Stainless Steel Style Bar With Windblocker, MX5 Mk1/2/2.5 Reviews

4.38 Rating 128 Reviews
Read MX5parts Reviews

For the budget conscious looking for style over function we now offer a classic 'V' shape style bar in stainless steel. Fits all Mazda MX5 Mk1 & Mk2 models, including the Mk2 with the factory windblocker. Allows full rearwards movement of the seats (including the new facelift model). This is the only bar available that allows you to retain the factory windblocker or 'sound board' (the windblocker with speakers in it!) on Mk2/Mk2.5 carsFits all Mazda MX5 models 1989>2005Supplied complete with matching Plexiglass Windblocker FREE OF CHARGE!   

Visit Product Page

Phone:

02392 644588

Email:

sales@mx5parts.co.uk

Location:

1 Orion Court, 5 Rodney Road,,

Stuart Harland
>
Ordered it Thursday lunchtime and arrived Friday morning. Fitted it myself in around 30 minutes. My only concern was from the pictured instructions, have I used the correct spacers/washers which you need to retain from the original seat belt fixings???Item sets of my wifes MX-5 a treat. Great service!
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Richard McIlwaine-Biggins
>
I ordered it on wednesday and received it on Friday. It wasn't too difficult to fit but it was a two man job and looks great except that it now catches slightly on the hood when being pulled up. Oh and the instructions weren't very good...
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Ashley Scully
>
As usual, delivery was first class and next day.The Style Bar is fantastic value and I was suprised at the weight and robust construction. The fitting instructions were worse than useless I thought. Am not sure how a non-engineering minded person would fare with fitting it but, it was really easy and took only 15 minutes. As with a lot of stainless welding, the plate brackets had pulled in and needed pulling..or in my case, hitting square again but thats relatively easy. My Jasper Conran Platinum Limited Edition looks even more the part than before. Well recommended.Ashley Scully
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Stephen Putnam
>
Ordered the bars on evening and recieved 1 day later. Found easy to fit once you get used to the spring in the bars. Looks good and sets the mx5 off with the top down.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Derek Joynson
>
I fully agree with some of the latest reviews. The bars look really good when fitted. The instructions need re-writing though. Were they tell you to replace a shim, and 2 washers back on the seat belt bolt, infact they now supply two SS spacers in the kit to take their place, which is good for looks. I found to use one washer, then the spacer, if you dont, you lose the swivel movement in the seatbelt retainer. The studded screw has to go back in the bottom hole of the bracket as that is the press stud for the hood cover. (The use of a small clamp helped to hold the side bracket in position). The top bolts supplied are pretty useless they are too long, and need a SS penny washer(not supplied) I went to a local boat chandler, and purchased 2 SS X M6 x 20mm pan head bolts and penny washers they did the job, and look good, and saves drilling right through. All worth it in the end.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
David Lawn
>
Ordered late on a Bank Holiday Monday and arrived on Wednesday. Diagrams were of "some" help but I received fittings that were completely different to those in the diagrams. Some e-mail correspondence, one at 09:30 at night, sorted me out (many thanks for the help). Fitting was pretty logical but fitting the seat belt bolts needed care because of the "spring" in the bars. I noted the tales of stripped threads. With care this was really an easy fit and the bars certainly look great and set off the car a treat!
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
Chris Barnes
>
Good quality, fast delivery, easy to fit.......Ordered 1pm day 1, received 3pm day 2 - superb service.Quality good, but bracket bar did require bending slightly were it had been knocked in transit - otherwise perfect.Instructions in English - well diagrams really, and as has been pointed out previously not much help. That said, style bars were fitted in about 15 minutes, once you've got the car and the bars in one place there's only really one way they can go together.So if you've been put off buying by the difficulties others have had, don't be, go ahead and buy.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago
John Johnston
>
Well, after reading all the reviews and being a worried about the poor instructions, I don't see what all the fuss is about!! I'ts pretty obvious how the bar fits. the only thing I changed were four m6 x 25mm hex bolts instead of the two machine screws supplied. The lower two thread into the existing captive nuts on the cars body while the upper two need drilled through with a 1/4 " bit and fitted with "nylock" nuts. You would be better to use largish washers on the outside to cover the 10mm slot. If you tighten these fixings first then the bar will be automatically stretched to ensure that the large seatbelt bolts will fit. Remember... Fit everything gradually, take a bit of time and care and you'll get a brilliant addition to your car.
Helpful Report
Posted 15 years ago