Camps International Reviews

3.78 Rating 376 Reviews
70 %
of reviewers recommend Camps International
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email
Read Camps International Reviews

About Camps International:

Camps International provide experiential travel in Africa, Asia and South America to suit everyone, from schools to gap year travellers, from animal lovers to thrill seekers, there is a perfect experience for everyone. We are the only provider to own permanent camps and employ local people worldwide, meaning that our projects are guaranteed to benefit the communities that we work in.

Visit Website

Phone:

01425 485390

Email:

info@campsinternational.com

Location:

Unit 10 Kingfisher Park Headlands Business ParkSalisbury Road, ,

Write Your review

Tell us how Camps International made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Camps International 5 star review on 29th June 2021
Anonymous
Camps International 5 star review on 26th April 2021
Charlie Spurway
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
Camps International 5 star review on 27th July 2020
Natasha
13
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I didn't go but highly recommend as my friend is the godson of the guy who owns it.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
My daughter was due to travel to Tanzania 2021 then pandemic struck. Camps were more than fair and understanding of the pandemic and I appreciated that travel would probably not happen but I was also sympathetic that Camps had rules and regulations that they had to follow. They were always helpful and honest. My daughter can no longer travel as she has left school for college but I would have no hesitation in signing my son up to a Camps expedition should he wish to travel. Keep up the good work Camps and keeping supporting the local communities in the countries. Thanks again for your valued support
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
In our experience, the Camps International team has been great since our first engagement with them in Feb 2020 where they presented on their expedition to Costa Rica in July 2021. The administration of signup was seamless and the communication from thereon was useful and timely. There were regular updates on how Camps International were managing with the constantly evolving situation with COVID where the team also provided support and advice on how fundraising efforts could continue despite lockdown restrictions. The company kept us informed and reassured, and did not cancel the expedition before the situation was as clear as possible that the expedition. The options provided at this point were fair and notice was given on making the choice. My daughter definitely wants to go the rescheduled expedition next year! I think Camps International did an excellent job in managing those that were registered to go on an expedition - well done and thank you to all those involved!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are glad you found the communication with us timely and useful. It's great to hear that your daughter is looking at travelling with us. We hope to welcome her to Camp Costa Rica in 2022! All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 2 months ago
Its been such a terrible year for everyone in general but not least those involved in travel. Thank you to CampsInternational for all the support we have had. Our Schools' trip has had to be cancelled but, I found the Campsinternational staff were as helpful as they could be throughout and Amy, our expedition coordinator, kept us in the loop with the decision making process. Cancelling was the right thing to do and I hope that we can use CampsInternational in the future when travel becomes less restrictive. Good luck to you all and hope that your expeditions can get back on track moving forward.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us a review! It has been a challenging year but most disappointing of all is that we won't be able to welcome you into our camps this year. It's great to hear that our team kept you informed throughout the decision making process and were there to help. We can’t wait to welcome our travellers back on expedition soon while we continue to support the local communities. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 2 months ago
Like others I have had to resort to the small claims service for a refund. I was advised in writing that it would take 4 weeks, this became 5 and now it’s 6. The package travel terms and conditions that they have relied upon not to cancel before June states they refunds must be in 14 days. I am not wasting any more time with them, a county court judgement can deal with it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
All many parents can say NEVER, NEVER use this company. Will not refund any money paid for a trip THEY cancelled to COSTA RICA. hiding being legal statements however refuse to state which parts and laws. The Package Travel and Linked Travel Arrangements Regulations 2018 (legislation.gov.uk) however refuse to state which parts and laws. How many days did the refund take .. THERE IS NOT OPTION FOR NEVER.. Camps refuse to refund any money ..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Like many of the parents completing reviews, we share Camps International's disappointment that this year's trips are unable to go ahead. We understand the challenges that the pandemic has provided to many companies, families and individuals and have taken a reasoned approach regarding a refund. However, despite many emails, Camps International have continued to indicate only that a refund will be made 'as soon as possible'. In essence, they are sitting on our £4000 and have provided no firm indication of when we might expect our money back, despite it now being 1 month since the request was made. 'As soon as possible' is not an acceptable or reasonable response. I have this evening commenced a claim through the small claims court to recover the money and would suggest that others who have received similar poor service do the same.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Alison, thank you for getting in contact. We can assure you that our accounts department are working as hard as they can to process refunds in chronological order. All recipients due refunds were informed in writing that the refund may take up to 8 weeks to process dependant on your departure date. As you can imagine, we are currently processing a huge number of refunds and our team is working as fast as they can to get through them efficiently and diligently. We understand that a member of our team has been in touch regarding your refund and the date it is expected to be processed, however if you need any further help please don’t hesitate to contact us again. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
