Motorway Reviews

4.4 Rating 1,128 Reviews
88 %
of reviewers recommend Motorway
4.4
Based on 1,128 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 91%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Motorway Reviews

About Motorway:

The way to sell your car.

Selling your car the Motorway way is easy and completely free. 5,000+ verified dealers compete to give you their best price.

We'll find the dealer in our nationwide network who'll pay the most for your car, then complete your sale with free home collection and fast payment.

motorway.co.uk

Visit Website

Phone:

0203 988 2266

Email:

marketing@motorway.co.uk

Location:

Motorway, 12-13 Wells Mews, London

Write Your review

Tell us how Motorway made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Absolutely brilliant service! It took just 3 days to sell my car at a great price way above webuyanycar! The buyer paid immediately and collected my car from home. Can’t recommend these guys enough.
Helpful Report
Complete waste of time , took photos and answered questions honest as I could. Advised door handle has slight paint imperfection and showed this in photos which is no more than a touch up requirement. Made me feel as though my car was an insurance write off with that on it and tiny scratch on bumper , price originally was 2100 dropped to 1900 because of these tiny imperfections what do they expect a car just out the show room perhaps? Also could not get a word in from the guy on the other end of phone probably more hassle than gumtree.
Helpful Report
Hello, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your experience. Our estimates are based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history. After receiving your initial valuation online you would have been invited to speak with a member of the sales team to discuss any specific details regarding the history, specification, and condition of your car. After the condition of your car has been discussed in more detail your estimated selling price is calculated. Naturally any issues discussed on this qualifying call such as stone chips, dents, scratches, or any other mechanical issues will need to be taken into account which is why your estimated selling price may differ from the initial valuation. This is done to ensure that any prospective buyers are fully aware of the condition of your car before bidding in the daily sale. This allows for highly accurate price analysis at scale, so in most cases offers come out on or around the estimated selling price as an accurate representation of the vehicle value. However, this is not a cap on what you can achieve as we operate a blind bidding system, so buyers can't see what other buyers have offered and although not guaranteed, where competition is high a car may exceed the estimate by any margin. In this instance, it was not only the imperfections on the door handle but also the small scratch on the boot as well as the 4 scuffed alloy wheels that needed to be taken into consideration. These issues may seem insignificant but will require professional care before any potential buyers would have been able to sell the vehicle on. We do not require vehicles sold through our platform to be showroom standard but we do require that all imperfections are declared so that the vehicle can be presented to our network of buyers as accurately as possible when entered into a sale. Many online car buyers will offer you an initial quote based on limited information about your vehicle, which is then reduced on inspection and subject to fees. The difference when using Motorway is that we determine and agree on your price in advance, and the price we agree is the price you receive on inspection with no fees and free home collection. Again we are very sorry if you were unhappy with the type of service that we provide, but if you do change your mind then please do not hesitate to reach out to our sales team directly otherwise, we wish you all the best in finding a buyer for your car elsewhere. Best regards, Sam Sales Support Specialist
Dealer turned up found one tiny little scratch and knocked £3200 off the price offered. And him away will never use again
Helpful Report
Hello, Thanks for your review, we are very sorry if you were unhappy with your experience at the point of collection. Unfortunately, if the buyer identifies any issues that weren’t listed on the profile they are within their rights to adjust their offer at the point of collection to take this into account. This is because your offer is based on the accuracy of the information provided and advertised on your profile. Having said that, a reduction of £3200 for one scratch alone does seem excessive so we are very keen to look into this for you. If you would like to look into this for you in more detail then please send an email to reviews@motorway.co.uk otherwise, we wish you all the best going forward. Best regards Sam Sales Support Specialist
Great way to sell the car, no changing the offer, turned up, payed up, left with my car. Totaly stressless. Offered the same amount as 'We Buy Any Car'. WBAC dropped it by £1950 without giving a reason, told them where to get off.
Helpful Report
Their estimate was £2000 over what I was offered. Complete waste of time.
