I My Home Reviews

4.68 Rating 1,552 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend I My Home
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.80 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how I My Home made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Unfortunately it is not a service l would recommend to others. I had to chase up Customer Services on 2 occasions as my Survey had not been booked in for Completion. On the first occasion it was apparent that it had been forgotten!
When it did get done l was sent a Survey on a property that was not my purchase !!! So again l had to chase up so that the Survey l was sent got to the right place and l got mine
Not a great experience
Posted 3 days ago
I am extremely disappointed upon purchasing the property following a survey from iMyHome. I was not allowed in the internal garage when I viewed the property as the estate agents “didn’t have the keys”. The surveyor was able to view the garage and mentions it in the report. However, they neglected to mention the HUGE hole in the roof that I can see straight up into the kitchen floor! I am absolutely disgusted and flabbergasted that this was not part of the report as I would assume half of the ceiling missing would be something to mention in a house survey! I am currently discussing this with the estate agents and now iMyHome as I am extremely unsatisfied and devastated upon this discovery as a first time buyer. I have included a photograph of the hole in the ceiling.
Posted 3 months ago
Horrible experience!We booked a homebuilders survey which was done by Tim Smee of quantum surveys. He said there is no significant damp. However when we visited the property there was damp on two separate walls visible to even my eye. We had to get a specialist to review who charged £120. The survey costing us £450 was basically useless. Caused us lot of unnecessary agony n extra money. Fraud company. Don’t waste ur money here.
Posted 6 months ago
I paid for my homebuyers survey 2 weeks ago, I still haven't had a date for my survey. When I call them to discuss this I just keep being told that I will get a date by the end of the week I never do. They ask for the money upfront for a service I haven't even received. I am being chased by all parties that are in relation to the property and they don't seem to care. I would seriously reconsider paying these people for a survey. Especially when they seem to pick and choose how and when people get surveys!
Posted 6 months ago
Dear Mr Jarvis,

I am surprised that you have taken the unreasonable step in writing such a negative review about our company.

When you booked your survey online the entire country was under a lock-down situation imposed by the government because of the unprecedented events caused by COVID-19.

At the time of booking your survey we were simply unable to confirm the date due to these restrictions, however since last week the property sector was able to return to work albeit under strict social distancing rules, with a surge in demand and a backlog to overcome your survey was at the top of the list to be booked.

When you spoke to one of our colleagues earlier today the notes suggest that you were entirely understanding of this situation however naturally frustrated, as we all are during these difficult times.

I understand you have been sent a refund form which will enable us to complete the cancellation of your survey and apply the refund in full.

Our reviews speak for themselves and therefore whilst we appreciate your frustrations we do not accept your stance.

We wish you all the very best with your purchase.

regards,

The iMyHome Team
Posted 6 months ago
Dissatisfied with my survey on my property, it raised a significant number of red flags and when I asked a builder to come and look at the work he found the report to be highly inaccurate and the flags that it raised were general issues that arise with old properties but my property currently didn’t show any signs of these issues including damp and woodworm. The builder put my mind at ease after the report caused me a lot of stress and concern unnecessarily. I would not use this company again as I couldn’t trust their service now. The builder also questioned how they managed to report on the loft space
When there was no evidence anybody had been in the loft the week before he came our due to the number of cobwebs and debris he had to shift to get in.
Posted 1 year ago
iMyHome have my case to Quantem who told me I had damp and when I paid for a damp specialist to come out there is no damp at all. They also reported they couldn’t get in the shed because it was locked when it has no locks or handles. Refusing to reimburse the extra costs I incurred to get additional specialists out as they failed to provide a factual report.
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your feedback.

During inspection, the attending surveyor detected damp readings above acceptable tolerances at low level in the external walls of the property. He therefore recommended you investigate further.

We understand the damp specialist failed to find any damp.

It has already been explained in writing that the purpose of a Homebuyers Report is to inform prospective purchasers of any possible defects and to recommend further specialist advice be sought where necessary. This is exactly what you received. It is good news that the damp specialist found no damp within the property, but this does not mean that the survey was misleading. The damp recorded by the surveyor was likely to be reflective of the facts that the property had been empty for some time during which condensation had formed on the walls and/or that it had been raining heavily for several days prior to the inspection (as stated within the report).
It is presumed that the property had dried out by the time of the damp specialist’s inspection. We have also confirmed and have explained that the damp meter utilised was in fact calibrated specifically for masonry. The attending surveyor has also advised that, based upon his findings, there may be condensation issues within the property.