We are sad we didn’t get to go on this once in a lifetime unique opportunity due to the pandemic, but the highest praise goes to CI for their professionalism and communication during this time. They were faced with their own challenges and difficult decisions but I felt they provided us with options at the earliest moment they could. Good luck for the future and stay strong. The work you do is life changing!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us such a positive review! We are also disappointed that we won't be able to welcome you into our camps this year but it's great to hear that you had a positive experience with us throughout the pandemic. We will continue to support the local communities long into the future and we're excited to welcome our travellers back on expedition soon. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
Fantastic support and organisation - a real once in a lifetime trip to Cambodia which meant my then 16 year old matured and saw a side of human culture many do not see in a lifetime. Cannot recommend enough
Camps International 5 star review on 29th June 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Fantastic support and organisation - a real once in a lifetime trip to Cambodia which meant my then 16 year old matured and saw a side of human culture many do not see in a lifetime. Cannot recommend enough
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. It's great to hear that your child had such a good experience with us in Cambodia and we hope that they keep the memories that were made on expedition for years to come. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
I just want to say how impressed we have been with the Camps International Team over the past 16 months. Throughout that time they have been as helpful, as understanding and as resourceful as they could be in the face of the incredible frustrations of a world pandemic. I feel it speaks volumes for the quality of care they show for teenagers and the passion they have for struggling communities that they have done all they can to support us and hundred of others as best they can over that time. No-one expected a world pandemic and like the rest of us, Camps had to adapt, and they did. Like the rest of us, they had to wait on decisions being taken by others - like governments, airlines and insurers. That meant sometimes they couldn't provide easy answers we sought. It meant like other parents we were worried about whether the trip would go ahead, whether it would be safe, whether we would get a refund if it was cancelled. But throughout all those challenges, they consistently acted with fairness and integrity, and in the best interests of our kids and of those communities. Their kindness and humanity shone through. We can't recommend them highly enough.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Catherine, thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We have done all we can to adapt to the global pandemic and are so pleased to hear that you have had a positive experience with us throughout this uncertain time. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
My self and Shane would like to thank camps for all they have tried to do, their help and guidance throughout was first class. With the difficult times we have all found ourselves in, with uncertainty in all areas, it was reassuring to know camps had everyone’s best interests at heart, no one has faced these trying times and I feel that they communicated information brilliantly throughout. Although shane hasn’t got to take part as both times he was booked it’s been cancelled due to Covid, I would not hesitate in recommending Camps for anyones child to take part. I would have 100% confidence in them looking after my son and helping them experience things we could not do ourselves. We wish you all the best for the future and hope that one day Shane will be able to carry out this experience sometime in the future!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Rachel, thanks so much for your kind words. We have kept the best interests of our travellers at the forefront of all our decisions so it's great to hear this feedback. We are also disappointed that Shane will not be travelling with us this year but we hope that we can welcome him to one of our camps in the future! All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
My daughter like many others was due on a trip to uganda this year, we set up the direct debit to pay monthly. Then covid hit, communication from camps has been shocking always passing the buck to someone else. Our school cancelled the trip because of our concerns and camps ridiculous advise to carry on paying as trips still planned to go ahead!! We have now lost over £2000 and now being advised by the school that the insurance does not cover covid and will have to try and get the money through the county courts
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi, thanks for getting in contact. We are sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with our communication. We can assure you that the safety of our travellers is our number one priority and we have been closely following the advice of the Government and FCDO. Our objectives remain to put safety first, mitigate financial exposure to everyone and ensure that all who wish to travel with Camps are given the opportunity to do so. We have been working with schools to create several different options for our 2021 expeditions and each school will have made their decisions. We recommend contacting them for an update on any outstanding monies, otherwise please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we'll do out best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 3 months ago
My daughter was booked to go Cambodia this July through her school. All along myself and CI remained hopeful she would be able to go Even if it was to a back up destination. Camp have always been honest and upfront regarding the situation and every time I have had concerns I have always come off a call feeling reassured and informed .We were just offered a good will refund of all funds paid but my daughter really wants this trip of a lifetime so we are really looking forward to moving on from covid and she will be hopefully going to Kenya in 2022 on an open trip ,the staff have already reassured me that the good will refund will also still stand next year if circumstances haven't improved. Everyone has been lovely to deal with and despite the difficulties of the year we have faith the trip will be unforgettable.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Ann, thanks so much for leaving us a review. It's great to hear that you've had a positive experience with us and that your daughter is looking at travelling with us again. We hope to welcome her to Camp Kenya in 2022! All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
