Breakdown Assist Reviews

4.64 Rating 1,053 Reviews
97% of reviewers recommend Breakdown Assist

About Breakdown Assist: Breakdown Assist is a trading style of QDOS Insurance Services Limited who are authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. We have been trading since 2007 as an Insurance Intermediary, and started selling insurance directly to the public over the internet in February 2011.

Visit Website

Phone:
0800 112 4505

Email:
enquiries@qdosinsurance.co.uk

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
on-time delivery
100%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.35 out of 5
"I could only say acceptable as I can only give a more sure opinion when & if I ever need the breakdown service??. I purchased the breakdown cover by phone & your staff was very helpfull"
Posted 4 months ago
Visit Website
"Cannot write review about breakdown cover as i have been fortunate not to need a call out. As for actually purchasing cover it was no problem, easy and quickly dealt with. Price was very competitive which suited me."
Posted 4 months ago
"I'm relieved to say I haven't had cause to use the Breakdown service yet!! IF I do use this service in the future I sincerely hope that I'm not disappointed & I do get quick & efficient assistance."
Posted 9 months ago
"Broke down on my own at a Service Station in the middle of France on a motorbike. The initial response was quite quick and they said they would get a mechanic out. Then I just got a text saying that they didn't cover motorway breakdown (which may in fairness be due to local regulation). I phoned them back a number of times saying that I was stranded and that they should be responsible for assisting me. They said I would get a call back from someone and I called chasing this a number of times but kept getting cut off or had to hang up due to phone queue or was told I had to speak to a different department. After about 4 hours of hanging around a service station with flies buzzing around my sweat caked motorcycle jacket I had given up on support. The night was drawing in the nearest town was about 30 miles walk and there was no Uber. I scrambled around a petrol station trying to get someone to order me a taxi but nobody spoke English and they didn't even understand the word taxi. It was a warm night but I still didn't relish the idea of sleeping rough. At about midnight I got a call and assumed it was one of the taxi companies that didn't speak English phoning me back by mistake but it was Breakdown Assist. They said that I would have to phone the police to get English speaking breakdown support on a motorway. I phoned them and they got a truck out to help. I was parked too close to a transmitter that was blocking my alarm fob. I was towed away from the transmitter for about 200 Euros and was glad to pay. So even though it took ages to get through to them and I kept getting passed around to different departments and they thought it acceptable to just decline assistance with a cold template text at least they didn't forget about me and they did eventually call be back with relevant advice so I have to respect them for that. So if you're driving abroad or in the UK your policy may not cover you for motorway breakdown anyway and if doesn't just use the roadside recovery phones. Also if your alarm fob doesn't work you may be too close to a transmitter or something."
Posted 10 months ago
"Less confident than if joined the RAC as no card etc that said lot less expensive. Proof of pudding is if need to call out"
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Michael, do not worry about the lack of a card. We firmly believe you do not need a card and to pay such a significant increase in premium for what is essentially something nice to look at.

All you need when reporting a breakdown is your personal information and your vehicle registration (if you have vehicle cover). We focus on quality of the service, and do away with expensive non-essential items to keep the cost sensible and affordable.
Posted 10 months ago
"I have been asked to write a review as my opinion matters. I bought breakdown cover for an 11 day trip to Germany and back. I did not need to call them out. The cost was comparable to others on the comparison site. It does not qualify you for Meerkat rewards however. The only confusing comment is that you are not covered for the first 24 hours. This seems to prevent you joining from abroad after you have already broken down."
Posted 10 months ago
"Very convenient to organise."
Posted 1 year ago
"Low price."
Posted 1 year ago
"relatively easy to sign up for new cover"
Posted 1 year ago
"Saved me money"
Posted 1 year ago
"Had for a month, haven't made a claim so not to sure how they are - reasonably priced compared to RAC & AA"
Posted 2 years ago
"All went well. Time will tell"
Posted 2 years ago
"Pleasant and polite person on the other end of the phone, clear and easy to understand and made the whole experience very simple."
Posted 2 years ago
"I was waiting for 3 and a half hours from 11pm - 2:30am as they thought I was in Walsall instead of Wakefield. There is no priority for women as stated in their policy as they told me 40 minutes when they were not. I was a lone woman on a motorcycle in the middle of a shady area where I had never been before so it's not even like I could have sat in a locked car. I was terrified, especially after my phone died. I had to wait on the street outside a funeral directors. The breakdown recovery man was such a lovely person though and was very apologetic and got me home (60 miles away!) safe and well."
Posted 3 years ago
"Looks a good service but one can only tell if it's any good if you need to call them out then see if you get what you signed up for"
Posted 3 years ago
"Well what can I write about , I joined that was dead easy every thing was as I expected , paper work came as promised . Call outs I am pleased to say as yet there has ent been any ."
Posted 3 years ago
"Have mixed feelings about the service. The only time last year I used the breakdown cover I had locked my self out of my van. The local recovery company used were brilliant and went the extra mile to get me back in. However Breakdown Assist after my allotted half hour rang me to ask for additional payment immediately. I was already very stressed and could have done with out this. The telephone operator agreed he would phone me back after I told him my hand bag was locked in the vehicle. I have renewed this year, after the policy cover changed increasing the call out time to 1 hour as well as other changes."
Posted 3 years ago
"overall quite impressed with service how quick and easy. lot cheaper just to get breakdown cover cheaper fo my needs."
Posted 3 years ago
"I was fortunate enough not to have needed your services whilst on holiday - but very glad you were there! Very quick and easy to organise Erik Foster"
Posted 3 years ago
"We took the cover for a short break to France, and did indeed need to call for Breakdown assistance. After my initial call I was told that I would be called back within half an hour by the garage. I was not called back, and this was of slight concern, just because there was no communication, and I wasn't sure if someone was actually going to show up. However, about 90 minutes later the mechanic showed up and fixed our problem and we were on our way."
Posted 3 years ago
Breakdown Assist is rated 4.64 based on 1,053 reviews