GWlegal Reviews

4.8 Rating 3,934 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend GWlegal
Read GWlegal Reviews

About GWlegal:

GWlegal’s ultimate mission is to provide a fully rounded legal proposition for clients, who will return to GW again and again.

We offer the everyday legal services you require to move smoothly through each stage of life’s journey. Property law when purchasing your first home. Equity release when you are ready to retire. Financial claims or personal injury services when something goes wrong. Will writing to protect you and your loved ones.

Who is GWlegal? We are a national firm with local values.

Visit Website

Phone:

0345 373 3737

Email:

marketing@gw.legal

Location:

20 Chapel Street

GWlegal 5 star review on 1st April 2022
Martin Bishop
GWlegal 5 star review on 12th January 2022
Grant Newman
GWlegal 5 star review on 12th January 2022
Grant Newman
GWlegal 5 star review on 25th February 2021
Michael Cahill
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I thought they were rather slow, and there was some confusion along the way.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Home visit excellent linda Email response after completion ZERO
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Not impressed
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Could do better with communication and with client responses .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
On the whole a very good service but made more difficult for Lisa Stanton because solicitor who visited me at home failed to correctly copy all documents causing problems delays and additional workload
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Service generally excellent but spoilt as the home visit booked for a Sunday afternoon was cancelled by your lawyer 15 minutes before the agreed time. Reason given was that all the legal papers had not been received from solicitors. Should have checked this much earlier.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Very difficult to get in touch by telephone Completion was delayed for no reason that I’m aware of only that the redemption statement had expired even though there was a daily interest that could have been used.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
GW Legal were appointed by Age Partnership to deal with the Legal aspects of our Equity Release Lifetime Mortgage. In the main they acted well, with 2 exceptions The facts about our case are that we bought our property in June 2021, and have no Mortgage. It became very clear that the transaction would not progress until the Land Registry had updated the Deeds, this took them over 3 months. Considering they must deal with this organisation often, they did not assist in expediting this update, instead simply pushing us back to our original Purchase Solicitors and insisting that we chase them and the Land Registry ourselves. For such a fundamental part of the release we would have hoped that they could have assisted more. At the end of the process we were contacted to confirm payment details for our Bank. We use my Account to handle our Household finances, this had been advised at the beginning and also to the visiting Solicitor. As this is in my name we would have expected to have been advised that my Wife would need to authorise this, however no mention was made. We were contacted the day before completion by phone. He asked to speak to my Wife, she was not available as she works, however initially he would not say why he needed to speak to her and crucially that payment would not be made until he had done so. Initially he would not provide a callback number and even left a Voicemail the day before advising us not to return his call. On Completion day he called and insisted that he speak to her, again she was at work, he then advised that no funds would be released until he had spoken to her, this clearly was critical. This time he gave his direct dial phone number, and I got her to call him. Considering this was such an important point it could have been dealt with much better. GW Legal offered additional Services, but in light of the above we will go elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
iT;S been along process to get this over the line, i found it very frustrating at times not getting enough feedback on the problems that kept being thrown up
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
disappointed with the service as the agent was unprepared for the meeting as the pack of necessary documents had not arrived beforehand consequently I ended up having to print many of the documents required and even then received calls a few days later from HQ to say some documents (scans etc) was not of the quality required
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
My first dealings with this firm which was recommended to me by an agent. and the initial impression is that it is reactive in its work rather than proactive.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Emma very good at keeping in touch and keeping to what was agreed or updating if a delay.However there was a holdup with a solicitor that turned out not to be a problem with the leasehold and we almost lost the offer except for the tremendous effort of our equity adviser,the rates had increased again but they went to the funder and we were accepted at original rate.Thank you to all.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Not Bad fair
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I spoke and emailed Anna, just a few times, but she completed my Lifetime Mortgage successfully.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Quick processing of case, but little contact verbally.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
No problems things were routine
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
At the moment we are still waiting to receive our wills, I would prefer to do another survey then.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I received a £75 letter for gifting money to my only son, I didn’t request this advice and the letter gave me the impression that I had to sign and return it to complete the equity release
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Very annoyed to be charged £75 for tax advice we did not request
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Fiona was an excellent person to work with but when she went on holiday the correspondance and failure to respond to emails failed miserably You really need to make your customer feel important and kept up to date on a regular level Sometimes it felt you were working for Aviva instead of me All told after 14 weeks you finally delivered and thankyou but please treat your customer as an important person who is going through a difficult situation for the first time and needs help and support from their legal team
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
GWlegal is rated 4.78 based on 3,934 reviews