True Traveller Reviews

4.85 Rating 1,437 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend True Traveller
Read True Traveller Reviews

About True Traveller:

True Traveller - Travel Insurance designed by Travellers

When travelling overseas, the one thing you should never skimp on is your travel insurance cover, as should things go wrong you want the very best cover for you and your possessions.

At The True Traveller, we’re used to advising people on travelling all around the world, and due to feedback from our customers we’ve changed our insurance website, made it even better value and extended the range of products.

On Single Trips, we offer three Policies called True Value, Traveller and Traveller Plus. True Value is designed for travellers under 40 years of age, and is designed for last minute travellers and backpackers. The Traveller policy, our most popular, is designed for holiday makers and adventurous travellers alike, and Traveller Plus gives enhanced medical and cancellation cover.

On our Multi Trip Policies, again we offer the Traveller policy valid for unlimited trips throughout the year for durations up to 30 days, and the Traveller Plus policy which offers enhanced cover for unlimited trips lasting up to 70 days. We also have a budget True Value Policy for travellers under 40 years of age.

We’ve tried to get the prices as keen as possible on all our insurances. This means on the Single Trip and Multi-Trip you have the option to exclude Baggage Cover as this may well be covered in your Home Contents insurance; you also have the option to add-in different activity packs. The Traveller Pack covers 92 of the regular holiday activities which you will get involved in, and covers clerical/non-manual work as standard. The Adventure Pack covers a further 41 activities and is designed for the more adventurous traveller and backpacker, covering trekking to 4,600m, as well as volunteer work and manual work. The Extreme and Ultimate Packs covers all the more extreme and ultimate adventures. The Extreme covers trekking over 4,600m to any altitude, as well as Scuba Diving to 50M. The Ultimate covers Hang Gliding, Mountaineering and Polo to name just three of the Ultimate adventures!

Visit Website

Phone:

0333 999 3140

Email:

insurance@truetraveller.com

Location:

