musicMagpie Reviews

4.64 Rating 9,491 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend musicMagpie
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
97%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.45 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Easy
Read musicMagpie Reviews
Not too impressed. How does a box set of videos go missing when it is packed especially in the middle of the parcel? I am afraid a lot of trust has been lost.p
Posted 2 months ago
I had been waiting for my parcel to be collected for over 2 months. When I rebooked none turned up even when I was in the house all day. I complained but was told just to rebook! And that Hermes was a third party and so nothing could be done. Also not much for items which I could get more for on Ziffit.
Posted 2 months ago
The first items I have sent arrived with no problem, simple-games, nothing to damage. Ps3 however apparently according to Magpie is faulty, it wasn't faulty when I send it (I've got photos to prove as at first contacted Games online for a quote), unless the courier handle it wrong. I waiting for the item to be returned so I can investigate and compare with the photos I have.Magpie offer of £2.20 for ps3 slimline is pathetic
Posted 2 months ago
Parcel was list. Long winded to get it dealt with. Fed up.
Posted 3 months ago
There was a long delay in receiving payment due to items going missing
Posted 3 months ago
OK, no great issues as a new user, easy to navigate, return etc. My issues were that; 1) I was sending two Samsung A3's (along with a load of Books/DVDs), the system would not allow me to send both phones in the same pack. I guess it may have assumed that I had accidentally entered the same info twice, but it made me send one phone in a separate box, so one went with Hermes, the other had to go by post office. 2) Having been forced to send the two packages, I entered the details to pay one into my bank account, the other into my daughter's (as it was her phone). Despite clearly completing two different lots of Bank Account details for the returns, they paid both into my daughters account. How is that possible!? So, generally convenient to use if a bit of a faff, but dodgy on the GDPR side...
Posted 4 months ago
Took 3 weeks for MyHermes to deliver parcel. Their tracking system is useless. Took 1 week for Music Magpie to respond to claim email. Then they asked for info already sent in original message. Received payment eventually. Avoid MyHermes when sending parcels.
Posted 5 months ago
Not sure about Music Magpie. Sold an iphone to them, no issues whatsoever. However, sent in a Macbook Pro (fully working) as offered £400 but was told within 30 mins of them receiving the mac that it was faulty (apparent hardware fault) and they offered £80 instead. Now I know that the mac was working perfectly and so declined the paltry offer and the mac was sent back. I have checked the mac using Apple Diagnostics and no errors whatsoever! Not sure what they are playing at but thought potential sellers should know. I may be less sceptical if they provided full details of the so called fault so that I could confirm the issue but nothing was forthcoming.
Posted 5 months ago
3 parcels sent to them were 'lost' - one - a Macbook!!! - I was refunded for after several emails, but they refused to refund the others as I sent them in with another order, which I had proof of postage for. Basically someone there must have 'found' my lost CDs. They wouldn't look into it for me so I lost my CDs and money. Will never sell through them again. Better off selling yourself through ebay but I was desperate for money at the time
Posted 8 months ago
Be careful with music magpie, they don't fully check tech fully works. I tried selling them my old huewai mate 20 pro to them, quoted £125 and requested a returns packaging. On their site ,they Don't have options to determine how good or bad the phone condition is in, example power on, screen have scratches or cracks, case broken or cracks, only 3 options. A rival company (Mazuma mobile) has these options which are much more realistic for returning/selling 2nd hand items. When they received it,they said it had "deep multiple scratches" and due to that re offered me £35!!!! I refused the new offer and asked them to return it to me free of charge (1 star rating for that at least). When I received my old phone back, I checked the Android Boot logs and it wasn't booted up at all from anytime in their hands ,plus I did declare it had a few scratches. Stay away from this company,shoddy work and not really a good website to trade in tech that can be in alsorts of conditions and shapes. I managed to sell it for £125 with Mazuma mobile
Posted 9 months ago
The service was ok, a bit slow to let me know of an issue. The prices for the items was very low.