Helpful Report
Hello, Thanks for your review, we are very sorry if you were disappointed with the offers you received. Our estimates are based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history, as well as specific details our sales team discuss regarding the history, specification, and condition of your car. This allows for highly accurate price analysis at scale, so in most cases offers come out on or around the reserve price as an accurate representation of the vehicle value. We operate a blind bidding system, so although buyers are aware of the estimated selling price they can't see what other buyers have offered. We do also advise that if competition is high vehicles sold through our platform may exceed the estimated selling price by any margin but unfortunately, we simply cannot guarantee that every vehicle sold through our platform will generate the same lever of interest from our network of buyers. Many online car buyers will offer you an initial quote based on limited information about your vehicle, which is then reduced on inspection and subject to fees. The difference when using Motorway is that we determine and agree your price in advance, and the price we agree is the price you receive on inspection with no fees and free home collection. Using Motorway is also free and voluntary throughout so if you’re not happy with the offer, you can choose to decline before anyone comes to collect the car For more information about how Motorway works please see our FAQ’s: https://motorway.co.uk/faq or contact our sales team on 020 3988 2266. Kind regards Sam Sales Support Specialist
Listed a van through motorway. The dealer "bought" it, for more than the real value. Waited two weeks for collection, and then they decided they didn't want it!
Helpful Report
Hello, Thanks for your review, we are sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience. If you would like us to look into this in more detail for you then please send an email to reviews@motorway.co.uk making sure to include your vehicle registration so that we are able to locate your profile, otherwise we wish you all the best going forward. Best regards, Sam Sales Support Specialist
Very good communication, easy to use app to upload pictures. Final bid on my car was in excess of the initial valuation. Funds paid instantly at the point of pick up.
Helpful Report
Very disappointing, so many hoops to jump through, very unfriendly website, to get an offer more than 1k below wbac. Lots of other options to sell your car, don’t be deceived by their advertising and tempting valuations.
Helpful Report
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we are very sorry if you were disappointed with the offer you received. Our estimates are based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history, as well as specific details our sales team discuss regarding the history, specification, and condition of your car. This allows for highly accurate price analysis at scale, so in most cases offers come out on or around the reserve price as an accurate representation of the vehicle value. This is absolutely not a cap on what you can achieve however. We operate a blind bidding system, so buyers can't see what other buyers have offered, and where competition is high, a car may exceed the estimate by any margin. Many online car buyers will offer you an initial quote based on limited information about your vehicle, which is then reduced on inspection and subject to fees. The difference when using Motorway is that we determine and agree your price in advance, and the price we agree is the price you receive on inspection with no fees and free home collection. Using Motorway is free and voluntary throughout and if you’re not happy with the offer, you can choose to decline before anyone comes to collect the car For more information about how Motorway works please see our FAQ’s: https://motorway.co.uk/faq or contact our sales team on 020 3988 2266. Kind regards Sam Sales Support Team
Not a great customer experience. The website isn't very straight forward to place your vehicle live in order for the dealers to bid on. When I queried a couple of items with them, it almost felt the two customer service agents weren't interested in helping and both become disinterested & almost an arrogant attitude when trying to sell my vehicle. In the end I consulted with the competitors and found a much more engaging customer service team who were receptive and achieved a top price for my car. Therefore I can't recommend Motorway for the above reasons.
Helpful Report
Hi Freddie, Thanks for your review, we are sorry if you were disappointed with the level of service you received. If you would like to discuss this in more detail then please send an email to reviews@motorway.co.uk and we will look into this for you otherwise, we wish you all the best going forward. Best regards Sam Sales Support Team
Tried to set up a trade account with motorway and they refused! Although we had everything they wanted and we have been in the motor trade for a number of years they refused stating that our website sells bodykits. We build custom cars and vans and trade these onto other dealers. Even after explaining this direct to them via phone call they still refused!
