The TEFL Org Reviews

4.5 Rating 5,251 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The TEFL Org
Read The TEFL Org Reviews

About The TEFL Org:

Established in 2008, The TEFL Org is the UK's most experienced and accredited TEFL course provider offering classroom, online & combined TEFL courses.

Visit Website

Phone:

01349800600

Email:

info@tefl.org

Location:

Suite Number 4, 8 Church Street

Write Your review

Tell us how The TEFL Org made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 18th July 2022
Rachel H
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 10th July 2022
Raymond B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 22nd June 2022
Valentina G
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 19th June 2022
Tamara C
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 30th July 2021
Janelle S
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 24th May 2021
Bastian B
The TEFL Org 5 star review on 6th March 2021
Doaa B
46
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Tutor work and computer written assignment work is a failure. You are spending too much money on Tutors that are not Tutors. Tutors only comment was "Retry. or Retry,not enough words". When I've called Internationally to ask questions, no "tutors" are available. I did not receive any feedback on written content or correction of sentences. I have a Masters in Education and have taught classes at Elementary,Middle school ,High school levels and I have taught at 3 universities for the last 30 years. The requirement to present a lesson plan in X number of words is ignorance at best. I have been writing 4 to 6 pages of Specific Behavioral Objectives for each instruction period.(each class) for the last 30 years. I have a Masters of Divinity where I translate Greek and Hebrew weekly. Some of your assumptions on teaching methods is poor. Your tutors are poor examples creating misinformation in their "tutoring". I will be recommending "GoFluent" over TEFL in the future.You took my money and my time and have failed to certify me under the pretense of "standards". The written requirement is a complete failure. We have a saying "that if a student receives a no pass or fail review of their work,its really a no pass/failure grade for the teacher(tutor) or TEFL.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
English is my native language and I don't understand some of these lessons. When I asked for help, I was told to go over previous videos. Not much help!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Plenty of unengaging content that appears has been produced on a tight budget. Concepts are explained poorly and the grammar section is very basic - would expect more content instead of being advised to buy further study materials.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
well the short videos are rubbish. I've tried to log on numerous times and the site is non responsive. I work all over the UK and abroad. Not the best at the mo. Trying to do the quizzes which are great, but the on screen is same as others and as a teacher, there are so many faults that your guys are doing. regards David 07900 215678
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi David, Thank you for talking the time feedback on your experience so far. Sorry to hear that you are having difficulties with the website. I'll get our IT team to get in touch ASAP so we can get those issues resolved. Kind regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 3 years ago
I just started ..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, the course overall has been good so far. I have Completed and passed one section of my course, of which I received an email saying that my Certificate will be mailed to me. I have made sure I put the correct address, however there’s nothing yet on my mail. I have not heard anything regarding whether my certificate has been sent to me or not. I would like to know as I am almost done with my Course. I have a suggestion for the Testing quizzes, specifically the Assignments. The questions are not particularly clear, or I personally found them not corresponding with the expected answer or the numbers of words given. I did write a response to my tutor’s feedback 3 working days ago, and still nothing from him. This part of the course is confusing and I found frustrating. As I now have skipped all the assignments to do them last as a result I am not enjoying the course at the moment.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Busisiwe, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Once you have completed your course, you will receive a hardcopy TEFL certificate through the post. This is normally issued the next working day. We use Royal Mail Standard International so it can take around 5-7 working days to arrive. A PDF copy of your certificate will also be available to download from your student account too. I'm sorry to hear that you have not received a response from your online tutor yet. Tutors are given up to two working days to respond to email enquiries. If you do need anything clarified, topics covered during the course or assignments/tasks, you can always contact our academic support team on support@tefl.org.uk. Kind regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Alan. I’ve been attempting the Past Simple quiz a number of times and I know all of my answers are correct, however, they have been marked as incorrect ones every time. It is frustrating as even refreshing the page doesn’t make any difference... It feels as I’m wasting my time with Tefl. Regards. Kinga
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Kinga, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we always appreciate student feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with one of the grammar quizzes. If you ever need a grammar point clarified, our academic team are always on hand to help. You can contact them on support@tefl.org.uk. If you believe that your answers are correct and that it's a technical issue instead, our IT team can be contacted on techsupport@tefl.org.uk. They will be able to investigate and resolve any issues ASAP. Kind regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 3 years ago
