Camps International Reviews

3.78 Rating 375 Reviews
70 %
of reviewers recommend Camps International
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Camps International Reviews

About Camps International:

Camps International provide experiential travel in Africa, Asia and South America to suit everyone, from schools to gap year travellers, from animal lovers to thrill seekers, there is a perfect experience for everyone. We are the only provider to own permanent camps and employ local people worldwide, meaning that our projects are guaranteed to benefit the communities that we work in.

Visit Website

Phone:

01425 485390

Email:

info@campsinternational.com

Location:

Unit 10 Kingfisher Park Headlands Business ParkSalisbury Road, ,

Write Your review

Tell us how Camps International made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Camps International 5 star review on 29th June 2021
Anonymous
Camps International 5 star review on 26th April 2021
Charlie Spurway
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
13
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Do not deal with this company - only interested in taking your money. They are like the school bully taking dinner money from the smaller kids by imposing unrealistic terms and conditions.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi John, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to assure you that our terms and conditions are in line with other school expedition travel providers. An expedition is unlike other travel experiences due to the extensive support and organisation before the expedition itself takes place, including the booking of flights and the investment into our social enterprise model globally i.e. wages for local staff and vital capacity building throughout our host communities. We have been working closely with schools to mitigate any financial exposure caused to families and have supported many schools through successful insurance claims already. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your individual concerns further and offer our support - please don’t hesitate to contact us at travelsupport@campsinternational.co.uk. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 year ago
**PARENTS BEWARE*** - Please ALL parents consider the implications of potentially having to fund the trip with this company if there is any possible shortfall in your fundraising as if your circumstances change and you are unable to commit to the trip there is NO room for a compromise with them. You will NOT be able to retrieve any of the money committed even if a legitimate reason for cancellation is given. I had hoped that the company, which prides itself in its ethical ways, would understand the circumstance my family found itself in when we had to cancel my sons participation in a trip and we had contributed money for my son's place. After we informed them that we needed to cancel, at NO time was there any compassion shown to our situation and the business head of this company reared its ugly head, throwing its own ethics out the window!! I am aware there is T&C's that cover this company from these kind of cancellation requests which we had signed but I can assure you, the decision to cancel was not taken lightly and with great reluctance though this company did not once acknowledge the reason for cancellation. Another word of warning is that this is a company, NOT a charity and if any businesses were to sponsor your child, they are unable to declare this as a charitable donation, just in case this would affect your fundraising ideas & any impression given at any information evenings. I am acutely aware that the company has (and probably continues) to help in the areas they are based in but if you run into any trouble and can't honour the cost of the trip, you have almost 100% lost any contribution paid. I sincerely hope any of the money that we have paid has gone to some kind of assistance to people they advertise that they help and not into their profits of the company (which I sadly assume has in our case) I sincerely wish any parent that has their child participating all the best of luck on the opportunity they are involved in, and do not want to adversely alarm anyone to not take part in these trips, I just want to highlight the situation that I found myself in when my circumstances changed dramatically from when we signed up for the trip and the ZERO understanding given by them.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for your comments and we’d like to say we fully appreciate and sympathise with your situation and reasons for cancelling your son’s place. We apologise that you feel this may not be the case, please let me reassure you that we do genuinely care and have tried to work with you to find an alternative solution to cancelling. We have written to you directly to respond fully to your points and in the interests of protecting your privacy, we will not discuss those in a public forum. What we would like to explain is a bit more about who we are and what we do. Camps International is a social enterprise – a business with philanthropic interests at its heart. In 15 years, we have supported nearly 50,000 people in Africa, Asia and South America. We are not a charity; however, we have a charity attached to the company to enable us to do even more amazing work in these rural communities. The expeditions we run are not organised by the charity, they are organised by our social business – we make this clear on all materials and in our presentations to parents. We are exceptionally proud of what we do and achieve as a company and therefore have no reason to not want to shout about it from the rooftops. With regards to how and where we spend the money we receive; the funds are used to enable hundreds of life-changing projects to be undertaken each year. Through these we deliver real and sustainable change around the world. We promise that every project we start we finish, without compromise. We also provide extensive pre-expedition support for anything up to 2 years before departure for all our volunteers. We hope this answers you questions and should you have any further comments, please contact us directly to see how we may be able to help.
