Hastings Direct Reviews

4.26 Rating 38,240 Reviews
83 %
of reviewers recommend Hastings Direct
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 88%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3.04 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read Hastings Direct Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Hastings Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Quick to set up.
Posted 9 hours ago
Utter shambles. QUICK enough taking payment the same day . However 3 week on no insurance policy yet. 3 phone calls to incompetent people. Where the hell is my policy.
Posted 1 day ago
Hi Philip,

I apologise for the delay. Please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com and we'll look into this for you. ~Lillie
Posted 14 hours ago
I bought car insurance on 16th July 2020. I am still awaiting my policy in the post after 3 phone calls. Today i received a letter saying my insurance policy is enclosed. Well it wasnt. I phoned them and was told the plicy has yet again been posted ...yawn... they also said they would email my policy too. Nothing ... utter shambles . Be careful . They take your money the day you phone but no policy. DISGRACE.
Posted 1 day ago
Hi Philip, I'm sorry for the delay in receiving your documents. If you can contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy number and we'll get your documents sent over to you as soon as possible. ~Lillie
Posted 14 hours ago
Hastings Direct - A shot in the eye for Customer Service (Or "How not to engage with a Customer at any levels about Policy they wish to purchase")

I received a promising Car quotation from Quotezone (and all the multi car insurance search websites) where Hastings Direct comes out top regarding cost. I then went to the website to see what key bullet points are covered.
Summarily I had several questions I wished to ask before purchasing the insurance. This is where the fun starts (verbatim email extract below):-

1). You cannot call me back, a new prospective customer, when the information I would merely like to clarify is NOT provided in your quotation or purchase mechanism that I wish to purchase. That makes it a purchase of faith.
2). You send a generic statement (in your email reply below) that in the coronavirus paragraph provides a meta link to live chat. When redirected, there is no live chat!
3). When I ring the number you provided below, it mentions that only existing customers can be assisted via phone (WHY!!!)
and then offers options, with option 2 being for new quotes. When I choose option 2, it then states it cannot help nor sell any new policies over the phone (which I was not doing, I wanted to receive more info about the policy I wished to purchase online) and then disconnects.



NO PHONE CALLS OR CALLBACKS?
One has to ask just 'how' the current coronavirus condition affects the ability to answer a call and to interact with customers and prospects? You cannot catch this via a phone line, it states on your recorded message that call quality may not be perfect as a lot of your agents are working from "HOME".
So - how does this limit things?

Whilst car usage demographics may have changed during the current crisis, it's mandatory to have a car insured when on the road - so I assume that the car insurance industry, unlike others, have not seen too huge an impact.
Which then leads to one final assumption.
It's the company taking advantage of the current conditions to review the business model, look at how to cut costs/options, and to maximise profit.

Lastly, In the absence of all of the above, in my original email I asked whether I could be provided with a policy document so that Icould then check this for the answers myself, as they would undoubtedly be in the product descrption. This wasn't provided.

What truly fantastic service from a company who apparently wishes to undertake minimal work and to sell their products purely via the online mechanism, with no thought for any capacity for a purchased (e.g. "THE CUSTOMER") to ask questions.

An example of 'I can't be bothered/find out yourself' service - definitely not any form of customer service.

Needless to say, I won't be purchasing from this company.
Posted 1 day ago
Hi Pierre, I'm so sorry to hear this was the case and for any inconvenience caused by this matter. We're currently busier than normal and working with reduced staff and hours. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to email us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com and we'll be more than happy to help. ~Lillie
Posted 1 day ago
Dealing with a claim with these is awful. Reporting it was a hassle and the person on the phone was really unhelpful and quite rude. They pass none of the information on to the relevant people and send you round in circles constantly. Pass your details onto multiple people who constantly harras you Will not be renewing with these and would never recommend them.
Posted 1 day ago
Hi Michael, I'm so sorry to hear this was the case and I hope someone has since been able to deal with your query. If you have any other questions or would like us to look into this further, please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com. ~Lillie
Posted 1 day ago
The internet service via "Comparethemarket" is unbelievably rubbish and the chat service was similar if this is how the company is organised god help you if you have to make a claim.
Posted 2 days ago
Hi, I'm sorry to hear this was the case and for any inconvenience caused. I hope someone has since been able to resolve your issue but if you have any other queries, please don't hesitate to contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com and we'll be happy to help. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
I got over charged for my car insurance so I rang up and spoke to a woman named Helen, she was lovely and very patient with me. She made sure that I understood everything and soon sorted the issue out and saved me money, I couldn't be happier with the customer service!
Posted 2 days ago
Hi, that's great to hear and I'm pleased you're happy with the service provided! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate it. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
Took 2 days and got nowhere link times us out. 4 times 35 minutes to get through on phone and then told everyone working from home and can't take on new clients never again !
Posted 3 days ago
Hi Christopher, I apologise for any frustration this issue may have caused and I hope someone has since been able to look into this for you. If you still need assistance, please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com and we'll do our best to help. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
One star is too much for this company. Absolutely terrible

I have been a customer of Hastings for a ages now but the customer service i have received over the past 4 days of buying a new car and just wanting to change details is appalling and it's still not sorted.

I changed my car and was told i would'nt pay a cancellation fee as i was staying with Hastings (big mistake). I was charged £39.74 they told me that was my outstanding balance from my old policy. I have since found out that it's only £13.62. So where does the £39.74 fit in.

It is now 4days since i've had my new car and the new policy is still not sorted. I've spoken to 6 people 2 of them said they would call back and they did'nt. I've been put on hold for over 10mins twice by the same operator then told me she would call back. ..no call back. Now it's 16.00pm (bearing in mind i called at 9.27am today) and im still waiting forAmmarah Mohammad to call me back to explain everything and tell me my new monthly payments which were also incorrectly given to me.

