Stainless Steel Style Bar With Windblocker, MX5 Mk1/2/2.5 Reviews

4.38 Rating 128 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

For the budget conscious looking for style over function we now offer a classic 'V' shape style bar in stainless steel. Fits all Mazda MX5 Mk1 & Mk2 models, including the Mk2 with the factory windblocker. Allows full rearwards movement of the seats (including the new facelift model). This is the only bar available that allows you to retain the factory windblocker or 'sound board' (the windblocker with speakers in it!) on Mk2/Mk2.5 carsFits all Mazda MX5 models 1989>2005Supplied complete with matching Plexiglass Windblocker FREE OF CHARGE!   

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Michael Walker
>
Totally excellent purchase. Easy to follow instructions tightened a couple of screws and bobs ya uncle. If you know how to use a spanner and a screw driver this is easy peezy! Brilliant and looks class too!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 17 years ago
Anthony Jones
>
Bar arrived within a day or two. Had a couple of scratches on it, although it was still well wrapped. Fits the car beautifully. Took about 30 minutes to fit, though the instructions are not too clear with regard to the spacers and washers above and below the bar on the seatbelt anchor. Once I got that figured it all worked, including both seat belt top covers. Trick is to loose fit it all, before tightening anything.
Helpful Report
Posted 17 years ago
Kev Hawkesford
>
Next day delivery,Read previous feed back and thought here goes?Took just over 1/2 hour to fit incl factory wind blocker,Best advice is to follow instructions(which ar'nt that great)and fit all fittings loose by hand then tighten up,Only draw back i had is the moulded black plastic covers which go over the seat belt bolt may need a little fine tuning to go back on?(Mk 2 V Reg 1999 model)The bar should come has standed on all MX 5's if you ask me,finishes it off nicely
Helpful Report
Posted 17 years ago
Linda Caudwell
>
I've just fitted these style bars and make no mistake thats what they are,style bars NOT roll bars.Once fitted they do look ok but I found that the mounting points would not line up unless I trimmed a small amount of the side mounting bracket to clear the rear torsion bar,trying to "bend" the bar into place puts sideways stress on the seat belt top mounting bolts causing damaged threads. the instructions do not show any drilling required,but the side mounting plate is supplied with 2 fixing points(on each side) on my wifes Mk 1 californian these holes do not line up with any "factory fitted" holes,therefore requiring 1 hole to be drilled on each side to mount the bar. After the initial fit I found the the seat belt hangers do not pivot freely as before,(when torqued up correctly),and the black plastic top seat belt mounting bolt covers will not fit without trimming.IN ALL EASY FIT,OK FOR THE MONEY,A BIT OF DEVELOPMENT WORK WOULD MAKE THEM A1Editors Note:I am a bit confused here, the bars are not designed to be fitted alongside the 'torsion bar' fitted to late Mk1's, in fact, I would not have expected it to be possible to do that! When fitting any style or roll bar you have to remove the brace bar if one is fitted. I suspect that is why none of the holes lined up?
Helpful Report
Posted 17 years ago
Amanda Stanbridge
>
Although this bar looks great i was disapointed with the very poor fit at the points where the wind deflector bolts are positioned, they were a good 10mm away from the body and had to be forced to fit (bent).Also the plastic anchor bolt covers had to be trimed around the stylebar to get them to fit again (mk2.5)Instructions are a little vageNot a five minute bolt on job even for my husband who is body repair man.Editors Note:The down brackets are spaced away from the body so that they can go over the brackets for the 'Factory Windblocker' where fitted. On cars without the factory unit you do need to bend them back so that they fit flush with the side panels.The plastic caps on the 2.5 models can be left intact if you fit a spacer to the seatbelt bolt (as used on earlier models).
Helpful Report
Posted 18 years ago
Julian Evans
>
.......What I didn't say on my previous review was the problem of re-fitting the plastic seat belt cover anchors. The driver side was fine (abeit a little tight) but the passenger side would not fit. When I measured the passenger side face-plate (that connects to the seat belt anchors) I found it to be .3 of inch out. Has anyone else experienced this? Please email me on Gdog Gdog Gdog Gdog if you have. Otherwsise as I said before - excellent addition to my car.
Helpful Report
Posted 18 years ago
Julian Evans
>
My wife bought me this for my birthday earlier this month. Wow! is the only way of describing this style bar. A little tricky to fit with the factory windblocker (nothing mentioned in the instructions on this) on my Mk2.5, but once on, it looks the part.The instructions (pictures only I'm afraid) are a little vague to say the least - but the stainless steel finish is excellent and the fitment in the end (a large sigh!) was 'pixel perfect'. Also a word of congrats for MX5parts on their customer service - top class.
Helpful Report
Posted 18 years ago
Matthew Cameron
>
This bar really transformed the look of the car, and there was no problem folding back the roof with the heated rear glass screen. Although it's not designed to survive a roll over, it looks substantial and to the untrained eye looks the part!!! One minor annoyance is that my seat belt head doesn't swivel like it used to, causing the belt to occassionally snag, but that could be my installation!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 18 years ago