Posted 4 years ago
1 star is to good for this company. Lost £1200 as they forced the school to cancel early or risk losing all the money. Having read the other reviews it is obvious they have no morals or ethics. They appear to be hiding behind every clause possible. I would urge people going next year to reconsider before it is to late. I would have expect a small administrative cost of 10% but 50% is daylight robbery. Families and children work hard to pay for these expensive trips. Let's hope Watchdog get wind of this, would make a great story.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Russell, Thank you for your review and we understand your frustration in the current unprecedented circumstances. In line with our terms and conditions, 50% of the expedition costs are irrecoverable upon the schools decision to cancel due to pre-expedition expenses such as flights and the investment into the safety and infrastructure that happens before each of our expeditions. We hope you can understand that this is due in part to our strong ethical commitments to the local communities with whom we have already invested these funds at this point before departure. We do of course understand the impact on families and have been working closely with all schools to make sure that families are not financially disadvantaged by this situation and have also supported them throughout their insurance claim for the remaining costs. We understand that many families have already received their money back. If you would like to discuss this further, please don’t hesitate to contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 year ago
I fully agree with everything said in the review by MF. Shame on You Camps International!! I am shocked and dismayed by your unethical business dealings during this Global Pandemic. Trip has now been deferred by a year. However my child no longer has a place (as currently in Year 11). Guess what - Camps International want to keep 50% of the trip cost (nearly £2000) for the privilege of telling me my child can't defer and doesn't have a place. Easy money, £2000 per child affected. Multiple children impacted at my child's school, even before you look at the many other volunteer trips Camps International have planned over the Summer with schools across the UK. Leaving the school to submit an Insurance claim, but this cannot be guaranteed! £2000 of fundraised/donated money (that will need to be repaid) and my hard earned money. To add further insult I now have to wait 6-8 weeks for the monies paid over the £2000 to be refunded by Camps. Apparently its really hard for them as they only have a small team and are WFH so the process will take longer. They certainly had no issue taking my money!! Over 3500 people due to travel with Camps this summer. Although according to Camps their primary business is not with schools and education establishments with children aged under 18 - so the Department of Education direction does not apply! When challenged they would not provide the numbers of those due to travel under the age of 18. Camps International must be rubbing their hands with delight. Refer to terms and conditions - we are in the middle of a global pandemic! What ethical Tour Operator would consider sending a plane full of children to Kenya amidst all of this going on - apparently Camps International would. A clear case of a Tour Operator making a financial gain and profiting by ‘double recovering’ their money. You have tarnished a once in a lifetime opportunity for my child, and what for? Financial gain. Utterly disgraceful. I urge all schools to carefully consider any further trips with Camps past 2021.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Kim, The current pandemic has, of course, brought about unprecedented changes within the world and particularly within the travel industry. We have worked with all stakeholders to navigate through this situation and work with schools to find a solution which mitigates financial exposure for families, closely following guidance from The Department for Education, along with other central bodies such as the OEAP (Outdoor Education Advisors Panel), and EPA (Expedition Providers Association). As we hope you understand, in line with our terms and conditions, 50% of the expedition costs are irrecoverable upon the school decision to cancel, having already been committed to the extensive support and organisation before the expedition itself takes place, including the booking of flights and the investment into our social enterprise model globally i.e. wages for local staff and vital capacity building throughout our host communities. We understand many schools have already had successful claims processed through their insurance for the remaining costs and some families have received their money back already. We completely understand that in cases where the school has chosen to defer the trip, some students will be unable to travel with their school at this date. We would encourage anyone in this situation to contact us directly to discuss options for individual students unable to travel with their school. We understand you have already spoken with a member of our team, and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns further with you. Thanks, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 year ago
Camps International are using the Global pandemic to profitere. DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM because childrens safety and welfare are not a priority
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We, along with our volunteers, are extremely disappointed that our expeditions have been unable to run this year but we can assure you that the safety and wellbeing of our travellers is our highest priority and we continue to follow government guidance throughout to ensure we keep our travellers and Camps community safe. If you have any further queries, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with us at operations@campsinternational.com. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 year ago
