Country Hotel Breaks Reviews

4.62 Rating 702 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Country Hotel Breaks
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Country Hotel Breaks Reviews

About Country Hotel Breaks:

Whether you wish to relax and unwind in the country, or find a base from which to explore your favourite region, you are sure to find the perfect hotel break at countryhotelbreaks.com.

Phone:

0333 2125 532

Email:

reservations@countryhotelbreaks.com

Not the best by a long way. We arrived at the hotel, bearing in mind we are out of covid restrictions now (13/08/2021). We still respectfully wore our masks at check-in and to generally walk about the hotel. We went to the bar for a drink after check-in. While we were waiting for our drinks I went to have a little nosey at the evening menu as we were dinner bed and breakfast. The bar lady came rushing over and asked what I was doing. ‘Looking at the menu?’ And she instantly told me to sit down. I did sit down but, then afterwards felt I should have maybe responded in a similar manner to how I was spoken to, however, the moment had passed so I didn’t. The room was absolutely red hot and unbearable. The starters were a joke. Some sort of salad and apparently a brushed bruschetta and wild mushrooms (8p garlic bread slice in truth).. the evening menu was the same as the lunch menu. I questioned this and was simply told it was ‘similar’ because they’d had a huge function on that day. We had a £35 allowance each but, as we were given the lunch menu we couldn't even get up to that amount. I’m not sure what the rules for the people at the ‘huge function’ were but I'm sure they didn’t have to sit down upon command. Breakfast was tasty. The majority of the staff were lovely. The hotel was clean. Apart from being roasting hot the room was clean and nicely decorated. Location very nice. I give a 1 star because unfortunately you were rude to me for no reason, the food was amateur and the room was awfully hot. £199 for 1 night. I have to work 20 hrs of hard slog to pay for that.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
if you purchase a break you cant use it to book for seven days even though the receipt will state you can book straight away. Be careful as you will lose any potential bookings and be treated with distain when questioning such a restriction.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Mr Goodfellow. This is not the case at all. The great majority of reservations are confirmed instantly, and the minority that need to be referred back to the hotel are generally confirmed within an hour or so. However, we completely understand the confusion around this, as you had read some outdated information relating to our gift vouchers. We apologise for this, and the confusing sentence has now been removed from our site. All the best Country Hotel Breaks
Posted 2 weeks ago
Need to check that the hotel is indeed a country hotel and not a hotel overlooking an oil refinery
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
You confirmed a total paid amount of £605.00 The hotel are asking for €245.00 a night or £735.00! Why??? This is not good!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Gary, Thank you for your review, although I'm sorry you have some concerns. The price you have paid for your stay is correct at £605 - this has been pre-paid to us for your stay at the hotel in June. While the hotel may be charging higher prices for direct stays, this does not affect the amount you have paid, which as you can see, is considerably lower than the direct price. Should you have any further queries please don't hesitate to contact us at reservations@countryhotelbreaks.com and we will be happy to assist. Best wishes, Country Hotel Breaks
Posted 3 months ago
Maybe I missed it in the small print but I had not expected the full cost of my booking (more than two months away from now) to be charged immediately to my credit card or to find an £18 service charge included on top. Next time I will certainly avoid using countryhotelbreaks.com and go direct to the hotel instead. I had thought that these rip off fees for a minimal service to the customer were a thing of the past but obviously not.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Good afternoon Gareth, It’s disappointing to see that you have decided to award us 1 star in your review. The Booking Conditions are shown at the bottom of the first screen in the booking process, and state: “Your credit or debit card will be charged in full for the total cost only after the booking has been confirmed.” As your reservation was confirmed instantly for you, the charge was made at the same time. The booking conditions are shown again before you are asked for your payment information; the booking cannot be completed until you agree that you have read and will abide by the Terms & Conditions. The booking service fee is included in the total price to pay from the start, so is not a hidden extra added on during booking. As well as access to our customer service team via phone and email who are happy to liaise with the hotel on your behalf, this also includes our price match guarantee, to ensure that you are receiving the best price. We can see that the hotel at which you have booked charges £5 more than you have paid for 2 nights’ Bed & Breakfast. Your offer includes several other extras which total at least a value of an additional £125 – we are sure that you will agree this is excellent value for money. We hope you have a wonderful stay – should we be able to assist any further please don’t hesitate to contact us at reservations@countryhotelbreaks.com Warm regards, Country Hotel Breaks
Posted 5 months ago
No cancellation or refund available two days before, very poor in current times.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Mr Walsh, Thank you for your review. When a hotel is open for business our standard terms and conditions apply therefore we cannot offer a refund within 48 hours of arrival. We do however appreciate these are difficult and unusual times therefore subject to agreement by the hotel we would be prepared to consider a date change which would not normally be possible at this late stage. We have searched our records for any communication relating to your cancellation enquiry but cannot see that any contact has been made so we have not had the opportunity to discuss this option with you. We do hope you have an enjoyable stay. Kind regards Countryhotelbreaks
Posted 9 months ago
I wrote this to the hotel with no response. Your voucher said 1 Signature King Room but we were given a double this has caused confusion but there were other issues too as outlined below. Yes we did enjoy our stay and especially the food. I did however feel disappointed that the room we paid for wasn't the room we were allocated, especially after looking at the photographs online again once we returned home. Also we had to remind the reception staff about our welcome drinks voucher which we were told, "Don't worry I'll make sure the dining room knows about it." At the end of the evening we had to tell the waiter again that we had £50 towards our food bill and again I mentioned the drinks voucher as we'd been charged for the full price. At checkout this morning we had to for a third time to remark on the drinks voucher as we were charged for it again. It made us feel very uncomfortable and distrusting. This was our first stay in a hotel since February due to COVID. We were still nervous but really wanted a little treat. We actually should have been in Canada for my husband's 60th birthday. We chose Country Escapes and your hotel as we'd liked what we saw on your website and all the extras made it seem as though it would be a special treat. It is with regret though that I feel disappointed that we had to say anything about the services which your hotel should have known about. It has been a difficult 6 months but still it shouldn't be difficult to provide services which your customer has paid for. I would have considered staying with you again if things had gone more smoothly however, it is unlikely now.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We were unable to go on a spa break on Saturday as the spa we booked was closed. The resort said country break would contact us to confirm the cancellation and refund our money but two days later we have heard nothing. Tried calling and emailing them Saturday morning but no response at all
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr Turnbull Your review is rather disappointing to read as despite receiving a huge volume of emails and operating with limited staff we still managed to process your full refund within 2 weeks. In addition to this it wasn't a straightforward process as it was necessary to obtain confirmation of the closure from the hotel. We do hope your refund has now been received and that you remain safe and well. Kind regards Countryhotelbreaks
Posted 1 year ago
The room I booked was advertised as available, however once booked and paid got follow up email being told that it's not longer available and ended up paying £40 extra for an upgrade Thanks Monica
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
£18 booking fee for doing zero you robbing........
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We do charge a small service fee to go towards the cost of providing excellent customer service which we know is so important to our customers. Our reservation agents are available 7 days a week, until 10 pm, to provide assistance both before and after a booking has been made. Whatever the service fee, we offer a price match guarantee which means that even including the charge we guarantee best value and best service. Unlike many other companies we include our fees in the headline price making the full cost of the hotel stay clear at the outset so there are no hidden charges. There is also an information icon which explains the charge in more detail should this be required. We do hope you enjoy your stay. Kind regards Offpeakluxury
Posted 3 years ago
Country Hotel Breaks is rated 4.62 based on 702 reviews