Camps International Reviews

3.8 Rating 379 Reviews
71 %
of reviewers recommend Camps International
3.8
Based on 379 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Camps International Reviews

About Camps International:

Camps International are experts in sustainable student travel, offering life-changing school expeditions in Africa, Asia, and Latin America.

Visit Website

Phone:

01425 485390

Email:

info@campsinternational.com

Location:

Unit 10 Kingfisher Park Headlands Business ParkSalisbury Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Camps International made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Camps International 5 star review on 30th November 2021
Keri
Camps International 5 star review on 29th June 2021
Anonymous
Camps International 5 star review on 26th April 2021
Charlie Spurway
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
14
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
This is the best organization for High School student volunteer & cultural trips. Three of my children went to Borneo with Camps International when they were in Grade 11. It was a transformational seven days. Everything was extremely well organized and the kids had a wonderful time. They learned about the country's culture and they contributed to building a school. Sleeping in the jungle is an experience they often recall ! The entire trip made them grateful for the life they have, and it has actually encouraged them to continue to volunteer whilst in university.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Dear Naila Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear that three of your children have experienced a Camps International Trip and have not only taken away great memories but are looking to continue with their volunteer work. Kind regards The Camps Team
Posted 2 weeks ago
They are very kind and caring. The food was nice and I liked the accommodation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Toby We thank you for leaving us such a great review. We were pleased to hear that our team looked after you while on your expedition and that you enjoyed the meals. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 2 months ago
i had a lovely time at camps international in kenya, the staff were very friendly and i had a great time doing all the activities like meeting the maasai tribe and helping out a local school. we had amazing dinners after those long days of work, i had a great time and i would like to go again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Evangeline Thank you for your lovely review about your trip to Kenya. We are so pleased that you had such a great time both at Camp and helping out at the local school. We would love to welcome you back. Kind regards The Camps Crew
Posted 2 months ago
This was our school's first-ever overseas trip, and I am so glad we choose to go with CAMPS International. it was an experience I will never forget. From the moment we got in touch with CAMPS, the team could not have been any more helpful. Our team consisted of Jemima, Chris and JD, aNd what a trio they are. The excitement from our students when Jemima came in to talk about the trip was felt around the school. Every question however big or small was answered and amazing support was given to our parents who of course were nervous about sending their children to a different country. We were supported at every turn. The excitement from Jemima filled the room at our predeparture meeting. Chris, answered at least 20 questions a day from myself, never mind parents. So thank you to them both so much. The trip itself was out of this world, Our camp leader was amazing and create such an exciting experience for our kids from the moment we got on the bus right up until it was sadly time to come home. He made every activity, meal and outing educational and fun for the students, He has such patience and kindness towards our student with special needs and basically carried him down a mountain all with a smile on his face. He was encouraging to both students and staff at all times. The staff at Camps were also amazing from our Camp manager to the security who kept us safe all week, they were so friendly and welcoming. They shared experiences of their lives and taught us so much. it was such a privilege to get to live and get to know them. the students are still talking about Peter. The trip its self was organised so well. The way the days were planned out allowed the students to have time to reflect on the day in the evening time and get enough rest to start again with our project work. the accommodation and the facilities were spotless and very well maintained. the food was amazing and such a variety every night, we never ate the same food twice. I know a highlight for most of them was deworming the goats and getting to meet all the families in the community. They along with myself were very humbled about how kind and welcoming they were to invite us into their homes. I personally, loved going to the school and meeting all the children and getting to spend time with them watching them learn and enjoying their time with eachother. Another highlight for me was having my students ask lots of questions about the conditions and why this was still happening in the world. I was proud of their awareness and wanted to find out answers. they have all said how much they want to go back to Kenya to see all the children at the school. Overall I cannot say enough what a fantastic experience this trip was from start to finish and I truly hope to be back again next year with camps whether it be to Kenya or to another destination. I cannot rate CAMPS highly enough to do them justice. The work you all do is amazing and I applaud each and every one of you AMAZING PEOPLE. CAMP KENYA TEAM 10/10 JD 10/10 Chris 10/10 Jemima 20/10 for being the person to introduce camps international into south view schools life. THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART. :):):)
