The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,250 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 18th July 2022
Rachel H
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 10th July 2022
Raymond B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
46
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The course and teacher were both excellent. However, I was unable to attend the second day due to illness, and when I contacted the office I was told I'd need to pay an extra £75 and provide a doctor note to attend another course. NHS health professionals have not been allowed to provide a 'note' for years, and it is unacceptable that I should have to pay such an extortionate amount for an unforeseeable circumstance. I found the administration highly unprofessional.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Classroom training has been fine. However I'm not impressed with the online course. It seems everything is all over the place and you're not sure where to start. I only just now found out that there is something called the Grammar Guru that can help students. As per the forum coffee shop mine doesn't even work and you can't click on a 'link' so I need to get this fixed to use it. I also find a lot of inaccuracies with the Units and explanations vs the videos sometimes at the end of the units, which really hinder on my learning experience. For example Unit 3 'verbs that are not verbs' it clearly makes the point that gerunds are NOT verbs they are forms or verbs. Whereas the mini video at the end, the tutor quite clearly describes them as verbs. So this has me even more confused. I genuinely wanted to like this particular TEFL org course and did lots of research between institiutions before I decided to pay more with this provider, I thought it would be worth it. I'm sorry to say I wish I went with a cheaper provider as I have not been impressed so far. The lack of support is unreal and it seems you can only contact your tutor when you get to doing assignments in the future, it does;t seem there is any support unless I'm missing something.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Monica, Thank you for taking the time to review of our course. I'm sorry to hear that you feel that there is a lack of support on your online course. Students are assigned a personal online tutor as soon as they submit their online learner agreement. Online tutors are able to answer any questions students have about the topics covered on the course at any time - not just when they reach the written assignments. Students are also given access to our online community where you can connect with others completing the same course Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
It hasn't, as I've more questions than answers about everything that I read in the course book. Because the responses I get are quite short and don't always address all the things I've asked about when I send my daily questions to the support email address, I tend to struggle and am hampered in the speed I can learn. I turn to other sites online to gather information and then I get frustrated because I'm looking at what may or may not be different terms for the same things and it is hard to know for sure if they are. It's unsettling to know that I could be learning in the incorrect way and that using American English sites for aid may be confusing me and hampering my chances of scoring well when it comes to my assignments in the future. I have been stuck in limbo for quite a while, as after I completed my first two automated tests, ensuring that I got 100%, I knew that I was not in the position to help anybody on those two subjects (nouns and verbs), as it was more of an elimination game t than one of understanding. The option for real-time audio or video with someone who can help is sorely needed, in my opinion, as I surely cannot be the only person who struggles with a format that can take a day or two to give you a potentially helpful response to something that has you roadblocked.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Considering that we are living in an age of online education and the quality of online training generally being very high, I found the quality of TEFL Org course design perplexingly low - the course materials are text based, the videos included are copied from free internet resources and the exercises are very superficial and insufficient in quality. The course platform itself must have been put together (I deleted designed, as it is a misuse of this verb in this context) in the 90-ies and is almost derelict. I am simultaneously taking a Future Learning course in preparation for IELTS, it's a six weeks course which is available completely free of charge - and there is such gap in the quality of the two courses (and one being free) that it is even embarassing to go into details. I was so disappointed by TEFL Org that in the first three days I have asked for a refund - I did not get it (correct me if I am wrong, but I think there is a 2-weeks refund period for things bought online). I think TEFL Org should urgently redesign their courses to be able to offer a product that meets the standards and demands of the time.
Helpful Report
(Online) - Posted 5 years ago
Hello Natalia, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently updating our online course options, all of which will be hosted on a new learning platform. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
My assignments were corrupted thanks to your website. I have already complained and I'm still waiting for my complaint to be dealt with.
Helpful Report
(Online) - Posted 5 years ago
Hello Helen. We can see that you have now successfully passed your course and your certificate has been issued. It was only one of your assignments there was an issue with, and it wasn’t corrupted, it just hadn’t been completely copied and pasted into the assignment submission box. We talked you through how to resubmit it, and made sure that the resubmission didn’t affect your grade. We also offered to resubmit the assignment for you, and gave you the option to send it directly to your tutor by email. Two people in our office explained to you on the phone that the website had not corrupted your assignment, it was just a copy and paste error. Your assignment was resubmitted and graded the same day and your certificate was issued the following day. We are sorry you experienced difficulties submitting your assignment, but we dealt with your complaint quickly and found a solution almost immediately and it did not affect the result of your course. Congratulations on passing your course and we wish you a successful career in TEFL.
Posted 5 years ago
I find the lessons and the questions ambiguous and confusing. As you may be able to see from my scores that I have repeated when I understand what is being asked I score very highly but I wanted to understand more and be challenged. Instead I just find the course frustrating and off putting.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Adam, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our course. I've passed the points you have raised on to our academic team. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
I am enjoying the course but I find the word count in the assignments frustrating particularly as my Tutor then has an unlimted wordcount in showing me a sample lesson. I also note that sometimes quizzes have titles for lessons in plans which have never been mentioned in all of the previous lessons. I can give example of this but I think you would benefit from searching from them as course providers.