Posted 9 months ago
THIS IS A WARNING ABOUT SELLING NOT BUYING I used them to sell my entire CD collection. The prices quoted are ridiculously unfair but I accept they are a business and it was my decision to sell. The convenience of a courier pick up was what swayed me. They had 426 CDs from me and were collected by Hermes on the agreed day (note they give you a 12 hour window for pick up so you will need to spend the day waiting) After 7 days - that’s how long Hermes take to get them to Music Magpie. It is not as quick as they pretend on the ads - I was contacted saying 7 of the CDs were missing. 7. Out of 426. It came to less than a fiver. I couldn’t be bothered to argue and accepted payment minus 7 though on the feedback I did say there was no way 7 were missing as it was my entire collection. To their credit they gave the additional few pennies after receiving this. The second time I had a few DVDS, games, books, etc that I would normally give to charity but since we are in lockdown I thought I would use Music Magpie again just to de-clutter. Hermes were fine (except the aforementioned 12 hour window) and a week later Music Magpie emailed and said my payment would go through the next day as they received my parcel before 2pm. EIGHT days later and after me chasing it daily they have finally coughed up. No explanation as to why it was late, no apology. Just standard email responses of they were looking into it. It’s just not good enough that twice now something that is advertised as next day payment and so simple really isn’t.
Posted 10 months ago
I ordered an iPhone SE. I wasn’t expecting it to be in pristine condition but the handset I received looked like it had been through the washing machine in the back pocket of the previous owner’s jeans. To add insult to injury the battery was exhausted. The handset switched off when 30% was reached without fail and I only got about four hours between charges even on standby. I could’ve rejected it, but ended up paying another £50 for a new battery from Apple instead because I didn’t want to be without a phone. I’ll live with the scratches and the big dint in the case. Overall not the experience I was expecting or hoping for. Next time I will use CEX, at least that way I can examine the phone in store.
Posted 1 year ago
I purchased a so called ''pristine'' phone in December. Looks wise apart from a couple of scratches it was pristine, but it had and still has some issues. The loud speaker is busted and the bluetooth has a lot of problems. To be fair I contacted them and they offered to try and fix it but for that to happen I'd have had to send back the phone and stay without one for god knows how long and they also said there's a chance they'll wipe the phone clean, who would want that?! The phone shouldn't have been faulty in the first place. I asked to get some money back to pay for a local repair place who would fix it for me on the same day and they refused. Guys if you're looking to buy a phone and you can afford a new one, just buy it, it was my first time buying a refurbished phone and I regret it.
Posted 1 year ago
Just wanted to make a purchase of a new iphone but needed a simple question answered first. Well first of the contact number is unusable now, as its all done through there online help.So i go to help and basically you get the silly bot/widget that repeats its lines to showing how to get live chat... Yet there is no Live chat in the place it should be. Absolutely furious and if this is the kind of problem i get while trying to purchase, I would hate for me to have a real problem with the phone and trying to contact there help. Lost a sale due to there inability of answering a reasonably easy question.
Posted 1 year ago
I have not received payment yet was supposed to be in bank account on the 24/12/19 but have not
Posted 1 year ago
Sent two phones in perfect condition. Both were in identical packaging and boxes, sent from same post office at same time. Received an email to say LCD was damaged on one of phones and offer would be greatly reduced
Posted 1 year ago
Got a quote and got paid less than it with no explanation why
Posted 1 year ago
Gave them an incorrect sort code and have been told there is little they can do about it. So I now have no phone and no payment
Posted 1 year ago
Music Magpie have now removed phone support,you can only contact them by email - no other way,and it takes them 2 days to respond.So if you have a problem,like I did this week,it can take days,or maybe even weeks to get it resolved,whereas,one simple phone call could have solved the problem, instantly,instead of having to send multiple emails,and then wait days for a reply.Have always been pleased with them before now,but because of recent communication problems,will never use them again.
Posted 1 year ago
musicMagpie is rated 4.64 based on 9,491 reviews