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dear Stacey Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that our team gave you an experience to remember, from the point of launch to our in-country team's hospitality and of course the delightful goats. We hope to see you and your students on another expedition in the future. Kind regards The Camps Team
Posted 1 month ago
Incredibly unethical business selling their idea to poor unsuspecting teenagers looking for a great experience. However if anything goes wrong all they do is refer to their terms and conditions. My daughter was due to go to Cambodia in the Summer of 2021 and began her fundraising in ernest in 2020, then Covid hit and it took a toll on my daughters mental health and on our family financially. My daughter decided to cancel in October 2020 more than 6 months before said trip and was told that the £800 already paid would not be refunded however as a "goodwill gesture" they wouldn't charge us the cancellation fee. What are they talking about, COVID has hit many people in many ways and even the smaller tour operators are understanding and willing to refund as much as possible. No flights had been booked nothing had been organised, no service received for the £800 paid, essentially we were paying to line Camp International's pockets! We kept getting the same reply from them referring to their terms and conditions and we subsequently found out the trip in Summer of 2021 had been cancelled, all participants had been fully refunded, except us. So our £800 was taken but everyone else refunded? How does that even work, what have we paid for. At a time where people needed to be a little flexible, a term clearly NOT in Camp International's terms and conditions, I find this company who claim they are a "Charity" morally lacking and incredibly unscrupulous. I will be taking my claim for £800 to court and I sincerely hope that people think twice before even booking with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I’m really shocked at the unethical practices of this organisation. A once in a lifetime trip to Borneo was booked for my son and he fundraiser for it. When Borneo went on the red list, the school cancelled the trip. Incredibly Camps flatly refused to refund. After much legal wranglings they have offered a settlement of about one third of what has been paid. Camps even cancelled the trip themselves anyway about two weeks after the school did, but used the school’s sensible cancellation decision as a reason not to refund. To keep funds raised for charity by children is not just unethical, it is downright wrong.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
My month long Expedition to Ecuador and the Galápagos Islands in 2017 was incredible and has stayed with me every since. I think about the amazing places I was welcomed into and incredible people I met who have blessed me with life long memories. Being part of this once in a life time trip has truly changed me and my motivation. It is the reason I chose my course at university. My expedition leader Dave Sculthorpe went above and beyond for us. He was caring and made sure we embraced every situation. He bought a lot of fun to the expedition. I honesty cannot express how grateful I am for everything Camps Internal has done for me. You truly have inspired me. I follow all the social media accounts where I cannot help but smile at all the amazing projects that are still in place in these communities. I met many incredible people in each community I stayed in, who I will always remember, especially the children. The children in each camp I stayed in, especially Esmeraldas I cannot express the joy and laughter they brought to me and my friends on the trip. Ecuador taught me how it is the little things in life that we should treasure, this is something I will never forget. Each photo takes me back to the pure happiness I was part of. I can only hope that other students who take part in similar trips can take as much away from the trip as I did. It is something I would recommend to anyone. My friends who didn’t go on the trip as me if I would every go back if I had the chance, and I reply in a heart beat. My trip to Ecuador made my 2018. So I just wanted to say thank you again and thank you to everyone who helped make my trip happen. There hasn’t been a single regret from my trip, nor a single moment I wouldn’t relive. I wish only to return to the place I stayed and be immersed in the true happiness I felt when there.
Camps International 5 star review on 30th November 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Keri, Thanks so much for sharing your Ecuador experience! We're really glad to hear you fully immersed yourself in the expedition and took so much from it - that's exactly the impact we hope for! Thank you for all your hard work whilst you were out there, we and the communities we work alongside are extremely grateful for volunteers such as yourself. We hope you get a chance to travel again soon! The Camps Crew
Posted 5 months ago
I didn't go but highly recommend as my friend is the godson of the guy who owns it.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
