Camps International Reviews

4.19 Rating 307 Reviews
80 %
of reviewers recommend Camps International
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Camps International Reviews

About Camps International:

Camps International provide experiential travel in Africa, Asia and South America to suit everyone, from schools to gap year travellers, from animal lovers to thrill seekers, there is a perfect experience for everyone. We are the only provider to own permanent camps and employ local people worldwide, meaning that our projects are guaranteed to benefit the communities that we work in.

Visit Website

Phone:

01425 485390

Email:

info@campsinternational.com

Location:

Unit 10 Kingfisher Park Headlands Business ParkSalisbury Road, ,

Write Your review

Tell us how Camps International made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 12th April 2020
Natalie
Camps International 5 star review on 12th April 2020
Nicole
11
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
They have rejected to cancel a trip in the midst of a pandemic forcing customers to lose all the money already paid or forcing kids to an unsafe travel. They don't care about their customer.
Posted 53 minutes ago
Not only unethical but an absolutely racist company too!!! When asked whether they find it ethical to place numerous young people in an area where locals may require the health service that is in place in the country, we were informed 'in all honesty, the locals don't use the hospitals that we do, I know that might sound very elitist......'. Also, when asked about the Health Service in said country, we were told, 'they have amazing hospitals, you know, it's not all village witchdoctor'. Yes people, in 2021, 'NOT ALL WITCHDOCTOR' was used by a Camps member of staff to describe the health service available to people in Kenya. Extremely racist views that should not be tolerated full stop, but certainly not from a company who deems themselves 'ethical'!
Posted 1 hour ago
I appreciate this is a challenging time for Camps International, but hounding us for the remaining trip balance or threatening to kick us from the trip by May 1st is unfair on multiple levels. My son has done his best but finances are just not available over the last year with many being out of work. As well as the trip legally SHOULD NOT GO AHEAD THIS YEAR as stated by many government officials. We should be given the opportunity to defer by Camps International not have to wait until 2 weeks before expected departure. My sons anxiety is through the roof, as is our financial situation at trying to find this money or lose the £2000 we have paid. I would recommend not using this service.
Posted 1 day ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. We are closely following the advice of the relevant government bodies, the Foreign Commonwealth & Development Office and the Department for Education and we can assure you that we will not be letting anyone travel on expedition with us if it is considered unsafe during the proposed expedition dates. Currently, the opportunity to cancel or defer the trip, and alleviate any need for further payments and planning, is with the school. We recommend that you contact them to discuss these options, otherwise you can contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we will do our best to assist in any way we can. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 day ago
The company may have provided amazing experiences in the past, but CV19 has made them show their true colours. They totally lack any care for the safety of the pupils going this summer. They want our money but they know that Kenya is on the Government red list and yet WILL NOT CANCEL THE TRIP. When teachers take students on trips, the safety of everyone concerned has to be paramount! This company want final payment on 1st May, as agreed in October 2019 before CV19 took over the world. They were going to have revised insurance, no one can get a copy, and made a final decision at the end of March 2021. That decision is to still go, even though Government and DfE guidance say the opposite! It is a total disgrace and I hope that a lot of schools now decline CI trips in the future! Heads have asked CI to postpone final payments until after the Government's next review in March - they declined and now have everyone over a barrel. Pay the final £2k and you may get a refund if cancelled or you may end up spending an extra £3-4k on isolating in Kenya and upon your return, plus your children will get a shortened trip due to the isolating in Kenya being 2 of their 4 weeks, or do not pay the final £2k and risk losing everything you have paid in so far! What an amazing company to work with!!! I have contacted local and national media to support our cause, as well as our MP! Good luck for the future Camps International, with your CEO spouting off on Twitter and the amount of schools you have annoyed this year!
Posted 1 day ago
Hi Kerry-Ann, Thank you for getting in touch. We would like to assure you that we are closely following the guidance from the government, FDCO and the DfE and will not be sending any of our travellers on expedition if they advise against travel for the proposed expedition dates. The safety and well-being of our travellers has and always will be our number one priority. With this in mind, we have been working with schools since January to come to a decision that will relieve uncertainty and reduce financial pressure on travellers and their families. We understand that many schools have already made a decision in this regard. If you have any further concerns, we recommend that you contact your school, otherwise please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and one of our team will be happy to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 6 hours ago
Not even worth the 1 star!! Do not send your child with this company. They do not care about our children its all about making the money. Communication is appalling and they are liars! We are stuck on a trip currently in a RED listed country and they refuse to consider the safety of our children. We can't even get confirmation of their insurance that they promised in March 21. Avoid, avoid, avoid!!
Posted 1 day ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. The safety and well-being of our travellers is our number one priority and we can assure you that we will not be sending our travellers on expedition if it is deemed unsafe. We have been closely following the guidance from the Government, FDCO and the DfE and have been working with schools on several options that minimise uncertainty and financial impact on families. If you have any further concerns we advise that you contact your school, otherwise please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and one of our team will get back to you as soon as they can. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 6 hours ago
We have been ripped off. In my opinion it has taken money knowingly knowing it is not going to provide a service. Deceitful, poor service. If you use them then you will probably lose your money Avoidd
