True Traveller Reviews

4.86 Rating 1,411 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend True Traveller
Read True Traveller Reviews

About True Traveller:

True Traveller - Travel Insurance designed by Travellers

When travelling overseas, the one thing you should never skimp on is your travel insurance cover, as should things go wrong you want the very best cover for you and your possessions.

At The True Traveller, we’re used to advising people on travelling all around the world, and due to feedback from our customers we’ve changed our insurance website, made it even better value and extended the range of products.

On Single Trips, we offer three Policies called True Value, Traveller and Traveller Plus. True Value is designed for travellers under 40 years of age, and is designed for last minute travellers and backpackers. The Traveller policy, our most popular, is designed for holiday makers and adventurous travellers alike, and Traveller Plus gives enhanced medical and cancellation cover.

On our Multi Trip Policies, again we offer the Traveller policy valid for unlimited trips throughout the year for durations up to 30 days, and the Traveller Plus policy which offers enhanced cover for unlimited trips lasting up to 70 days. We also have a budget True Value Policy for travellers under 40 years of age.

We’ve tried to get the prices as keen as possible on all our insurances. This means on the Single Trip and Multi-Trip you have the option to exclude Baggage Cover as this may well be covered in your Home Contents insurance; you also have the option to add-in different activity packs. The Traveller Pack covers 92 of the regular holiday activities which you will get involved in, and covers clerical/non-manual work as standard. The Adventure Pack covers a further 41 activities and is designed for the more adventurous traveller and backpacker, covering trekking to 4,600m, as well as volunteer work and manual work. The Extreme and Ultimate Packs covers all the more extreme and ultimate adventures. The Extreme covers trekking over 4,600m to any altitude, as well as Scuba Diving to 50M. The Ultimate covers Hang Gliding, Mountaineering and Polo to name just three of the Ultimate adventures!

Visit Website

Phone:

0333 999 3140

Email:

insurance@truetraveller.com

Location:

6 Drakes CourtyardKilburn High RoadLONDON NW6 7JR

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Easy site to navigate around. Plenty of additional options to choose from to suit your travel requirements. Really liking the option to extend whilst still travelling. Great prices!
Posted 4 days ago
Brilliant! Very helpful with additional declaration to aid with visa application. A*****
Posted 1 week ago
My man Craig helped me out no end. Top man is Craig. Give him a pay rise.
Posted 1 week ago
Easy, fast and solution-oriented service. It became my go-to insurance company!
Posted 1 week ago
Very good up to now.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Quick and helpful.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Used the chat service very helpful flexibility with insurance
Posted 3 weeks ago
Competitive prices and website is easy to get a quotation, hopefully will never need to make a claim!
Posted 1 month ago
Great coverage, flexible plans and fab customer service - thanks Luke!!!!
Posted 1 month ago
very helpful advice form the staff
Posted 1 month ago
Hi, Firstly their website is very clear and intuitive to use. The amount, variation and tailored policies that are available at a click is truly fantastic. Definitely not a case of “one size fits all”, so the flexibility is refreshing. Being able to add and extend cover whilst already traveling is genius. Also offering COVID cover is groundbreaking. The whole process is simple and straight forward with no fuss and most definitely cost effective. Why would you go anywhere else ?
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service and very polite and helpful on phone. Good value.
Posted 1 month ago
I have not had to make a claim through True Traveller - all I can speak of is their ease of use and customer service so far is definitely 5 stars.

I am already travelling and when there was confusion around brexit I phoned them and we got to the bottom of if I was able to be covered very quickly, the lady had to ask a manager and with a few more clarifying questions it was resolved.

But the real great thing is their website - you can log in and extend your travel insurance as you plans change really easily, don't even need a passport, just your surname and DOB will take you straight to your profile. You can extend your travel insurance and amend it really easily.

Thankfully I have not had to make any claim so CANNOT speak for that part of the service, however, the customer service and ease of use I have received so far is truly excellent.
Posted 1 month ago
Easy to purchase, the employee on the phone was very helpful and clear for me, which as a 19year old traveller was very appreciative of. Definitely recommend!
Posted 1 month ago
Mine wasn't easy as I had come out to Thailand with Covid cover only to discover that I wasn't' covered for other medical issues. Looked around the web, found TT and 15 minutes later, I was insured (at a reasonable price). First-class.
Posted 1 month ago
A unique insurance service that can be activated when you are already abroad, unlike most companies. The staff were very helpful both when I phoned and emailed to ask questions about the cover in these unprecedented times.
Posted 1 month ago
Escaped covering me on an FCO wording technicality. Won’t give me my premium back as cancellation insurance essentially worthless. If the government says you can only go if essential then that isn’t enough. I chose carefully at the time expecting to be covered by alas no. I won’t be renewing. Buyer beware. They will try to wriggle out over any technicality.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi

This customer booked a holiday and it was cancelled by the airline. Under those circumstances the airline refunded their money in full. They did initially contact us about a cancellation claim, and we did point this out to them that if flights are cancelled by the airline, it is the airline who arranges the refund. Cancellation cover on travel insurance covers you not being able to travel due to illness, redundancy etc. We also asked multiple times for details of the holiday to see if we could assist with anything, but nothing was forthcoming.

The last contact we had with this customer was last October when they emailed in with the following:

"You have been incredibly kind and lovely when you have such a difficult job. I know it isn't you who is making this difficult.

Thank you for trying so hard - I really do feel you care. "

So it wasn't an escape of not covering. It was the fact there wasn't a claim at all.

The True Traveller
Posted 2 months ago
Thankyou True Traveller for always being there for us, a massive peace of mind, will always recommend to all our friends how helpful your company has been.
Posted 2 months ago
User friendly website, excellent response time to my queries would not hesitate to use TrueTraveller for future holidays
Posted 2 months ago
I just wanted to make the TT team aware of my very negative experience with CEGA over the past 5 days. Not only has the team been extremely unresponsive, but any information that was shared was very misleading and contradicting. It felt like each person I spoke to told me something different. After spending c.1h on the phone each day, I ended up getting a contradictory reply last night about further assessment not being covered. I feel like this could have been communicated much earlier, more clearly, and could have avoided spending loads of time on the phone. Moreover I ended up booking a return based on the information that I would be able to see a specialist in Switzerland, only to subsequently receive a message saying I was no longer covered to see a specialist. I find such misleading communication very challenging in an emotionally tough time with a lot of pain and insecurity regarding my thumb injury. I just thought I would let the TT team know as no customer of theirs should be treated in this way and have to go through such an experience. I must say that this is likely the last time I will be booking TT insurance.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi

This customer emailed us just before he posted this review.

We didn't know anything about this claim at all, as we're only advised of very large claims as they happen. We do though state on our claims page for customers to contact us immediately if they feel they're not getting the service they should.

CEGA has now contacted the customer so his thumb injury can be seen by a specialist on Monday. We have asked for a full review of the case and will share that with our customer when complete.

The True Traveller
Posted 2 months ago
True Traveller is rated 4.86 based on 1,411 reviews