Helpful Report
Hi Alex, Thanks for your review, our dealer onboarding teams consider any applications in line with standard criteria applied to all buyers. If you are able to then please provide further information to reviews@motorway.co.uk we will be able to ask our dealer teams to look into this to determine if the correct decision was made in this instance. Kind regards Sam Sales Support
I tried to use Motorway to sell my VW Golf but terrible customer service made me go with Autotrader. Having following all their instructions, taken accurate photos the Motorway agent then reduced the listing price by 15% for no reason. In the end I got two independent valuations done and then listed with AT, achieving 23% more than Motorways offer. My advice, do your homework and settle with a company you're comfortable with. Motorway didn't make me feel valued or interested in selling my car and as soon as you ask more questions, quick to move the goal posts.
Helpful Report
Hi Bella, Thanks for your review. I’m sorry that you were unhappy with our valuation process. I'd like to look into this further for you but based on the details you have provided we are unable to locate your profile. Please send us a unique identifier such as the vehicle registration, phone number, or email address you used to submit your valuation to reviews@motorway.co.uk and we will gladly look into this in more detail. For now, I will address the issues you have raised here. When you call into our sales team, we build an in-depth profile of your car which takes into account the condition, history, and specification of your vehicle using photos and details that you provide. This can include any negative factors that may affect the value of the car and what dealers may bid. This is what helps to take your generic valuation based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history, to a bespoke valuation which takes into account the specificities of your vehicle. Your sales agent would have explained we would be coming to a final price through this process, but I apologise if you felt this wasn't clear enough. This is not done to reduce your price, but to ensure that all details have been taken into account, and your valuation is an accurate reflection of what buyers are likely to pay. It is not a cap on what you can receive, however, and where competition is high bids may exceed estimates. We always ensure that you're happy to proceed at the price we have set, which is a highly accurate data-driven estimate taking into account the specificities of your vehicle. For this reason, we will not list the car at a price above its value. This is a voluntary process for all parties throughout, so you’re never obligated to accept a lower offer or sell at any point. We wouldn’t obligate you to sell at a price you weren’t happy with, inasmuch as we wouldn’t force a buyer to purchase a vehicle they weren’t happy with. I’m sorry you weren’t happy with your final valuation but we are glad you ultimately sold the car and wish you all the best moving forward. Best regards, Dominic Sales Support Team
READ THIS BEFORE USING MOTORWAY Four Weeks ago I listed my car on MOTORWAY; it sold for £16,567 to SASCRON LTD who viewed the car and agreed to pay the SOLD PRICE. Nearly three weeks after ignoring my phone calls and emails SASCRON LTD negated on the deal. I bitterly complained to MOTORWAY who said they could not force the purchase to go through but would relist the car. Next day I received an email from MOTORWAY stating that the car had been sold for £16,116. Before accepting I called MOTORWAY to ask who the bidder was and they said SASCRON LTD. I obviously declined their bid. MOTORWAY then advised me to accept the second highest offer which was £16,111 from THE WRIGHT CAR COMPANY (AKA WRIGHT BROS LTD) which I did. 6 days later without even contacting me, they decided not to purchase the car. I've had to insure and store the car for four weeks whilst two independent dealers have decided not to proceed with the bids that they submitted to MOTORWAY. The WRIGHT CAR COMPANY called me this afternoon to state that MOTORWAY had deleted their bid from their system and that was why they hadn't contacted me. This is disputed by MOTORWAY who said the bid was still valid. So if you sell your car via MOTORWAY be prepared, as the process is not as slick or as quick as the advertising suggests. In fact knowing what I know now, I wish I had accepted the original offer from Cazoo.
Helpful Report
