Hastings Direct Reviews

4.25 Rating 38,645 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Hastings Direct
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 88%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.04 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read Hastings Direct Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Hastings Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Disappointing that I cannot opt out of auto-renewing my policy. Although it is claimed that this ‘makes life easier’ for me, I disagree, and I DO NOT want to auto-renew.

Linda Weeden
Posted 14 hours ago
Can not get to change my bikeso have to go else where. Useless site
Posted 16 hours ago
Great service
Posted 20 hours ago
I wanted to buy the quote which I got on the internet 2 days ago, phoned in to activate insurance waited 1 hour on the phone to say the quote has gone up plus and admin because I was going to do on the phone. Not happy with the wait time on phone, plus they said quote changes everyday which sounds like a con, I wouldn’t trust
Posted 21 hours ago
overall easy to follow only 1 problem requested paper copy of policy which I have not received
Posted 22 hours ago
Waited almost 40 minutes to speak to someone. ...eventually got through to a nice lady but the telephone line was terrible and even though we were a customer and we had an alternative quote from the AA they would not match their quote . Hastings Direct wanted to charge almost a £100 more . Why is it that being an existing customer has no value to them . Maybe it’s part of the car insurance culture to chop and change but how can that be good business sense ?
I understand you have to take each case on it’s own merit but this experience has made me never want to consider them again for insurance of any kind.
Posted 1 day ago
Great price, but you can’t speak to anyone if you can’t log in, I’m on hold still and it’s been 48 mins and still counting! Live chat too busy!
Posted 1 day ago
I've been trying to get a House and Contents quote on line.
It's a long tedious form. At one stage it askes for my email address with confirmation.
The form then freezes on the Go button.
The online chat is not working
The sales phone line is not accepting calls.
It would appear Hasting Direct do not want new business.
I'm now off to try Aviva and First Direct!
Posted 1 day ago
The customer services for this company is so bad! They do not communicate between one another, I would strongly avoiding using this company! They are very quick to take your money but do not care about a customers true well being. I reported a claim on a Sunday and had to follow up and report the claim on Monday,Tuesday and Wednesday registering the information again and again. Now this may not seem like a big issue but when you have no transport for work and you need to go to work to make ends meet and the insurance company cannot even logged the information after time and time again. After being on hold for an hour plus at a time just be told they know nothing about my claim is very disheartening. I WOULDN'T EVEN GIVE IT ONE STAR
Posted 1 day ago
Did car insurance over the internet was very easy to day and the price of the insurance was excited half the price of my new quote so very happy.
Posted 3 days ago
They cancelled my insurance, no valid reason, terrible communication
Posted 3 days ago
Hi,

I'm sorry to hear this. So we can take a look, please can you email socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy number, full name and date of birth?

~Elle
Posted 3 days ago
I cancelled a 2 car policy last year for 2 more beneficial individual policies. Hastings recently contacted me to tell me that the 2 car policy was being automatically renewed. I have tried writing, online (My Account) chat line and telephone but it’s like trying to break into Fort Knox. My letter was ignored, my account password was cancelled with no option to change, the chat line informed me they had no authority to amend policy details and the telephone cut me off after 10 minutes referring me to My Accoun. Simply not good enough
Posted 3 days ago
Hi Bertram, I'm very sorry to hear that's the case. We'll be happy to look into this for you, if you can please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy details. ~Lillie
Posted 3 days ago
Nick S helped me through the process of making a claim after my car was damaged by an uninsured driver. He clearly explained everything and took his time to answer my questions. Superb customer service! A credit to the company.
Posted 3 days ago
cannot get through on phone, No email address on paperwork
to contact Hastings..
Posted 3 days ago
Hi David, I'm sorry if you've had trouble getting through to us. If there's anything we can do to help, please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com. ~Lillie
Posted 3 days ago
Excellent service very easy to use website would definitely recommended
Posted 4 days ago
I put a claim into hastings direct back in August for a leak in my bathroom , where the floor has been damaged I have made over 10 phone calls and still don’t have anything fixed I am unable to use my bath or shower at all!! I have complained several times to the complaints team and they promise me that someone will be in touch to fix said problem which they have already accessed and agreed claim it’s now nearly the end of Oct and still nothing has been done and I’ve paid £350 for the privilege of an unacceptable service ! I’m now going to the ombudsman! Never again will I use this company!
Posted 4 days ago
Hi, I'm very sorry to hear this is the case and for any frustration caused. If you can please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy details and we'll do our best to help. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Fast, easy to apply, excellent service.
Posted 4 days ago
have only just taken out hastings insurance all seems well good price plenty of inclusions we will see what the next year holds
Posted 4 days ago
Can't in touch with tried for 2 hours this morning
Posted 4 days ago
Hi, I'm sorry if you've had trouble getting through to us. I hope this issue as since been looked into and resolved. If you have any other queries or still need assistance, please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Had to cancel my car insurance with them. Conned out nearly £100, £45 to cancel another company I had to cancel another car with waved fees...Also when I phoned to cancel they could NOT take payment their system was down! who gets the blame me 2 weeks 2 threatening letters threatening bailiffs!!!
A genuine company? I DOUBT!!!
Posted 5 days ago
Hi,

I'm sorry to hear this. We do charge a £45.00 cancellation fee which is stated on your documents, and on our website. If you pay via direct debit, then time on cover and interest will be taken into consideration.

~Elle
Posted 4 days ago
Hastings Direct is rated 4.25 based on 38,645 reviews