So far I wasn't contacted by my Tutor even once.. I struggled a lot with some coursework and wrote to my tutor (couldn't find the email for some reason) but didn't get any response so far. I wish someone was contacting me once in a while to see how I was doing as the only email I got so far was an automated introduction email from the tutor and nothing since then. I am very disappointed and not very sure if I want to go ahead with the course now.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hello Serap, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that you have not received a response from your online tutor yet. Tutors are given a 48-hour window to respond to all email enquiries. Contact details of your tutor can be found in your welcome email. If you encounter any further issues, or require additional support, you can always contact our Support Team on support@tefl.org.uk. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Alan, When I registered for the 120 hour + weekend course in Chicago, the address that was sent was 1125 W Loyola Ave. So I made reservations for a place to stay nearby. Just yesterday I receive an e-mail that the course is at the Loyola Watertower campus! So now I’m on the other side of Chicago, not knowing the rail system, the Saturday class ends at 8 PM, and it’s dark. I am not happy with this type of communication! Sincerely, Nancy Raykov I'm just home from my Chicago weekend class. I am still disappointed with your company because of your poor communication of where the weekend course took place. My change of location e-mail just said it was at the Loyola Watertower Campus. Do you have any idea how big Chicago is? Do you know that the waterpower campus consists of a few skyscraper office buildings? There was NO address, NO classroom #, NO street names!! And TEFL is in the business of teaching communication? I was not the only student who had the wrong information. Besides your poor communication skills !!! The class was wonderful. Our teacher Charlie, was great. She communicated well with all of us students who were at different levels with our on-line coursework. We did many lesson plans and presented them to the class, then got a lot of feedback as to what worked well and what would have made it better. She shared her own experiences as a teacher in South Korea and gave us an idea of what it was like. I'm comfortable with my skills and I'm anxious to finish my on-line portion and look into the jobs. Sincerely, Nancy Raykov
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I enrolled for two course at the same time to get the deal you were offering, it terms out I did need to rush as you have continued to offer the discount deal, second thing is there a time limits on courses, six months seems ok, I didn't notice that the second course I purchased again to get the discount deal only runs for a month, I'm very disappointed that I have know had to purchase an extension. I have purchased many internet courses and have never come across having to purchase an extension. I won't recommend your courses and will probably not make any more purchase with you.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
The assignments were irrelevant to the courses. Impractical and useless for the course topics. Could not see any purpose in using my time to create assignments thar serve no use.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I was expecting a lot more in terms of content. I couldn't believe it was over so quickly. I don't think the part that deals with setting up a web page and finding customers should be separated from the actual certificate.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I am still waiting on my certificate
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hello Radomira, Sorry to hear that you have not received your TEFL certificate yet. It was posted to you on the 18th December. If you still haven't received it by the 18th January, please get back in touch with us. You can still apply for work with the digital version of your certificate whilst you wait for the hardcopy in the post. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 4 years ago
Some rubric incorrect, very confusing for the student. Some quiz instructions ambiguous (see forum discussion). I wasted much time searching for "downloadable course book" - eventually to find I needed "Course". They are not synonymous! I question the need for anyone native or non-native speaker to need to know of a bloat of hippos! Am very dubious about the benefit to me - admittedly I am a retired teacher of English - spent my career teaching grammar.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
hello, I cant write anything here. because I have cancelled the course. I have sent the email several times to you, but I couldn't get any answer about refund the money.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
it was too difficult with no tips to help. im a fluent english speaker born in the uk and brought up im british. i didnt even get my tefl certificate. wasted my money. basically just gave my moneg away. i really wanted this to help me teach in spain. so upsetting
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
confused as to how the online material fits into the 2 day course - could have started the exercises before the course. expected the 2-day course to provide more links to the online materials - did not relalise it would be basically stand alone classroom techniques - which is not relevant to my online teaching. no clear schedule of timings for the course. best part of the course was practical session on last day which only allowed 2 hours as we appeared to be running late- i felt a lot of the time was wasted stand up team building exercises rather than practical stand up sessions. poor focus on conversational english too much emphasis on grammar
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
To start off after I was allocated a tutor he had not reached out to me to let me know he was my tutor. It had already already passed 48hours as informed that I would have to wait after signing up. I had to email him, he finally introduced himself. A few days later I let him know that I was having trouble downloading the PDF for the course. It took him over 3 days to get someone else to send it too me. I've advised 3 of my friends not to sign up yet. Their in their last year of uni and I don't think they should make the same mistake as I did. Unless I get in touch with my tutor I'm just another number to him. I'm hoping to just complete the course and I'm hoping it worth it. There's nothing wrong the with course itself. I just don't feel comfortable contacting my tutor knowing full well he is disinterested in helping me.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Alan, my wife and I are enrolled for the TEFL weekend course in November which we are both looking forward to. Both my brothers have successfully completed TEFL courses and were full of praise for your courses, instructors etc. We found your website very poor indeed when enrolling - unclear, too much scrolling etc. Sorry for being negative but we really thought your website would be up to the same standard as your courses.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Thanks for the great feedback. We always look to improve and make our website more user friendly. Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
Hey, I signed up for a 120 hour course, and instead of encouraging me to start the online part of the course, you keep sending me emails about how to find a job etc..., I just thought the emails from TEFL are too frequent and not connected with what I'm actually supposed to be doing... but I'm sure I will have a better experience soon, as I actually start the course. Thanks!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Florence. We try to make our emails as relevant as possible so will pass your feedback on to our marketing team. Regards, Alan, TEFL Advisor
Posted 5 years ago
The TEFL Org is rated 4.5 based on 5,251 reviews