Having paid a huge sum of money to Camps International (£4,000+) it is a huge disappointment to find that due to the Covid 19 situation, they have chosen to refund only HALF the money and kept the rest. Of course I understand that they have made payments for these forthcoming trips, however I fail to believe they did not take out insurance for situations such as this. To keep £2000 of our hard earned money and force us to rely on an external insurance company who may or may not refund this amount, is quite simply, a joke. Not only has my sons trip been ruined, but the slap in the face is Camps International keeping half the money for their ‘costs’. Shame on you. This is disgraceful. Pure and Simple. I really hope this gets picked up by the media so this can be exposed, as clearly this money should be paid back. parents have saved tirelessly to send their children on these trips; to have this money taken from them is, in my eyes, almost criminal.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are extremely disappointed that our trips are unable to go ahead this year and know how hard families and students have been working to raise the money. In line with our terms and conditions, when a school decides to cancel, 50% of the expedition costs are irrecoverable due to the amount of pre-expedition support you will have already received. This includes the booking of flights and investments into our social enterprise model i.e wages for local staff and vital capacity building throughout our host communities. We understand your frustrations but can assure you that we are working closely with schools throughout this difficult process to do everything possible to mitigate any financial exposure for families and have supported all affected schools with claiming through their school insurance, in line with guidance from The Department for Education, along with other central bodies such as the OEAP (Outdoor Education Advisors Panel), and EPA (Expedition Providers Association). We understand that the majority of schools have already had successful claims processed through their insurance and many families have received their money back already, however we will be more than happy to discuss your concerns and individual situation further with you. Please don’t hesitate to get in contact with us at travelsupport@campsinternational.co.uk. Regards, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 year ago
My daughter was due to go to Costa Rica in July/August 2020. We were 'sold' an amazing experience during a talk in school. We were told there would be lots of support to help fundraise the £4350 to go on the trip, which there wasn't. She has worked hard over the past year to raise the money. We started to have doubts about the trip when we weren't given answers as to which other schools she would be going with (she is only 15 and a month away from home with strangers raised a few concerns with us). We eventually were given a list of other schools she would be going with. When the whole Covid situation started, we received no advice, no reassurance or guidance from camps so we contacted the schools on the list that she would be travelling with. Many schools were happy to talk to us, but wanted us that the options they were being given involved their students losing a significant amount of their monies paid and they would have to claim on their own school insurances. We then discovered that most of these groups were not even travelling or would not be in Costa Rica when she was going to be there. This raised our concerns even more and when we emailed camps we were fobbed off with some lame excuse about composite groups being different. We were then told that the options for her travel had been sent to the school - not us. There is only 2 students from her school travelling to Costa Rica so it couldn't be hard to send us the information to. The trip has now been cancelled as Camps option to defer until next year is not really an option for us. The department for Education has said that school trips must not go ahead for an indefinite period of time, so if we defer until next summer and the restriction is still in place, the insurance will not pay out as the trip was booked against government advice. Camps have kept half of her money paid, just over £2000, money which generous people have sponsored her and donated and also companies who have sponsored her in return for her to advertise their companies by means of a blog/ Facebook/istagram posts etc whilst she is there. She will now have to try to raise this money to repay all these people who have given her money. Apparently, because British Airways are still flying in July the trip isn't cancelled therefore she isn't entitled to her money back, despite the fact the British Embassy in Costa Rica are advising travel for non-residents is prohibited, despite the fact that the Department for Education is saying no school trips abroad and also in their terms and conditions of the booking it states "You have the right to cancel your expedition before departure without paying a cancellation charge in the event of “unavoidable and extraordinary circumstances” occurring at the destination of your expedition or its immediate vicinity and which significantly affects the performance of the expedition or which significantly affects transport arrangements to the destination.  In these circumstances, we shall provide you with a full refund of the monies you have paid but we will not be liable to pay you any compensation.  For guidance, you may wish to refer to the Foreign and Commonwealth office.  www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice  For the purposes of this clause, examples of “unavoidable and extraordinary circumstances” include warfare, acts of terrorism, significant risks to human health such as the outbreak of serious disease at the travel destination or natural disasters such as floods, earthquakes or weather conditions which make it impossible to travel safely to your destination" Terrible company who have exploited young people and kept their money!