My daughter was due to travel to Tanzania 2021 then pandemic struck. Camps were more than fair and understanding of the pandemic and I appreciated that travel would probably not happen but I was also sympathetic that Camps had rules and regulations that they had to follow. They were always helpful and honest. My daughter can no longer travel as she has left school for college but I would have no hesitation in signing my son up to a Camps expedition should he wish to travel. Keep up the good work Camps and keeping supporting the local communities in the countries. Thanks again for your valued support
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
In our experience, the Camps International team has been great since our first engagement with them in Feb 2020 where they presented on their expedition to Costa Rica in July 2021. The administration of signup was seamless and the communication from thereon was useful and timely. There were regular updates on how Camps International were managing with the constantly evolving situation with COVID where the team also provided support and advice on how fundraising efforts could continue despite lockdown restrictions. The company kept us informed and reassured, and did not cancel the expedition before the situation was as clear as possible that the expedition. The options provided at this point were fair and notice was given on making the choice. My daughter definitely wants to go the rescheduled expedition next year! I think Camps International did an excellent job in managing those that were registered to go on an expedition - well done and thank you to all those involved!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are glad you found the communication with us timely and useful. It's great to hear that your daughter is looking at travelling with us. We hope to welcome her to Camp Costa Rica in 2022! All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 9 months ago
Its been such a terrible year for everyone in general but not least those involved in travel. Thank you to CampsInternational for all the support we have had. Our Schools' trip has had to be cancelled but, I found the Campsinternational staff were as helpful as they could be throughout and Amy, our expedition coordinator, kept us in the loop with the decision making process. Cancelling was the right thing to do and I hope that we can use CampsInternational in the future when travel becomes less restrictive. Good luck to you all and hope that your expeditions can get back on track moving forward.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! It has been a challenging year but most disappointing of all is that we won't be able to welcome you into our camps this year. It's great to hear that our team kept you informed throughout the decision making process and were there to help. We can’t wait to welcome our travellers back on expedition soon while we continue to support the local communities. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 9 months ago
Like others I have had to resort to the small claims service for a refund. I was advised in writing that it would take 4 weeks, this became 5 and now it’s 6. The package travel terms and conditions that they have relied upon not to cancel before June states they refunds must be in 14 days. I am not wasting any more time with them, a county court judgement can deal with it.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
All many parents can say NEVER, NEVER use this company. Will not refund any money paid for a trip THEY cancelled to COSTA RICA. hiding being legal statements however refuse to state which parts and laws. The Package Travel and Linked Travel Arrangements Regulations 2018 (legislation.gov.uk) however refuse to state which parts and laws. How many days did the refund take .. THERE IS NOT OPTION FOR NEVER.. Camps refuse to refund any money ..
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Like many of the parents completing reviews, we share Camps International's disappointment that this year's trips are unable to go ahead. We understand the challenges that the pandemic has provided to many companies, families and individuals and have taken a reasoned approach regarding a refund. However, despite many emails, Camps International have continued to indicate only that a refund will be made 'as soon as possible'. In essence, they are sitting on our £4000 and have provided no firm indication of when we might expect our money back, despite it now being 1 month since the request was made. 'As soon as possible' is not an acceptable or reasonable response. I have this evening commenced a claim through the small claims court to recover the money and would suggest that others who have received similar poor service do the same.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Alison, thank you for getting in contact. We can assure you that our accounts department are working as hard as they can to process refunds in chronological order. All recipients due refunds were informed in writing that the refund may take up to 8 weeks to process dependant on your departure date. As you can imagine, we are currently processing a huge number of refunds and our team is working as fast as they can to get through them efficiently and diligently. We understand that a member of our team has been in touch regarding your refund and the date it is expected to be processed, however if you need any further help please don’t hesitate to contact us again. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 10 months ago
