Hastings Direct Reviews

4.2 Rating 43,667 Reviews
82 %
of reviewers recommend Hastings Direct
4.2
Based on 43,667 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 88%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read Hastings Direct Reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Hastings Direct made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
They are fine. I like the app they have. Took out a guarantee car with my my insurance and got an email saying they wrongly saying that the insurance provider was the wrong and told me the correct one that was 4 to 5 month later obviously they don’t check your insurance properly before issuing it to use
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Insurance was fine and never an issue, however when changing the next year they first sent an email to say it was not auto renewal. I then emailed to explain I was changing provider and also tried to ring them 2 times when they did not answer or return the calls. Then I have received an email to say they are auto Renewing my g insurance and they are not answering calls or responding to emails. Absolutely fuming and will be making an official complaint!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Paid 409 for a year policy. Moved so I called to change my address. My mileage, car being parked on a driveway etc hadn't changed. Only my postcode changed. I was living in a small town, still am now, no crime in either yet now, for the last 4 months of my policy they are wanting an extra 241 from me. That means for 4 months they expect me to pay over 90 a month for insurance. Asked why and apparently there is no criteria for why!!!!!!!! These people are thieves and utterly disgusting. Moreover, they want to charge me a 45 cancellation fee even though they are forcing me to cancel due to the price. Will be reporting these thieves to the financial ombudsman. How this is fair and just is far beyond me. Never again. They are the worst insurance company in the world. I have never been charged such fees for moving home. It's not like I'm moving to a warzone. It's a tiny town.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Easy to use website, very competitive prices.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Moving home so notify Hastings only.to be told £35 cancellation fee...Because our other house wint be ready for 2 months Will charge £35. To click a couple of keys on keyboard Because they cannot when new house wants insuring Hastings Will not be my choice
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Hi Wayne, I apologise for any frustration possibly caused by this matter. Our fees are stated on your policy documents as well as on our site. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
Stay away from these guys. If they're the cheapest I suggest you pay a little bit extra and go with someone decent or you will end up regretting it. You've been warned!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Hi John, I apologise if you've had a negative experience with us. If there's anything we can do to help, please let us know at socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
Tried to add a temporary driver (employed NHS nurse) with full driving licence, no points/bans etc for one week as her car had broken down and she needed to get to work but no, not possible. Apparently, there are 300 odd reasons why this cannot be done of which they can’t tell me why we couldn’t do it. Staff were apologetic but Hastings direct does not have up to date info from DVLA so therefore they just refuse anything that isn’t standard. Went straight to a rental dealership and booked a car for a week with full insurance for the driver. They have up to date info ! Once my policy expires I will never use again. Dread to think what would happen if I made a claim - ‘computer will say no’ to that also! Useless
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Hi, I'm sorry to hear this was the case and for any inconvenience or frustration caused. If the driver you were looking to add has the driving other cars benefit included on their policy, then they should be able to drive your car under a third party cover. They can check this and the terms with their insurer which also means you won't need to pay a fee to have them added. ~Lillie
Posted 2 days ago
I haven't even started the police i paid came through money supper market The app not working There is no contact number for support line wasting my early insurance opportunity Already taken the money out Just an Advice for future pay bit more somewhereelse and have less hassle Invoid hasting type
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Hello, I'm sorry to see that you've not had the best experience so far. Please let us know if you need any help with your policy by emailing socialmedia@hastingsdirect.com. We will do all we can to help you with your policy and the app. ~Theo
Posted 4 days ago
A London bus driver hit my rear quarter, and this is a no-fault accident. I got a call from enterprise as the repairer they asked me to pay, and I said this is a no-fault the other driver accepted I have dash camera recording. It’s been three weeks, and enterprise are claiming they can’t get hold of the other insurers on the phone. It’s ridiculous, a company with no one to answer calls. I think they have ignored my situation as I due to excess. I have no legal aid, so that money will probably not be retrieved; this is daytime robbery, and I don’t think HastingsDirect is ensuring things are done correctly.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Hi, I apologise for any frustration caused. If you've not already, you can chase this up with our Claims team here: https://www.hastingsdirect.com/car-claims/. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Couldn’t sort out there online account access in the 12 months I was insured with them, training for claims staff is poor as they gave misleading information and to top it off they input my claim wrong on the insurance database. ALL MY COMPLAINTS WHERE UPHELD AVOID THESE COWBOYS LIKE THE PLAGUE.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Hi Craig, I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us and for any frustration or inconvenience caused. I hope this has since been looked into and resolved. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPNAY. They are only interested in taking your money rather than helping you as I have recently experienced. I have had an issue with my bank account which meant my direct debit had not been set up so I rang to sort this issue out and was told to call back on the 3/5/2022 to make payment which I did, they did not mention that if I do not set up a direct debit for my final payment after pay over £600 that my policy could be cancelled. I then learnt via a letter that they had cancelled my policy and had emailed and old email address stating a direct debit was needed. I have pleaded with them and explained my situation and as my last payment was not due until the end of May this should not effect thing but instead they are not willing to help or assist me in any way and expect me to pay charges and loose out on another years no claim. Considering this is meant to be well established company with supposedly great customer care its clear they couldn't care about anything else other than your money and leaving you in a financial predicament. Reinstating the policy for the remanding month and allowing me the years no claim would not effect the company in any way and actually help with my current circumstances but they have made it very clear they couldn't care less.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Hi Jonathan, I apologise for any frustration caused. I understand your complaint has since been reviewed and an outcome has been provided. If you remain unhappy with this outcome, you have the right to refer your concerns to the Financial Ombudsman, as detailed in your final response letter. ~Lillie
Posted 4 days ago
Very easy to use. Very fast
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Good company had no issues
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thanks transaction was easy to with no difficults
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Very big thank you to Shaun for sorting out my policy this morning. Good to speak to a human being rather than an app and especially when that person is so helpful,quiet spoken,calm and efficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
no Comment
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Very helpful staff and App works very well.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I first spoke to a guy, I can’t remember his name as I was working whilst talking to him. I was charged an additional fee for making a mistake on my car insurance policy. At first I wasn’t sure if they would help, well don’t make a mistake as they will charge you an additional £30! I was querying this because £30 is a lot of money to me which I eventually explained. He said let me see if I can do a new policy for you to make it cheaper. Let’s say an hour on the phone and the guy came to my rescue. I want to thank him because that money, is money that puts food on my table of which we would of gone without if it were not for him. I want to thank him for his decency to help with this. I can’t thank him enough. 🥲 I do think that Hastings should have a period that could give people a chance to sort out any errors on application or at least tell the person before sending fee to give them chance to rectify the situation before sending a charge.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Recently had a collision whilst traveling round a traffic island, another vehicle, joining the island collided with my vehicle. The Highway Code says the other driver should have given way. Hasting Direct are blaming me for not giving way. I won't be renewing my policy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi, I'm sorry to hear that's the case and for any frustration possibly caused. If you've not already, liability can be disputed with the Claims team. If you contact your case handler and they can advice you on your options. ~Lillie
Posted 1 week ago
Spoke to a lovely lady on the phone and she helped sort out my insurance straight away. Really impressed with their customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hastings Direct is rated 4.20 based on 43,667 reviews