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Like you, we are deeply disappointed that given the current situation, your daughter’s trip will not be able to go ahead as planned. These are highly unusual circumstances and we have been working closely with schools and authorities to secure the best possible outcome in a timeframe that eases pressure on families, rather than the much later timeframe of FCO advice. The Department for Education (DfE), has actively encouraged schools to defer where possible and therefore the trip will not have been booked against Government advice. We have followed guidance from The DfE closely along with other central bodies such as the OEAP (Outdoor Education Advisors Panel), and EPA (Expedition Providers Association), as we have navigated our way through this exceptional time for Camps International and the travel industry as a whole. In line with this guidance, our intention has always been to work with schools to find a solution which mitigates financial exposure for families. Many of our schools have already had successful claims processed through their insurance for the remaining costs and some families have received their money back already. As we hope you understand, in line with our terms and conditions, 50% of the expedition costs are irrecoverable upon the school decision to cancel, having already been committed to the extensive support and organisation before the expedition itself takes place, including the booking of flights and the investment into our social enterprise model globally i.e. wages for local staff and vital capacity building throughout our host communities. We understand you have been speaking directly with our team, however if we can provide any further support in anyway, please do not hesitate to get in touch again at travelsupport@campsinternational.com.
Posted 1 year ago
Attended a Camps International Presentation for a school excursion to Kenya - Talk about a hard sell for an hour and half for what I was told was a 40min presentation. They are very clever, go into the school a week before, do a massive sell to the kids, then a week later a parents presentation where they pretty much guarantee that pretty much all the kids raise at least 75% of the total cost, do lots of positive reinforcement and claim that you get UCAS points (additional cost) - vaccinations at additional cost, spending money, insurance excess, transport to/from uk airport and so on.. Usual hard sell tactics, until all the way at the end they present you with either a monthly direct debit of £290 a month plus a £240 deposit.. or a £400 deposit with a payment plan every quarter with the total payable in full the following year, Grand total of the cost is just short of £4000 (that excludes probably £1000 of extras taking into account UCAS £80, Visa £30, Spending money £300, Insurance Excess £50, Airport Transport @£100, Vaccinations £100 let alone the rest) and you HAVE to sign up within a period of just over a week or so with your deposit as they can’t save places and then offer them to other school pupils.. and so the cycle continues! That’s called a hard sell to me, and unsurprisingly designed to have kids whining at parents as they believe a sum of around £300 per month is actually achievable to fundraise! I have little doubt that 90% of parents end up paying most of the cost. Other “Gap Year” style courses are available from them at around £1600 (okay they don’t include flights or the scuba course which is around £300-£400 separately) no doubt these are the positive reviews, but ultimately other providers are available and much cheaper even for gap years. To then read some of the reviews below about pulling out 10 months in just reinforces my beliefs.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Anon Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear you feel this way about the way we communicate the cost of our expeditions. As a social enterprise passionate about travel and making a positive impact globally, we pride ourselves on being transparent about the costs whist offering support and encouragement to those who want to volunteer with us. We structure our launch process so that the schools choose the expedition destination they want, we do a short presentation to students, followed by a more comprehensive presentation to interested students and their parents. All interested students are reserved a place on the expedition, which is confirmed once they pay their deposit. The deadline is short as spaces are limited and fill up quickly and although the thought of raising the deposit may appear daunting, we have 1000s of students from a wide range of socio-economic backgrounds who achieve this each year in a variety of ways. We are always on hand to personally discuss and support any volunteers who need extra time, help and advice. Last year, our Regional Expedition Co-ordinators challenged themselves to raise a deposit for a trip in a week and all achieved it through different means, including car washes, face painting, quiz nights, sponsored walks, bake sales and bag packing. The cost of the expedition is communicated in a letter home, 1 week before the presentation and again in the first few slides of the expedition presentation. There are additional costs which we explain in the presentation and also on the Traveller Gateway in more detail, along with ways to reduce this such as purchasing second hand kit, which a lot of our travellers do. Vaccinations can also cost so we recommend you shop around to find the best value. If there are enough students travelling from the school then travelling together in a coach or minibus is normally the best option and the schools often help organise events to cover this cost. Again, our apologies, if you feel this wasn’t communicated effectively, we have discussed this with our expeditions team to ensure this message is being fully explained. Regarding our Gap year trips, they are structured very differently to our school trips and do not include a trained Expedition Leader or supervisory adults, flights, insurance, scuba and other adventure elements. We have a dedicated fundraising team here who are on hand to support all volunteers, and who themselves have been through their own fundraising journeys so understand the struggles but also know what works. Additionally, we have blogs, newsletters, and the Traveller Gateway which provides support, resources, ideas and tools to help organise successful events. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we wish you all the best and I have passed your comments on to our Regional Co-ordinators to review. Kind Regards, Camps International HQ.
