Made4Fighters.com Reviews

4.79 Rating 3,933 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Made4Fighters.com
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.76 out of 5
Read Made4Fighters.com Reviews

About Made4Fighters.com:

Made4Fighters.com is a UK based specialist retailer of Combat Sports Equipment & Apparel. Established 2007.

Visit Website

Phone:

01280 818648

Email:

contact@made4fighters.com

Didn’t receive my items that I ordered 2 weeks ago
Posted 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon. Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear this. We pride our selves in providing excellent service, therefore we can not apologise enough for this inconvenience. I can see that we had email correspondence on 21st May with regards to your order, which unfortunately was damaged in transit. A full refund was processed on the same day along with a discount code for a future order. If you need any further assistances with anything, please contact us at contact@made4fighters.com Kind regards Danielle, M4F
Posted 3 weeks ago
Sent me the wrong boots however I was refunded.
Posted 1 month ago
Bought your red oak hard wood 5ft stick for a 10 year old and he snapped it in under 5 min so had to order another!
Posted 1 month ago
Unfortunately the invoice wasn’t printed and added to the package, therefore the Dutch DPD custom calculated the a general market price (180 €) of the item, which was way higher than the purchase price I payed and additionally they’ve also calculated a price for the free teeth guard, which I didn’t even pay for by purchase. Adding the invoice could have saved me some of the the >60 € custom fee. Otherwise product as described, delivery relatively fast, but because of above, sorry but can’t give more then 2 stars. :(
Posted 3 months ago
My first bo, I’m enjoying training with it, but it’s bent. It’s the cheaper one but I still wasn’t expecting to receive a bent one
Posted 5 months ago
I bought a pair of bytomic 16kg kettlebells When they arrived one had no box or wrapping and had several paint chips The finish on the kettlebells was terrible . The handles were so abrasive it took the skin off my hands (iv been using kettlebells for years I do not have soft hands) because I needed the bells and didn’t want the hassle of sending them back I took a file and sander to them got a decent finish on them and then resprayed them .
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Ben, We're very sorry that you've experienced an issue with your kettlebell. We hold very high standards for the products in which we sell so this is very important to us. We would have gladly had this kettlebell collected from your home and replaced at no extra charge. Please do let us know if any issues in the future as we are always very happy to help. Many thanks, Made4Fighters Team
Posted 5 months ago
We couldn't get the ropes free and there was no instructions to 😣
Posted 5 months ago
After i send 3 mails they send the order
Posted 6 months ago
Ordered a jumbo punch bag which was suppose to come with hanging chain as stated in the description. The chain did not come with the bag and after emailing them they dealt with the situation.
Posted 7 months ago
Hi John I'm so sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with us. We pride ourselves in outstanding service, I cannot apologise enough we have missed the mark on this occasion. I have contacted you via email to resolve this for you, I will also ensure a full refund is processed for the chains you have purchased, a new set will be sent out free of charge. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the meantime, our contact details are as follows: 01280818648, contact@made4fighters.com Hollie, M4F
Posted 7 months ago
Received an item that was too small, came with no way to return it I emailed to site multiple time to no reply, however the other items I received I was happy with.
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Ellie, Thanks for your review, I'm so sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. We pride ourselves on exceptional service, which is reflected in our reviews. I have checked our system and we have not received an email from yourself, however I have now contacted you with our free returns form to ensure you can get the items you do not require back to us. All returns information can be viewed via our website https://made4fighters.com/refunds-returns-policy/ If you would like to contact us in the meantime, please give us a call on 01280818648. Please let me know if i can be of any further assistance. Hollie, M4F
Posted 7 months ago
Ordered a top and shorts .. they sent two shorts .. I sent one back and it took nearly two weeks and several emails to eventually get the top !... pretty poor
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Suzanna Thanks for your review, I'm so sorry you have experienced this. Due to the current circumstances our returns department have been extremely busy, however I can see you have now received the correct items. I'm so sorry we could not process this in a more timely manner. I have also emailed you with a 10% discount code for a future order. Apologies again for any inconvenience caused. Hollie, M4F
Posted 8 months ago
Still yet to have my money for a returned item
Posted 8 months ago
Rücksendung aus Deutschland funtioniert sehr schlecht, ich hatte angegeben das ich es in eine größere Größe umtauschen will Bekomme aber keine Nachrichten, trotz mehreren Versuchen
Posted 9 months ago
No issue with the site or ordering however the product sizing was way way off - bought Muay Thai shorts for my eldest child and Gave to my youngest instead as they were so small (not the first pair of Muay Thai shorts I’ve bought so I’m aware the sizing can be smaller so I bought bigger)
Posted 9 months ago
The punching bag came in the wrong colour and there was no chain to attach it with. The photos had the chain, so assumed it was included.
Posted 9 months ago
Rower stated it was in stock on there website; paid for and they had to return money, several days later; as they could not provide purchased goods.
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Chris, apologies for this - our supplier had a stock issue on this particular item due to the recent unprecedented demand. We hope to have some more available soon
Posted 1 year ago
Sent me the wrong colour on my order.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Marcus, apologies for this! Please get in contact with us at contact@made4fighters.com and we can rectify this for you
Posted 1 year ago
the image for the gloves listed are not the same colour i received.
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Karl, Apologies you have received the wrong item. Please send us an email at contact@made4fighters.com and we will get this fixed for you!
Posted 1 year ago
I placed an order for a product that wasn't in stock and that is quite frustrating since it was an expensive item £400+ and I ended up with my available credit locked waiting for a refund. Worth mentioning the refund process was fine, it was just the overall experience ended up being pretty poor.
Posted 1 year ago
The item purchased was unfortunately too small so an exchange was requested to get the next size up (I emailed them and the response was quick to come back to me which was appreciated) I was informed to return the item before any exchange request was made, which I did however I then did not hear anything until I chased it 2 x weeks later only to be told that a refund was made instead which coincidently was sent a minute before the response was received. I was told to place a new order and the postage would be credited but by this time the size required was out of stock and the item was now more expensive. Not very happy with the way this was dealt and no apologies were made on their behalf. However very quick responses were made when I did contact them via email which I was pleased about.
Posted 1 year ago
Hello, Thanks for your review! I'm so sorry you feel this was dealt with incorrectly. If we do not have an exchange item in stock, we ensure that a refund is processed - on this occasion the refund unfortunately did not process correctly, therefore once we had been notified the refund was then processed instantly. I have checked the stock levels for you and we have the rash guard in stock, therefore i am happy to give you the same discount you originally received. I have sent you an email in regards to this :) I'm so sorry again for any inconvenience caused by this. If you have any further queries, please contact us! Kind regards Hollie M4F
Posted 1 year ago
Made4Fighters.com is rated 4.79 based on 3,933 reviews