Stainless Steel Style Bar With Windblocker, MX5 Mk1/2/2.5 Reviews

4.38 Rating 128 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

For the budget conscious looking for style over function we now offer a classic 'V' shape style bar in stainless steel. Fits all Mazda MX5 Mk1 & Mk2 models, including the Mk2 with the factory windblocker. Allows full rearwards movement of the seats (including the new facelift model). This is the only bar available that allows you to retain the factory windblocker or 'sound board' (the windblocker with speakers in it!) on Mk2/Mk2.5 carsFits all Mazda MX5 models 1989>2005Supplied complete with matching Plexiglass Windblocker FREE OF CHARGE!   

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Peter Keeling
>
I ordered the bar before 3 o'clock and recieved it the next day.Looked superb and I could not wait to fit it,So i tried on a cold and wet day.It would'nt fit so I e-mailed mx5parts who were very helpful-they said "funny we've had no problems but return it if you want no probs.Thought I'd try again and found the problem was me miss reading the very dubious instructions,had them fitted in twenty minutes and it looks supurb. Five stars for delivery,service and product-just needs better instructions.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Niki Barber
>
got the style bar today,exelent delivery & very easy to fit only took 20 mins with two people.having read previous reviews i was dreading the german instructions but well done mx5 parts,i got english ones hence the 20 mins to fit.very simple & easy.And it looks exelent.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Chris White
>
Bars look great now they are fitted. took 3hrs to fit due to the following:Needed to take the hacksaw to the over sized seat belt spacers ( I have Mk2.5 ).Be very carfull when fitting these bars as you need to use the top seat belt bolts, if you don't take time to check that everything is right before bolting up you will either strip the threads or end up with not enough thread back in the seat belt bolt holes, hence my need to use a hacksaw on the spacers that were welded to the bars. The overall fit is tight which is good as it seems to improve rigidity of the car.
Helpful Report
Posted 16 years ago
Len Bliss
>
Best accessory I have ever purchased for my Mk2.5 sport, fitted in approx 1.5hrs, looks fantastic.Build quality of my style bar was excellent. The instructions could be better, this was the only thing that initially put me off purchasing, from the previous reviews I read.It's about time this was sorted as it would not take very much time to do.
Helpful Report
Posted 16 years ago
Tania Williams
>
It doesnt tell you anywhere that you have to remove the main cross bar - this was 1 of the reasons I choose this one as in the picture it shows the cross bar still on. This does not fit with the original bar - INSTRUCTIONS ARE IN GERMAN how ever I fumbled my way around it 1/2 hour not bad for a girl ! Looks lovely & the plastic inset / wind breaker really sets it off.
Helpful Report
Posted 16 years ago
David Lloyd
>
Bar arrived in record time. Opened up the box....wow, looks great. It all went down hill from there!Previous customer reviews have reported poor instructions and poor fit, but having done a fair bit of work on cars, I didn't think I'd have much trouble. Wrong!!The instructions are really bad. Starts off ok. Remove bolt 'D' with spacer 'A' and 6x washers 'C'. Take out a screw and bin it, then replace with 'E' ....er...which then dissapears out of existence completely. Later on 'A' comes back as a screw for some reason. Basically, pretty poor.Now to the fit. Terrible! I was really careful to put everything in hand tight first. Took a bit of fiddling, but eventually everything was coaxed into what seemed like the correct position. It wasn't, so I ended up starting to strip the seatbelt bolts. Luckily I stopped in time, so the threads were recoverable by cleaning up with a tap and die.WARNING!! The seatbelt bolts are a strange size (M11 x 1.25mm pitch thread). I had to get a tap and die specially made, which cost a whopping £63.00. Don't think that you can get new bolts from Mazda either. They come as part of the seatbelt assembly and cannot be bought separately.With the threads sorted, I went about fitting the bar again. This time I put the seatbelt bolts in tight first (but not torqued) and descovered the reason for me starting to strip them in the firt place: The bolt slots in the bracket were about 10mm off on one side. At this point I should have sent the bar back, but in the end I modified the slots to fit.The bar is now on and admittedly looks good, although (as reported by others) the seabelt bolt covers will need modifying to fit! I advise anyone who buys this product to very carefully test fit it first. If it doesn't line up, send it back for a replacement. It's not worth risking the heartache and expense of damaging your pride and joy!.Scimitar: Your delivery service is fantastic. Your customer service is great. Your suppliers are letting you down! This is the second faulty product I have bought from you. I was going to buy a stainless exaust, but I'm not overly convinced now!Editors Note:What can I say, I'm really sorry that you have had this problem, and I really wish you had talked to us (even after stripping the thread, we have a fully equipped workshop). This is not normal for this product, it is made in Germany and the jigging is normally 'spot-on'. I have to say that we have sold record numbers of these this year, and out of over 600 bars sold since January we have only had two faulty ones. We appreciate that problems do happen, that is why everything is sold with a full warranty.
Helpful Report
Posted 16 years ago
Kevin Lewis
>
The bars were easy to fit and looked great the finish was 1st class only thing that needed trimming was the covers that go over the top of the seatbelt locations.
Helpful Report
Posted 16 years ago
NATHAN HAYWOOD
>
Yes well, surprise surprise, ordered the product and guess what....flippin German instructions AGAIN - Come on MX5Parts - your products are top notch - THIS IS SO SILLY AND SO EASY TO SORT OUT. Get the instructions put on the web now in a language we can all understand please!!!That said, the product is excellent. Fitted in around 40 minutes with basic tools. I do need to modify the plastic covers for the top of the seatbelts (Mk 2. Year 2000) but other than that it went on no worries. DO TAKE CARE when tightening up everything or you may strip threads if it is not lined up correctly. A bit of patience and logical working and you'll have some top style bars that really set the MX5 off. They are good value at the current price - not sure I would have been happy paying nearly £200....I'm afraid this only gets 3 stars ONLY because the instructions were in German and so many other customers have pointed this out time and time again.Editors Note: The instructions are pictorial and any words ARE in English. The item in German is the TUV certification only! (not required in the UK, but nice to know that it has it).
Helpful Report
Posted 16 years ago