Helpful Report
(Online) - Posted 5 years ago
I found it very difficult to pay for my course. However, the main thing is I did not see where it stated there was a time limit to complete the course. As I work 6 nights a week during the summer months I am struggling to even look at the course at this moment in time. Had I known I was limited to 6 months I would have waited to buy my course until after September when my workload lifts considerably. I am feeling at the moment I may have wasted my money as I am so very worried I will not be able to complete the course on time. It sounds as though I earn a lot of money but I live in Portugal and minimum wage here is a joke, also I get paid for work done and not hours completed. I had to save for over 6 months to pay for this course to try to better myself and right now I am feeling cheated. I would be very interested in your response.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Julie, Thank you for your feedback. Timescales to complete the course are clearly outlined both on our website and in our terms and conditions. You can also see the course expiry date when you log in to your student account. In saying that, the course is self-paced so it is still possible to complete all the required coursework within the time remaining. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
I feel that my experience with TEFL was a poor one, mainly because I was not given accurate information before signing up. This was not just on the part of TEFL, but also ELC, but as TEFL were responsible for recruiting I think they should have provided more clear information before signing up. I received full terms and conditions only after signing, with no cooling off period in which to change my mind.
Helpful Report
(Newcastle) - Posted 6 years ago
Hello Stephanie, Thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide both timely and accurate information about our courses and our internship programmes. We offer telephone, email and live chat customer service support Monday to Friday 9am-5:30pm. Full T&Cs for our courses and internship programmes are available on our website at all times in compliance with the Consumer Protection (Distance Selling) Regulations 2000 (SI 2000/2334) (Distance Selling Regulations) and the Electronic Commerce (EC Directive) Regulations 2002 (SI 2002/2013) (E-commerce Regulations). Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
Our tutor Simon was very presentable, polite and experienced. I just felt we all had too much to get through over a weekend.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I have just finished the 140 hour course online. The reading material was incredibly informal, and had many errors including misplaced punctuation and misspelled words. Because this TEFL course has been running for a long time I would have expected the organization to constantly be improving, however many of the pages had not been updated for several years (up to ten). The videos were of a poor quality, and at times completely inaudible. The grading policy is so lenient that it seems impossible to fail the course, which is just another reason that this course seems like more of a "do it just to get the piece of paper" than "do it to learn and grow". I did a lot of research before picking which organization to use, and had faith in this one because of the majority of positive reviews. The negative reviews just seemed nit-picky. But having done the course, perhaps the majority of positive reviews were from a different course.
Helpful Report
(Online) - Posted 6 years ago
I am currently working through Unit 2 and have found a couple of the quiz questions very ambiguous. This applied to questions in Unit 1 also and I had to take the test a couple of times, having viewed the answers for comprehension. This was far from ideal and not what I had hoped to achieve.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
My tutor refuses to accept my essays via email
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Sam, Thank you for your reviewing our course. Assignment submissions must be uploaded through our online learning platform so both the tutor and student have access to the most up-to-date copy of the assignment, and leave feedback and notes. If you are having issues uploading an assignment, please contact our Online Courses Manager or administration team who will be able to talk you through the process. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
Am really disappointed as a native English speaker and having been a public school boy I have struggled to get passed the early stages of the TEFL course. There seems to be little to no help, if you can teach a non English speaker it should be simple to teach me but no help so I have given up and will concentrate my efforts elsewhere. I would not recommend this course.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the level of support on the course Duncan. All students are given a personal online tutor to help them with the course material if they have any difficulties and answer any questions they may have about teaching English as a foreign language. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
I sent an email via the TEFL website a few days ago, asking if there was an appropriate dress code (considering the venue is the Scotsman Hotel) and whether any refreshments would be provided at the course 25-27 January. I have had no response to my email, which reflects poorly on this email request facility, making it appear unmonitored.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Lynne, I'm sorry to hear that you did not receive a response to your enquiry. Refreshments are provided during the course. We do not have a formal dress code for our courses, we just ask attendees to dress comfortably. I hope you enjoy the course! Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
My name is Filipa I am trying to finish the TEFL course online but I am not enjoying at all as the site is not user friendly and it is difficult to organise the subjects. To be honest I don't like it at all. I lose so many time trying to find things that I get bored. Yesterday I did exercises until number eleven and than it didn't saved it. I would not recommend it. Kind Regards
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
The course itself so far has been good however my tutor's email was quite rude. I had asked if he could send some job posts my way and he didn't respond, so I sent a follow up email. He responded saying he didn't realise he needed to reply? And he didn't apologise. This process should be about communication and has put my off a bit.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Thank you for the opportunity. I bought the course as it was on offer on "Black Friday". It was the first additional course to the intensive weekend course. I was under the impression that the courses had to be completed in one month from start, I did not realise it was from date of purchase. As we were moving home and had no wifi until 17/12 there was no hope of completion by 27/12 given the festive season. I have, therefore, lost my money. I contacted the office and the total lack of flexibility, given the circumstances, was eye opening. I have been involved in organising and delivering adult education most of my working life and found this attitude surprising, I am now uncertain if I have the confidence in TEFL to continue. The loss of the skills learned on the intensive weekend course is the only reason that I might continue at some time. I hope you will take my comments on board.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Alan, I decided not to go ahead and do this course because of health reasons. I contacted TEFL about cancelling course and asked for a refund. I was told that I cannot get a refund so I left the situation as it is. This is my experience with TEFL. Kind regards, Sandra
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Thank you for your feedback Sandra. I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to complete your TEFL course due to illness. As you had started your course, we were unable to give you a refund of the course fee but our administration team did offer to freeze your student account so you pick your course up again at a later date when you were feeling better. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
Hi, I have only just started your course, but am finding it a little frustrating. I am still on assignment number 1 (writing a class plan), having had it reviewed twice so far. Obviously I am missing something vital to be failing such a simple task, but as you have no written examples I am unsure how to complete and move on.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Hello Sandra, Sorry to hear that you are having difficulties completing the first assignment. If you contact your tutor, or our Online Courses Manager, they will be able to provide further guidance and support. I hope you enjoy the rest of the course. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 6 years ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.5 based on 5,250 reviews