Posted 2 years ago
You talk to schools, you organise through schools and then when we want to cancel as this is a school trip and under the government guidance it says school trips can’t go ahead - all of a sudden it’s not a school trip! Absolute joke!!! Your peace of mind policy, is not worth developer cost to write the html.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. We're sorry you are unhappy with our pre-expedition process. As the expedition is a school trip, the decision to cancel or defer is currently sitting with your school. We recommend you contact them for an update, otherwise please contact operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we will do our best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
Can you now tell us what the situation is now U.K. has shut the borders to South America ? My daughter is due to go to Ecuador this summer with her school it doesn’t like this will happen now because of the new deadly variant in South American . You are still taking monthly direct debit from families knowing these expeditions will not take place this year. I think you should do the right thing and tell the school/students that they won’t be going this year knows they won’t be able to leave the U.K. Also please do not book flights then tell families they can only have half their money back because you booked their flights !!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi, Thank you for leaving us a second review. As stated before, we understand your frustration surrounding the Covid-19 pandemic but can assure you that we are closely following the advice from the FCDO that covers our specific expedition dates. The advice can change quickly and we are monitoring it constantly. The safety and wellbeing of our travellers is our number one priority and we will never send our travellers to an area that is considered unsafe by the relevant governing bodies. Again, if you would like to discuss more about your daughters place on expedition, we encourage you to contact operations@campsinternational.co.uk to discuss the options available to you. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 7 months ago
I get that they are struggling with the pandemic, but their general communication with people who are booked on expeditions with them is woeful. It is a shame because I think if it hadn't been for the pandemic our students would have been fine, but as it is they are not a company I would ever recommend engaging with. We have some signficant issues with some of our students' fund raising, possible travel dates etc and despite initial promises of contact with me as their teacher and working with us to get the students through it I can't get a response out of anyone at this company. Shocking given the tens of thousands of pounds they have collected from our students already.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Jason, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We understand that you have spoken with several members of our team regarding your points raised. In addition to the current fundraising support and advice from our school support team, we would be happy to help if you feel you/your expedition team would benefit from some additional guidance. Please do feel free to get in touch with us directly. If we can do anything else to help you further through what is undoubtedly a challenging time for all, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with us and we will be more than happy to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 8 months ago
Camps International are a disgraceful company who do not care about the health and well being of any child. If you pay them any money irespective of any changing circumstances like a Global Pandemic and a child with severe chronica asthma it's tough luck. DO NOT BOOK with Camps International find a company that actually cares about the welfare of your child. How can you trust them to ensure a childs safety for 4 weeks if all they care about is money??????