Hi Philip, Thanks for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you have now experienced multiple issues whilst attempting to sell your car through our platform. We understand that the initial sale fell through due to the dealerships perceived issues with a letter of authority to sell the car, and payment not going to the registered keepers account. We appreciate however that the timescale for this was unacceptable, and as a result, once we had ironed out any issues with these factors, we agreed to re-list the car. Unfortunately Sascrons bids are made by several members of staff, and a staff member unaware of the previous sale, which had been under the purview of a colleague, did place another bid on the vehicle which was lower due to a change in the baseline valuation over that period. Once made aware of this, unfortunately it appears a member of the Motorway team incorrectly confirmed another existing bid with you which later turned out to be invalid. We recognise that this was a poor experience and have followed up with our team member. All existing bids selected as an alternative post-sale must be reconfirmed with a buyer to ensure they remain valid, as having lost the auction, that buyer may have already sourced alternative stock. I'm pleased to see however that we have since rectified the issue, and re-sold to an alternative dealer at the same price offered by the Wright Car Company, and that you have submitted documents to us this morning to proceed with the sale. We will retain oversight of this sale to completion to ensure everything goes smoothly. If you need anything further during your sale, please reach out to our Sales Support Team on 020 3988 3388 or salessupport@motorway.co.uk. Best regards, James Escalations Team Leader
Hi Motorway I have just said goodbye to my Citroen C4 Picasso, collected by the dealer. What can I say, I contacted Motorway initially and a price was agreed. After a few minor hiccups and photos having to be retaken, everything went smoothly. I would definitely recommend Motorway to sell your car. Got more than I expected for the car.
Helpful Report
If you want something quick and convenient I would definitely recommend. The sale was finalised and car was collected within 48 hours, the purchasing company was very professional. However, be prepared to accept a lower price than quoted. My final sale price was 2800 lower than the original quote - obviously it’s your choice whether or not to agree to this. The app is a nightmare and I spoke to four different people at motorway, and in all honesty only one was any good, the other three were like pulling teeth.
Helpful Report
Hi Shelly, Thanks for your review. I'm glad you found the service quick and convenient but I'm sorry that you were unhappy with other aspects of the service and the final offer you received. I'd like to look into this further for you but based on the details you have provided we are unable to locate your profile. Please send us a unique identifier such as the vehicle registration, phone number, or email address you used to submit your valuation to reviews@motorway.co.uk and we will gladly look into this in more detail. For now, I will address the issues you have raised here. Regarding your final offer, when you call into our sales team, we build an in-depth profile of your car which takes into account the condition, history, and specification of your specific vehicle using photos and details that you provide. This is what helps to take your generic valuation based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history to a bespoke valuation which takes into account the specificities of your vehicle. We will then advise you of any negative factors that may affect the offers you receive in our daily sale before we agree an adjusted valuation with you. This is not done to reduce your price, but to ensure that all details have been taken into account, and your valuation is an accurate reflection of what buyers are likely to pay. It is not a cap on what you can receive, however, and where competition is high bids may exceed estimates. We always ensure that you're happy to proceed at the price we have set, which is a highly accurate data-driven estimate taking into account the specificities of your vehicle. This is also a voluntary process for all parties throughout, so you’re never obligated to accept a lower offer or sell at any point. We wouldn’t obligate you to sell at a price you weren’t happy with, inasmuch as we wouldn’t force a buyer to purchase a vehicle they weren’t happy with. While many online car buyers will offer you an initial quote based on limited information about your vehicle, it is then reduced on inspection and subject to fees. The difference when using Motorway is that we determine and agree your price in advance, and the price we agree is the price you receive on inspection with no fees and free home collection. We do stress throughout the process that your offer is based on the accuracy of the information provided and advertised on your profile, and that any inaccuracies may lead to a reduction or cancellation of the sale. You’re never obligated to accept a lower price of course, but the vehicle must be as described in order to achieve the agreed price. I'm also sorry to hear you experienced issues with the app. The reason we request that you use the photo app first and foremost is that it assists you in taking photos of the specific angles and areas we require, preventing you from making multiple photo submissions by ensuring they meet our requirements, which our agents advised at the time. These photo requirements have been developed to help you create a professional-grade vehicle profile which helps to maximise your offers. While you can call into our sales team to assist you at this stage, I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some of the agents you spoke with. As I have mentioned before I would like to look into the specifics of your sale so please contact us at reviews@motorway.co.uk. Best regards, Dominic Sales Support Team