Posted 1 day ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. As it stands, we are following the advice of the Government and the FDCO as to whether the expeditions will be able to go ahead. We are also working with schools on several options that minimise uncertainty and the financial impact on travellers. We understand that many schools have already made their decision and we advise you to contact the school if you are unhappy with the outcome. If you feel we are better placed to help, please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and one of our team will get back to you as soon as they can. Thank you, The Camps Crew
Posted 5 hours ago
I have read the first few negative reviews and cannot agree more. Sadly the only way I can make a review is to give one star. I would give minus stars if possible. I have written on several occasions making it clear that as a parent, I was not satisfied with their thinking that a trip this year was likely to be safe under any circumstances. Like the other folk, all I get is stonewalling. They are highly manipulative using the T&C to extract more payments for a trip that must be canceled. Pat by May of you will be deemed to have withdrawn and then you lose all payments made. This looks like an organization that knows it is going broke trying to get underpinning by deceit. If that proves to be the case, it is not only unethical, it is illegal. I have reached the point where I think it time to seek legal representation and probably sue them. I do not think any reasoning is possible with an organization that does not listen and has no concern for its customers. However, I see I am not a customer, rather I am a donor for their 'charitable activities. I think their activities should be investigated. I also think by behaving in a way that causes us the parents anxiety and diminishes any potential pleasure the children may have gotten from this activity, they may well be in breach of contract. Let's see what a lawyer has to say. As you can hear, I am very angry.
Posted 1 day ago
Terrible no customer service direct phone number will not answer emails off the school to phone them I do not think any school will ever support Camps International in the future supposed to be a experience of a lifetime and no refunds
Posted 1 week ago
Has anyone ever had full refund off camps International as this years trip to Cambodia is highly unlikely to go as boarders not even open
Posted 1 week ago
Where do I start .. terrible situation to be held to ransom, insisting we pay another £2000 or they will take it we have cancelled and lose the £2k we have paid Single parent that’s worked hard through pandemic .. feeling quite desperate
Posted 1 week ago
DO NOT USE THIS FIRM UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. This is an appalling organisation who have decided to hide behind their T&Cs which were agreed pre covid-19. They have flights listed in my trip section that do not exist, Their staff do not engage. Those who can comment are automatons who speak legalise and who have no concern for the health, safety or welfare of anyone connected with the trip. They dissemble at every turn and cannot be trusted. They claim to be ethical, but there is no evidence of this, nor is there evidence that they operate safely with repeated requests for risk assessments ignored. Their only concern is to extort the next payment from young adults with the threat that they will cancel your place as you failed to meet the T&Cs. One wonders just how long they will persist in refusing to cancel trips to South America? Once they do they will no doubt try to rearrange to some other country to continue to cling to hard earned money. They have no concerns that they have sucked the any and all excitement and joy from the experience via their intransigence and pig headed approach. Try personal view is they are in deep financial difficulty. They claim to have 4000 travellers in summer 21 but as I still can't get my hair cut, it hard to see how you can safely organise trips for so many young people to so much of the planet that is presently closed and almost certainly will remain so for months to come. With 4000 cancellations they'd be on the hook for at least £16 million. I hope they go bust A truly disreputable and odious company.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi, thank you for getting in touch. We understand your frustrations regarding the expeditions and would like to assure you that the safety of our travellers is our number one priority. Risk assessments have been carried out and we are closely monitoring the advice of the relevant government bodies and the Foreign Commonwealth & Development Office. We do of course understand the impact on our travellers and are working closely with schools to make sure that families will not be financially disadvantaged by any decisions. If you could like to discuss this further, please contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and one of our team will be happy to chat through the options surrounding your expedition. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 week ago
The worst customer service. No direct answers. Basically fobbed off at every turn. No accountability. WE WILL BE FIGHTING THIS. Camps International, dont tell me to email with concerns. Stuart Rees Jones and his partner need to step up and sort this out. Thieves. I want a direct contact NUMBER. DO NOT FOB ME OFF AGAIN. Brazil borders Ecuador by the way.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Louisa, we are sorry to hear that you have been unable to get hold of our team. We have looked into the situation and understand that our operations team have been trying to get in contact with you regarding your cancellation since October 2019 and have not heard back from you. Please can you get in contact with us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk with your updated contact details so that we can resolve this matter. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 week ago
Camps international are a money grabbing charity. They totally refuse not to listen to children and parents worries, anxieties and fear. We have cancelled and lost our money for the safety of our son. A bunch of shitsers. Please be careful folks with this company. Their staff are like robots and state the same information that they follow fco advice. Warning avod at all cost. Nil customer service.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Hayley, thank you for your review. We understand that you are currently in contact with our operations team regarding your son's cancelled expedition. If you have any further queries, please contact the team and they will be more than happy to assist. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 2 weeks ago
