL the days activities on ONE screen. The system should be intelligent enough to select the categories accountants want by itself not force us businesses to do the work manually. Even export data is limited to a Microsoft format, what about csv so we can at least load it up properly in libreoffice. I do believe there is a program out there somewhere built for small businesses like ourselves. Freeagent unfortunately is not it at the moment. It is pretty much the same as the big guns like Sage, and although 'free' through RBS, I do also have concerns that if your contract with RBS was to end, then we would have to pay just to see and use already entered data. Having used Sage and others on test in the past, they basically turn into ransomware if you refuse to pay. Sorry if this seems all negative, but I hope you find some of it constructive criticism.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Garry, We're really sorry to hear about your frustrations, but thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate it. I believe Keith from our support team has been in touch with some suggestions and recommendations that should help improve the experience for you. We also hope you can also appreciate that FreeAgent does have to deal with things in a specific way due to the complex nature of accounting. Back in 2007 when FreeAgent first began, our founders were working as freelancers and contractors and developed FreeAgent to make the experience of business accounting easier. As a result, FreeAgent is well positioned to help individuals working in those areas of business. But we are constantly evolving the product to meet the needs of users in other areas, so all of your valuable feedback has been passed along to our product team to review! If you have any additional questions or there's anything else we can do to help improve your experience, please let us know! All the best, The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
no clear information on how to set up and go
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Margarita, sorry you haven't been able to get going with FreeAgent. We have lots of useful information to get you set up here: https://www.freeagent.com/support/getting-started/ On that page you can also sign up for a live demo where one of our support accountants will give you a guided tour of FreeAgent if you need it. I hope this helps!
Posted 2 years ago
Despite ALL the info being available: can't even tell me my future bank balance on any given data. An accounting platform which can only detect cash flow insolvency after the event??? Chocolate teapot! (of course there's a 3rd party add-on which does this, for another £39 per month - but then what on Earth was the point in the first place?).
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello! We're sorry that our software isn't quite fulfilling your needs. We do support many different functions such as VAT filing, RTI payroll, Self Assessment etc, and we're not aware of any other products out there that can do this within a single solution. We do also have an integration with Float but this would be an additional cost, as you mentioned.
Posted 2 years ago
Can't put additional jpeg on invoices and estimates many companies are part of institutions fcb, fita, nicf, iso9001 ect these logos need to be on letter heads. Got a one line reply saying no it's not possible. Ermmmm
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Adam, We appreciate you sharing your feedback, which we've passed on to our product managers. Adding multiple logos to templates is not on our immediate roadmap, but it is something we plan to look at in the future. In the meantime, it is possible to do by adding customer CSS. If you're interested in that option, please contact our support team at support@freeagent.com and they'll be able to share the details with you. Warm regards, The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
Very poor accountant package, I receive payments without raising an invoice for some items. There is no explanation how to input these items. The whole package seems obsessed with how to claim expenses. Surely invoices can both be printed as well as emailed, no option to do this without the inconvenience of forwarding invoice to yourself to then print !!!! My letterhead is on a PDF your software insisted I delete pdf and use other formats, this would render most of the documents I receive from others as invalid..USELESS Tutorials are hopelessly fast and not very clear, surely some written notes would help than some random voice who assumes you know it as well as him, examples shown were half done with no clear steps shown
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor customer service with no experience of how to resolve the problem. Cannot reset password even after 3 tries and there is no help available regarding that and customer service has no idea about that. Email sent but it take ages to get a reply and apart from that there is no concept of reminder so you can easily miss Payroll and VAT. Self Assessment take ages to update and really require improvement if they want to be competitive.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, We're really sorry again to hear your frustrations, but understand that our Head of Support, Janice has been working closely with you and has since resolved the issues. If there's anything else we can do to help, please let us know! The FreeAgent Team
Posted 2 years ago
I am an accountant for a client who uses FreeAgent. I am unbelievably appalled that I cannot add new balance sheet accounts or accounts with a numbers greater than 399 (I think it was). Additionally the nomenclature is peculiar. Categories for the word accounts. for instance. What 's wrong with the word account. Navigating around the site I have found/find that nothing is very obvious/clear.. Although I know they have very many clients I would absolutely NEVER EVER recommend this programme to anyone. I know that sounds harsh but you stated that you want to know how I feel, so I've told you. Additionally the lack of telephone support is, in my view, inexcusable. Some of us out here like to actually speak to a person rather than endless emails. Emails are so impersonal. I am tempted to say "I hope this helps" but I fear it will just be dismissed. Such is life. Please feel free to telephone me on 01785 819677.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, we're very sorry to hear you're so unsatisfied. One of my colleagues at FreeAgent will give you a call tomorrow to discuss these issues with you.
Posted 3 years ago
very unorganized, very unprofessional, untrained staff. Schedule a call but never call or pickup. Double charging of fees and never apologize. Always try to get away with their enormous mistakes. Searching my options to leave them now.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Islam, I'm very sorry to hear you haven't had a good experience. Our support team are right here in our Edinburgh office. Would you like me to ask them to email you so you can discuss any questions with them? Thanks.
Posted 3 years ago
The tool doesn´t have any search or order columns in any of its views ( bank statments, expenses, invoices ). That is a very basic capability. Also, The system doesn´t have any id for expenses. This means that when you update an expense this expense doesn´t have allocated an id, therefore when you download your data, it doesn´t have any order, and all your pictures of them have the same name. Finally, Freeagent doesn´t allow to dowload your own data. Only a CSV summary of each main page. If you work with different currencies, only shows a gross numbers, it doesn´t have the same order that in the web view, not all columns are included. You need to enter all by yourself in order to have a back for your accountant or you need to pay extra money to other services in order to back up your own data. I don´t recommend this tool, if you eventually want to use your data for HMRC, don´t rely on it. I am thinking moving to Xero, after a year with FreeAgent. I am tired of the lack of basic tools. I think it would be ok if it is free but if you have to pay 29 GBP monthly use Excel.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback and sorry you’ve been frustrated with FreeAgent. I just wanted to touch on a couple of your points raised as we do support some of the features you mention. You can search for invoices, expenses or bank transactions from the search facility at the top right of the screen. You can also sort and order many of the data tables in FreeAgent (expenses and invoices) by clicking on the header labels within the tables. You can download almost all of your data from the Export All Data option within the Settings area, which you could pass on to your accountant. Alternatively most users set their accountant up as a user so they can log in and easily review data. If you’d like any help with the above then do please contact support@freeagent.com and we’ll help you out. I hope this helps. Roan
Posted 4 years ago
FreeAgent is rated 4.50 based on 541 reviews