Origin Global Reviews

4.33 Rating 535 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend Origin Global
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
On-time Delivery
Greater than 88%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 90%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Read Origin Global Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0808 168 5816

Email:

origin@ignitionsearch.co.uk

Location:

Sands 10 Industrial Estate, Hillbottom Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Origin Global made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Origin Global 5 star review on 19th June 2019
Derek & Rachel Little
More Photos & Videos
Origin Global 5 star review on 3rd December 2018
Jonathan Meadowcroft
More Photos & Videos
Origin Global 5 star review on 23rd October 2018
Chris Vincent
More Photos & Videos
Origin Global 5 star review on 25th May 2018
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Origin Global 5 star review on 17th May 2018
Dale Macdonald
More Photos & Videos
Origin Global 5 star review on 17th May 2018
Dale Macdonald
More Photos & Videos
Origin Global 5 star review on 30th March 2018
Peter Farrier
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Asked and were quoted by Origin Windows for two casement windows and two bay windows the latter consisting of 5 panels. Agreed the quote and then 4 weeks before the installation date Origin informed the suppliers (J C Glass) that they did not supply the jacks that are a FENSA requirement for bay window installation and therefore our supplier could not accept those windows. I phoned to check this was correct and then JC Glass wrote and phoned to ensure that this was true - Origin confirmed that this was the case. Thus they were supplying a product that would not meet industry requirements. This has delayed the project by two months and is indicative of a firm that is either ignorant of or reckless in terms of industry requirements and the impact of their carelessness upon customers.
Posted 1 month ago
Good Afternoon Mr Hudson,

We are sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced so far.

Origin takes the industry regulations very seriously with stringent testing and compliance. We would never knowingly supply a product that was not fit for purpose. However we would be happy to investigate this further for you. You can email our Aftersales team at solutions@origin-global.com who will look into this for you.

Kind Regards

Origin
Posted 4 weeks ago
Poor standards of finish on doors complained to company that fitted bi-folddoors they say that this is origins standard.After spending 3,500No one from Origin willing to come out and inspect the issue. One door has dent in the aluminium but it’s just been painted over so leaves an orange peel effect where the dent is. Origin Say that if you can’t see it from 2 meters that’s there standard !SHOCKING STANDARDS ! for a company that says it prides itself on QUALITY I will never buy again from them
Posted 1 month ago
Good Afternoon, We are sorry to hear that you have experienced possible manufacturing issues with your doors. If you have not done so, you can email our aftersales team at solutions@origin-global.com to see if they can assist. Kind Regards
Posted 4 weeks ago
Had expensive patio doors delivered only to find they were warped and not able to be fitted properly. Clearly not the installers fault but poor build quality. Now awaiting to see what origin will do to rectify the issue having already waited nearly 6 weeks for fitting
Posted 1 month ago
Good Morning,

We are sorry to hear that you have experienced possible manufacturing issues with your doors. If you have not done so, you can email our aftersales team at solutions@origin-global.com to see if they can assist.

Kind Regards
Posted 1 month ago
Have had a two door unit fitted, the doors do not stay closed and cannot be operated from both sides. A good looking product but functionally poor.
Posted 2 months ago
Good Morning,

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing some problems with your Origin doors. We would recommend you contact the installer of your doors to inspect this.

If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to contact us on 01494 686868

Kind Regards
Posted 2 months ago
We have a full house of Origin Windows ,2 sets of Bifold doors,2 back doors and 1 French door.
They have been in our house for over a year now and are perfect.
They are well made and have changed the look of our home for the better.
We used a company they suggested to do the installation as they are only responsible for supplying the goods ,couldn’t be happpier.
Posted 3 months ago
Good Morning,
Many thanks for your feedback, it is great to hear you are happy with your Origin doors and windows. If you would like any help with future projects, please do not hesitate to contact us on enquiry@origin-global.com.

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
I have recently undertaken a total refurbishment of my home, choosing Origin bi-folds, windows, front door and garage doors
The whole project looks amazing, the visit to their High Wycombe showroom was brilliant and the products are beautiful quality.
Posted 3 months ago
Good Morning,

Many thanks for your feedback, we are very pleased to know you are happy with your Origin products, they look fantastic! We are also happy to know you enjoyed your experience at our showroom.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you require any further assistance with future projects.