We are sad we didn’t get to go on this once in a lifetime unique opportunity due to the pandemic, but the highest praise goes to CI for their professionalism and communication during this time. They were faced with their own challenges and difficult decisions but I felt they provided us with options at the earliest moment they could. Good luck for the future and stay strong. The work you do is life changing!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us such a positive review! We are also disappointed that we won't be able to welcome you into our camps this year but it's great to hear that you had a positive experience with us throughout the pandemic. We will continue to support the local communities long into the future and we're excited to welcome our travellers back on expedition soon. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 10 months ago
Fantastic support and organisation - a real once in a lifetime trip to Cambodia which meant my then 16 year old matured and saw a side of human culture many do not see in a lifetime. Cannot recommend enough
Camps International 5 star review on 29th June 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Fantastic support and organisation - a real once in a lifetime trip to Cambodia which meant my then 16 year old matured and saw a side of human culture many do not see in a lifetime. Cannot recommend enough
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. It's great to hear that your child had such a good experience with us in Cambodia and we hope that they keep the memories that were made on expedition for years to come. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 10 months ago
I just want to say how impressed we have been with the Camps International Team over the past 16 months. Throughout that time they have been as helpful, as understanding and as resourceful as they could be in the face of the incredible frustrations of a world pandemic. I feel it speaks volumes for the quality of care they show for teenagers and the passion they have for struggling communities that they have done all they can to support us and hundred of others as best they can over that time. No-one expected a world pandemic and like the rest of us, Camps had to adapt, and they did. Like the rest of us, they had to wait on decisions being taken by others - like governments, airlines and insurers. That meant sometimes they couldn't provide easy answers we sought. It meant like other parents we were worried about whether the trip would go ahead, whether it would be safe, whether we would get a refund if it was cancelled. But throughout all those challenges, they consistently acted with fairness and integrity, and in the best interests of our kids and of those communities. Their kindness and humanity shone through. We can't recommend them highly enough.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Catherine, thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We have done all we can to adapt to the global pandemic and are so pleased to hear that you have had a positive experience with us throughout this uncertain time. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 10 months ago
My self and Shane would like to thank camps for all they have tried to do, their help and guidance throughout was first class. With the difficult times we have all found ourselves in, with uncertainty in all areas, it was reassuring to know camps had everyone’s best interests at heart, no one has faced these trying times and I feel that they communicated information brilliantly throughout. Although shane hasn’t got to take part as both times he was booked it’s been cancelled due to Covid, I would not hesitate in recommending Camps for anyones child to take part. I would have 100% confidence in them looking after my son and helping them experience things we could not do ourselves. We wish you all the best for the future and hope that one day Shane will be able to carry out this experience sometime in the future!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Rachel, thanks so much for your kind words. We have kept the best interests of our travellers at the forefront of all our decisions so it's great to hear this feedback. We are also disappointed that Shane will not be travelling with us this year but we hope that we can welcome him to one of our camps in the future! All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 10 months ago
My daughter like many others was due on a trip to uganda this year, we set up the direct debit to pay monthly. Then covid hit, communication from camps has been shocking always passing the buck to someone else. Our school cancelled the trip because of our concerns and camps ridiculous advise to carry on paying as trips still planned to go ahead!! We have now lost over £2000 and now being advised by the school that the insurance does not cover covid and will have to try and get the money through the county courts
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi, thanks for getting in contact. We are sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with our communication. We can assure you that the safety of our travellers is our number one priority and we have been closely following the advice of the Government and FCDO. Our objectives remain to put safety first, mitigate financial exposure to everyone and ensure that all who wish to travel with Camps are given the opportunity to do so. We have been working with schools to create several different options for our 2021 expeditions and each school will have made their decisions. We recommend contacting them for an update on any outstanding monies, otherwise please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we'll do out best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 10 months ago
Camps International is rated 3.81 based on 379 reviews