The shed in question was indeed missing its handle. There was a keyhole below the missing handle, leading the surveyor to assume that it had been locked. If he had found it was actually unlocked had he pushed the door he might subsequently have been unable to re-secure it. As such, an external inspection of the shed was taken place. In any event, we would point out that we are not obliged to inspect or report upon small timber-framed sheds of this nature within the normal scope of a standard Homebuyers Report.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you well with your purchase.

The iMyHome Team
Posted 1 year ago
Be Aware!! Useless.
At the point of sale - promises lot but doesnt deliver.
No direct control over Surveyor.
Made a wrong decision.
Lesson:
THINK Before appoininting people who are not part of the service delivery team.
Posted 1 year ago
They carried a survey in a property I was returning. Despite making sure the property was exposed to show al the areas for surveys, there was minimal effort by the surveyor and despite my complaint I still have not received any response. It feels like a fraudulent compajy’
Posted 1 year ago
I booked a survey for a commerical property I am currently purchasing of which full details were provided to iMyHome via Rightmove and I assured me they could do it so i paid the £600 fee which was taken from my credit card straightaway. The property is 2 semi detached houses which have converted into a single detached property offering office space. Unfortunately, when the Surveyor arrived the property he was unable to proceed with survey as he apparently was expecting a residential element to it.

As soon as I found out I called the office explained the situation and Elliot who took the call said they would refund me in approx 3-5 days with no mention of any deductions. I got the refund however it wasn't the full refund they deducted £90. When I rang up to find out why I was told that the deduction was made that because the Surveyor entered the building and if that happens they charge a fee for it. Apparently Its in their T+Cs and the person taking the booking would have been made you fully aware at the time. I assured them that no mention of this clause was made to me during the survey booking process. I even asked them to check the telephone conversation recording of the booking if they didn't believe me to confirm if I was told or not, however this was just conveniently ignored during the call.

So please be warned there are hidden charges!

IMyHome come across as a very professional but they are far from it. Based on my experience I will not be using their services ever again or be recommending them to anyone.

BTW I had to give 1 star as it was a mandatory requirement for the review otherwise it would have been a 0.1 star!
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Mr Panesar,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear of your cause for writing.

It should be noted however that you instructed us to conduct a RICS Homebuyers report and we were informed by you that the property was residential however upon arrival to the property it was quite clear that in actual fact they were offices.

We did offer to send another surveyor to conduct a commercial survey at no extra cost within 2 to 5 days however this did not meet your timescales.

Our policy regarding refunds is extremely clear, firstly on our initial email correspondence and also our T&C's on the website. A FULL refund is applicable as long as we have not entered the property, because our surveyor attended based on the information we were provided the surveyors time needs to be compensated hense the charge.

This is not a decision we take lightly.

We wish you all the very best.

The iMyHome Team
Posted 1 year ago
iMyHome are a broker. The number of surveyors on their panel are extensive.
I can not fault iMyHome for their service. They were professional, courteous and agreed to discount their original price by 10%, so value for money on the face of it.
The reason for the low rating is the responsibility for the quality of the surveyor lies with them, even if they are a broker.

The surveyor was IMO inexperienced. I felt I was answering all my own questions and concerns.
I regret taking the home buyers report. I knew it would be basic, but the areas I asked to be advised upon were barely answered for some and completely absent for others. (BTW this is the best tip I have for getting the most out of your surveyor, prepare beforehand any areas you want special attention paid to). The surveyor began to retract statements he made as he realised they were false. Such as; loose electrical wiring in several places, when challenged to provide even one of these locations, he could not.

I have had a full structural survey done before by Leo Horsfield surveyors who are fantastic. They came to Lpndon from Brighton. Managed to book it with them for £500 after some fun haggling. The difference in results is overwhelming.

Perhaps I'm being unfair. But I blame the broker for finding me the surveyor.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your kind words regarding the service that you have received from iMyHome, we do pride ourselves on as you say our professionalism, and our customer service.

Regarding the surveyor being inexperienced, according to our records the surveyor we allocated has in-excess of 30 years experience and regulated by the RICS, achieving an A* rating last year.