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
When we did our extension in 2016, we decided on Origin french doors because of their advertised high-end quality and 20-year warranty. Ordering Origin has turned out to be a nightmare, a waste of money, and years of regret. Please, avoid them if you can and avoid the heartache that we have had, wasting £7,000 on doors which we could have got more robust from a cheap double-glazing company.

They recommended Herts Bifold as a local installer. Their installers are also awful. We have had nothing but poor service and rudeness from them. They try to get out of everything, if they can.

Firstly, they didn't measure up correctly (luckily we spotted this), then they accidentally transposed the doors on the final blueprints- they were all opening a certain way on all the blueprints except the final version, which they were the opposite way around (which we did not spot), which they then refused to rectify the mistake until we made huge complaints and wrote several letters.
After 3 years, the door handle on one set of doors broke. After another round of angry emails, where Origin refused to take responsibility and Herts Bifold refused to do anything without being pushed, the door handles were replaced. We discovered that the problem was the flimsy one-coil return spring in the handles. You can't even get one-coil springs in this country; they are usually 2.5-5 turns. of course one thin wire is going to break easily through normal wear and tear.

A year later (now, 2020), the door handles broke again. This time we wrote to Origin to say that the fault was with the poor quality door handles and that we would like a replacement of all the handles with something more robust. They told us to speak to Herts Bifold again.

Herts Bifold asked us to fill in a whole load of paperwork and provide photos, even though I had forwarded them our emails from 2019 with all the paperwork attached.

They then refused to replace the door handle as it "wasn't broken"; until I then complained again to say that the door WAS broken because it wasn't latching because of the issue.

They've now told us they've ordered one replacement handle from Origin, even though two are broken (on the inside and on the outside). This won't be fixed for a month.

I have written to Origin, complaining that the handles are not fit for purpose under the Trades Description Act and I am waiting to see if they bother to respond. I am not holding my breath.
Posted 3 months ago
Good Morning,

We are very sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your French doors. As discussed we are working with our partner to provide the necessary parts and understand that they are arranging to make adjustments to prevent the issue reoccurring. If you would like to discuss it further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
I have installed 4 sets of 3m wide triple pane bifold doors.
I researched options very carefully and decided on Origin on the basis of perceived high product quality, rapid delivery possibilities as well as the recommendations of my chosen installer.

However since installation I have had 2 major problems where the response from Origin has been either dismissive or helpful but misleading.

Firstly I had to write to complain about the traffic door very quickly slamming shut in no more than a moderate breeze. I wrote to Origin with my very serious concerns about the danger to a child who might be beside the door as it slammed. Especially, if he/she might happen to be standing with their hand on the jamb. The slamming door could amputate little fingers.

The somewhat dismissive written response from Origin was that the door magnets are not intended to hold a door in position once opened.

Yet their online brochure, in the section headed "Keeping the Family Safe" still says " Special finger-safe gaskets stop little fingers from getting trapped when the doors are in use, while magnetic catches hold the doors firmly in place once you’ve folded them back".

My experience does not support this claim and we were dismayed at how Origin dismissed our concerns. The offer of free extra magnets was placatory and did not address the root cause of the problem.

My second problem has been excessive amounts of water ingress partly through the glazed door panels and partly through the ends of the lower frame. I was initially told that the drainage channel through the bottom track was open at the ends and that Origin relied on installers to seal it on fitting. My installer was sure that this had never been part of Origin's training and after he removed the door we found that the channels were indeed sealed, but in one case not completely.

My analysis of the problem has shown that water has somehow been collecting on the inside ledge of the bottom track, under the inner seal. I have seen water bubbling up through this seal and the ends of this ledge indeed not sealed. But, I have had to work this out for myself as Origin did not seem to be aware of this mechanism.

Yes, we might have had the problem during high wind and lashing rain, but the purpose of any quality bifold is to keep the weather outside where it belongs and not to let water inside.
I have had to collect over a litre of water which has passed through the doors and track. As the door is on the first floor, before I was able to collect water, is just it flowed down and damaged a newly decorated ceiling of the new room beneath.

As you can guess we were very unhappy about this and we will await next winter with trepidation.
Posted 4 months ago
Good Afternoon Mike,

We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with your Origin doors.

Regarding the magnetic catches - apologies if you found our literature misleading, the updated information states that the catches are to temporarily hold the doors in place whilst they are being operated. The finger safe gaskets between the doors create a cushion to prevent fingers being harmed should they get accidentally trapped.