Was quick to sell, but they started picking on everything that was not important to reduce the car price, which ended up being £1100 lower. NOT ACCEPTABLE!!
Helpful Report
Hi there, Thanks for your review. I’m sorry you were unhappy with the reduction of your offer at the point of collection. Unfortunately, on inspection, if the buyer identifies any issues that weren’t listed on the profile, this may lead to a reduction or cancellation of the sale. In your specific case, the buyer discovered various scratches, chips and dents over the vehicle that had not been previously declared. Based on the photographic evidence they have provided, we agree with their assessment. As well as this they advised that the clutch would need replacing and there was an engine rattle while the car was taken for a test drive. When they had originally bid on the car they had not factored this into their price and so they asked to reduce to account for the repair costs. Engagement with Motorway is a completely voluntary process for both sellers and buyers and we hope you understand that we cannot force a buyer to purchase a vehicle that they are unhappy with in the same way that we cannot force a seller to sell at a price that they are unhappy with. We do try to avoid this process by advising sellers to be as truthful as possible about the condition of their vehicle to avoid wasting your time, our time or the buyer’s time on a sale with the potential of being reduced or cancelled by the dealer at collection. Many online car buyers will offer you an initial quote based on limited information about your vehicle, which is then reduced on inspection and subject to fees. The difference when using Motorway is that we determine and agree your price in advance, and the price we agree is the price you receive on inspection with no fees and free home collection. I’m glad that you were ultimately able to come to an agreement with the buyer of course and proceed to sell your vehicle. We would like to thank you for selling with Motorway and wish you all the best going forward. Best regards, Dominic Sales Support Team
A woeful service at best , I listed my car on Saturday and this in itself was an ordeal as the app doesn't work properly when I finally got the pictures uploaded (you) have to phone Motorway and they then run through the information provided. Now I am under no illusions that the car I am selling was perfect , it was the family car so it was going to have the odd mark here and there but within minutes of being on the phone to one of the agents at Motorway the quoted price had been reduced by £500. I received an email quoting the new sale price and replied immediately stating that I wanted to go-ahead. I then heard nothing for 5 days and chased after receiving another email to say we need to discuss your listing please contact us , at which point Motorway emailed to say ''sorry your email wasn't picked up regarding wanting to go ahead but on the email sent to me you could clearly see the email trail and my email clearly stating that I wanted to proceed was visible. Their advertising slogan is totally miss-leading and if I was you I wouldn't bother. Motorway don't get you any more money for your car and in fact the Autotrader valuation came in nearly a £1000 more. Save yourself the time and effort and find a local independent car dealer and deal with someone face to face rather than this lot who really don't know what they are doing.
Helpful Report
Hi Matthew, Thanks for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience using Motorway. Regarding the amendment made to your initial valuation, Motorway doesn’t purchase your car directly, but assists in sourcing offers from dealerships across the UK. To do this, we build an in-depth profile of your car which takes into account the specificities of your vehicle, such as the condition, history, and specification, to provide a bespoke valuation. At this stage, we will advise you of any positive or negative factors which can affect the price you may receive. In your specific case some amendments were made for the 4 scuffed alloys, damaged tyre and a small dent to the side of the vehicle. These amendments are made to account for the repair or replacement of vehicle parts and are not done to reduce your price, but to ensure you have been given an accurate indication of the value of your car, which is likely to be met by dealership offers. Once this process has been completed, we ask you to indicate whether or not you are happy with the figure we expect to achieve. This allows you to make an informed decision about whether or not you are provisionally happy to sell at that price, before wasting any of your time, our time, or the buyer's time, on a sale that you would not be happy to proceed with. In some cases, buyers' offers may also exceed the indicative estimate, so it is not a final cap on the price you can receive I’m sorry to hear you experienced issues with the photo app. The reason we request that you use the app first and foremost is that it assists you in taking photos of the specific