6 Drakes Courtyard, Kilburn High Road, London

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
True Traveller is the best travel Insurance company I have used in my 35 years of travelling. Never an issue. Even when needed an extremely expensive emergency hospital treatment. They were attentive, respectful and always reassured me. Their service is second to none.
Posted 1 week ago
Very good service
Posted 3 weeks ago
I have bought 2 policies and had 3 claims. The purchase process was really easy and the ability to purchase after travel has started and to extend thereafter is a saviour. I would recommend paying extra to have a NIL excess. I didn't on the first policy and had 3 claims in quick succession costing me 3x£75! Without any excess I could have made a further claim. (3 x Insect bites and a dog bite, relatively minor but requiring hospital/clinic treatment) The claims process was simple and could be completed on my phone. They take a really practical approach in both the timescales they give for claiming (so you can do it when convenient to you, not them) and by accepting photos and online completed forms. The claims agent used, CEGA, are superb. All the staff seem to be top notch, empathetic and they make sure you are in good hands by questioning the care you have received to ensure it is the best for your condition.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Super easy to navigate the website. Different choices of policy is great.
Posted 1 month ago
Overall an impressive organisation and it's reassuring to be covered by TrueTraveller. My only negative point is that I had a minor treatment for a bad back (just 2 sessions with a chiropractor) and my claim was considered invalid. Apparently I should have visited a doctor first who would then have advised a visit to a chiropractor. (This seems fairly illogical since then I would have been applying to reimbursement for a doctor PLUS a chiropractor). This is my reason for only giving 3 stars but apart from that I'm happy...
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Mr Eveleigh Thanks for your review. Travel Insurance, unlike private health insurance, is there for urgent and unexpected medical assistance, and not for ongoing issues or minor medical issues. To ensure that physiotherapy treatments are not taken for non-urgent complaints, you will find that travel insurers will ask for a referral from a medical professional first; much like what happens if you try to get physiotherapy treatment on the National Health Service We do state this in the policy wording and on the claims page on our website. We have no problem in paying for physiotherapy referrals as in the long run, it keeps claims costs down, and premiums. The True Traveller
Posted 1 month ago
The web page was very easy to navigate, and everything explained in a very straightforward way.
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent service, completely deserving of a 5 star review... The website is easy to navigate, clear and concise and offers 2 years of insurance unlike other companies. Chris, the salesman I spoke with on the phone was exceptional throughout and even called me the next day with a courtesy call to confirm my policy had gone through as I had an issue with my card. Couldn’t recommend them anymore. Thanks guys 🤙
Posted 1 month ago
It was a really bad experience, especially since been buying policies from True Taveller many times. Made a genuine mistake on the policy bought, rang your office immediately (within an hour). Nothing was resolved. No flexibility whatsoever. Totally unacceptable.
Posted 1 month ago
Dear Ms Chan Thanks for your review, and we're very sorry you found our service unacceptable. You purchased a policy for your son, and then later phoned us up asking for the policy to be cancelled, and when asked, you said he had already left the UK. Like all travel insurance policies, the 14-day cooling off period only applies as long as travel hadn't started. Our operator did ask you if you were sure that he had left, and to email in a copy of the e-ticket to demonstrate that he was still here. We never received anything from you. We are not able to cancel policies once travel as commenced, as unfortunately we have had experience of people taking out insurance to prove evidence of insurance to tour companies, employers or immigration agencies and then fraudulently try to cancel their insurance down or have used their Insurance Documents to obtain medical treatment for free. This is made very clear as part of the application process. Had you, as asked, provided evidence that your son had not travelled, then of course we would have been able to assist. The True Traveller
Posted 1 month ago
You never know how good an insurance company is until you need to make a claim. The staff at True Traveller were exemplary. They made what could have been an already stressful situation much easier. From first contact through the whole claims process, it was simple and efficient. Thanks, True Traveller, you exceeded my expectation :)
Posted 1 month ago
Really easy to use; smart, intuitive online process.
Posted 1 month ago
Quite easy to use website, once you get the hang of it. Staff are very helpful when you have an issue - or need to make a claim and the 'system' for claiming is so much better now, meaning I can leave the sorting out to True Traveller! A much easier process too! Thank you!
Posted 2 months ago
Yet to make a claim, but the starting and renewing were a pleasure. All facts clear and the online chat was quick and efficient. Even a transcript of the online chat to my email without asking....so no doubt about what was said.
Posted 2 months ago
Great - easy to sign up, good value for money, documentation easy and clear and customer support super personal.
Posted 2 months ago
I can't review properly as my cover hasn't even started yet but I will say that I tried phoning several times before buying the policy because I had some questions. No one ever answered the phone. I called within the correct time frame. Just to add because I can't seem to reply to the response left by true traveller that the phone lines just rang and then after a time cut off. There was no automated answer or response. I also tried to find other contact numbers but it was the same number. So yeah maybe something is wrong?
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Thanks for your review. Our phone lines are automatically answered by a system which announces that you've called TT and goes through some important information which we must disclose for compliance purposes, including of course that all calls are recorded. In this way, we can also track who has called us, and at very busy times, we can then call customers back if they've been kept in the queuing system for too long. We actually haven't had to do this at all recently, as, with all the COVID restrictions, we have been quieter than usual. We do have LiveChat available on our website as well, so from overseas, people can "chat" to us over the website to avoid calling altogether. The True Traveller Team.
Posted 2 months ago
Really helpful. Great if you need flexibility with your travels.
Posted 2 months ago
Used True Traveller now for around 8 years. Always respond to any queries in a really quick response. Unfortunately i have had to claim once since I have used them. Speedy with no hassle and really simple to claim online. I would not use anyone else for my travel insurance
Posted 2 months ago
Travelling in Australia during the pandemic I needed to extend my insurance, I’ve found True Traveller to be easy to use and competitively priced
Posted 2 months ago
Done remotely as already travelling. Seemed to be straightforward. I guess the proof of the pudding is in the tasting. Hopefully I won’t have to!!
Posted 2 months ago
Great service, fool proof website. I had a concern about my insurance so I emailed them bearing in mind it was a Sunday they instantly got back to me, highly recommend.
Posted 2 months ago
Always had a good experience booking cover.
Posted 3 months ago
True Traveller is rated 4.85 based on 1,437 reviews