The issue with the water collecting in your track is an installation issue which should be remedied by the company who supplied and fitted the doors. The track ends should have been properly sealed during installation of the doors and this is covered in the installation training we provide to our trade partners and also included in our installation guide.

Whilst they remain an independent company, any trade partner recommended by Origin would have offered training in installation, product knowledge and customer service.

If you would like to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to contact us at enquiry@origin-global.com

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
worse company ever ... for months i paid and still have no windows and refuse to return what we paid .. used Covid19 as excuses but if you cannot deliver due to lockdown then return the money so we can purchase the windows with other companies ... for weeks every day we email and call and we get nothing back .. we been pushed around between origin and their partner and none of them take any responsibility and we still have no windows and no money returned .. one of the worse service ever .. 3 months we have house without windows and origin still donot care
Posted 4 months ago
Good Afternoon,

We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced getting your windows installed.

Our partners are independent companies and your contract is with them however, we will always work with the partner to try and resolve any issues. As you will be aware, we have been in unprecedented times in the past three months and the Covid-19 pandemic has caused supply delays, not just within the door and window industry but globally, with many of our trade partners having to cease trading for period a time, but we’re now back up and running.

We had been taking steps internally to contact the partner on your behalf and get the issue resolved as quickly as possible. I understand that alternative actions have been taken now, but please contact us on enquiry@origin-global.com if you would like to discuss anything further.

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
We had a glass building finished just before the lockdown. We did our home work and looked at reveiws on line, it seemed all we’re good expect the ones which used a company who fitted to a poor Standard.
We live in Duffield and we visited Basfords who are origins largest dealer in the midlands . We had a full building project managed which has a 9 pane bifold and a 4 pane bifold. Which work fantastic look great.
In a farrow and ball colour ral 7032 .
Thank you origin for a great product .
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Carl,

Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to know you are happy with your Origin products and the service you received from Basfords.

If you would like any help with future projects, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
It pains me to say it, but just do not buy. Whereas I feel like buying British is a good idea, our manufacturing standards compared to German products is woeful. There might well be a 20 year guarantee on Origin windows, but they manufacture the frames, and the fitter marries them up to glass. Try getting any help from Origin when there's a problem with the glass — you can't, you're pushed back to the fitter. And if they were shocking in the first place, there's no point having a 'good' product (which frankly, Origin aren't anyway). Sorry Origin, you need to lift your game and adopt better standards if you're to compete. Do not buy. They will have problems, and sorting those problems out will be painful, if even successful at all. Save yourself the pain I'm now going through and buy something better.
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon Mark,

Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, like many other companies we have been working with reduced staff levels during the lockdown period but are pleased to advise that we are now up and running.

We are very sorry to hear you have experienced some issues with the glass in your Origin windows.

Origin doors and windows are manufactured in the UK from premium grade aluminium and are supplied to our trade partners unglazed. Because of this, any issue surrounding the glass would need to be addressed by the Origin trade partner that installed the windows and supplied the glass.

If you have concerns with the windows themselves we would be happy to look into this for you, please feel free to contact us via enquiry@origin-global.com.

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
i placed order via one of origin partner and they request to remove all old windows which we did and due to the virus outbreak origin partner made decision to close done and leave us without windows .. and they refuse to deliver the windows so we can find alternative company to install the windows and as well origin refuse to cooperate and deliver directly . i sent few emails and calls to origin and the agent but still no feedback .. we have no windows and doors and they have our money .. very disappointed and externally upset to be left in such bad situation ..
Posted 5 months ago
Good Afternoon,

Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, like many other companies we have been working with reduced staff levels during the lockdown period but are pleased to advise that we are now up and running again.

We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced getting your windows installed. Our partners are independent companies and your contract is with them however, we will always work with the partner to try and resolve any issues.

As you will be aware, we have been in unprecedented times in the past three months and the Covid-19 pandemic has caused supply delays, not just within the door and window industry but globally, with many of our trade partners having to cease trading for period a time, but the majority are now back up and running and able to sort out any outstanding projects.