The Homebuyers Report was the right type of survey for the property that you are purchasing providing a detailed report highlighting the concerns and defects that could be costly to you in the future. We will always encourage that you contact the surveyor prior to the inspection and we make this easy for you by providing their contact name, number and email address.

I note we inspected the property in August and it is disappointing that it is only now that we have had the opportunity to resolve your concerns following this review.

The Building Survey is a much more detailed report and does cost more money which would explain the difference in the results compared to the surveyor travelling all the way from Brighton which, according to the RICS is outside of the permitted area.

We wish you all the best in your new home.

The iMyHome Team
Posted 2 years ago
I relived multiple emails, each naming a different firm that wold undertake the survey. When this was sorted, the surveyor contracted seems to have been either incompetent or negligent. The simplest details were missed - a DPC only 10mm above the brick patio, only two air bricks for a 25 sq m suspended wooden floor, a derelict fence described as being in good order....

This survey was carried out an delivered later than expected (from the iMyHome site suggested would be the case), and was so obviously flawed that even were it to have contained anything of value I would not have trusted it.
Posted 2 years ago
I was told by the gentleman who house you surveyed for me at number 7 Aintree Close Gravesend Kent, l was robbed, you were in the house only a short while, switching on lights and looking around in general, you wrote that you couldn't see much as there were a lot of boxes in the room as they were packing.
I know that wasn't true, because four days after you surveyed the house the gentleman decided his no longer wanted to move because his wife was ill in hospital, I called round to see him, he said he hadn't done any packing there were no boxes in any of the rooms when you were there?
I was told for what you did you didn't need to be a surveyor, any builder could have done what you did. I feel I through my money away.
Jean Dempster.
Posted 2 years ago
Dear Jean,

Thank you for your review.

Following your review we have audited/reviewed the file on this property.

The inspection was carried out by our Chartered Surveyor and Registered Valuer, with over 30 years’ experience. As always this was carried out to RICS guidelines.

We have over 100 photos on file together with over an hour of digitally dictated site notes, in addition to handwritten site notes. Our records indicate that we were in attendance at the property for the best part of two hours. The report makes only one reference to stored articles, as well as floor coverings, furniture and fittings, and this is a standard phrase under the section for “the status of the property when inspection took place”, as the property was occupied and furnished.

It is surprising that such a complaint made to us and now posted online without any contact from you prior to this, following receipt of the report on 8th June 2018 some 2 months later.

We can fully understand you will feel disappointed that the transaction fell through, however we strongly disagree with the comments made, which were by way of “hearsay” from the Vendor.

I hope this information is of assistance and would like to assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best wishes,
The iMyHome Team
Posted 2 years ago
Survey took place which was booked by iMyHome but they subcontract it to a company called Quantum Valuations. Was told prior to booking the survey that I could obtain indicative verbal feedback same day. Having chased over 8 times, no feedback, nobody following up with me on the situation. They just do not care. Very disappointed as it's holding up a lot of my other obligations.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your review and sorry to hear of your frustrations.

We do make every effort to resolve any concerns prior to your report being delivered and I believe that this was satisfied with you this morning.

Our surveyor has contact you and resolved any concerns.

We have a dedicated panel management team and will always respond to any enquiry either by telephone or email promptly.

We wish you all the best with your onward purchase.

The iMyHome Team
Posted 2 years ago
I had booked a full building service through imyhome. The company which was instructred for the survey carroed out the survey but didnt produce the report with sufficient evidences and photographs for defects which they mentioned in the property. I had specifically raised certain concerns with the property and requeted the surveyor to investigate these in the property but they didnt even comment on these such as presence of load bearing walls. The report was nothing different to a standard home buyers report. Moreover, the company uses third party surveyors to conduct the survey and therefore iam unable to get hold of the surveyor to discuss my concerns. In my opinion, there has been no communiation and imyhome are not even showing acknowlegdment of this. Will never use them.
Posted 3 years ago
Dear Rimmy, Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service that we provided.

We did set out the description of the service prior to your booking and you had agreed to the terms and conditions confirming your acceptance of this. When we had receive your concerns following the delivery of the report we did put you in direct contact with the surveyor which he had confirmed.

We had previously confirmed prior to booking that a structural engineer would confirm if a wall was load bearing, not a surveyor.

We had duly completed a standard RICS Building Survey, not a Homebuyers Report.

Best Wishes,
The iMyHome Team
Posted 3 years ago
I My Home is rated 4.68 based on 1,552 reviews