I have now wasted a full day waiting for promised call backs that never happen. My insurance policy has been messed up completely by hastings and they have'nt apollogised once for their incomptence and mistakes.

Absolutely disgraceful
Posted 3 days ago
Hi Janette, I'm very sorry to hear this was the case and for any inconvenience caused. We'll be happy to look into this further for you, if you can please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy number, full name and date of birth. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
excellent
Posted 4 days ago
Hi Renata, thank you for your 5* review, we appreciate it! ~Lillie
Posted 3 days ago
Really good and helpful find cheap price
Posted 4 days ago
Hi Adnan, I'm pleased to hear you're happy with the value provided and thank you for your feedback! ~Lillie
Posted 3 days ago
|My insurance was due to be renewed on 2nd July. I called to cancel and was asked by the gentleman what i had been quoed as HAstings would match the price. I advised the price and after a few minutes said they couldnt match it and did i still want to cancel my policy. I advised him that i would be taking out uinsurnace with the new company and to cancel this policy.

..... I then start receiving emails stating that i need to set up a direct debit for a new policy. I have emailed Hastings 3 times and also called them to advise i would not be renewing my policy. Today i receive another email stating that on 10th August they will be taking £69.55 off my debit card for the cancelled insurance policy. Again i have called customer service only to be placed on hold over and over again, after 36 minutes i had had enough and asked for a call back from a manager. Not professional at all and still not resolved
Posted 4 days ago
Hi Lisa, I'm sorry to hear this was the case. If you can please email us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy number, full name and date of birth and we'll assist with the cancellation. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Will not accept my email address even though its correct a to log in so cannot login so on that note us very poor
Posted 5 days ago
Hi, I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Have you tried to use a different browser or the app? If so and you're still having issues, please contact our team on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com and we'll do our best to help. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Rubbish cant even insure a car on the weekend this is shocking.
Posted 5 days ago
Hi Mick, I apologise if this was the case and I hope this issue has since been resolved. If you have any other queries, please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
The worst insurers I've every had.woulldnt ever insure wifh Hastings again.
Posted 6 days ago
Hi there, I'm very sorry if you've had a negative experience. We'll be more than happy to look into this further for you, if you can please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com with your policy number, full name, date of birth and issue. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
If I could rate less than 1 I would.

I took out my car insurance with Hastings Direct 3 months ago. Unfortunately I made an error in my documents concerning my no claims discount, I sent my no claims discount through to the email address provided and then I received an email titled ‘your policy has been changed’. I sign onto my account to see that I actually had 9 years no claims not the original 8 that I thought, however Hastings Direct took it upon themselves to change my no claims to 0 years?! They then had the cheek to up my premium by £169 and wanted to charge me £260 for making the change!! I’ve cancelled my policy after trying to get through to them. Absolutely disgraceful company and would not recommend to my worst enemy. Angry is an understatement. DO NOT USE HASTINGS DIRECT
Posted 6 days ago
Hi Joanna, I'm sorry to hear this was the case. The no claims discount is a rating factor, therefore when amended, it can have an affect on the premium. Our New Business Review team are dedicated to checking all policy details are correct and if not, updating these where necessary. If updated in error or documents are then received, we can amend the policy for you to ensure details are accurate. I wish you all the best with your new insurer and I hope this is something we're able to look into for you in the furture. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Awful experience - avoid at all costs.

From the initial set up of my insurance they were charging admin fees without any justification beyond "amendments". I began delivering Pizza (fully insured under company insurance as this is the biggest Pizza chain in the UK) during lockdown and could not find any issues with this online and was told by everyone that because I was fully covered under company insurance then no amendments needed to be made on personal insurance. One day whilst driving to work my car caught on fire and I had to make a claim - Hastings Direct immediately cancelled my insurance taking the full premium and dragged their heels for two months causing endless stress and issues as they tried to avoid paying out on a valid claim. Their reason for cancelling my insurance - because I had began delivering pizza during lockdown alongside my regular job and hadn't told them.

Disgusting service and an absolute shambles. Nobody seems to know what's going on, they all have slopey shoulders and will pass the buck whenever they can.
I've moved to one of their competitors now and haven't looked back. I wouldn't consider them again even if they were half the price of anyone else.
Posted 6 days ago
Hi Ryan,

I'm very sorry to hear of the negative experience you had with us and for any frustration caused by this matter. As an insurer, we don't cover any form of delivery service unfortunately and I do apologise if you weren't aware of this. I hope your issue has since been looked into and resolved, but if you do have any further queries, please contact us on socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com and we'll do our best to help. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Policy price was a bit higher than I paid last year but did not to want to look around for cheaper deals, I am happy ok with deal
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Munir, I'm sorry to hear of the increase in your renewal and I hope someone has since been able to look into this for you. I'm pleased you're happy with the cover provided and hopefully we're able to offer a more competitive deal for you in the future. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Simple, safe and secure car insurance in a flash with Hastings
Posted 1 week ago
Just cancelled my insurance with Hastings - they have just taken out today this months insurance - even though I cannot drive the car - they are taking the full amount for August plus on top £22 to cancel. Even though my policy was up at the start of September. Better insurance companies out their. Search about before picking these
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Mallen,

I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy with the amount due to cancel. If you pay via direct debit, we work the cancellation out day by day plus the £45.00 cancellation fee. You can find details of our fees on our website and in your policy documents.

~Elle
Posted 1 week ago
Hastings Direct is rated 4.26 based on 38,240 reviews