GWlegal Reviews

4.77 Rating 3,336 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend GWlegal
Read GWlegal Reviews

About GWlegal:

GWlegal’s ultimate mission is to provide a fully rounded legal proposition for clients, who will return to GW again and again.

We offer the everyday legal services you require to move smoothly through each stage of life’s journey. Property law when purchasing your first home. Equity release when you are ready to retire. Financial claims or personal injury services when something goes wrong. Will writing to protect you and your loved ones.

Who is GWlegal? We are a national firm with local values.

Visit Website

Phone:

0345 373 3737

Email:

marketing@gw.legal

Location:

20 Chapel Street

GWlegal 5 star review on 12th January 2022
Grant Newman
GWlegal 5 star review on 12th January 2022
Grant Newman
GWlegal 5 star review on 25th February 2021
Michael Cahill
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I chose GW Legal from a panel of solicitors... I was unlucky in my selection - the customer service is terrible, you can leave messages and send emails but you are unlikely to get a reply until it suits them, which in my experience was the Friday before completion! Everything is done to their time scale - 234 days to buy an empty property with no chain even during these "unprecedented times" is totally unacceptable. It felt like they were working solely for the lender and we were there just to pay the bill. I would like a reply from GW Legal about how they intend to address this issue... but I won't hold my breath.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Mr Robins, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details, and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 1 year ago
The Case manager had very poor communication skills. Several times I asked her to contact me with no response. My main complaint is that I did all the work. I chased CCj's found the originators of the debts. Investigated to find that we did not owe this money. The case manager was unhelpful. I did raise this with Age Partnership who read the 'notes' I was informed that several attempts had been made. When I contacted this company it was very easy and they said that GW Legal had left 1 message. It is very hard to write down my level of frustration with GW Legal and to articulate my complaints effectively. I had spoken to Age Partnership as I wanted to see GW Invoice before completion. They informed me that someone would telephone me... I am still waiting
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Ms Bustin, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details, and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 1 year ago
Glad my case is closed after nearly 10months concerning equity release I know the situation in society is grim at the moment but it's not been the best experience I hope no it's a one off 🥶
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Ms Allen, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details, and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 1 year ago
This will be the subject of a formal complaint, and thus no review will be left, but will be dealt with separately.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
less than impressed with the service provided. fees some 40% higher than estimated by lender. funds did not arrive on time. would not use again
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Mr White, many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 1 year ago
I have been very disappointed with a number of issues. I am still waiting for the return of my late wife's death certificate and hard copies of all the completion paper work. I have emailed and left messages but have had no reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Mr Gill, many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 1 year ago
I tried to make a complaint over the phone, and was told to put it in writing to the head of the department by Fiona Telford. I wrote to the head of the equity release department On the 7th of March. Sending it signed for delivery it was received on the 9th of March. Even after two phone calls I still haven’t Had a reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I found GW legal very poor. Always giving the impression that they were representing The Equity Release Company, NOT US. How they justify £1000 for repetative contracts, I do not know. The Equity Release Co. said they would be similar to my local Solicitor..who quoted £595 !! I asked GW to query why The ER company had put the interest rates up to 3.2% from 2.8% ASSURING ME THEY GOT THE BEST RATE ON THE OPEN MARKET. I then discovered others WHO KNEW MY CIRCUMSTANCES COMPLETELY WOULD HAVE CHARGED "WELL UNDER 3%" GW SAID CONTACT THEM YOURSELF... Use your own Solicitor folks. Terry Sweatmore.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Rip off far too high charges worse than the loan companies
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I will be writing a long email with my thoughts when I have gathered them sufficiently
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Wasn't impressed with the fact that my emails were lost twice delaying my transaction
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Ms Sanders, many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 1 year ago
Had to provide same documents several times, wrong redemption figures used which meant completion certificate was incorrect. Incorrect legal fees charged. Would never use or recommend this company again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi. Many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would really like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 2 years ago
I have had the most stressful experience using your company. Considering I was paying for your services, you should have been doing the work, not expecting me to. I would not recommend you to anyone. Most of the time equity release would be elderly people who should have a smooth journey. God help them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi. Many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We would really like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 2 years ago
Rubbish not returning calls
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi. Many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We’d really like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 2 years ago
My Mother is 82 and hard of hearing. Her case handler when speaking to her on the phone was at times very patronising and at times very abrupt. Maybe certain case handlers would benefit from a customer service course.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We’d really like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 2 years ago
I have been in process of buying a house and your Solicitors was recommended we were assigned to emma clark whom works for you. With in this process we were asked for documents regarding buying our house e.g bank statement, gift letter, how we were paying deposits and so on, we provided all these documents to emma to which we were told yes everything was fine, we would then get an email to say we never sent certain documents in which we did but then were lost so we sent them in again they were lost luckily for us we did photo copy these documents. Were were told then everything is sorted we should be able to exchange contract to then be told we could not use certain money, to which we replyed to emma that she said all was ok and we had told her on several occasions were the money had came from. Emma then told use we could not use this money at the last minute which was causing problems for us also the sellers and the people who they were buying there house off. We asked why at last minute that this mistake was made and all we got told was sorry you carnt use that money. We then received a letter to say we had a new Solicitor taking over, we then had to get more statements from the gifter that emma never asked for so it was more hold ups and at one point we were on the verge of losing the house due to all the mistake made by emma Clarke. So after months of going back and forth the new Solicitor Lynne asked for more documents and information and we did explain to her all this has been sent in but she said they went there and we needed to do it again, still in the meantime we were very stressed with all this as it had been going on for the last 5 months and still no further to completion. So now we have got completion on our new home with the help from lynne after 5 months of stress due to a member of your staff whom I think was very poor at here job. I would not recommend your company to anyone as I think it is very poor service. Alan Preston
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Mr Preston. Many thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. We’d really like to discuss your case with you in more detail. Please send us an email on discuss@gw.legal with your case reference number and contact details and someone will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Kind regards, the GW team.
Posted 2 years ago
GWlegal is rated 4.77 based on 3,336 reviews