Essential Adventure Reviews

4.78 Rating 413 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend Essential Adventure
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Read Essential Adventure Reviews

About Essential Adventure:

We arrange adventure activities and activity holidays. Our range of services is vast, from a single activity event, up to a week long all inclusive activity holiday. Whether you're looking to book an activity day for your mate's birthday, a stag or hen weekend, or a week long school residential, we've got what's required to provide a seamless booking and an unforgettable experience at the end of it!

Visit Website





35 Glanvilles Mill

Write Your review

Tell us how Essential Adventure made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Essential Adventure 5 star review on 1st September 2020
Tim Lambert
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Activity not as advertised, poor communication and I was refused a refund for an appalling event. After weeks of going back and forth and being challenged on my version of events I was offered £10 back for each member of my party. This was pitiful but I didn't have the energy to argue with this company anymore. Overall a disorganized and unprofessional company.
Posted 4 years ago
This company cancelled less than 24 hours before they were to organise a Sports Activity session for my daughter's Hen Weekend. Their only alternative suggestion, an hour in a Sports Centre (at a different time to our original booking) for which they expected us to pay transport costs, was ridiculously inadequate. They had taken over £400 from us in advance. Absolutely pathetic service from Jamie and his manager was 'on holiday'.
Posted 4 years ago
Trying to reach my contact during the organising of the trip and on the day especially was difficult. The dock/birth had been changed but no one told me so we spent 30 mins of our boat ride time looking for it whilst no one would answer their phone to help. We ended up having only 1 hour in total on the boat ride. The package agreed was changed without my knowledge luckily I questioned it, from party boat, bar on board, provide music, prosecco on arrival, with snacks to private boat no bar, no snacks, music connection didn't work, and white wine that no one likes the girls drink gallons of prosecco! Apart from the skipper Ray being amazing and his lovely puppy Cheshire the rest was a joke.
(Liverpool) - Posted 4 years ago
think this email says it all: Having put trust and faith into the reviews that I read, I wish I didn't now. Here's my side 1) the guy running the event on the day was told to arrive at 10 and finish at 1 (he didn't turn up until 10.45 as he was running late) when he arrived he was wondering why no one was here yet and he kind of assumed we were running late. he showed us his intinery for the day at the endand it said for him to start at 10 and that's when he told us he was late). i then showed him hours and it says 11 till 3! 2) you gave us a time slot of 11 until 2 so if you cant even get the times right then whos fault is that, mine?? 3) you go on about min people should be 16 but if I did have 16 then it would have been a lot worse and a lot less time so I glad I didn't 4) 45PP for a less then 2 hour event for some of the activities which I feel kind of conned for (the activities were fine but the time on it was rushed and the other chap had to get somewhere for 2). 5)do I believe 45 PP is worth it for what we had, I would say 100% no 6) having spoke to Marc who said we would have it for 3 hours at least is what we all expected, having cut time and rushed activities, and the timing was wrong, who does that look bad on, me or essential adventures? of course it looks bad one me as they were like well he organised it. 7) you go on about we done you a deal, but we lost out too as we lost out of the remaining bars which you guys had included. Matt I could go on and on as when someone does not deliver what they have been told then I feel strongly about it. If I was being truthful I had a really good time and tbh so did the other guys as even though it was rushed etc we still made it a laugh. I did appreciate the fact hotel worked out but didn't get to check in until 3.30, so everything you guys had told us didn't play according to plan. I also appreciate the fact how you organised a venue for my sisters little one and did assure me you have everything in hand, but on the day the in hand part really wasn't. I know this email may come across harsh but am just saying it how I've seen it and tell it how it is, this is what the guys felt. I think if your not willing to reimburse any compensation then looks like you have 13 guests who have got a bad reputation with yourselves. i think the reviews my justify that at some point. look forward to your comments Bhav still no response from them
(Nottingham) - Posted 4 years ago
Didn't get as far as booking anything as the constant texting, emailing and phoning within the space of a week following an online request for a quote put me off. Harassment. Sometimes you have a busy week, sometimes you like to look at all options, sometimes you need to speak to other people involved in the organisation of your trip. All I asked for was a quote. When I asked them to remove my details from their database by text they asked for my name, despite texting me numerous times to my number using my name. When I didn't respond within 11 minutes because I was making my tea, I got another text saying 'If you don't let us have your name, I can't remove your details'. I won't be responding. Not the kind of people I want to deal with.
Posted 6 years ago
sorry but overpriced £145.00 for basically clay pigeon shooting which should have cost no more than £20 per head, not your fault about canoeing being cancelled,given 6 pheasants and 2 rabbits (frozen) to cook at no cost to your company sunday a bit of archery shooting over all i was not very impressed with the whole experience and think that you should offer the whole group a refund of 50%
(River Dart) - Posted 6 years ago
Hi Paul, We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the Stag Do. We appreciate your feedback and hope you appreciate our thoughts in reply. Just to clarify to others reading this, you were part of a Stag Do booked for a Clay Shoot - with expert tuition + 25 clays each, followed by a 24 hour canoeing, bushcraft & survival expedition on the River Dart. Our Shooting & Survival weekends are extremely popular and customer feedback in the past has always been very positive - about the trip content and value for money. Although the Canoeing was cancelled due to adverse weather, the guides laid on a weekend which was as close to the planned itinerary as possible - with a packed schedule of bushcraft & survival themed activities. Archery and crossbow shooting was also added to the event at no extra cost. Planning and running a trip of this nature involves a lot of hard work and preparation: - Three experienced guides spend at least half a day either side of the trip preparing the kit and packing ready for the trip, maintaining and loading the canoe trailers, packing all the necessary cooking equipment and supplies, food shopping etc, and other general preparations. - Time spent liaising with Darryl (one of the Stags) about the package details, putting the itinerary together, booking suppliers, managing guest invitations for 20 people, administering and reconciling 50-100 payments received via our individual guest payment system and communicating important details to each of the guests by email and text message. - We also have many overheads, a proportion of which need to be in our pricing – including public liability insurance, office rent & wages, plus other overheads – all of which is required to provide a high quality and efficient service to our clients. - To answer your specific points, you would struggle to book good quality clay shooting (25 clays) for any less than £30 per person; and the pheasants/rabbits have to be brought in at a cost. We appreciate that guests attending our trips can have a varied experience. I refer to a review from David Kemp who also attended, who wrote that, “Pete, anton and the guys made the experience most enjoyable and got involved with the stag party's atmosphere, quality bushcraft and training in all skills demonstrated and if you haven't booked a party through them yet all I can say is why not?! Awesome time had by all, thanks guys”. We also had positive verbal feedback from one of the stags. Having had time to consider and reflect on our comments, we would be grateful if you could reconsider your rating. We also welcome any further feedback or comments you may wish to add. My direct dial is 01752 349793 if you’d like to get in touch. Kind regards Matt Trenchard Director, Essential Adventure
Posted 6 years ago
Essential Adventure is rated 4.78 based on 413 reviews