angles and areas we require, preventing you from making multiple photo submissions by ensuring they meet our requirements, which our agents advised at the time. These photo requirements have been developed to help you create a professional-grade vehicle profile which helps to maximise your offers. However, I’m glad that one of our sales team was able to assist you after successfully uploading these to your profile. We are sorry that your car was not listed. I have looked into your sale and can see that you're correct to say that you had submitted all of your details and it looks like your sales agent had everything ready to intending to put the car live, but simply failed to place the profile in the correct status, meaning it was not entered into the sale. Although this was a genuine and isolated error and incorrectly followed up, we understand why you had lost confidence in the process at this point, but we assure you this was in no way an attempt to be opaque and deceptive, so much as an agent's failure to follow the internal process correctly. We will follow up with your sales agent to provide feedback and training. I’m sorry that things didn’t work out with Motorway this time but we are glad that you ultimately sold the car. We wish you all the best moving forward. Best regards, Dominic Sales Support Team
Firstly, I had to send in photos 3 times. I got a quote on the first call. On the second call I could tell I was going to be given the run around by the amount of 'oohhs and aahhs and surprise, surprise the quote fell by £800. The final offer fell by £2000. Stay away
Helpful Report
Hi Paul, Thanks for your review. Sorry that you were unhappy with your experience. Regarding any additional photos that we requested from you, this is because Motorway markets your car to UK dealerships, and presents a professional, standardised profile to maximise the offers you are likely to receive, and to secure a firm offer ahead of inspection. These include explicitly specified photo angles to ensure buyers can make accurate remote appraisals and offers, with any issues then taken into consideration prior to sale. Our app uses superimposed outlines to help you achieve these exact photos the first time, rather than taking and submitting photos that then need to be re-taken. Unfortunately some of the photos you had initially submitted were not suitable which is why we requested some retakes. Regarding your estimated selling price vs the final offer you received. Our estimates are based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history, as well as specific details our sales team discuss with you regarding the history, specification and condition of your car. Once the condition of your car has been discussed in more detail your estimated selling price is calculated. Naturally, any issues mentioned on this call such as stone chips, dents, scratches, or any other mechanical issues will need to be taken into account which is why your estimated selling price may differ from the initial valuation. This is done so to ensure that any prospective buyers are fully aware of the condition of your car before bidding in the daily sale. This allows for highly accurate price analysis at scale, so in most cases offers come out on or around the reserve price as an accurate representation of the vehicle value. This is absolutely not a cap on what you can achieve. We operate a blind bidding system, so buyers can't see what other buyers have offered, and although not guaranteed, where competition is high a car may exceed the estimate by any margin. Unfortunately in this instance, there was limited interest generated for your car from our network of buyers, which is why your car only received 2 bids during the daily sale. We are sorry that this was not the outcome that you were looking for and if you would like to discuss this in more detail or provide further information then please contact us via email at reviews@motorway.co.uk. Best regards, Sam Sales Support Team
Feels like a scam. Sent loads of photos then buyer found a stone chip and deal was off. Now being re-listed for what will be a lesser amount. Constantly chasing for updates after deal fell through. Cancelled my insurance, tax and warranty on the back of the deal. Now left in the lurch. Never do it again!
Helpful Report
Hi Howard, Thanks for your review. Sorry if you were unhappy with your experience. We have had a look into this for you and can confirm that the reason your original sale was cancelled was due to a breakdown in communication between the buyer and the assigned third party collections company. We will be following this up internally and will be keeping an eye on future purchases related to both parties to ensure that similar issues can be avoided in the future. However, I am glad to see that since posting this review we have been able to successfully relist your vehicle in a further sale and that you have now been able to accept a new offer equal in value to the previously cancelled offer. Nevertheless, we would like to apologise for any frustrations caused as this is not the usual experience we expect for our customers. If you experience any further issues then please contact us directly via email at reviews@motorway.co.uk otherwise, we wish you all the best going forward. Best regards, Sam Sales Support Team