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for leaving a review. As I’m sure you understand we do not publicly comment on individual circumstances due to data protection, therefore we will continue to liaise with you privately regarding your concerns in order to reach an amicable solution. We would like to assure you that the safety and wellbeing of our travellers is at the forefront of all our expeditions. We have been providing safe and meaningful expeditions for many years and have always done so in line with FCDO advice. With almost a year until our 2021 summer departures and with global events changing rapidly, we are not currently making amendments to these programs. Of course, we will continue to monitor the official advice and if it becomes necessary, will make the appropriate amendments. Regards, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 year ago
camps international stay away. Firstly, the Terms and Conditions are not clear. They state that 50% of the amount paid after the third payment by the participant can be refunded when a notification of cancellation has been made to you. However, when I phoned to ask for this 50% back I was then told that you could only get 50% back after the full total amount of the trip had been paid. It doesn't make sense that I have to pay the full amount for a trip that my daughter can no longer attend in order to get some percentage of the amount paid refunded. Also, if this is the case then what use is the list in section seven detailing the percentage you would get back after each stage of payment since it is always based on the end total amount? Secondly, no help is received from the company in the area of helping the very young participants to raise the money. It is a very expensive trip over £4000 and a decision to participate in it has to be taken very quickly because they give a very short period of time between the initial presentation delivery and the booking a place deadline. These are very young participants who often don't understand the difficulty in having to raise such a large amount. Your presentations do not do a good enough job in emphasizing the difficulty of having to raise the money and the implications of not raising it but still having booked the place, which are usually either; the parents have to then cover the remainder of the cost or not being able to get a percentage of the money paid back if you cancel. Its all been very disappointing and frustrating. as single parent I lost £1038 they don't want to refund me any percentage back. they left me broke after believing on them they will help fundraising. I wish someone will listen to the families suffered from them and these company as they really damaging the emotion of our teenagers and our finances.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Meriem, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we’re really sorry that you feel disappointed with Camps International. As you know, we have spoken to you directly and although we were unable to offer you a refund, in line with our T’s & C’s, we hope you can understand the reasons behind this. We would disagree with you about the lack support available to students regarding fundraising. We not only have a dedicated team here who are on hand to help our volunteers every step of the way, but we also provide our volunteers with a series of three fundraising guides and regular newsletters. All students have access to their own Traveller Gateway which has lots of ideas, tools and resources to help them organise events. We help 1000’s of students each year achieve their targets and actively share their achievements on our social media to inspire others on their fundraising journeys. I have passed your comments on to our Regional Expedition Co-ordinators regarding communication around the challenge of raising money for their expedition, but would like to reiterate that it is achievable through hard work and organisation. Whilst we are obviously disappointed that your daughter is no longer travelling with us, we would like to wish you both all the best for the future
Posted 2 years ago
Reading these reviews and the subsequent responses from CI should be a warning to all potential future travellers to avoid this company like the plague. I have tried on many occasions to have a sensible conversation with CI and have even involved my local MP however, they are only interested in their revenue and not the interests or more importantly the safety of our children. The latest saga is the travel insurance that I have been assured includes cover for Covid-19 however, when you read the documentation it is explicitly excludes cover for Covid-19. The fact they are now resulting to lies tells you everything you need to know about the organisation. Book at your own risk.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thanks for getting in contact. We can assure you that the safety of our travellers is our number one priority and we are closely following the advice of the Government and FCDO. Our objectives remain to put safety first, mitigate financial exposure to everyone and ensure that all who wish to travel with Camps are given the opportunity to do so. We have been working with schools to create several different options for our 2021 expeditions and the final decision is with each individual school. We recommend contacting them for an update, otherwise please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we'll do out best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
Totally unethical business. Lies, smoke and mirrors at every turn to keep the money rolling in. Zero customer service, vague communication and ignorant of valid travel concerns. Lots of accreditation’s that when you check are not worth the paper they are written on. Miss selling with a glossy sales pitch from the start. Do not believe their blurb. Continually ignore government advice and common sense. They have behaved terribly during the pandemic and shown no duty of care to the children due to travel with them. I wouldn’t trust them to organise a trip to the corner shop. Have cruelly taken my Grandaughters fundraising of over £2000 by using their unfair contractual terms and conditions to show no flexibility at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thanks for getting in touch. We're sorry to hear that you think our terms and conditions are unfair. We are continuing our efforts to be fair and consistent and adhere to our legal responsibilities under the PTR’s. We understand that your grandaughter and her parents are currently in communication with a member of our team regarding their cancelled expedition. If we can be of further assistance, please contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we'll do our best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