Camps International refusing to cancel trips to third world countries this summer despite CV19 - schools therefore being forced to make the sensible decision not to go and as as such No Refunds (CI basically Saying It was the school not us) and their Peace of Mind Promise therefore means nothing Whatsoever! Very Very underhand practice here. Not sure which is more worrying the fact they are stealing Kids money or think it’s okay to take kids to third world countries At the moment mmm.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Awful company with extremely poor customer service. Little or no communication or support. Will use every clause in their documentation to avoid refunds. In the past they have insisted children travel even when school staff have found the itinerary unsafe in the risk analysis process. Poorly informed and arrogant about health and safety completely lacking in any morals or ethics. Unrealistic about the challenges of travel with COVID and totally untrustworthy.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. We understand your frustrations surrounding the Covid-19 pandemic and can assure you that the safety of our travellers is our number one priority. We would like to encourage you to contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk to discuss your concerns further. Thank you, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 month ago
Hi I’m just wondering if you can advise who the contract is with? If schools have allowed you in to promote the trip and the teachers are attending who is it with the school or the child? Also if children get a positive covid test before the trip will we get a full refund? If children are going to have to isolate on their return in a hotel for two weeks do you pick up this cost? Lots of unanswered questions and two weeks before the trip to cancel is ludicrous expecting parents to pay for kit and vaccine and you let us know two weeks prior? When will you be making a decision on trips for July this year?
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, our operations team will be able to answer any questions you have regarding the expedition. If you email with the best number to reach you on operations@campsinternational.co.uk someone will give you a call as soon as they can. Thank you, The Camps Crew
Posted 1 month ago
Can you now tell us what the situation is now U.K. has shut the borders to South America ? My daughter is due to go to Ecuador this summer with her school it doesn’t like this will happen now because of the new deadly variant in South American . You are still taking monthly direct debit from families knowing these expeditions will not take place this year. I think you should do the right thing and tell the school/students that they won’t be going this year knows they won’t be able to leave the U.K. Also please do not book flights then tell families they can only have half their money back because you booked their flights !!!!
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, Thank you for leaving us a second review. As stated before, we understand your frustration surrounding the Covid-19 pandemic but can assure you that we are closely following the advice from the FCDO that covers our specific expedition dates. The advice can change quickly and we are monitoring it constantly. The safety and wellbeing of our travellers is our number one priority and we will never send our travellers to an area that is considered unsafe by the relevant governing bodies. Again, if you would like to discuss more about your daughters place on expedition, we encourage you to contact operations@campsinternational.co.uk to discuss the options available to you. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 2 months ago
I get that they are struggling with the pandemic, but their general communication with people who are booked on expeditions with them is woeful. It is a shame because I think if it hadn't been for the pandemic our students would have been fine, but as it is they are not a company I would ever recommend engaging with. We have some signficant issues with some of our students' fund raising, possible travel dates etc and despite initial promises of contact with me as their teacher and working with us to get the students through it I can't get a response out of anyone at this company. Shocking given the tens of thousands of pounds they have collected from our students already.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Jason, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We understand that you have spoken with several members of our team regarding your points raised. In addition to the current fundraising support and advice from our school support team, we would be happy to help if you feel you/your expedition team would benefit from some additional guidance. Please do feel free to get in touch with us directly. If we can do anything else to help you further through what is undoubtedly a challenging time for all, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with us and we will be more than happy to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
DO NOT BOOK WITH THESE !! AVOID AT ALL COSTS !! As mentioned many times in other reviews the fact that the is a world wide pandemic and parents have lost jobs, homes and cannot feed their own families does not matter to them! They will keep your money stating as per their terms and conditions! Shame on you, children who are trying to do good in the world are being punished by you financially!
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Gemma, Thank you for your review. We understand your frustrations surrounding this uncertain time, but we can assure you that we are continuing to closely follow the advice of the FCDO and relevant governing bodies throughout the pandemic. As you know, the situation surrounding COVID-19 is changing rapidly and the FCDO advice does not cover our departure dates which are in 8 months time. Therefore, our 2021 expeditions are currently still able to go ahead as planned. As explained to you previously by a member of our team, if you chose to cancel your place with us now, we are unable to provide a full refund in line with our terms and conditions. We apologise that this is not the outcome you were hoping for. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 5 months ago
I have travelled with this company repeatedly over the last few years and choose to return with them every time because of their commitment to the communities they work with. They are an ethical and morally driven organisation. I was unable to travel with them this summer due to the global pandemic and have been extremely impressed by their transparency. In my past experience, the safety of their travellers is always the number 1 priority and I have experienced first hand how their leaders and schools work together to offer the best experience. The pastoral care that students receive in-country is outstanding. They ALWAYS put safety and wellbeing of their travellers first!
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Phil, Thanks so much for your amazing review! It's great to hear that you've had such a good experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you on expedition with us again soon. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 5 months ago
Camps International is rated 4.19 based on 307 reviews