We delayed a Cambodia trip for our then 16 year old in 2020 for year. Total lack of meaningful information from the company, just waffly emails now and again with no options or substance. The school has formally cancelled the trip as there's no chance of the trip going ahead as it's clearly not safe or practical but despite this camps international won't budge their position or compromise in anyway. We are trying to claim from the school's insurance but potentially we'll lose the 50% we paid upfront, (in the order of £2500) which camps international will keep. Very dodgy unethical company. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
AVOID AVOID AVOID! This company are thieves!!! They are refusing to refund hiding behind whatever legislation and terms and conditions they can refusing to cancel a trip to a red list country putting the onus on school to cancel then pulling the terms and condition card. The communication has been appalling, what I find really strange is they are too scared to work from there office or answer phones because of Covid but more than happy to take your children to a red list country. They do not care about your childs safety they are only interested in your money, ethical company!!! They don't even know the meaning of it absolute cowards!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Disgusting service from camps international. Signed my son up to costa rica trip 2021 at a cost of £4500. Then global pandemic hit. Camps international refused to cancel even though it was obviously unsafe to travel. Their small print allows them to keep 50%of your payments and oh boy do they keep to their small print... They have made thousands of pounds including £2250 of my money, leaving kids and parents in limbo. I couldn't be more disgusted by this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Julia, thanks for getting in contact. We understand that this matter has now been resolved and you have already received a refund. If there is anything further we can do to help, please contact operations@campsinternational.co.uk. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
Reading these reviews and the subsequent responses from CI should be a warning to all potential future travellers to avoid this company like the plague. I have tried on many occasions to have a sensible conversation with CI and have even involved my local MP however, they are only interested in their revenue and not the interests or more importantly the safety of our children. The latest saga is the travel insurance that I have been assured includes cover for Covid-19 however, when you read the documentation it is explicitly excludes cover for Covid-19. The fact they are now resulting to lies tells you everything you need to know about the organisation. Book at your own risk.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, thanks for getting in contact. We can assure you that the safety of our travellers is our number one priority and we are closely following the advice of the Government and FCDO. Our objectives remain to put safety first, mitigate financial exposure to everyone and ensure that all who wish to travel with Camps are given the opportunity to do so. We have been working with schools to create several different options for our 2021 expeditions and the final decision is with each individual school. We recommend contacting them for an update, otherwise please email us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we'll do out best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
Totally unethical business. Lies, smoke and mirrors at every turn to keep the money rolling in. Zero customer service, vague communication and ignorant of valid travel concerns. Lots of accreditation’s that when you check are not worth the paper they are written on. Miss selling with a glossy sales pitch from the start. Do not believe their blurb. Continually ignore government advice and common sense. They have behaved terribly during the pandemic and shown no duty of care to the children due to travel with them. I wouldn’t trust them to organise a trip to the corner shop. Have cruelly taken my Grandaughters fundraising of over £2000 by using their unfair contractual terms and conditions to show no flexibility at all.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi, thanks for getting in touch. We're sorry to hear that you think our terms and conditions are unfair. We are continuing our efforts to be fair and consistent and adhere to our legal responsibilities under the PTR’s. We understand that your grandaughter and her parents are currently in communication with a member of our team regarding their cancelled expedition. If we can be of further assistance, please contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we'll do our best to help. All the best, The Camps Crew
Posted 4 months ago
Do not even want to give one star ! Appalling behaviour !! School have been advised by government guidelines to cancel the trip to Peru as it’s on the red list. Camps international refusing to give a refund saying flights have already been booked, when another parent asked for flight details they were given flight numbers that don’t even exist !! Will never recommend anyone to go with this company as they clearly have no consideration for the safety of our children. They cannot offer the trip that we booked and paid for, so because of that we should be given a full refund!!! And trying to get a response from anyone that works there has been near on impossible!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Nicola, thanks for getting in contact. We can assure you that the safety and wellbeing of our travellers is our number one priority and we have been working with schools on several different expedition options that minimise the financial impact on families and eliminate the need for further planning by travellers. This decision to cancel or defer is currently sitting with the school and we encourage you to contact them for an update on where the expedition currently stands. If you feel we are better placed to help, please contact us at operations@campsinternational.co.uk and we will be able to update you. Kind Regards, The Camps Crew
Posted 5 months ago
Camps International is rated 3.78 based on 376 reviews