Do not even want to give one star ! Appalling behaviour !! School have been advised by government guidelines to cancel the trip to Peru as it’s on the red list. Camps international refusing to give a refund saying flights have already been booked, when another parent asked for flight details they were given flight numbers that don’t even exist !! Will never recommend anyone to go with this company as they clearly have no consideration for the safety of our children. They cannot offer the trip that we booked and paid for, so because of that we should be given a full refund!!! And trying to get a response from anyone that works there has been near on impossible!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Nicola, thanks for getting in contact. We can assure you that the safety and wellbeing of our travellers is our number one priority and we have been working with schools on several different expedition options that minimise the financial impact on families and eliminate the need for further planning by travellers. This decision to cancel or defer is currently sitting with the school and we encourage you to contact them for an update on where the expedition currently stands. If you feel we are better placed to help, please contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we will be able to update you. Kind Regards, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
No insurance for Covid 19, no adherence to Dept for Education official guidance, no care for the safety and well being of the students involved, no care for the mental health of the parents. They want your money and will lie every step of the way to squeeze every last penny out of you. The government are saying no foreign trips without very good reason. The DfE are saying no school trips, but Camps are calling it a “disinclination to travel” and are refusing to refund. Do NOT trust this conpany.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. We can assure you that we are following guidance from the Government and the FCDO for the proposed expedition dates and we will not be sending our travellers on expedition if it is deemed unsafe by either of these bodies. We have also been working with schools to eliminate any need for further planning and the decision to cancel or defer the expedition is currently with the school. We hope this help clears up any confusion but if you would like more clarification, please contact operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we will be able to explain our process further. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
A genuinely careless attitude to our children. No regard for their safety. Willing to send unvaccinated teenagers to Peru, a red flagged country with one of the lowest vaccination rates in South America, even against current DfE advice. When this was discussed with the company few weeks ago in a meeting organised by the school, they choose to ignore all parents and steamed rolled with their plans, booking flights and demanding further payments or all money last. Appalling behaviour, callous and careless, only one thing in their mind. Your Money.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Jon, thanks for getting in contact. We would like to assure you that the safety and wellbeing of our travellers is our number one priority and we have been following the guidance from the Government and the FCDO throughout the pandemic. We have been in close contact with all schools to give them the opportunity to cancel or defer the trip, and alleviate any need for further payments and planning. If you haven't heard the decision already, please contact your school for an update. If you feel we are better placed to help, please email operations@campsinternational.co.uk and one of our team will be available to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
A bunch of con artists..took our children’s fundraising and their Savings for a trip that was never going to take place. They hide behind their Terms and conditions taking thousands of £ off us and other families! Return our money!!’
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Joanne, thanks for getting in touch again. We understand your frustration surrounding the Covid-19 pandemic and know that you are currently in contact with our team to resolve this matter. Please contact operations@campsinternational.co.uk if you have any further queries. Thank you, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
I have helped my granddaughter raise funds for this amazing trip that she was so looking forward to.....however, as a family we have been very worried in the past months that Camps continued to say the trips would still go ahead! My granddaughter is only 15 and the thought of her in a country under the strain of covid and the thought of maybe her having to quarantine in Kenya was making me very anxious..... I cannot believe what Camps have put my family through with all the stress and worry and then to top it off because the school deemed to say that they felt it was unsafe Camps cancelled the whole school off the trip and they have all lost their deposits of over £2000 each !! It’s absolutely disgusting and Camps International should not be allowed to provide these trips to schools in the future! They should be ashamed of themselves!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. We are obviously deeply disappointed that your granddaughter will not be visiting our Camps this year and we have no doubt that she is too. However, as you mentioned your school has considered the current circumstances and challenges faced by both them and yourselves and has made this difficult decision, with your best interests in mind. We will be supporting them through the cancellation process to help minimise the financial impact to travellers and their families. If we can help you further, please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and one of our team will do their best to help. Kind regards, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
Camps International is rated 3.78 based on 375 reviews