Stow car company. Having had my fingers burn by car dealers in the past. It was a very different and pleasant dealing with Andy & Mark today. I couldn't be happier with my experience & thoroughly recommend this business 👌 5stars
Helpful Report
Wow JUST AWFUL: PLEASE DO NOT BE FOOLED BY A HIGH STAR RATING My poor experience was their standard service; this was quite evident! 1. No replies to my emails for updates 2. Constantly requested to update photos, change photos additional information needed: Photos removed twice I’d added twice no reason(s) given 3. Their delaying tactics reduced their offer by £3000! 3. All requests for information were additional to those that were initially requested. 4. When I’d been forced to call, second time, in order to get my car listed I was told without electronic Service History there nothing that could be done to put my car for sale! After MY follow up telephone conversation I was advised that without the proof of Service history they could not proceed; even though I was advised Service History was not required if it was electronic. Most importantly It all ended ‘fizzling-out’ & feeling FAKE: It ended not being listed;
Helpful Report
Hello there, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience. Unfortunately, we’re unable to identify your records using the information provided here. Please respond with a unique identifier such as the vehicle registration, phone number, or email address you used to submit your valuation and I can look into this in more detail for you. In the meantime, I will respond in general terms to the points raised here. Regarding the additional photos we requested, this is because Motorway markets your car to UK dealerships, and presents a professional, standardised profile to maximise the offers you are likely to receive and to secure a firm offer ahead of inspection. These include explicitly specified photo angles to ensure buyers can make accurate remote appraisals and offers, with any issues then taken into consideration prior to sale. Our app uses superimposed outlines to help you achieve these exact photos the first time, rather than taking and submitting photos that then need to be re-taken. It is likely that some of the photos you had initially submitted didn't meet our requirements, which is why we asked you to retake them on multiple occasions. This is absolutely not a delaying tactic and your value may have been reduced due to negative factors that can affect the estimated selling price of your car such as scratches, dents, missing services etc. This is not done to reduce your price, but to ensure you have been given an accurate indication of the value of your car, which is likely to be met by dealership offers. This allows you to make an informed decision about whether or not you are provisionally happy to sell at that price, before wasting any of your time, our time, or the buyer's time, on a sale that you would not be happy to proceed with. In some cases, buyers' offers may also exceed the indicative estimate, so it is not a final cap on the price you can receive. I would like to look into the specifics of the other points you have raised but as stated before, we’re unable to identify your records using the information provided here. If you respond with a unique identifier such as the vehicle registration, phone number, or email address you used to submit your valuation I can look into this in more detail for you. You can also contact us on 020 3988 3388 or reviews@motorway.co.uk Best regards, Dominic Sales Support Team
Rubbish. Far longer and more laborious process than is indicated in the commercials. Failed to achieve the agreed target price by over £1,000.
Helpful Report
Hi John, Thanks for your review, sorry that you were unhappy with the offer you received for your car compared to the initial online valuation. Our estimates are based on industry guide prices, live market data, and our previous sales history, as well as specific details our sales team discuss regarding the history, specification, and condition of your car. This allows for highly accurate price analysis at scale, so in most cases offers come out on or around the reserve price as an accurate representation of the vehicle value. This is absolutely not a cap on what you can achieve however. We operate a blind bidding system, so buyers can't see what other buyers have offered, and although we cannot guarantee there will be a high level of interest for every car sold through our platform, where competition is high, a car may exceed the estimate by any margin. Unfortunately, in this instance it looks like your car generated very limited interest from our UK wide network of dealers and only received the one offer below the estimated selling price. You’re never obligated to accept a lower offer of course, as it is a voluntary transaction for all parties throughout. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with how the sale went but if you would like to discuss this further please contact us at reviews@motorway.co.uk. Best regards, Sam Sales Support Team
Motorway is rated 4.4 based on 1,128 reviews