If you are still experiencing issues, or would like to discuss it further, please contact us via enquiry@origin-global.com

Kind regards,
Posted 3 months ago
Charging 5k for a small sliding door which than allows the rainwater to trickle in to the indoor portion of the track. I am really worried that this will cause rotting of the underlying chipboard. According to Origin however that is completely normal. Also wind whistles through btw the joints .My replaced old door was of better quality. Very disappointed
Posted 7 months ago
Good Morning,

We are happy to discuss this via the trade partner you purchased the doors through as we can look into assessing the issues with them.

Kind Regards

Origin
Posted 7 months ago
Excellent product at a very competitive price ... Will use for the next property.
Posted 8 months ago
Good Morning,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to know you are pleased with your Origin products. If you have any future projects, please do not hesitate to contact us, on 01925 907 907.

Kind regards
Posted 8 months ago
Placed a £17k order for a project for my client through my local builders merchant
. Over 3 months now and on still awaiting the replacement of the back door (. 3rd one) with no answer as to when it would be on site
£120k extension built and completed in that time frame..... less one door!!!
Appalling service... never again
Posted 8 months ago
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us on 01925 907907

Many thanks
Posted 8 months ago
Origin do not guarantee that the underside of their cills are powder coated meaning you need a spray paint can that isnt provided with the order to recify the issue yourself. Really not at all useful if you want to use their windows on a first floor and can see the underside of the cill. Their customer services department (Solutions) dont provide any 'solutions' for the issue either. I will not be using them again and will be recommending to my customers that they use another supplier.
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Christopher,

Unfortunately it is correct we cannot guarantee that the underside of our cills is fully coated as this is due to the powder coating process that is carried out by our suppliers. It is therefore the underside of the cill that will be affected as the underside of the cill is the only non-visible surface as standard. This is also the case with all other profiles as the non-visible areas of the profile will have sections that aren’t coated based on how they are rested and then coated in the process.

As our solutions team have explained the only resolution we can offer if the area is visible on site is to provide a spray can for the areas to be colour matched in to the rest of the cill. We understand that this isn’t ideal but I’m afraid there is not an alternative resolution as the profile cannot be coated in any other way

Kind Regards

Origin
Posted 8 months ago
I purchased my bifolds 2 years ago and have had to call the fitters out 5 times because the main door keeps dropping leaving a gap and draft into my dining room, I wrote to origin directly over a month ago and received no reply, the doors were not cheap and after my experience I would not recommend purchasing again
Posted 9 months ago
Our Bi-Fold doors were purchased and installed by our builders so therefore we have no experience of customer service etc. However, we are over the moon with the product. The opening mechanism is so easy and they glide beautifully. They have totally enhanced the outlook from our lounge and we couldn't be more pleased with the finished result.
Posted 11 months ago
Good Morning Sally, Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to know you are pleased with your Origin bi-folds. If you have any future projects, please do not hesitate to contact us, on 01925 907 907. Kind regards
Posted 11 months ago
Really poor customer service experience. Have been waiting for two years now to fix a shoddy job. Each time they either lose interest or forget what happened the last time or blame their agent Dalziel, as Dalziel blame them. End of the day we have really drafty doors, really drafty.
Posted 1 year ago
Good Morning Nick,

Thank you for your feedback.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us on 0808 168 5816 to speak to our After sales team.

Many thanks
Posted 1 year ago
Following the bankruptcy of one of their distributors, I was facing huge financial loss on our project as were many unfortunate customers of the demised firm. The directors at Origin went above and beyond. Where they could, they honoured all of the contracts of the old company saving a large number of people thousands of pounds that we were unlikely to get back. For this unprecedented action I cannot recommend them highly enough.

It further turned out that our disaster was turning into an advantage as Origin sent down their fitters to survey and fit our doors. We had a complex design and set-up, and their fitters came up with an innovative and excellent solution the previous firm had not identified. The fitting team were highly experienced, professional and fast. The office team were equally professional and courteous; especially given a large number of worried 3rd party customers they were unexpectedly managing at that time.

I guess, most importantly, is the quality of the product. We have a high-end design extension, and I believe anything other than Origin would not have achieved the look we were after. The mechanics, the design and the quality, is evident throughout, and you will not be disappointed.
Posted 1 year ago
Good Afternoon Philip

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to know you are pleased with the way Origin have assisted you in this situation. We always strive to help in way we can, and we are happy that you have managed to finish your project.

If you have any future projects, please do not hesitate to contact us, on 01925 907 907.

Kind regards,
Posted 1 year ago
Origin Global is rated 4.33 based on 535 reviews